Vredestein Wintrac Pro

The Vredestein Wintrac Pro answers the growing market demands in the 17-inch and ultra-high-performance segment. The new winter tyre makes no concessions in terms of performance, offering maximum grip while cornering, short stopping distances on wet roads and great handling, even at high speeds. The Wintrac Pro is available in speed rating Y, making it appropriate for use at speeds of up to 300 km/h (186mph) for a large number of sizes. The tyre merges an attractive design with advanced technology.

This tyre replaced the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 80%
Wear 84%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 91%
Snow Grip 96%
Ice Grip 90%

Tyre review data from 17 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 78,700 miles driven.

The Wintrac Pro is ranked 6th of 39 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild Performance Winter Tyre Test - 12th of 21 tyres

  • Positive - Balanced in all weather conditions, short snow braking distances, dynamic wet handling.
  • Negative - Average value, increased rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2020 ACE Winter Tyre Test - 8th of 9 tyres

  • Negative - Relatively poor performance on snow and wet surfaces, long dry braking distances, high noise.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2020 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 52 Tyre Braking Test - 6th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 72 8.80kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   E B 72 9.59kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 72 9.32kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   E B 72 10.29kgs
205/55 R17 91H   C C 72 9.55kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 72 12.06kgs
235/55 R17 99H   C B 72 12.06kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C B 72 10.30kgs
205/40 R18 86V XL   F B 72 11.32kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E B 72 10.57kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL   C B 72 11.16kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL   C B 72 10.94kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL   C B 73 13.93kgs
225/60 R18 104V XL   C B 72 12.64kgs
235/65 R18 110H XL   C B 72 13.31kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   F B 72 11.23kgs
275/35 R19 100W XL   E B 73 12.96kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E B 72 9.97kgs
245/40 R19 98W XL   E B 72 11.20kgs
255/45 R19 104V XL   E B 72 13.06kgs
235/50 R19 103V XL   C B 72 12.81kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   F B 73 12.65kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 72 11.75kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E B 73 13.51kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   E B 72 12.78kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E B 73 13.23kgs
295/40 R20 110V XL   C B 73 15.45kgs
235/45 R20 100V XL   E B 72 12.55kgs
255/55 R20 110V XL   C B 72 15.21kgs
255/40 R21 102V XL   E B 72 13.61kgs
315/40 R21 115V XL         16.00kgs
245/45 R21 104W XL   E B 72 13.41kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Wintrac Pro. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Wintrac Pro Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £107.80 - £110.40 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £97.50 - £116.41 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £103.80 - £128.05 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £136.00 - £143.30 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 £122.60 - £125.70 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £231.20 - £236.90 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 90 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Vredestein Wintrac Pro Reviews

Given 85% while driving a BMW M240i (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
I've had several types / makes of winter tyres fitted to different cars over the years (Mini Cooper S, BMW X5's), although this is an initial review and we haven't had any severe weather yet these tyres seem excellent and better that I have had in the past (plus this car is more powerful (340bhp) and rear wheel drive...). We've only driven the car in temperatures at zero degC and above but we've had some horrendous weather with heavy rain and high winds, driving with these tyres really in both small country roads and main dual carriageways with aquaplane conditions these have been sure footed, I have to commend them. I hope that come snow and the real harsh weather that will come shortly they will continue to impress.
62 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2018   
Given 94% while driving a Audi S5 (255/40 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great winter tyres, highly recommend. Amazing traction in the Scottish winter and snow. Good handling balance at the limit and provides plenty of feedback of the road surface. Corners and grips well in temperatures under 0 degrees Celsius. A must buy for any performance vehicle if looking to drive spiritedly in the colder months. Driving a stage 2 Audi S5 with 485 Bhp, a good tyre is a must even with Quattro to put the power down when the road is slippery, wet and cold. The tyre is vary predictable at the limit when driving on an dry road and provides confidence when braking. Would buy again.
54 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Jaguar Jaguar XE (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought these tyres on the strength of Autobild UHP winter tyre test 2018. Had the chance to drive through snow , slush and ice on saturday here in Scotland . Last winter I had the misfortune to experience a few scary moments when my UHP summer tyres lost traction where I skidded and slid all over the place in conditions not nearly severe as saturday past. These tyres in one word are phenomenal . I never lost traction once , I felt so safe and confident throughout my whole journey.

My wife has a mini cooper with UHP winter tyres , now on their second season. Her tyres are good but not in the same class as the Wintrac pro , they have a sluggish steering response and mushy feel at temps above 10c. The Wintrac pro at 9c last week felt very planted on dry roads , I am really quite amazed at how they've managed to achieve this .

My experience with premium winter tyres in the past have never been this good. All I can say is I'm so glad that these tyres are tested to the limit by those who know how and we all learn so much before making an expensive mistake. If you review this and decide to buy you will Not be disappointed and before you ask , I'm not affiliated with Vredestein in any shape or form . Good luck with your choice .
21 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2018   
Have you driven on the Vredestein Wintrac Pro tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Wintrac Pro? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Vredestein Wintrac Pro >

Latest Vredestein Wintrac Pro Reviews

Given 93% while driving a BMW M240i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Winter time. Came from Michelin PS4 summer tyres. When changing to Vredestein Wintrac Pro straight away i've noticed it handles like the Michelin. Very stable, tight handling. Grip is amazing. Having a Stage2 M240i with 480bhp. Accelerating from 0 is spot on. Almost no wheelspin! And that for RWD!! In wet it feels very confident. No issues at all. First day of big snow, I went for a big trip with my buddy. Leaving the parking uphill, it went like on dry surface. My buddy took 30min to finally get free. Just proves how amazing the Vredestein is. And really shows a wintertyre is the best choice in these winter condition. Trust level 100. Wouldn't choose any other tyre than this. You wont regret it
0 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a Ford fiesta st (205/55 R18) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
I bought these tyres in November 2019 and had them fitted to my 2019 Ford Fiesta ST. There was very little choice for winter tyres when it came to the wheel size on this car so I was limited to only this one or the very overpriced Pirelli Sotozero 3s. For the first winter that I had them fitted it was mostly just cold and wet (no snow) but the level of grip that this tyre offers over the Michelin pilot super sports (fitted to this car as standard) in temperatures below about 5°C is worth it even if you don’t get any snow. Fast forward to December 2020/January 2021 and I can confirm that in the snow these tyres are extremely capable. A full three inches of snow is no problem for these tyres. I have also used these tyres on icy roads and they hold up well there too, with abs breaking coming on when you slam the breaks but it stopping the car some several meters shorter than if you had summer tyres on. The tyres also preform equally as well in slushy/wet snow. If I had to rate the handling/breaking for fresh dry snow I would say 10/10, for slushy/wet snow 9/10 and icy roads would be 8/10. It’s also worth noting that even after 6000 miles on these tyres there is very little wear and they probably still have another full winter in them if not 2. Overall a fantastic tyre that significantly improves the safety of your car during the winter.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 88% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Bought these last year for my then new-to-me Facelift Audi S3 to replace some General Tyres(!) summers that the dealers fitted before I bought the car. I was impressed with the Vredestein Wintrac Extremes I'd run a good few years ago on my Yeti, so thought I'd give these a go as they are UHP rated. They were a definite improvement over the Generals, but as I didn't know the car, it wasn't really a good comparison. During this summer however, I ran Michelin PS4s on the S3, & they didn't seem the big step up from the Wintrac Pros I was expecting, & now I've refitted the Vreds I noticed straight away that the steering's actually better, the car's slightly quieter & ride's better than it was on the PS4s. I found the Wintrac Pros really good in the wet & in cold, dry conditions but I didn't get the opportunity to drive on snow or much ice last year so can't comment on that yet, & I'm not really expecting great wear, but dynamically & subjectively these are a great winter tyre & good value. If we get proper winter weather this year, I'll update accordingly & it'll be interesting to compare them to the Dunlop Wintersport 5s that are currently on the Yeti (which subjectively & for grip in all conditions have been really impressive) but so far, highly recommend these Wintrac Pros.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
The tyres need a short warm up phase to grip on slippery road around freezing. City driving is not really enough to get them to grip well enough, that you don't experience slip at acceleration from a stand still. Once moving, they quickly bite into the road surface when dry, wet and snowy roads are a little more tricky. The confidence you build on snow and slush is phenomenal though. As long as you drive smoothly, the tyres keep you on track even in tight corners. Bumps and pot holes are transfered to your bum quite directly, but not as harsh as with the 245/30 summer tyres. Aquaplaning sets in at closer to 100km/h with nearly new tyres. Thread wear is great. Over the 20000km in mild weather on motorway and city streets, they still look almost as new. Smooth driving and no hard exeleration or braking are key for long thread life. Cornering feels a little less direct than on the 245/30 summer tyres and I wouldn't recommend track use. Though rated up to 270km/h, sporty driving is possible. Long distance driving is okay. Road noise is acceptable, comfort is good. Comfort setting goes best with the Wintrac Pro for everyday driving, if your car has different driving modes. They do take emergency manouvers very well though. Though I have no experience, if they do well under repeated manouvers. The tyres quickly tell you, when they lose traction, gaining it back quickly as well.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota GT86 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
There tires are AMAZING. Let me start by saying that obviously this tire has been judge keeping in mind we're still talking about a winter tire: so for example when I give it a 9/10 on dry grip it's not the same as a 9/10 summer tire, but for being a winter tire it's very very good. Wet grip is great which again is to be expected on a winter tire. Road feedback is one of the strenght of these tires, honestly they feel better than the summer Michelin Primacy that were previously fitted. Handling is good (again compared to other winter tires). When it comes to comfort and noise there are definitely more compliant tires out there but considering the feel they give you it's a very welcome compromise. What really amazed me the most is snow and ice grip: in these conditions they are OUTSTANDING. With my RWD car I've gone through incredibly deep snow (while bottoming out) without a problem while other FWD cars with winter tires were completely stuck. Even starting from a complete stop on a hill was no problem. I know that might compromise wear if you use them only on tarmac but if you need to drive on snow these are just incredible.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a BMW 335d (255/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Feels much more like a summer tyre than previous winter tyres from Dunlop and Pirelli. Handles well. Good wet and dry grip/braking in cold conditions. Limited experience of snow as used in UK, France and Germany for past two winters. Appear long lasting. Only negative is significant increase in fuel consumption.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Using tyres on BMW M4 F82 only in winter sesion. Dry grip is like with summer tyres very good. Road feedback is also very good. Snow and Ice Grip is not perfect but its normal, you can feel save. Most important that you feel road very detail. I will buy for sure it again
1 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Very positive suprise. I use them on Alfa159 2.0. Summer tyre is same size Hankook Ventus Prime3, but Wintrac pro is matching the grip, if not better than the Hankook, while comfort and noise level are much better.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2019   
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz Vito (225/50 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 11,000 spirited miles
225/50 R17 XL
Tyres wear on the out sides long before the middle. Even with them blown up to max pressure. Tyres so hard it affects the cornering of the van.
Fitted to 2018 Vito medium wheelbase weighing 2.8 ton
18 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2019   
Given 85% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 2.4 jtdm 200hp (225/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
In snow and ice this is the best winter tire i ever used. Under 0°c in dry condition working perfektly. Even in city, or at high speed. On slightly wet road is the weakest point of this tire. In a real rain storm there is no problem.
10 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2019   
Given 98% while driving a BMW 440i Gran Coupe M Sport (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced Pirelli Sottozero 240 S2 RFTs on my car (I also have direct experience of Goodyear Ultragrip Performance Gen 1s on my wife's BMW 335i). The Vredestien Wintrac Pros are far closer in performance to the Goodyears rather than the Pirellis which were good in the wet but not when things got very difficult ie snow and ice. The Vredesteins are good in all conditions but where they excel over the GYs is steering feel which is far more responsive. They are also slightly quieter and better riding. The only downside with the Vredesteins is needing to increase tyre pressures (especially rear) to prevent roll from a softish sidewall (in comparison to a runflat). My car has adaptive suspension so little change in ride comfort, however they are significantly quieter than the Pirellis. When it comes to chaging the tyres on my wife's 335i, I'll choose the Vredestein's over the GYs.
7 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Ford Mondeo ST220 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I decided to try the Vredestein Wintrac Pro based on the price, available reviews and comments made in the 'winter tyre recommendations' video on YouTube.
I paid £98.00 inc vat per tyre, delivered (225/40 R18).

My first outing on the Wintrac Pro's was a trip from Sheffield to Cumbria in very wet 5°C weather, with a good combination of roads to tests them on. Firstly, I was most impressed with the tyres performance in the miserable wet (very wet) conditions! I came from a Falken ZE310 ECORUN - a tyre which has performed very well for me in wet conditions, but the Wintrac Pro had a noticeable increase in lateral grip while cornering over my previous tyres in these conditions, which left a big smile on my face to say the least! Even when pushing the car a little harder than I was previously comfortable with there was no onset of understeer or loss of feel towards the limit of grip.
I was also able to perform a full emergency stop (wet road 5°C), thanks to a suicidal deer! And in and process the car came to a stop very quickly, and with a fantastic sure footed feeling....the dear walked away to live another day with plenty of room to spare.
I would describe the Wintrac Pro as a quiet, very confidence inspiring tyre with excellent handling qualities, with fantastic levels of grip in both the wet and dry. Extremely happy so far! Looking forward to testing them in the ice and snow.
10 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2018