Pirelli P6000

The Pirelli P6000 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 66%
Wet Grip 47%
Road Feedback 55%
Handling 49%
Wear 67%
Comfort 61%
Buy again 38%

Tyre review data from 173 tyre reviews averaging 55% over 2,463,319 miles driven.

The P6000 is ranked 133rd of 137 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Pirelli P6000

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/60 R15 94W (N2) F C 71 9.68kgs
215/60 R15 94W (N3) E C 71 9.96kgs
195/65 R15 91W (N2) F C 71 8.47kgs
195/65 R15 91W (N3) E C 71 8.40kgs
185/70 R15 89W (N2) F E 70 7.92kgs
185/70 R15 89W (N3) E C 70 8.36kgs

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli P6000. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £213.29 - £273.99 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli P6000 Reviews

Given 16% while driving a SEAT Ibiza (185/60 R14 H) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Four tyres of P6000 were installed from factory to my fathers personal car, Seat Ibiza MKII 50 PS. Stay away of them! The only good thing of these tyres is......NOTHING! I’ m not joking. Dry grip is bad, comfort doesn't exist and they are very noisy as well. Wet grip is Terrible/Horrifying and you face aquaplaning all the time, even if with low speed. Road feedback and progressivess are poor and you don't know how your car will reacts on any kind of road. Project Pirelli P6000 is a great failure for Pirellis history. Highly NOT recommended!
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2016
Jaguar S type 4.2 SE naturally aspirated (235/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted by Jaguar to thousands of their new cars manufactured in the period from 1998 to 2004. I have purchased
5 used low mileage vehicles built in this era when Ford was in the process of reviving the brand.

A Jaguar master technician once told me that the Pirelli 6000 was selected by the manufacturer as the first step in the design process. The cars were then built around this tyre as opposed to the tyre being selected upon completion of the build.

My opinion, based on over 200,000 miles of driving on all types of road, is that the Pirelli 6000 is a superb tyre for the XJ8 and S-type cars. As everyone knows, Jaguars have, until more recent times, been noted for their soft pampering ride. This quality was largely derived from a superb suspension system mated with a relatively large and heavy car body. A quality, strongly built set of tyres is essential for these Jaguars.

In conclusion, if you own one of these vehicles, the P6000 tyre will deliver - at speed, on wet roads, dry roads, round the bends and under heavy braking. Add good durability and low noise levels for a great all rounder!
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2017
Given 31% while driving a Jaguar S type 3.0 (225/55 R16 W) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
These tyres are awful, They are noisy, in the wet they are lethal and even in the dry they are not great. Even being extremely cautious in the slightest of damp weather in a straight line the tyres squirrel around and the traction control light keeps coming on making stopping distances a lot longer than they should be. Do not buy. A good rule of thumb is tyres that last a long time generally dont have much grip. These prove that point.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2018
Have you driven on the Pirelli P6000 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P6000? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli P6000 >

Latest Pirelli P6000 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (185/60 R14) on mostly country roads for 37 average miles
Excellent tire had it on my car for 20 years. YES it’s not a typo!! 20 years. Garaged kept car still great.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2022
Given 47% while driving a Daihatsu coure (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 4,500 spirited miles
Have them in 175 50 14 size Alright in dry In wet they're crap
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2020
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Jaguar (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
Great all round tyre for Jaguar S-type and XJ8 SE models. These tyres were the starting point in the design of Jaguar cars certainly up to 2004 to my knowledge. The Jaguars gradually improved after Ford gained ownership. The first S-types launched in 1999 was not quite up to standard. The car was face lifted in 2002 with a raft of improvements and a further update followed in 2004. Gradually, Jaguar cars have lost some of their cosseting ride comfort and have acquired a more sporting character. This has opened up the manufacturer’s appeal to drivers looking for a more modern shape together with a firmer ride. Whilst this policy has been very successful, many of the traditional Jaguar customers who prefer a leisurely comfortable ride allied to effortless straight line performance have not been impressed. This is where the P6000 has triumphed a perfect tyre for the heavier, softer sprung, superior ride comfort older models.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2020
Given 13% while driving a Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
These really are the worst branded tyres I've ever driven on. They came on my Impreza STI and I can only describe them as lethal. The dry grip was really poor but the slightest bit of damp is like driving in icy conditions. Seriously, I don't know how these things can even be sold! I took them straight off and swapped them for some Goodyear Asymmetrics which transformed the car.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2019
Given 56% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Used them in mixed conditions, in city and in country roads. The grip is quite poor especially in wet. I experienced aquaplaning several times at 90 km/h (scary experience). Braking in the wet is disappointing, when braking harder had wheels blocking. Regarding wear, from 6mm to 3mm in 15k km on front wheels. Would not buy again.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2017
Given 71% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (225/45 R17) on for 24,000 average miles
on rear traction wheels C coupe 55% motorway driving ; managed about 24,000 miles to barely legal
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2017
Given 67% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
Bought some used wheels & tyres for my Alfa Romeo 147, which came with some Pirelli P6000 on, though part worn, these are a decent brand of tyre going on previous experience.... Having used them on front driving wheel for many weeks i have to report a mixed experience! While grip seems pretty good wet or dry, feedback has not been as good as expected and my goodness the noise from them, while driving on any road has to be honest got to point where i'm replacing them with some Matador tyres i've bought. Can't comment on wear as already part worn. While i'm not completely disappointed with these P6000 and know Pirelli's tend to be more sports handling targetted i can't abide the vibration noise i get which i believe is a result of the firm suspension my Alfa has as standard, if hadn't had 17 inch wheels on it with Evergreen tyres that were very quiet previously i'd have thought i had a faulty wheel bearing. So in conclusion a good tyre let down by resonance issues on vehicles with firm suspension, though probably better on softer sprung vehicles. Happy driving folks..!
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2017
Given 63% while driving a Vauxhall (185/55 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 24,000 average miles
Very low wear rate but noisy.

These tyres came with the Corsa C 1.2 (55 Reg) I bought, fitted to the rear. I suspect these are OEM tyres that came with the car originally as manufacturing date (DOT number) of the tyre roughly matches up with the age of the car. If so, it would have already done 52,000 miles in 8 years or so, and I kept it for another 2 years plus to do another 24,000 miles. (I wouldn't recommend keeping tyres for 10 years and doing 76,000 miles btw, I only learnt more about tyres recently). I've never heard of such long lasting tyres, even although this is on the rear of a FWD car.

As they are fitted on the rear, I can't really comment on the wet and dry grip, or the road feedback and progressiveness but I've never lost grip on the rear even when throwing the car around corners.

It is a bit noisy as I could definitely tell the difference once I switched to Falken ZE914 Ecorun. I rated it pretty low as these are the rear tyres so I wasn't expecting such a big difference.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2016
Given 31% while driving a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster (205/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
These tyres are the most dangerous, and frightening tyres I have ever had the misfortune of having on a car. I really do not know how they can get away with selling them, as are an absolute death trap in the wet. My girlfriend and even my mother, who is a slow cautious driver. Had a spin in the wet.
These tyres were on the car when I brought it and have never enjoyed driving it until they were changed, now it is a completely different car to drive. Performance in the dry was OK, but any slightly damp serface had to be treated as if driving on ice. Some surfaces worse than others on which the car could loose complete grip violently with no chance of regaining control.
I don't know what these tyres are like on a larger heavier car. But can 100% say that these are in no way suitable on a small, lightweight, or rear wheel drive vehicles.
If you have them.... Change them immediately if you value your life.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2016
Given 44% while driving a Mazda 6 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Tyres simply worn out far to quickly. Lots of road noise in the cabin. Changed to Bridgestone ecopia er300 and never looked back
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2015
Given 43% while driving a Toyota Corolla verso (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Terrible tyres!!! after 30000 km driven there was still half protector left, but changed is as it was dangerous on the road and very very noisy... Never buy Pirelli again!
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2015
Given 40% while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Firstly I would like to point out that the P6000 is a harder compound tyre which will perform better when fitted on medium sized cars (above 1tonne) rather than lighter cars such as my 1990 Honda Civic (under 900kg). That being said, I have also fitted these tyres on a 1996 Hyundai Elantra estate and I must say that they performed in a totally different way (read below).

From the first driving experiences I had with this tyre, I noticed that the grip wasn't phenomenal. While the tyre was quiet, it's hard compound doesn't absorb even the tiniest of bumps and it's handling characteristics leave much to be deserved. When driving on the limit, I found that turn in feedback was quite vague. The car understeered easily and was very very prone to lift-off oversteer. The rears locked up under medium breaking and the tyres let go without any warning or sound. Even during hand braking, the tyres would hardly squeal due to their lack of traction.

In the wet things got far worse. Without even daring to push the car, it would understeer like a bus at normal speeds and would aquaplane at the slightest hint of a puddle. Braking in the wet was a horrible experience.

The tyres lasted no more than 8 months on the car after which they were fitted on two different cars progressively. I found out that they performed a whole lot better on a heavier car (the hyundai) and that their response was far improved, however wet performance was still quite shabby.

The only pro I could really find about them is that they were hardly even worn after 8 months of daily driving. They looked almost new after a good wash and they're still being used on a day to day basis two years since I first fitted them.

Bottomline, these tyres hardly wear because they're made of a harder compound, however I'd stay away from them especially if the car is lightweight (under 900kg) and fwd.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2014