Dunlop Winter Sport 5

The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 78%
Wear 87%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 83%
Snow Grip 88%
Ice Grip 82%

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 348,100 miles driven.

The Winter Sport 5 is ranked 22nd of 41 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Consistent performance in most tests with good aquaplaning resistance, good traction in the snow.
  • Negative - Slow dry handling lap, high external noise, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The Dunlop WinterSport 5 placed a well deserved sixth overall. The tyre was very consistent in nearly all tests with no real weaknesses other than a slightly slow dry handling lap, but unfortunately the tyre didn't excel in any test either.
View Full Test >>

2021 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 2nd of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild Sports Car Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent performance in the snow, short wet and dry braking distances, pleasant comfort, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 ADAC 17 Inch Winter Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2021 Winter Tyre Market Overview (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2021 Auto Bild Sports Car Winter Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 6th: 2021 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 6th: 2021 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2021 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2020 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: The Best Winter Tyres for 2020 (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2020 Auto Bild SUV Winter Tyre Test (225/55 R17)
  • 6th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2020 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2020 Auto Bild Performance Winter Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 13th: 2020 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 52 Tyre Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2019 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 13th: 2019 Winter Tyre Test Market Overview (225/45 R17)
  • 16th: 2019 Auto Bild Winter 17 inch Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2018 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 3rd: 2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2018 Autobild UHP Winter Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 5th: 2018 51 Winter Tyre Shootout (195/65 R15)
  • 6th: 2018 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2017 ADAC SUV Winter Tyre Test - 215/65 R16 (215/65 R16)
  • 2nd: 2017 AMS Performance 18 inch Winter Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 3rd: 2017 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2017 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 5th: 2017 50 Winter Tyre Shoot Out (225/50 R17)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2016 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2016 GF All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2016 AutoBild Winter UHP Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 3rd: 2016 Sport Auto Winter Tyre Test (235/40 R18)
  • 4th: 2016 Winter Tyre Market Overview (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2016 AutoBild Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2016 AZ Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2016 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2015 Auto Bild Performance Winter Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 1st: 2015 Auto Bild SUV Winter Tyre Test (215/65 R16)
  • 2nd: 2015 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2015 ACE 17 Inch Winter Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 3rd: 2015 AMS UHP Winter Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    195/55 R15 85H XL   E B 71 7.67kgs
    195/55 R15 85H XL   C B 69 7.68kgs
    195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 69 8.08kgs
    205/65 R15 94T XL   C B 68 8.53kgs
    205/65 R15 94H   C B 68 8.53kgs
    205/65 R15 94T XL   C B 71 8.45kgs
    195/45 R16 84V XL   E B 69 7.27kgs
    195/45 R16 84V XL   E C 72 7.11kgs
    195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 70 8.23kgs
    195/55 R16 87H XL   C B 68 8.15kgs
    205/55 R16 91T XL   C B 69 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 70 8.70kgs
    205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 71 8.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91T XL   C B 71 8.50kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 71 9.07kgs
    205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 69 8.52kgs
    215/55 R16 93H XL   C B 70 8.12kgs
    215/55 R16 97H XL   C C 71 9.62kgs
    215/55 R16 93H XL   C C 72 9.09kgs
    215/55 R16 97H XL   C B 70 8.72kgs
    225/55 R16 95H XL   C B 72 9.41kgs
    225/55 R16 99V XL   C C 72 9.85kgs
    225/55 R16 99H XL   C C 72 9.85kgs
    225/55 R16 99V XL   C B 69 9.91kgs
    225/55 R16 95H XL   C B 69 9.45kgs
    225/55 R16 99H XL   C B 69 9.91kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 70 8.95kgs
    205/60 R16 92H XL   C B 72 8.48kgs
    205/60 R16 92H XL   C B 69 8.56kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 70 9.42kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 72 9.50kgs
    215/60 R16 95H XL   C B 69 9.44kgs
    235/60 R16 100H   C B 70 10.13kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   C B 70 9.05kgs
    215/65 R16 98H XL   C B 71 9.75kgs
    215/65 R16 98T XL   C B 69 9.75kgs
    215/65 R16 98T XL   C C 72 9.78kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 69 8.63kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL   C B 71 8.51kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   E C 72 11.81kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   E B 72 9.50kgs
    225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 70 9.07kgs
    225/45 R17 94H XL   E B 72 9.50kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   E B 72 9.50kgs
    225/45 R17 91H XL   C B 70 8.51kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70 9.07kgs
    225/45 R17 91H XL   E C 72 9.73kgs
    235/45 R17 97V XL   C C 72 9.95kgs
    235/45 R17 97V XL   C B 70 9.85kgs
    245/45 R17 99V XL   E B 70 11.64kgs
    245/45 R17 99V XL   E B 70 10.43kgs
    245/45 R17 99V XL   C C 72 11.66kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 72 8.50kgs
    205/50 R17 93H XL   C B 70 8.96kgs
    205/50 R17 93H XL   C B 72 8.50kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 70 8.96kgs
    215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 70 9.14kgs
    215/50 R17 95V XL   C C 72 9.14kgs
    215/50 R17 91H XL   C B 69 8.58kgs
    225/50 R17 98H XL   C C 72 9.87kgs
    225/50 R17 94H XL   C B 72 11.51kgs
    225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 70 10.27kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 70 10.42kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 70 10.42kgs
    225/50 R17 98H XL   C B 70 10.42kgs
    225/50 R17 94H XL   C B 70 9.33kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   C C 72 10.53kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 71 9.37kgs
    215/55 R17 98V XL   C C 71 9.78kgs
    215/55 R17 98V XL   C B 69 9.94kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 72 10.59kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL   C B 69 10.59kgs
    235/55 R17 99V XL   E B 69 12.12kgs
    235/55 R17 99V XL   C C 70 12.25kgs
    225/40 R18 92V XL   E C 72 9.08kgs
    225/40 R18 92V XL   E B 71 9.15kgs
    235/40 R18 95V XL   E B 70 9.90kgs
    235/40 R18 95V XL         10.42kgs
    245/40 R18 97V XL   C B 72 10.93kgs
    245/40 R18 97V XL   C B 70 10.62kgs
    245/40 R18 97V XL   C B 70 10.96kgs
    215/45 R18 93V XL   E B 72 9.31kgs
    215/45 R18 93V XL   C B 69 9.24kgs
    225/45 R18 95V XL   C B 72 9.75kgs
    225/45 R18 95V XL   C B 71 9.70kgs
    235/45 R18 98V XL   C B 70 10.28kgs
    235/45 R18 98V XL   C C 72 10.24kgs
    245/45 R18 100V XL   C C 72 12.25kgs
    245/45 R18 100V XL   C B 69 10.72kgs
    245/45 R18 100V XL   C B 69 12.22kgs
    255/45 R18 103V XL   C C 73 11.52kgs
    255/45 R18 103V XL   C B 70 11.36kgs
    235/50 R18 101V XL   C B 72 10.68kgs
    235/50 R18 101V XL   C B 70 10.69kgs
    275/35 R19 100V XL   E B 73 12.59kgs
    275/35 R19 100V XL   C A 71 12.79kgs
    245/40 R19 98V XL   E B 72 13.47kgs
    245/40 R19 98V XL   C B 70 10.85kgs
    245/40 R19 98V XL         12.25kgs
    255/40 R19 100V XL   C B 72 11.48kgs
    255/40 R19 100V XL   C B 73 12.35kgs
    265/45 R20 108V XL   C C 73 13.70kgs
    295/35 R21 107V XL   C C 74 15.80kgs
    295/35 R21 107V XL   C C 74 16.25kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Dunlop Winter Sport 5

    2016-10-07 - What is the comfort temperature (max/min) for this tyre?

    The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 can be used in any temperatures, however it is recommended you fit and use winter tyres only when the temperatures are consistently under 7c.


    2016-11-17 - How to fit correctly the tyres on the wheel -where should be the yellow mark lines placed? outside or inside?

    The Dunlop Winter Sport 5 is a directional winter tyre, and as such has no inside or outside. The sidewall will have an arrow indicating forward rotation, you should go by this indication.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Winter Sport 5 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    205/55 R16 £75.00 - £153.00 (34 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £113.99 - £148.58 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £109.99 - £174.90 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/50 R17 £103.00 - £164.88 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 62 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews

    Given 81% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 24,000 spirited miles
    I bought these as the successor to Dunlop WinterSport4 which I had been very happy with before, especially with wet grip and good feel in wet/poor conditions. Living and driving around Scotland I use the WinterSport as an all-season tyre. The 5's have improved in all areas and especially in dry handling which was a slight letdown with the 4's. Performance now tails off above around 12 degrees ambient, compared to around 7 degrees with the 4's. At high speed in summer the tyres can get a little 'floaty', but for me this is an acceptable compromise to the excellent grip in cold wet conditions. Sidewalls also seem stronger as the 4's were prone to nicks. Wear is similar if not a little better; got around 22/23K from the 4's when on all year and around 24K for the 5's. All in all a great winter tyre with acceptable all-year round performance for those of us in more Northern areas.
    Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016
    Given 97% while driving a Audi TT (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    I had theese tyres on my Audi TT MK1 and I were very impressed by their performance overall. Tested in all conditions, super super performance on wet roads, amazing on splah and snow, i drove 3 seasons and over 40k kilometers with them without fear and in complete safety.

    Taking everything into account: with theese tyres, it.s summer on the road.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2019
    Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen MkVI Golf GT TDi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
    Not a bad tyre, but i am a little dissapointed with them, becouse sidewalls are just too soft when temperature outside gets above 5 degrese celsius, and the ride becomes unstable in corners, car is allover the place... This is only minus i found after 25.000km with this tyres, but its big enough minus that i wont buy them again. They will last over 50.000km i think.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2016
    Have you driven on the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Winter Sport 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Dunlop Winter Sport 5 >

    Latest Dunlop Winter Sport 5 Reviews

    Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Mivec (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 40,000 easy going miles
    It’s a very comfortable and reliable tire especially in the snow, slippery and cold conditions, which we get quite a lot here in Poland. When temperatures rise above 5-6 degrees Celsius the compound proves to be really soft and hence dry breaking isn’t great. It’s time to replace them after 6 seasons and 60K Kms and although it isn’t sporty at all, due to low rolling resistance and comfortable ride, it suits me for long (800 km) trips visiting family in Hungary. I would repurchase it for next winter.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2022
    Given 86% while driving a Lexus GS300 (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 easy going miles
    Great tires! Comfortable, quiet with very good traction in snow and ice. I can say that they are much better than the Bridgestone Turanza T001.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2021
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 85% while driving a Citroën Spacetourer MPV (225/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 16,000 easy going miles
    I have for the last dozen years driven MPV's as a second family car due to their practicality. Every one of my MPV's has had winter tyres for 5 months of the year. These Dunlops were on my most recent 8 seat Citroen Spacetourer, which is about to be replaced by an identical new car, so these wheels & tyres will be carried over and fitted again in the next 6 weeks. I have been very impressed with the Wintersport 5's in the two years and 16k miles that I used them and have been fortunate to drive them in about 10 days of decent snow and many frosty mornings in that time. I would rate them as one of the best Winter tyres that I have used. They brake very well in snow and wet and also have great traction when accelerating, even when slightly icy slush is about. My previous 5 sets of winter tyres were Goodyear and Conti and they were also good, so I know what I like. I found that with the Wintersports I could just about get up a 1 in 5 snow covered 1st gear sharp corner in the north Pennines (UK), which I initially thought would be too much for them in a heavy car with only 2wd. What I really like about them is the plush ride, despite being 101 load rated, which in some brands can mean thick sidewalls, but not these. On cold wet Winter days where temperatures are just above freezing, I have found them to have good traction and pulling away from a wet junction can easily be accomplished without wheelspin even with a heavy load in the rear. They are commendably quiet on all surfaces, but then in my experience most winter tyres are quieter than the summer equivalent. I never got to test them on stretches of sheet ice so can't comment on their performance for that. Wear has been brilliant compared to the poor summer Michelin Primacy 3 that the car also uses which only lasted 18,000 miles. I predict that the Wintersport 5 will reach about 30,000 miles if I rotate them around the car each winter. I would buy again, but I suspect that a new Dunlop will be along in 2022 or 23 so I will need to look at Tyre Reviews and make a fresh decision from their test results database for the next set of boots. Dunlop Wintersport 5 are highly recommended by me with no caveats.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2021
    Given 53% while driving a Opel Antara 2.2 4x4 184HP (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,500 average miles
    Overall not as good as a tyre as I expected it to be. It's kind of sad to know that I've spent quite a high price for the set, thinking it will be a good tyre, as Dunlop has been previously for me, only to find out that I'm almost disappointed in the qualities of it, especially in dry handling. It may have something to do with the fact, that I have fitted KW coilovers.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2021
    Given 69% while driving a Toyota Prius (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
    The Winter Sport 5 give the car a little too much of understeer but still acceptable, a little more disturbing is they feel a little lazy on the breakes but still ok for a winter tyre. I drove only 2-3 hours in real winter conditions here in hamburg so do not expect too much from my opinion - they did their job which is fine for this small and wide format. Noise, comfort and fuel consumption are very ok. The sidewalls were surprisingly full of dents after the first winter, and look not much better than the moon after 3 Winters - but where it counts they still look like one more winter, now the score is 40000 miles.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2021
    Given 86% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 19,000 spirited miles
    These have just gone back on my Skoda Yeti 170tdi 4x4 for their 4th season & have probably done close to 20k miles now & yet still have almost 50% wear left so definitely last well. However 1 tyre has worn in an odd way with a sort of high patch appearing in the carcass below the tread blocks over about a third of the tyre, so on this tyre there's about 3mm tread left at this part of the tyre, yet 6mm elsewhere, just like the other 3 tyres on the car. I've had it checked by my MOT station & also my tyre supplier, & both said it's ok to keep in service, so I will, & keep my eye on it. Other than this they have been a great winter tyre. Nice, dynamic steering & decent ride quality. Previously I've run Vredestein Wintrac Extreme & Pirelli Sottozero 3 on the Yeti & I'd say the Dunlops have very slightly better wet, dry & snow grip than those tyres, except at very low speeds on snow where curiously the Dunlops can understeer noticeably, yet as speed rises over say 15mph, grip comes back rapidly & they're very good after that, & are also the best winter I've experienced on ice. So performance wise, very impressive tyres but the odd wear pattern on 1 tyre worries me slightly especially as I've also previously suffered 2 faulty Goodyear tyres (same company) I do question construction quality & wonder if it's no coincidence that Goodyear/Dunlop have the worst warranty of just about all tyre manufacturers.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2020
    Given 96% while driving a Hyundai elantra (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 18,600 average miles
    Drive only on town, on not so much snow (only until the road is cleaned), little wet road, i think 60-70% from time on dry roads. Wery good response, quiet on the road, good to very good on brake. In one season (winter) i made aprox. 30.000 km, and the wear is very good, i think it will resist 3 seasons! Good tire, i will buy again!
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2020
    Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    No rim protection!! Despite saying on the side wall it has rim protection, it most certainly doesn’t. Compared to my usual Pilot Sport 3/4 summers which have plenty of curb protection. And sadly I now have to refurb two of my newly refurbished wheels again after being forced against a curb by a SUV charging down a narrow road, I literally just brushed the curb and now they are heavily scuffed.

    Grip in normal conditions is ok, but they do squirm around a fair bit when cornering or braking hard at higher speeds. They felt horrible when new but have improved after a few thousand miles. Damp (not wet) grip was atrocious but has also improved. Don’t expect these to perform like high performance summer tyres.

    Typically not had any snow since fitting them, but had frost and ice where grip is obviously reduced but they are progressive and predictable. Also seem to perform well on mud covered roads which is common on the country lanes I drive on. They don’t aquaplane on deep puddles which again is common round here.

    There is tyre noise, not intrusive but its there. Fuel economy doesn’t seem to be adversely affected by any great degree, maybe 1mpg, but its hard to say as the car uses more fuel in the colder seasons.

    If it wasn’t for the useless rim protection, I’d probably buy again.



    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2020
    Given 54% while driving a (235/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Have these tires on a Tesla Model 3 SR+, and I find them to perform very poorly both in dry and wet conditions. Wet even worse than dry. Given the profile structure of the tire, I can imagine very good snow performance, however as these conditions are rare in my country (NL), could not recommend these for any car with more than 200 hp.

    The original Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tires made the car seem on rails, these make the car very nervous when accelerating hard.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2020
    Given 81% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Last tires i used were conti ts 860 t, this year i bought dunlop, and i love it, i can say they are almost as good and a lot cheaper too. I recommend highly... Not scared in wet, icy or snow, they are superb on dry also....
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2020
    Given 92% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (215/50 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
    Used on Nissan Leaf for two winters (November to end May). One of best winter tyres I've used - very good in wet n dry conditions, even on warmer days with temperatures up to 17'C. Very good ride comfort, noise and economy. Handled 8" f fresh snow easily (limitation being the car ground clearance!) as well as compacted snow and slush.

    Would use again without hesitation. Drove ca 15k miles in two winters on them and not even half worn.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2019
    Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R17 W) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
    Exellent on dry road, on the wet sometimes slipping during acceleration.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2019