Nokian WR A3

The Nokian WR A3 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Nokian WR A4.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 82%
Wear 90%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 85%
Snow Grip 35%
Ice Grip 30%

Tyre review data from 75 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 563,743 miles driven.

The WR A3 is ranked 37th of 41 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 AutoBild 235/35 R19 Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 6 tyres

  • Positive - Dry specialist, with sporty dynamic handing on wet and dry roads. Short dry braking distances
  • Negative - Limited winter qualities with understeer and long braking distances on snow
  • Overall - Satisfactory
View Full Test >>

2013 Winter Tyre Buying Guide - 3rd of 9 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 Sport Auto Winter Sports Tyre Test - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - High grip and short braking distances on snow, good handling on dry surfaces
  • Negative - Relatively weak resistance to aquaplaning, relatively long braking distance on wet roads
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nokian WR A3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nokian WR A3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nokian WR A3 Reviews

Given 95% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 27,000 average miles
I've driven these tyres for over 42000 km, with this being their second season. Tread depth is currently 5 mm from the original 8 mm so not bad at all, especially considering that they've seen a fair bit of summer and motorway driving.

They have been driven across Europe multiple times, and seen much of the Alps during the winter, including wet weather, deep snow, and ice (not recommended for regular ice driving! Use studded tyres for that). I didn't think they would perform so well on account of their relatively large width, but so far they have proven themselves to be remarkably reliable, although having a four wheel drive car also helps, no doubt.

Only thing to keep in mind, if driving on the Autobahn, is that they are limited to 200 km/h, but that's hardly a problem I would think.
41 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2015   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
As every time when I'm about to buy something, I did some research which winter tyres to buy. I read everywhere that Nokian produces excellent winter tyres so this brand was one of the options and one day I saw a set of these tyres were on sale so I bought them. I really had high hopes for these tyres after reading great reviews, but if I want to summarize my experience with them so far, I would say: these are not winter tyres at all. The comfort is ok, they are very silent, but the grip is just awful. If the road is any but dry, they just don't grip. In the snow they are totally useless and I'm not exaggerating. If you stop in snow, you will most likely not be able to get going. This is really annoying, because my car has really low torque and I am really easy on gas, but it still rolls the wheels without any single sign of grip. I was driving in snow with my Falken Ziex summer tyres and they were so much more confident in snow than these Nokians. Ridiculous. I replaced my 10 year old Hankook Icebears to these Nokians and even those 10 year old tyres were so much better. I could even get going with the Hankooks in snow on a 8-10% slope, with these Nokians it's a miracle if I can move the car on flat surface from a stop. I decided to write this review when this weekend every single car could go up a snowy slope except me. Even a big transporter with worn out winter tyres, it was so annoying. With the Hankooks them being 9 years old, I could cross the High Tatras in snow!! With these I can't go up on a little slope. I even experienced my very first slide with them on a wet road, I was doing 70km/h and the rear of the car just started drifting and I almost ended up in the trench. I'm going to sell them the next day I'm changing to summer tyres. Very very disappointing, I would definitely not buy these again.
14 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2018   
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Tiuan R Line (235/55 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 37,000 spirited miles
I've run 4 of these on VW Tiguan auto 4motion. After 37k miles the fronts are about 1mm off the markers and the rears have about 4mm left. used all year round, winter in Scotland and summer all over the UK. Seem to have a lot of grip in the dry, and been pretty good in the wet. Mostly motorway and fast A road miles. Very impressed with these tyres, especially the wear, although the car seems quite kind on tyres. Good grip in snow and slush, but not much grip on 'polished' snow and sheet ice.
13 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2016   
Have you driven on the Nokian WR A3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WR A3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nokian WR A3 >

Latest Nokian WR A3 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on track for 53,000 average miles
I have been driving this tyre for 9 seasons (which is a tad too much but the tyre lasted really long and it is still ok to drive, so durability was fantastic). For a winter tyre it did great on the dry and it almost felt like a summer tyre there. I also felt safe in the wet. However, I was not so lucky with the performance on snow and ice. It was something that I had expected and since I am not driving a lot in snow/ice I was fine with it. It felt like all season tyre that does better in winter conditions. For what I need this is quite a good compromise and so I was quite happy with the tyres. Compared to my summer tyres (Conti PremiumContact) the Nokian was a little bit louder. Fuel consumption was level with the summer tyres when you take the temperatures into account which really surprised me.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2022   
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 Golf GTD Estate (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
Bought these tyres in late 2011 after two bad winters and fitted them to a Audi A3 Quattro, followed by an A4 Avant then current Golf GTD Estate. After winter of 2015/16 I decided to leave them on all year as I only do c. 5K miles/annum and got fed up with the wheel changes 2 x per year. They have never encountered deep snow here in Central Scotland but have proven quiet, reassuring and economical as a year round tyre. Late April/Early May this year we did a round trip to Murcia in Spain (though Portsmouth - Santander by ferry) and did 2.5K miles in 19-days. Conditions ranged from torrential rain then 2C and snow in Cantabria mountains to 30C in Costa Calida. The tyres took all in their stride and on return to UK trip computer showed 54mpg average. I know these tyres are no longer made in Finland but would hope the Russian versions will be of similar quality. I will probably need to change them after the next winter due to their age, they will certainly not be worn out, as at service last month they were all 6mm+. If I was to select one particular quality it would be their wet road grip in either cold or warm conditions and resistance to aquaplaning. Highly recommended.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2017   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 100% while driving a BMW 535d msport touring (245/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
BMW 5 RWD 3.0 diesel, driving high speed in winter Lithuanian coast conditions, usually not to much snow, but ice, wet roads and some snow ocassionaly. Highly recommend A3 for sharp and fast driving in variuos conditions, comfortable as well. I feel confident with these tyres even with rear wheel drive car.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
IN A COUNTRY LIKE GREECE I THINK THERE ARE VERY GOOD IN ANY CONDITION.I TESTED THEM IN SNOWY CONDITIONS IN THE MOUNTAINS AND IN A HARD TRIP FROM GREECE TO AUSTRIA AND BACK AT 140KM/H FOR 15 HOURS AND THEY HAVE NO PROBLEM IN EVERY GRIP... I WILL KEEP THEM FOR ONE MORE WINTER AND I WILL BUY THE SAME AGAIN OR SOMETHING SIMILAR.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2017   
Given 88% while driving a BMW 320 d (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
An outstanding tyre. My set are 4 years old, but have been shed stored from new and never used. These Nokians grip far better than the R17 Bridgestone RFT summer tyres (unsure of the exact model right now) which I have removed for the winter, at least over the 300 miles of Irish roads covered, with temperatures of 3 to 9 deg Celcius. Also, I cannot get over the increase in fuel economy. Gone from 44.5 mpg average up to 54. Incredible the difference a set of tyres can make. My drive has been transformed. Now I am just praying for snow (and for the Irish government to mandate all season/winter tyres for the cold months). Fat chance.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2016   
BMW (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres in the winter. I have run Nokian's on various BMWs since 2010 and nothing else comes close. My last set did 30000 Miles comfortably. Snow performance is great , never been stuck or had any problems with ice or snow. Good in the wet and dry.
Only negative comment is they aren't as good as they were in 2010-11 when they still came from Finland rather than Russia.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2016   
Given 94% while driving a Lexus IS200 (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Bought these tires two years ago. The only weakness of this tire is driving on ice. It is hard to drive uphill with RWD car. But most studless winter tires have the same problem.

Was really impressed with comfort and quietness of these tires. They are superb to other tires I had (Bridgestone, Dunlop, Michelin...). There is absolutely no noise in the car. And what I really like as well that they grip very well on dry and wet roads. This is strange, because other tires I had that were very quite and comfortable did very poor in handling department. I feel very confident then driving with these Nokians.

Now planning on buying summer Nokian tires.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2016   
Given 59% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 0 miles
After 30000km my expirience for this tyre are average. Bad road feedback, on wet road not so good grip. Tyre is good on snow. On highway at high speed (140-150 + km/h) feeling is unplesant.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2016   
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall (225/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
My Vauxhall/Opel Insignia could not get up a moderate hill in the snow with its summer tyres and having watched my neighbour getting up the same hills I had to leave my car at the bottom off, took the plunge and purchased Nokian WR A3 tyres (225 55 17 on steel wheels) this winter having read all the reviews I could. What a revelation. The tyres are quieter and no difference in fuel consumption noted. In the dry and the wet, I know that the tyres are different, (standard summer tyres 245 45 18 on alloy wheels), but they are safe and progressive. However, in the snow and ice, the car is totally different. It will go up hills in over 4inches of snow, both loose and packed. For the sheer hell of it, I took it up a particular hill that is difficult to walk in the snow let alone drive and the car just drove up with the Anti Skid light flashing once or twice. I even decided to stop on the hill and the car drove away with barely a skid. I don't know what the wear will be like, but I am delighted with the tyres up to now and will buy again.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2016   
Given 36% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 9,300 average miles
Will surely not buy these tyres again. After I read a lot of reviews about the Nokian tyres, I bought them in November 2014. One year later, in December 2015, the front tyres are almost at the end of their life with only about 15.000 Km done.
Their biggest problem is that they completely suck on snow and wet in general. Their profile is also strange and a couple of people even asked me why I'm using summer tyres in the winter - they do not have the classic V shape profile.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2015   
Given 89% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport (235/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Used these from November 2014 to April 2015. From memory only a very light dusting of snow on two days here in Somerset. Standard wheel/tyre size is 235/40/19.

These are the first cold weather tyres that I have used, and I did a bit of reading before deciding to buy them. Cost/performance wise, I think they are excellent.

These felt softer and more comfortable compared to the standard 19" Bridgestone 050 tyres on this car, and are noticeably quieter.
As they are softer, they are not as precise/responsive when cornering when compared to the Bridgestones, but that is to be expected due to the size/tyre difference. After getting used to this it corners fine and with plenty of grip in the dry and wet. I do tend to drive round roundabouts a bit quick, so they did understeer a little on a few occasions, but nothing that was not controllable. Generally feedback was good.

They also performed well on muddy forest tracks when I went on Wales Rally GB. I would say better traction than summer tyres and less wheelspin.

Rolling resistance is less with these compared to the summer 19's, I notice it anyway, and fuel consumption didn't drop considering all the electrics that are on in the winter months.

Can't really comment on its performance in snow, as we didn't really get any in my part of Somerset, though they seemed good on icey roads.

Tyre depths after 6 months, 6000 miles are as follows: n/s/f = 5mm, o/s/f = 5.5mm, both rears 7mm (n/s/r marginally lower). I'm more than happy with this as I normally go through a pair of front tyres in 12K-15K miles in my old car (ST24 with soft tyres).

I'll definitely buy these again when it comes round to it, but that will be 2 years away and tyres will have change by then, so would have to read up again. Certainly recommended for anyone looking now.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2015   
Given 93% while driving a Ford S Max (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 12 spirited miles
I have just swooped my Michelin Primacy HP's back onto my S Max 140 tdci after 21,000 kms of winter motoring with the Nokia's.

The front tyres are about half worn and the rears look like new. First impressions going back to the Michelins are that the French tyres are much noisier over course road surfaces and ride quality also inferior. To be honest I was reluctant to put the Michelins back on as I had been so pleased with the Nokias.

Although we did not experience much snow in northern Europe in the winter just past, the Nokias were supremely capable in the range of weather that did occur.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2015