Evergreen EU72

The Evergreen EU72 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 63%
Road Feedback 61%
Handling 61%
Wear 73%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 62%

Tyre review data from 47 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 375,710 miles driven.

The EU72 is ranked 116th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Evergreen EU72
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Evergreen EU72

Questions and Answers for the Evergreen EU72

2017-01-10 - I bought an Evergreen tyre labelled DOT KEBO AD J. Can you tell me the year it was manufactured? The usual 3- or 4-digit number is not written on it.

We suggest checking both sides of your Evergreen EU72, the numeric DOT code is a legal requirement and should be printed on the outside of the tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


EU72 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £80.30 - £80.30 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £78.76 - £78.76 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £79.51 - £79.51 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R19 £130.78 - £130.78 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £107.18 - £107.18 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 19 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Evergreen EU72 Reviews

Volkswagen Passat B5.5 130 TDI Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
I travel some 40,000 miles a year and and have used a variety of tyre brands mainly premium, however having 4 Evergreen 2354517 tyres fitted was quite a surprise. When first fitted I was cautioned to drive carefully as these tyres are silica based and need to run a 'heat cycle' before pushing hard on them and to my amazement the tyres were superb in the dry and also in the wet unless you drive like an idiot too fast for the conditions. I suspect in many of these reviews the drivers are macho, men who think they know everything about cars and driving, so many drivers do not recognise a safe speed for conditions but do not have the mentality to admit it.( the accident rate in the UK proves my point) Evergreen well done a good premium product at an affordable mid range price as a fully qualified advanced driving trainer I do have a clue about this issue and also about tyres 56.000 miles on a set better that if you can.....
264 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2014   
Given 50% while driving a Vauxhall 2.0 CDi (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Had these fitted to replace front Bridgestone Potenza tyres. No comparison! I could feel the front of my car had a lot less grip in botht he dry and the wet. Understeered a lot easier.
21 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2017   
Given 57% while driving a Peugeot 407 sw (205/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
Overall the tyres are OK in term of grip on wet and dry road. They seem to wear OK (although only fitted at the back) but they are incredibly noisy. They were OK at first but became very noisy after few hundreds of miles. They are so noisy that despite the grip being OK I'll not buy Evergreen tyres again. Even the kids are asking what the noise at the back to the car.
15 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2017   
Have you driven on the Evergreen EU72 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Evergreen EU72? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Evergreen EU72 >

Latest Evergreen EU72 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Ford (215/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 16,000 easy going miles
tyres condemned withhalf their useable tread still available due to cracks in tread surface.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2021   
Given 36% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (215/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Put these on my 2004 mini jcw. I run a small stretch but thing that would cause abnormal or uneven wear. Just to show rim lip. For lack of discretion, I can grip my balls harder than these things grip the road. And I mean that in the best way cause they are very cheap. They wear out wayyyyyy too quick. I’ll admit to driving hard but with a 280 tw, I could have pushed a quality 200tw tire harder than I pushed these and got multiple seasons out of them. No doubt in my mind. They lasted around 4 months (7-8,000km) of use and the tread in the front was mangled. Scrapping away at the wear bar. I can say 100% I never did a burn out in these tires. I did take corners a little slidey sometimes but that’s not uncommon for the average spirited driver with a fun car. This is all not to mention the fact that they actually don’t grip that well either. Needless to say, they wore way too quickly and for the time and money wasted on buy and installing these, I would not recommend as a budget tire for anyone looking to get a cheapy performance tire for they pretty fast-very fast daily driver. I hope this helps some people
1 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 84% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
This is my second set of Evergreen EU72. The initial set lasted over 50k and still had 3mm left. Dry and wet handling and grip are very good. Noise and comfort are pretty decent too. swapped from Falken FK510 and noticably better handling, noise and mpg. My previous set encountered snow and ice and with its chunky block pattern inside of the shoulder it managed these situations with no problems at all allowing me to do my 40mile commute through untreated A roads and country back roads with little trouble. I know they are a cheaper brand but i think they represent great value for money and more capable than most
5 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 8 spirited miles
Mine are 215/55 ZR16 and they are surprisingly good. When I bought the car they were equipped with some Kumho junk and the car would slide...all..the..time. in the dry and the dangerously in the rain. But with these Evergreens it is so much better. I have to really try and turn off traction control to get it to slide on the dry pavement. And in the rain it's pretty good as long as you don't gas it on a turn. So much better than the Kumho I had before. Replaced those within two months of getting the car and they were relatively new. I see some people say it has bad handling but I don't see it. The EU72 has pretty good handling, tho you do feel it close to slipping only on fast sharp turns, so basically only if you want it to. They are pretty quiet, but being ZR they are pretty hard and I do feel bumps in the road, doesn't help that I also need to replace my front Bilsteins. But it honestly doesn't bother me and is not really all that noticable unless you focus on it. Passengers have told me that it's a smooth ride. All in all I'd give them an 8.5/10 as long as they're ZR, the grip is superior.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2019   
Given 28% while driving a Audi TT 2.0 Quattro (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Avoid like the plague if you value your car and your life! Just picked up a courtesy car with Evergreens all round, on the 15 mile journey home I had 4 incidents of losing grip, this tyre has no we performance. Hit the brakes approaching a roundabout at less than 30mph and took about 30 meters to come to a stop..... which happened to be in the middle of the roundabout in the path of a bus! lucky for me their tyres werent shocking as they were able to stop pretty quicky. I dont understand people commenting here who are saying they are as good as michelins or pirreli's.... which ones? you clearly dont corner with any conviction. My Golf R is fitted with Michelin Pilot Sport 4s all round and its different car than when it had continentals! A few weeks ago a BMW M4 couldnt keep up with me through the corners of a windy A-road (got absolutely smashed when the road straightened up though) but the Audi TT Quattro I have at the moment (a car that isnt missing mechanical grip) understeered at 20 mph! These tyres are a disgrace at any price. You get what you pay for here, £150 for a tyre made in France from the company that supplies the World Endurance Championship (think Le Mans 24Hr) or £50 for a tyre made from recycled plastic in China, a country that didnt have the technical prowess to manufacture ball bearings small enough to fit Biro pens until the turn of the century. Your tyres are the only thing connecting you to the road, its almost unfathomable that someone would put their own safety at risk, if you have a family you probably need to reassess your life. Enjoy the shocking tyres, ill see you in the ditch!
10 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2019   
Given 30% while driving a Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Tyres came fitted with the car. I assume the dealer bought the cheapest tyres on the market and fitted onto the car in order to sell the car quicker and. I've driven one season on them
I do not exaggerate by saying that they're absolutely rubbish. Bad road feedback although dry grip is not the worst. Wet is when these tyres become ditch finders. I literally pray for my life while I hold on to the steering wheel of an Audi Quattro if it starts to rain. Unfortunately I had to experience aquaplaning while overtaking a truck and I assure you that that's the closest I've ever come to death! Never ever have I experienced understeer like I do from these tyres
Mark my words and steer clear from these. There are other budget tyres like Goodride and Rotalla which are far better than evergreens. People that actually like these tyres either drive a shitty car or have never driven on Pirellis and Michelins so it's difficult for them to differentiate between what's good or bad.
2 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2019   
Lexus LS430 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 8,000 easy going miles
I have bought a car with four Evergreen tyres on it (225/55 x 17). The tyres were a bit soft when I got the car, so I pumped them up to the recommended 40psi. Two weeks later, they are at 12.5, 15, 15, and 18psi. I can't live with this kind of loss of pressure. I think if it was a valve problem, it would be just the one tyre. All four tyres were fitted in April 2015, about 7-8,000 miles ago, by the Station View Garage in Plymouth. They are already part worn at the outsides, I imagine due to gross under-inflation.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2018   
Given 10% while driving a Honda Civic (215/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 22 average miles
In August 2016, I purchased a used 2014 Honda Civic EXL from a Honda dealership as a certified pre-owned car. As part of the certification they put new tires on it. Those tires are the Evergreen EU72. They haven't even lasted 22,000 miles and have less than 4/32 tread life. Both Honda and the dealership refuse to do anything about the way they have NOT lasted. Telling me that life could be anywhere from 20,000 to 40,000 miles. If you don't mind replacing the tires every 20K miles, then by all means purchase them. They should have lasted much longer than this. Now I have to get new tires that I can't afford to replace!
1 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2018   
Given 49% while driving a Acura 3.2 TL (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Went to a tire shop to buy used Bridgestone Potenza RE760 with about 4/32 tread depth left in the deepest part. (The outer parts were 2-3/32 in which I changed my mind about them after a day of driving and switched to brand new evergreen eu72.

Initial impressions on dry handling...my tires were chirping when accelerating through a turn. My 4/32 tread RE760s inspired confidence and I never chirped under the same amount of pressure. I thought it was because the tires were new so I wore them in for a couple hundred kms. The EU72s still chirped.

intital impressions on wet handling...I have yet to try but I'm too scared that I'll lose traction and slide into a ditch trying it the same way as the RE760s.

To put things into perspective, the 4/32 tread depth RE760s did not slide AT ALL doing a full lock U-turn a downpour at a parking lot with concrete flooring. (The grippy kind.) My EU72s chirp like little birds and don't make me feel very comfortable in handling corners which was the whole point of buying fresh summer tires. I learned my lesson and I hope others take this lesson into consideration and buy something not made in china because something like an almost worn down Bridgestone tire performed better than these brand new garbage performance tires.

Only thing I could recall as a great thing is that cruising is good and for 2/3 of the price of branded tires, these are good "cruising tires". I was told these were summer performance. The damned chirps on the evergreens are so embarassing! I can't believe that some worn down bridgestone potenza tires performed better than the evergreens.

Definitely spending the extra couple hundred next time to have tires that inspire confidence. For the time being, I'm going to continue wearing them in and hoping for better results. Hope this review helps others reconsider saving a couple hundred for tires that will last you 2-3 years.
7 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2017   
Given 38% while driving a Ford Focus ST225 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
Had these fitted in an emergency as they were the only tyres in stock from an open garage and my previous tyres were too heavily damaged to be fixed.

Let's get the positives out of the way first. They didn't affect the comfort of my car at all and they didn't feel dangerous. Yes I'm having to reach that much for positives.

The reason I bought the ST was it's mix of handling, power and affordability. My traction control had never been engaged until I put these horrendous things on it, as it had never been necessary. Now it engages every time the turbo comes into play at anything less than 50mph because this tyre struggles so much to put the power down! The handling is totally shot also, so much so I can't drive the car in anything other than sport mode, at which point some of that wonderful steering feedback returns, so I've marked it up to a heady 4 for that...

They've been on just a over a month and now that I've being paid they're being replaced with some decent rubber.

To sum up, if have a performance car or enjoy your driving, do not do this to yourself! I've avoided driving for anything other than commuting since this guff was put on, I'm looking forward to my B-road blasts again once they're a distant memory...

If I'd kept my old 1.6 Focus they'd stay until worn as I ran that car on budget tyres and it still handled like a dream, but then it didn't have half the power I have now! If you're a normal person who drives a normal car, I'm sure they'd be absolutely fine.

(And yes, I know tyres are supposed to be bed in, but my old Pirellis were glorious from day one, so I have taken that into consideration!)
4 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2017   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Had an annual service four months ago and had the front two OE tyres replced with evergreens for less than half the price of the continentals. They look good and grip on dry, wet and greasy roads have been very good and secure. Road noise has been reduced and slightly better fuel economy. Wear has been very low given its a heavy SUV, mostly front wheel drive and 163bhp. Worn less than 0.5mm down in over 5000 miles. Not yet used in snow or ice so no comment. Very good value tyre with grip, economy and wear to worry the more expensive big names.
10 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Audi A6 Avant S Line Le Mans Quattro 3.0TDi (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Just replaced set of Pirelli with Evergreen tyres on my Audi, as the Pirelli was noisy as on the road. The quietness on these Evergreen is amazing, wish i didn't waste my money on Pirelli at the beginning. With 3.0 BiTdi engine, i do push the car hard especially on windy country road, grip on these Evergreen once again surprised me. I would definitely recommend Evergreen tyres to all my families and friends.
12 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2016