Honda Civic Type R Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Honda Civic Type R.

Do you Drive a Honda Civic Type R? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Civic Type R better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (31) 96% 93% 90% 94% 90% 89%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (107) 94% 89% 87% 89% 85% 86%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (20) 91% 91% 85% 80% 86% 88%
Blacklion BH66 (2) 95% 80% 85% 85% 85% 85%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R (6) 92% 78% 92% 86% 86% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (152) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Nokian zLine (80) 92% 92% 90% 89% 77% 86%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (140) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (33) 96% 87% 93% 95% 69% 77%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (400) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (25) 89% 90% 86% 84% 84% 91%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105 (38) 91% 84% 85% 88% 77% 80%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (289) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (16) 86% 89% 87% 87% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (270) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 80%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (57) 88% 82% 79% 75% 85% 84%
Falken Azenis FK510 (129) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS (8) 90% 91% 81% 90% 64% 84%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (106) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Yokohama BluEarth Es ES32 (30) 83% 77% 81% 82% 76% 89%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (78) 91% 79% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (83) 86% 82% 81% 82% 78% 77%
Kleber Dynaxer UHP (7) 83% 80% 86% 73% 72% 96%
Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 (7) 83% 78% 80% 83% 74% 73%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (16) 97% 59% 91% 93% 61% 74%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (281) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect (8) 94% 70% 86% 89% 60% 74%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (78) 85% 79% 79% 80% 76% 81%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (44) 90% 83% 82% 81% 74% 72%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (170) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Falken FK451 (10) 79% 77% 73% 71% 81% 79%
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (15) 91% 63% 83% 89% 69% 67%
Federal 595RSPRO (8) 88% 69% 75% 86% 76% 65%
Nankang AR 1 (28) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Vredestein Ultrac (14) 83% 75% 77% 78% 71% 78%
Kumho Ecsta XS KU36 (10) 91% 74% 84% 84% 74% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070r (4) 95% 68% 88% 90% 65% 48%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (77) 92% 87% 84% 82% 53% 78%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (36) 89% 80% 85% 80% 64% 72%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 (8) 88% 76% 83% 84% 64% 63%
Triangle Sportex TSH11 (16) 78% 67% 78% 75% 75% 75%
Hankook Kinergy 4S (10) 78% 72% 69% 69% 79% 81%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Nankang NS2R (52) 89% 66% 83% 85% 71% 56%
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Apollo Aspire XP (7) 79% 77% 74% 76% 73% 71%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Landsail LS588 UHP (87) 81% 76% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Maxxis Victra Sport VS01 (7) 84% 73% 79% 79% 68% 64%
Prestivo PV S1 (8) 80% 73% 74% 81% 75% 75%
Three A P606 (46) 79% 73% 69% 69% 73% 76%
Dunlop Direzza 03G (10) 93% 63% 87% 87% 41% 56%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (96) 86% 80% 77% 78% 55% 73%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (203) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (137) 84% 72% 77% 75% 68% 63%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (23) 76% 67% 75% 74% 79% 67%
Altenzo Comforter (86) 79% 60% 70% 62% 76% 80%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (65) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (209) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli PZero Nero (137) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Toyo Proxes Sport (14) 74% 69% 71% 68% 64% 69%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (30) 74% 70% 68% 69% 60% 71%
Event Potentum (14) 75% 67% 59% 66% 74% 68%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (153) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Evergreen EU72 (47) 76% 63% 61% 61% 73% 67%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Landsail LS388 AS (42) 78% 71% 72% 68% 74% 77%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Nankang NS2 (210) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (35) 81% 63% 62% 67% 69% 64%
Falken FK453 (29) 76% 69% 61% 58% 59% 68%
Goodride SA37 (22) 73% 66% 63% 61% 56% 63%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Achilles 2233 (20) 77% 47% 63% 64% 71% 65%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
GT Radial Champiro UHP1 (14) 74% 69% 61% 64% 44% 61%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (62) 65% 45% 55% 54% 71% 56%
Accelera PHI (149) 69% 45% 54% 53% 66% 58%
Wanli S1015 (7) 70% 44% 58% 56% 72% 54%
Cooper Zeon 2XS (15) 69% 52% 56% 46% 58% 63%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (135) 70% 47% 57% 55% 68% 48%
Evergreen Dynacontrol EU728 (4) 57% 43% 53% 47% 90% 60%
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (56) 67% 38% 55% 52% 64% 60%
Achilles ATR Sport (52) 62% 42% 54% 47% 63% 57%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
BCT S800 (85) 51% 29% 38% 37% 61% 32%
Fullrun HP199 (77) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%
Rockstone Radial F105 (25) 38% 20% 33% 30% 54% 36%

Honda Civic Type R Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 69% (245-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
The shop put around 41psi at the rear, so my first drive can be considered really scary. They felt unstable at the beginning the high psi did triggered the TPMS. Had to stop and deflate them to 33psi. At 300km breaking in, I still don't feel safe when entering corners so I pump another 2psi to give it stiffer feeling for the sidewall. I can now put a bit more throttle at the corners without the scary sliding/unstable feeling. Now at 1000km, a little improvement during cornering, however straight line pull is not stable. The rear is unstable and the car feels like floating at high speed. At 170kmh, you can feel like the tires are too soft and flexing too much even with straight line pull. Still manageable but not really as good as the Conti. I'm not expecting the LS588 to perform like OEM Conti Sport Contact 6, but they are night and day difference. However, at normal driving speed they can be quite comfortable. Low noise. Just that they are not really reliable/safe for spirited driving.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-29 15:32:35
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS given 74% (245-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
This OEM Tyre for my '18 Type R has sensational grip and response that take full advantage of the brilliant chassis. That said, they are a nail magnet, easily get out of alignment after a few potholes or bumps in the road, and while less than some alternatives are still dear. The ride and comfort level are quite good for a 30 sidewall, and they have not let me down in the rain. The good news? They are so rewarding to push hard you'll want to buy them again. The bad news? You will get to do that much sooner than you planned.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-30 00:37:19
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
So far outstanding performance on dry and wet road. Will see how it goes
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-23 18:56:54
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 76% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 easy going miles
Life cycle end review of the Wintrac Pro. 4th season, about 35000km, maybe a bit more, various countries, road conditions and driving styles, mostly smooth, relaxed touring. High speed stability is great. Only tested it once, during the 3rd season. Speed rating W, so up to 270km/h(168mph), got it up to 262km/h without any problems. Handling is good, not great, but it's predictable and you feel, when it starts to wash out. Strange rubbing noise, when they do though. Rubber got noticably harder over the 4 years. Stones quickly break parts of the thread out or squishes them down permanently, leaving holes in the otherwise prestine rubber blocks. Smaller stones get stuck easily and cause for quite some noise, especially in corners. Dry grip is great, once the tyres are warm. When cold, grip levels are mediocre, fine for city driving. Sporty driving is not recommended until they have at least some warmth in them. Curvy b roads make for a good place to warm them up. Wet grip is similar to dry grip. Slightly difficult, when greasy. The tyres will grip after washing out a bit, making the turn in a bit jerky at slightly higher speeds or when still cold. Aquaplaning is hardly an issue, once the tyres have warmed up, at least at speeds, that are common on roads. 120km/h in pouring rain is doable. There are enough grip reserves, but any higher than that is not recommended, except for short amounts of time to overtake the truck, that sprays your wind screen. Snow grip is astonishingly good, only a few problems there. Up to 100km/h, the tyres are predictable in a straight line, and safe to change lanes, when there is slush and snow between lanes. Braking is good, especially at lower speeds. Rear wheels might break out in corners, easy to do lift of oversteer in a FWD car. Snow grip didn't get much worse over the 4 seasons, than it was in the beginning. Tyres prefer deep, fresh snow, rather than flattened one from other drivers. Ice grip is not good. Even thin layers of ice on the road can quickly lead to the front washing out, even in low speeds. Definitely not recommended. If the ice is rough, the rubber grips a bit better, but still makes for an unpleasent ride. Ice driving requires very gentle stearing input and thinking at least 100m ahead. Comfort and tyre noise is good, gets splightly worse over time, but not unbearibly so. Mostly due to the rubber becoming harder and the thread blocks developing holes from stones, that squished and deformed them permanently. Thread wear is absolutely fantastic. 35000km and still 6mm of thread left on all 4 tyres. Mostly gentle, economic driving, very few hard accelerations or braking. Greasy, none road surfaces are astonishingly hardly a problem. Went on a ferry to Sweden, where other tyres struggled for grip, the Wintrac Pro made it up the damp ramps easily. Sweden's rough road surface didn't inpact the thread wear at all, as it seems. Measured the thread depth before and after the 2500km trip, no difference measurable. Noise levels rose a bit, naturally. Steering was not impacted though. 22° decline on wet cobble stone was also no problem. Very little slip, if any. For middle European winter conditions, I'd give them an 8/10. Best for climates with little ice and either lots of fresh snow or hardly any snow. Winter climates with lots of rain are absolutely no problem whatsoever. Sporty driving is also no problem, but you have to be aware of understeer and sudden gains of grip. Excelent for long road trips.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-23 13:06:13
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 72% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I'm very impressed thus far. Living in South East England (London area), I've recently fitted these to use as a winter tyre - Their tread pattern and UHP Bias, and wins in cold and wet testing mean that they should be optimal for my use case. Compared to the PS4's that I was using as a summer tyre, they offer a much more secure feeling in the cold and wet - Traction is comparable in a straight line, but they feel far more secure in cold and wet weather (Like the tyre is rubber - Soft and pliable, rather than the hard feeling of a cold UHP Summer) At the limit, they're impressively linear - I haven't been for any enthusiastic drives yet, but provoking the car with some liftoff on roundabouts shows the tyre to be incredibly linear - moreso than the PS4 even in optimal conditions for the tyre (And definitely in the cold) - This is probably due to the slightly more touring nature of the tyre. Steering is reasonably good, There is a decent level of information and general connection to the road. In terms of NVH, Noise levels are similar to the PS4 - There weren't many miles on my PS4s, so it's a new-new comparison. At higher speeds I'd say the tyres are slightly quieter. They are more comfortable than the PS4 which I would also expect; Cats eyes and join lines in the road are now imperceptible other than a slight noise - Very pleasant for winter use. For anyone looking for a winter (ish) tyre for a high performance car in place of UHP summers with a focus on cold, wet grip (Ideal for the UK) - This is the tyre for you.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-07 10:33:38
Writing about the Maxxis Victra Sport VS01 given 46% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
My civic type r came with these fitted, and they seemed ok at first, if not a tad noisy. Did find that as the fronts were down to near 2.5mm that road feedback was all over, and wheel spinning was present when accelerating out of junctions etc, and if pushed too far would induce understeer. Have also found that the rears have started feathering and deforming causing god awful rumbling noises. Have since replaced with Nexen tyres and I'm far happier with them than the Maxxis.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-25 14:43:14
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 76% (245-30-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 spirited miles
This is my 2nd set of Continental CSC6. Totally love the amount of grip these tyres provide and Honda OE these tyres for a good reason on the FK8R. The steering feels so precise and spot on during dry. However, these tyres lasted way shorter than any other tyres that I've ever used.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-06 18:15:29
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Good value for money, are just as good as a lot of slightly more expensive tyres ,run falkens on all my cars and they’ve never let me down
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-19 03:34:40
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect given 90% (265-35-18-)
Driving on track for 31567 spirited miles
I have a civic FK8 that is my track car. The first tyres were the too r888r's which seemed pretty good but when I switched to the advan AD08R I soon realised the shortfalls of the r888r. A warm Oulton Park seemed to suit the Advans well. However since then I have found it wanting. I did Donnington GP (1st trackway this year) and the grip just wasn't there. So after the standard late night obsessing I went for the Pilot sport cup 2's with the track connect system. The tyres are amazing, so much grip and feel, tore up Cadwell. The track connect system was brilliant, once I had it dialled in it was on point all day. I also had have the Garmin Catalyst which is epic. Full disclaimer; I try and hide my spending from my wife but mostly fail.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-21 20:21:36
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4400 spirited miles
To date, this is the only tire I have had on my Civic Type R, so I don't have a good way to compare it to others. The dry grip is outstanding, though, and you can push the tire into corners, and braking without any hesitation. For acceleration, they are fine, but the FWD platform would limit any car, so it's not the tire's fault. The wet grip is down quite a bit vs. dry grip, which is to be expected, but I don't drive the same way when it is cold and wet. Comfort is quite good, and tire noise is acceptable for the limited sound deadening found in my car. If the tires were free, I would never feel the need to switch, but I had to rotate the tires at 4200 miles, as I would likely have barely made it to 6K on the front tires. I do live on a big hill with some nice turns, which makes all of my tires last a bit less than for the average person.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-09 15:13:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 94% (245-30-20-)
Driving on track for 3000 spirited miles
I'm at my second set of PS4S-es on an FK8 Civic Type R. From a mileage perspective it's about half and half road and track use with typical track usage following the following pattern: 1 warm-up lap - 1-2 hot laps (depending on the weather) - 1 cool-down lap and so on. The car is stock, minus race pads (Ferodo DS 3.12). Now for the tyre - it's a good all-rounder, lasted probably around 4-5K km in this drive mode, decent lap times and the lot. The MOST IMPORTANT issue that I encountered is that the sidewall is soft and you need to run them at higher pressures than what "everybody" tells you. Anything below 2.5 bar and the sidewall, especially on a front-heavy, FWD car as I have will have the car riding on the sidewall and destroying the tyre in a couple of laps. (Found this the hard way, BTW). So, as a conclusion, GOOD tyre to arrive at the track, pound all-day-long and return home on the same rubber, but keep the pressures up. Cheers
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-03 08:40:28
Writing about the Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 given 83% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Amazing tires. Bought them lightly used with 6/32 tread left for a steal thinking they hold me over for a few months. Got just over 20,000 miles consisting of daily motorways, city roads, and weekend canyon carves on them to my surprise. Never really broke traction on me at the corners. Great dry grip and did well in the wet too. Very predictable and just works. Wish there was more sidewall as this is a 'narrower' tire but thats just nitpicking. Going a different route with tires this time but I would definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-30 06:50:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre