Dunlop Winter Sport 5

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 80%
Wear 87%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 83%
Snow Grip 91%
Ice Grip 85%

Tyre review data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 280,600 miles driven.

The Winter Sport 5 is ranked 16th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the snow, quietest tyre on test, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Long dry and wet braking, poor wet handling.
View Full Test >>

2020 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 52 Tyre Braking Test - 13th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild SUV Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - The winter king with best driving performance on snow, good aquaplaning resistance, precise steering behavior, dynamic wet handling.
  • Negative - Slightly longer dry braking distances.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R15 85H XL   E B 71 7.67kgs
195/55 R15 85H XL   C B 69 7.68kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 69 8.08kgs
205/65 R15 94T XL   C B 68 8.53kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C B 68 8.53kgs
205/65 R15 94T XL   C B 71 8.45kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E B 69 7.27kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E C 72 7.11kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 70 8.23kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   C B 68 8.15kgs
205/55 R16 91T XL   C B 69 8.40kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 70 8.70kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 71 8.50kgs
205/55 R16 91T XL   C B 71 8.50kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 71 9.07kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 69 8.52kgs
215/55 R16 93H XL   C B 70 8.12kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C C 71 9.62kgs
215/55 R16 93H XL   C C 72 9.09kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C B 70 8.72kgs
225/55 R16 95H XL   C B 72 9.41kgs
225/55 R16 99V XL   C C 72 9.85kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C C 72 9.85kgs
225/55 R16 99V XL   C B 69 9.91kgs
225/55 R16 95H XL   C B 69 9.45kgs
225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 69 9.91kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 70 8.95kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   C B 72 8.48kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   C B 69 8.56kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 70 9.42kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 72 9.50kgs
215/60 R16 95H XL   C B 69 9.44kgs
235/60 R16 100H   C B 70 10.13kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C B 70 9.05kgs
215/65 R16 98H XL   C B 71 9.75kgs
215/65 R16 98T XL   C B 69 9.75kgs
215/65 R16 98T XL   C C 72 9.78kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 69 8.63kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 71 8.51kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   E C 72 11.81kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   E B 72 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 70 9.07kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   E B 72 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   E B 72 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 91H XL   C B 70 8.51kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70 9.07kgs
225/45 R17 91H XL   E C 72 9.73kgs
235/45 R17 97V XL   C C 72 9.95kgs
235/45 R17 97V XL   C B 70 9.85kgs
245/45 R17 99V XL   E B 70 11.64kgs
245/45 R17 99V XL   E B 70 10.43kgs
245/45 R17 99V XL   C C 72 11.66kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 72 8.50kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL   C B 70 8.96kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL   C B 72 8.50kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 70 8.96kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 70 9.14kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C C 72 9.14kgs
215/50 R17 91H XL   C B 69 8.58kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   C C 72 9.87kgs
225/50 R17 94H XL   C B 72 11.51kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 70 10.27kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 70 10.42kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 70 10.42kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 70 10.42kgs
225/50 R17 94H XL   C B 70 9.33kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C C 72 10.53kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 71 9.37kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   C C 71 9.78kgs
215/55 R17 98V XL   C B 69 9.94kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 72 10.59kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 69 10.59kgs
235/55 R17 99V XL   E B 69 12.12kgs
235/55 R17 99V XL   C C 70 12.25kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL   E C 72 9.08kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL   E B 71 9.15kgs
235/40 R18 95V XL   E B 70 9.90kgs
235/40 R18 95V XL         10.42kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL   C B 72 10.93kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL   C B 70 10.62kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL   C B 70 10.96kgs
215/45 R18 93V XL   E B 72 9.31kgs
215/45 R18 93V XL   C B 69 9.24kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C B 72 9.75kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C B 71 9.70kgs
235/45 R18 98V XL   C B 70 10.28kgs
235/45 R18 98V XL   C C 72 10.24kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL   C C 72 12.25kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL   C B 69 10.72kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL   C B 69 12.22kgs
255/45 R18 103V XL   C C 73 11.52kgs
255/45 R18 103V XL   C B 70 11.36kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C B 72 10.68kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C B 70 10.69kgs
275/35 R19 100V XL   E B 73 12.59kgs
275/35 R19 100V XL   C A 71 12.79kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL   E B 72 13.47kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL   C B 70 10.85kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL         12.25kgs
255/40 R19 100V XL   C B 72 11.48kgs
255/40 R19 100V XL   C B 73 12.35kgs
265/45 R20 108V XL   C C 73 13.70kgs
295/35 R21 107V XL   C C 74 15.80kgs
295/35 R21 107V XL   C C 74 16.25kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop Winter Sport 5

2016-10-07 - What is the comfort temperature (max/min) for this tyre?

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 can be used in any temperatures, however it is recommended you fit and use winter tyres only when the temperatures are consistently under 7c.


2016-11-17 - How to fit correctly the tyres on the wheel -where should be the yellow mark lines placed? outside or inside?

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a directional winter tyre, and as such has no inside or outside. The sidewall will have an arrow indicating forward rotation, you should go by this indication.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Winter Sport 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £67.20 - £119.49 (48 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £97.70 - £127.26 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £83.00 - £156.69 (52 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £96.30 - £178.19 (43 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 54 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 24,000 spirited miles
I bought these as the successor to Dunlop WinterSport4 which I had been very happy with before, especially with wet grip and good feel in wet/poor conditions. Living and driving around Scotland I use the WinterSport as an all-season tyre. The 5's have improved in all areas and especially in dry handling which was a slight letdown with the 4's. Performance now tails off above around 12 degrees ambient, compared to around 7 degrees with the 4's. At high speed in summer the tyres can get a little 'floaty', but for me this is an acceptable compromise to the excellent grip in cold wet conditions. Sidewalls also seem stronger as the 4's were prone to nicks. Wear is similar if not a little better; got around 22/23K from the 4's when on all year and around 24K for the 5's. All in all a great winter tyre with acceptable all-year round performance for those of us in more Northern areas.
61 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   
Given 97% while driving a Audi TT (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I had theese tyres on my Audi TT MK1 and I were very impressed by their performance overall. Tested in all conditions, super super performance on wet roads, amazing on splah and snow, i drove 3 seasons and over 40k kilometers with them without fear and in complete safety.

Taking everything into account: with theese tyres, it.s summer on the road.
19 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2019   
Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen MkVI Golf GT TDi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
Not a bad tyre, but i am a little dissapointed with them, becouse sidewalls are just too soft when temperature outside gets above 5 degrese celsius, and the ride becomes unstable in corners, car is allover the place... This is only minus i found after 25.000km with this tyres, but its big enough minus that i wont buy them again. They will last over 50.000km i think.
18 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2016   
Have you driven on the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Winter Sport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop Winter Sport 5 >

Latest Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Toyota Prius (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
The Winter Sport 5 give the car a little too much of understeer but still acceptable, a little more disturbing is they feel a little lazy on the breakes but still ok for a winter tyre. I drove only 2-3 hours in real winter conditions here in hamburg so do not expect too much from my opinion - they did their job which is fine for this small and wide format. Noise, comfort and fuel consumption are very ok. The sidewalls were surprisingly full of dents after the first winter, and look not much better than the moon after 3 Winters - but where it counts they still look like one more winter, now the score is 40000 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2021   
Given 86% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 19,000 spirited miles
These have just gone back on my Skoda Yeti 170tdi 4x4 for their 4th season & have probably done close to 20k miles now & yet still have almost 50% wear left so definitely last well. However 1 tyre has worn in an odd way with a sort of high patch appearing in the carcass below the tread blocks over about a third of the tyre, so on this tyre there's about 3mm tread left at this part of the tyre, yet 6mm elsewhere, just like the other 3 tyres on the car. I've had it checked by my MOT station & also my tyre supplier, & both said it's ok to keep in service, so I will, & keep my eye on it. Other than this they have been a great winter tyre. Nice, dynamic steering & decent ride quality. Previously I've run Vredestein Wintrac Extreme & Pirelli Sottozero 3 on the Yeti & I'd say the Dunlops have very slightly better wet, dry & snow grip than those tyres, except at very low speeds on snow where curiously the Dunlops can understeer noticeably, yet as speed rises over say 15mph, grip comes back rapidly & they're very good after that, & are also the best winter I've experienced on ice. So performance wise, very impressive tyres but the odd wear pattern on 1 tyre worries me slightly especially as I've also previously suffered 2 faulty Goodyear tyres (same company) I do question construction quality & wonder if it's no coincidence that Goodyear/Dunlop have the worst warranty of just about all tyre manufacturers.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 96% while driving a Hyundai elantra (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 18,600 average miles
Drive only on town, on not so much snow (only until the road is cleaned), little wet road, i think 60-70% from time on dry roads. Wery good response, quiet on the road, good to very good on brake. In one season (winter) i made aprox. 30.000 km, and the wear is very good, i think it will resist 3 seasons! Good tire, i will buy again!
0 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2020   
Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
No rim protection!! Despite saying on the side wall it has rim protection, it most certainly doesn’t. Compared to my usual Pilot Sport 3/4 summers which have plenty of curb protection. And sadly I now have to refurb two of my newly refurbished wheels again after being forced against a curb by a SUV charging down a narrow road, I literally just brushed the curb and now they are heavily scuffed.

Grip in normal conditions is ok, but they do squirm around a fair bit when cornering or braking hard at higher speeds. They felt horrible when new but have improved after a few thousand miles. Damp (not wet) grip was atrocious but has also improved. Don’t expect these to perform like high performance summer tyres.

Typically not had any snow since fitting them, but had frost and ice where grip is obviously reduced but they are progressive and predictable. Also seem to perform well on mud covered roads which is common on the country lanes I drive on. They don’t aquaplane on deep puddles which again is common round here.

There is tyre noise, not intrusive but its there. Fuel economy doesn’t seem to be adversely affected by any great degree, maybe 1mpg, but its hard to say as the car uses more fuel in the colder seasons.

If it wasn’t for the useless rim protection, I’d probably buy again.



3 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2020   
Given 54% while driving a (235/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Have these tires on a Tesla Model 3 SR+, and I find them to perform very poorly both in dry and wet conditions. Wet even worse than dry. Given the profile structure of the tire, I can imagine very good snow performance, however as these conditions are rare in my country (NL), could not recommend these for any car with more than 200 hp.

The original Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tires made the car seem on rails, these make the car very nervous when accelerating hard.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Last tires i used were conti ts 860 t, this year i bought dunlop, and i love it, i can say they are almost as good and a lot cheaper too. I recommend highly... Not scared in wet, icy or snow, they are superb on dry also....
1 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2020   
Given 92% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (215/50 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Used on Nissan Leaf for two winters (November to end May). One of best winter tyres I've used - very good in wet n dry conditions, even on warmer days with temperatures up to 17'C. Very good ride comfort, noise and economy. Handled 8" f fresh snow easily (limitation being the car ground clearance!) as well as compacted snow and slush.

Would use again without hesitation. Drove ca 15k miles in two winters on them and not even half worn.
4 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R17 W) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Exellent on dry road, on the wet sometimes slipping during acceleration.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a Chevrolet 2012 Cruze (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Its perfect winter tire overall. Bit soft walls when temperature is above 10C there for 9 for handling but when under, then is almost perfect. Grip on snow/ice is amazing very similar to Conti 850 I use to have, but Conti is good for max two seasons or 10.000 miles after that is meah. We will see how dunlop ws5 perform after while.
6 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2018   
Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen GTi Mk6 (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Bought a set of 4 winter Dunlop's in 2017, mounted them on MK6 golf. First impressions were OK, low Tyre noise, good grip in wet and dry. Comfortable if they would not have a huge issue. After a few miles on highway, I noticed that there are some vibrations cumming through steering wheel at higher speeds. I suspected the wheels (bought them used) and change them for new ones, but problem remained. Went back to dealer who made measurements on machine and reported that two of them (tyres) had defects in tread pattern (humps of some sort), two were suppose to be OK. Waited for a few months to get the replacement approved (actually it was already spring). When we mounted two new ones on, it was noticeably better, but still not OK. At later time we noticed that also one of the old two, that suppose to be OK, needed a lot of weights when balancing it (despite rotating it on wheel itself) and the steering wheel still vibrated when accelerating or at higher speed (not happening on summer set). I gave up and get rid of them, never buying "premium" Dunlop again!
0 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2018   
Given 73% while driving a Subaru forester 2.5xt (215/65 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I put these tyres on my Subaru Forester XT just before the first snow storm of the winter. It hit pretty hard wit a lot of ice and very very slippery snow, quite deep at some places. I drive through one of the hardest mountain passes where i live almost on a weekly basis and a good tyre is crucial. The Dunlop WinterSport 5 preformed much better than i expected initially in acceleration, corner grip and braking in dry and uncleaned snow. We had some heavy rain since and the tyre preformed very well in the wet as well. Very little aqua planning in some big puddles but all well controlled. In short - The tyre is predictable with high levels of grip. I dunno about noise - i drive a subaru - everything is noisy on a subaru.
6 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a BMW 330xi (225/45 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres in www.jaunasriepas.lv web store 2 years ago, very satisfied! Excellent grip in winter conditions, also these tyres are goo enough on ice. Good wear.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2018