Mercedes Benz E320 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mercedes Benz E320.

Do you Drive a Mercedes Benz E320? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a E320 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (155) 94% 87% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (48) 90% 92% 82% 88% 80% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (301) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 82%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 (30) 87% 81% 79% 85% 76% 78%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Michelin Primacy HP (199) 85% 75% 77% 74% 77% 76%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Goodyear Excellence (125) 79% 70% 72% 71% 72% 73%
Meteor HP Sport (2) 70% 65% 70% 75% 80% 70%
Laufenn G Fit AS (10) 84% 71% 73% 80% 66% 83%
Evergreen EU72 (48) 75% 61% 60% 60% 73% 67%
Federal Formoza FD2 (16) 73% 60% 65% 56% 65% 77%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (60) 75% 64% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Pirelli P6000 (175) 66% 46% 55% 48% 67% 60%
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (34) 58% 33% 52% 45% 63% 57%
Nankang S600 (11) 60% 39% 47% 47% 65% 39%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Mercedes Benz E320 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Laufenn G Fit AS given 79% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 13770 spirited miles
Cheap tyres with great quality, quiet tyres on gravel roads, excellent grips for wet and dry.
I'm happy with it, and might buy again this tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2023-05-02 01:56:20
Writing about the Maxtrek INGENS A1 given 51% (265-35-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 easy going miles
Purchased a set of 245/40/18 (front) and 265/35/18 (rear) for a set of Mercedes-Benz AMG rims I picked up for my E320 (2004) AWD. At first like others I was skeptical as these are made in China and at the time (summer 2018) there wasn't anything I could find online about them but the price point was $104 and $119 respectably. The are directional so if your running a staggered set up like I was take note you can't rotate them. Now I'm not an aggressive driver and this car was just for nice days and a change off from time to time from some other daily drivers. I don't think I ever exceeded 90mph on rare occasion but would cruise around 70/75 on the interstate. My driving style is more of an old man on a Sunday drive. One (FL) would have a slight vibration that came on around 65mph. Tire shop checked balance several times but it never went away and they wouldn't replace as it balanced. Even had them align the yellow with the valve stem (lightest part of the tire). They did this and had to subtract weight from the rim but still had a vibration. Moved it to the other side (FR) and the vibration moved with it so I think the tires (high spot) red dot was near the top of the limits and the shop just kept saying it balances. Dry weather it did well, rode somewhat quiet but wet weather/rain they were far more slippery than the previous tires (M brand). Never tried them in the snow, the peel off label on the tire had a line printed across the snow flake so wasn't going to try it. I've had them 4 1/2 years and put around 15k miles on them and they have dry rotted horribly around the outer tread where it meets the sidewall so I'm getting them replaced all around. I personally would not recommend these tires, don't let the low price fool you, they may be fine for a few years but that's it. The replacements are Vercelli Strada II, same price point, made in Thailand and good reviews. Will try them out and see how it goes, so far so good.
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-31 10:08:30
Writing about the Nankang S600 given 10% (225-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
POVERTY TIRES - BURN OUT TIRES - "SELLING CAR" TIRES - THOSE ARE THE THE THREE THINGS BCT TIRES SHOULD ONLY E USED FOR, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Spraying wet tire shine on BCT tires is like polishing a turd. My naivety embarrasses me.

Absolutely crap tires. The old lady I bought my car from had put them on with a good amount of tread and being naive about tires, I was happy that their was a good amount of tread on them. Until I received snickering comments about using BCT tires from my mates and now I know why. When going for an MDT, the cops would give my car tires a noticeably dirty look becasue they're known to be so shit that they're used for burnouts.
MADE IN CHINA. That is the honest three letter summary I can give these tires and all you really need to know.

They handle like a bucket of shit in the rain and around dry corners. God forbid you have to drive in the rain with these tires, let alone take a wet corner... I can still remember going around a corner at a reasonable speed by the lights and I had the most embarrassing and dangerous aquaplane experience. Ever. My car has ESP (Electronic Stability Program) built into it. I could feel the car judder, like ABS, trying to stop my car going sideways as I emergency braked and the ESP light flashing like crazy on the dash. I felt like slashing my own tires, they are so fucking shit! They nearly caused me an accident! (I don't even have a welded diff or LSD ffs).
I had to compose myself and drive off feeling so embarrassed and putting the other drivers on high alert.

I immediately booked a tire replacement as soon as I got home. I don't care if they still have a centimeter of tread still left on them.

I'm embarrassed to have BCT tires on my car. Time for a fresh set of proper, Made In Germany, Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus tires, recommended for my sedan.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-09 03:05:41
Writing about the Evergreen EU72 given 83% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8 spirited miles
Mine are 215/55 ZR16 and they are surprisingly good. When I bought the car they were equipped with some Kumho junk and the car would slide...all..the..time. in the dry and the dangerously in the rain. But with these Evergreens it is so much better. I have to really try and turn off traction control to get it to slide on the dry pavement. And in the rain it's pretty good as long as you don't gas it on a turn. So much better than the Kumho I had before. Replaced those within two months of getting the car and they were relatively new. I see some people say it has bad handling but I don't see it. The EU72 has pretty good handling, tho you do feel it close to slipping only on fast sharp turns, so basically only if you want it to. They are pretty quiet, but being ZR they are pretty hard and I do feel bumps in the road, doesn't help that I also need to replace my front Bilsteins. But it honestly doesn't bother me and is not really all that noticable unless you focus on it. Passengers have told me that it's a smooth ride. All in all I'd give them an 8.5/10 as long as they're ZR, the grip is superior.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-02 15:18:46
Writing about the Avon Ice Touring ST given 50% (225-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 easy going miles
I drive a 2003 (w211) E-class 3.2 Estate. First set of winter tyres driven for 3 winters, but never seen snow! Compared with Michelin and Continental tyres I felt very unsafe driving on the Avons. The car would skid in the dry and the wet, and I drive carefully so never really put them under stress. Just taken them off the car in March 17, having done 20k miles on them, and happily they are worn down. So won't re-purchase and can't recommend them. Fingers crossed will try Michelin Cross Climates next.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-18 10:25:36
Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 100% (215-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Bought 4x Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3_XL(ExtraLoad)_215/55 R16 97H (Made in Germany) for approx €87 per tyre (in winter time).
I have driven this tyre on winter conditions for around 1000 km on the winding road to the ski resort, and I have to say I’m very impressed with them.
Softer compound, aquaplaning is well suppressed. Driving on snow have a fantastic traction. On frost-covered and slush road surfaces Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 grip very well.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-11 11:45:08
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 given 88% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Just replaced PS3s with these and initial findings are good. A bit cheaper (in Australia) than the Michelins but so far good in the wet and dry. A bit more tyre noise, but not intrusive.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-18 21:31:04
Writing about the Sunny SN3800 given 20% (225-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 easy going miles
These were fitted to my Mercedes E320 by the dealer when I went to collect the car. They are extremely noisy, whining, rumbling and vibrating very heavily even after several attempts to balance them. I was completely sure my wheel bearings were on the way out and went to several mechanics who found no fault in them. One mechanic even charged me $1000 to change my front control arms before I found it was the tyres causing the noise.

Put on a set of Bridgestone Turanza Serenity tyres and the car was completely transformed afterwards - in 25 years of driving I have never experienced a bigger change in a car for such a small cost.

Do not buy Sunny tyres, they are junk. May as well roll down the road on bare rims.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-19 00:09:33
Writing about the Meteor HP Sport given 70% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40000 average miles
Average tyre, not excellent but not bad either. Excellent cost/performance ratio for everyday driving but not advisable for sport driving, either dry or wet. Still, it has a good progressiveness and you'll feel when the tyre is going to let go.

It has the best wear I've experienced so far. I'm near 40000 miles with them and they are now good to be replaced (at the wear marks).
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-23 06:27:57
Writing about the Federal Formoza FD2 given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
Far better than they should be for the price, not a sports tyre in any way, but having very acceptable handling and grip including wet.
They excel in ride quality and noise, very quiet on the road, find a newly surfaced road with fine tarmac and the drive is silent.

Nice to have non directional tyres again, will be able to rotate much easier.

Will buy again, they really are cheap at half the price.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-17 13:42:51
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 83% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40000 average miles

Extremely effective quiet high performance tyre with excellent wear characteristics.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-26 11:39:27
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 74% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 13800 average miles
none
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-26 00:33:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre