Honda Civic Type R Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Honda Civic Type R.

Do you Drive a Honda Civic Type R? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Civic Type R better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (17) 91% 91% 87% 80% 84% 89%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (27) 97% 90% 95% 97% 75% 78%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R (5) 93% 77% 95% 88% 85% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (88) 94% 90% 87% 89% 86% 86%
Blacklion BH66 (2) 95% 80% 85% 85% 85% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (135) 95% 85% 89% 86% 83% 82%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (398) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105 (35) 92% 84% 85% 87% 77% 82%
Kleber Dynaxer UHP (5) 88% 88% 90% 78% 68% 94%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Falken ZE914 (96) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (282) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Falken Azenis FK510 (115) 90% 89% 82% 83% 74% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (231) 91% 89% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (14) 85% 89% 87% 86% 84% 82%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (79) 87% 83% 81% 83% 79% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect (7) 97% 70% 88% 90% 58% 80%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (75) 91% 79% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Yokohama BluEarth Es ES32 (27) 83% 77% 80% 81% 75% 89%
Prestivo PV S1 (7) 89% 77% 80% 86% 84% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (16) 97% 59% 91% 93% 61% 74%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (26) 92% 84% 86% 87% 63% 74%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (276) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (13) 91% 62% 82% 88% 73% 70%
Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 (6) 84% 76% 82% 84% 73% 72%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (122) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (74) 85% 79% 79% 81% 76% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (167) 89% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (69) 92% 88% 86% 84% 54% 79%
Falken FK451 (10) 79% 77% 73% 71% 81% 79%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (35) 91% 82% 81% 79% 76% 71%
Nankang AR 1 (27) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Kumho Ecsta XS KU36 (10) 91% 74% 84% 84% 74% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070r (4) 95% 68% 88% 90% 65% 48%
Federal 595RSPRO (7) 86% 69% 74% 84% 78% 64%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 (8) 88% 76% 83% 84% 64% 63%
Triangle Sportex TSH11 (15) 79% 69% 78% 75% 75% 76%
Vredestein Ultrac (13) 83% 75% 75% 76% 71% 78%
Hankook Kinergy 4S (10) 78% 72% 69% 69% 79% 81%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Nankang NS2R (50) 89% 67% 83% 84% 72% 55%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Apollo Aspire XP (7) 79% 77% 74% 76% 73% 71%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (91) 86% 81% 78% 78% 56% 73%
Three A P606 (45) 79% 72% 69% 68% 73% 77%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Dunlop Direzza 03G (8) 91% 63% 86% 86% 39% 57%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (198) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (62) 86% 67% 76% 72% 68% 68%
Altenzo Comforter (86) 79% 60% 70% 62% 76% 80%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Pirelli PZero Nero (134) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (29) 75% 70% 70% 70% 60% 73%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (18) 73% 66% 73% 74% 76% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Event Potentum (14) 75% 67% 59% 66% 74% 68%
Toyo Proxes Sport (12) 74% 73% 67% 68% 63% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (151) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Evergreen EU72 (47) 76% 63% 61% 61% 73% 67%
Wanli S1063 (78) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Nankang NS2 (207) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 63%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (32) 80% 63% 62% 68% 68% 63%
Landsail LS388 AS (39) 77% 70% 72% 69% 74% 76%
Achilles 2233 (18) 77% 49% 65% 64% 73% 69%
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68%
Goodride SA37 (20) 73% 66% 63% 62% 56% 66%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Landsail LS988 (36) 75% 51% 58% 53% 71% 66%
GT Radial Champiro UHP1 (14) 74% 69% 61% 64% 44% 61%
Accelera PHI (148) 69% 45% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Wanli S1015 (7) 70% 44% 58% 56% 72% 54%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (60) 65% 45% 54% 53% 71% 55%
Cooper Zeon 2XS (15) 69% 52% 56% 46% 58% 63%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Evergreen Dynacontrol EU728 (4) 57% 43% 53% 47% 90% 60%
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (50) 67% 37% 55% 50% 65% 60%
Achilles ATR Sport (51) 61% 42% 53% 47% 63% 56%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
BCT S800 (84) 51% 30% 38% 37% 61% 32%
Fullrun HP199 (77) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%
Rockstone Radial F105 (25) 38% 20% 33% 30% 54% 36%

Honda Civic Type R Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 76% (245-30-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 spirited miles
This is my 2nd set of Continental CSC6. Totally love the amount of grip these tyres provide and Honda OE these tyres for a good reason on the FK8R. The steering feels so precise and spot on during dry. However, these tyres lasted way shorter than any other tyres that I've ever used.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-06 18:15:29
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Good value for money, are just as good as a lot of slightly more expensive tyres ,run falkens on all my cars and they’ve never let me down
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-19 03:34:40
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect given 90% (265-35-18-)
Driving on track for 31567 spirited miles
I have a civic FK8 that is my track car. The first tyres were the too r888r's which seemed pretty good but when I switched to the advan AD08R I soon realised the shortfalls of the r888r. A warm Oulton Park seemed to suit the Advans well. However since then I have found it wanting. I did Donnington GP (1st trackway this year) and the grip just wasn't there. So after the standard late night obsessing I went for the Pilot sport cup 2's with the track connect system. The tyres are amazing, so much grip and feel, tore up Cadwell. The track connect system was brilliant, once I had it dialled in it was on point all day. I also had have the Garmin Catalyst which is epic. Full disclaimer; I try and hide my spending from my wife but mostly fail.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-21 20:21:36
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4400 spirited miles
To date, this is the only tire I have had on my Civic Type R, so I don't have a good way to compare it to others. The dry grip is outstanding, though, and you can push the tire into corners, and braking without any hesitation. For acceleration, they are fine, but the FWD platform would limit any car, so it's not the tire's fault. The wet grip is down quite a bit vs. dry grip, which is to be expected, but I don't drive the same way when it is cold and wet. Comfort is quite good, and tire noise is acceptable for the limited sound deadening found in my car. If the tires were free, I would never feel the need to switch, but I had to rotate the tires at 4200 miles, as I would likely have barely made it to 6K on the front tires. I do live on a big hill with some nice turns, which makes all of my tires last a bit less than for the average person.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-09 15:13:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 94% (245-30-20-)
Driving on track for 3000 spirited miles
I'm at my second set of PS4S-es on an FK8 Civic Type R. From a mileage perspective it's about half and half road and track use with typical track usage following the following pattern: 1 warm-up lap - 1-2 hot laps (depending on the weather) - 1 cool-down lap and so on. The car is stock, minus race pads (Ferodo DS 3.12). Now for the tyre - it's a good all-rounder, lasted probably around 4-5K km in this drive mode, decent lap times and the lot. The MOST IMPORTANT issue that I encountered is that the sidewall is soft and you need to run them at higher pressures than what "everybody" tells you. Anything below 2.5 bar and the sidewall, especially on a front-heavy, FWD car as I have will have the car riding on the sidewall and destroying the tyre in a couple of laps. (Found this the hard way, BTW). So, as a conclusion, GOOD tyre to arrive at the track, pound all-day-long and return home on the same rubber, but keep the pressures up. Cheers
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-03 08:40:28
Writing about the Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 given 83% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Amazing tires. Bought them lightly used with 6/32 tread left for a steal thinking they hold me over for a few months. Got just over 20,000 miles consisting of daily motorways, city roads, and weekend canyon carves on them to my surprise. Never really broke traction on me at the corners. Great dry grip and did well in the wet too. Very predictable and just works. Wish there was more sidewall as this is a 'narrower' tire but thats just nitpicking. Going a different route with tires this time but I would definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-30 06:50:26
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 given 95% (255-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Absolutely fantastic thus far. It's been a little cold for these to work to their best, but they still do a fantastic job of making the handling perfectly balanced and totally enjoyable - It's very easy to read the road with these:- You do feel them warming up with use at lower temperatures, but with air temperatures of 15c+ they're most of the way to being ready to go. Response is instant, and stability at higher speeds (Up to ~150+ MPH) is noticably greater than the PS4S. In wet conditions, drive sensibly "at the speed of traffic" and you'll be perfectly fine, even in moderate to heavy rain - I've yet to encounter standing water, but I'd be quite cautious if puddles were starting to form given the tread. - I've not left a wet score yet as I haven't tried them on a proper B road. I have the Ferrari K1 fitment which comes with acoustic foam; In comparison to the PS4S these replaced, I would say they are no less comfortable in most instances, and are either quieter or at least of a nicer pitch. Time will tell how they wear; I'm hoping for at least 10K at the moment.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-15 16:27:39
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 77% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Excellent grip and longevity (As well as reasonable comfort & noise), but let down dynamically by the extremely soft sidewalls - They leave the tyre feeling a bit detached and laggy; At the limit it's easier to come quite badly unstuck (With a strong understeer balance on these) due to a lack of feedback, causing you to go direct to terminal understeer without feeling the dropoff - Not a bad tyre by any means, but rather boring. They do fairly well in wet / cold for a UHP summer, but as above, their lack of information at the limit can cause you to find out too late that you're in a bit too hot. I've replaced these with Cup2s which have done a fantastic job of restoring dynamics and neutrality (Though I've yet to test the wet grip on those!)
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-01 13:05:59
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Very enjoyable tyres in the warm; Excellent high speed stability and feedback - Gives the car a very neutral feeling (Similar to Cup2s) That being said, these do go off very quickly below 7c - In cold & wet, they're terrible compared to Michelin PS4S, and can be quite snappy at the limit. The other issue is life - Only ~6000 miles of use despite regular rotations and alignment checks. (Compared to 15,000+ miles on PS4S with similar driving, with them still having 3-4mm left!)
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-01 12:59:22
Writing about the Prestivo PV S1 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Had these on the front and back of my civic type r when I got it changed my front to mitchelin Ps4 what a difference but now driving in the wet the rear prestivos are lethal oversteer when I'm not even going that fast through a corner. Dry grip actually not too bad quite predictable
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-30 13:24:32
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 74% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Is a hard overall tyre. Very good grip on the dry but need much time to warm. Very good handline, the steering well obeys immediately. So, hard tyre = hard to wear. Three years with sporty driving on dry contitions, over than 40k kilometers and still alive. Wet grip it's not the best point of this tyre. Looks nice till 120km/h but don't pushing more than 120 on wet contitions. About comfort. No, the point of this tyre also isn't the comfortable. Very noisy on good roads, and very shaking on bumpy road.Yes i am very hapy about this tyre for my personal use and i will buy it again
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-29 17:13:19
Writing about the Blacklion BH66 given 90% (225-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Super value budget-mid range tyre. Confident handling especially in the dry and good feedback through the steering wheel. I’d have to compare with the very best for a truly balanced review, but very happy at the price and durability.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-18 14:51:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre