Ford Focus MK1 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Focus MK1.

Do you Drive a Ford Focus MK1? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Focus MK1 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Kleber Dynaxer UHP (6) 90% 88% 92% 82% 72% 95%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (58) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (35) 84% 90% 82% 84% 85% 91%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (53) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (19) 88% 89% 86% 76% 87% 82%
Lassa Greenways (14) 85% 84% 83% 80% 87% 85%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85%
Kumho Power Max 769 (2) 90% 90% 100% 40% 75% 85%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (50) 86% 82% 79% 80% 79% 82%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (57) 84% 72% 79% 77% 92% 83%
Lassa Impetus Revo (11) 88% 82% 83% 78% 76% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
BFGoodrich gForce Winter (18) 84% 79% 75% 76% 82% 83%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (226) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Marshal Matrac MH11 (5) 92% 64% 88% 80% 88% 76%
Altenzo Equator (6) 85% 75% 78% 78% 78% 83%
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (25) 84% 77% 77% 73% 82% 86%
Momo Outrun M2 (9) 88% 91% 77% 74% 71% 79%
Tigar Winter 1 (9) 75% 76% 80% 73% 83% 83%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (26) 80% 80% 77% 74% 79% 82%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Cooper CS2 (11) 81% 68% 81% 79% 82% 84%
Kumho Ecowing ES31 (8) 81% 78% 77% 70% 63% 86%
Fulda EcoControl HP (15) 82% 73% 76% 81% 78% 80%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (172) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (51) 82% 74% 75% 73% 85% 75%
Michelin Energy Saver (130) 83% 72% 75% 71% 85% 80%
General Altimax AS 365 (2) 80% 80% 70% 75% 75% 75%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Goodyear DuraGrip (15) 81% 73% 69% 71% 79% 77%
Marshal KH35 (12) 83% 76% 73% 75% 71% 76%
Tigar High Performance (12) 79% 72% 76% 74% 72% 76%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Cooper Zeon XTC (6) 80% 72% 80% 77% 63% 73%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Continental Eco Contact CP (3) 90% 70% 73% 70% 77% 73%
Continental Eco Contact 3 (53) 80% 78% 72% 68% 74% 77%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (196) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Kumho Solus KH15 (24) 76% 69% 71% 60% 75% 80%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Westlake Radial RP18 (14) 81% 73% 74% 73% 71% 64%
Fulda Kristall Montero 2 (4) 60% 83% 65% 58% 78% 55%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Kumho Solus KH17 (56) 76% 70% 70% 69% 67% 70%
Pirelli P 7 (82) 79% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (24) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 61%
Accelera Beta (11) 80% 59% 59% 53% 94% 75%
Prestivo PV3000 (2) 100% 60% 70% 65% 65% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (121) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 66%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (94) 80% 70% 69% 66% 62% 71%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Nankang Noble Sport NS20 (30) 72% 57% 65% 58% 77% 71%
Nankang NS2 (208) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Barum Bravuris (19) 79% 57% 63% 64% 65% 68%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (15) 76% 63% 65% 61% 85% 71%
Firestone F590 (7) 69% 59% 63% 56% 71% 83%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Tigar Prima (8) 60% 45% 54% 51% 46% 56%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%
Debica Furio (3) 60% 20% 47% 40% 57% 37%
Rockstone Radial F105 (25) 38% 20% 33% 30% 54% 36%

Ford Focus MK1 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Firestone F590 given 83% (195-60-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 22000 average miles
These tyres gave me enough confidence mostly in torrential rains, no hydroplaning at all. Under dry condition, they had enough grip for a pretty dynamic ride. They were supposed to be "fuel saver" but according to some tyre tests, they had the biggest rolling resistance from all tyres in the test. Luckily I did not experience any fuel economy issues, at lest not coming from the tyres. Probably their high level of rolling resistance was the reason why they did not last long. If they had not been discontinued I would definitely buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-30 17:53:14
Writing about the Kleber Krisalp HP2 given 64% (195-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Worst winter tyres I've owned. It seems they were made of some hard rubber which made them practically wear resistant yet almost dangerous in snow conditions. I even skidded twice at low speed during winters from what I managed to recover once but the second one was completely unrecoverable. Otherwise they were decent during weak winters with lack of snow.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-30 14:13:41
Writing about the Tigar High Performance given 51% (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-09 07:58:02
Writing about the Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 given 64% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 miles
Good value for money. Had pirelli tyres on before. Exceeded my expectations for the price, decent overall performance and mine currently has about 60% tread left after 25000km driven.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-02 12:11:49
Writing about the Kleber Dynaxer UHP given 89% (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
After Nokian Line, Goodyear UG 9, Dunlop SPT Blueresponse, Kleber Dynaher HP3, Fulda Ecocontrol HP at 15 inches, and Falken EW HS01 at 16inches, i went for this Kleber. Must say, i wanted Hankook VP 3, but in this Ford's non standard dimension, i didn't have a choice. Kleber was the only manufacturer with 2021 dot, and with price of 90 euros, pretty expensive. I was a little bit worried, because there is a very small amount of tyre tests and thoughts about this Kleber, but... Tyre is absolutely safe and in one thing especially good, noise. It is very, very quite. In first two days, 800km of mountin roads and highways combined, with havy rain, very good braking (progressive) and handling. Sligtly week in aquaplaning under 95km/h. Dry braking is great, handling too. My Focus is fitted with Eibach Pro Kit springs, and i was expecting worse comfort, but in combination with this tyre, comfort is good, must say. Rolling resistance is small, in comparing to winter Falken. When you switch to sporty driving, it tends to curl in sharper curves, but nothing big or dramatic. For now, can't say anything about wear. For me, this tyre is VERY RECOMENDED.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-05 13:38:56
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS01 given 77% (205-50-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
After 15 inch tyres (Goodyear UG9 and Dunlop SPT Blueresponse), i've decided to switch on 16 inch. First option was Hankook icept RS2, but they were out of stock in selected tyre dimension, and i bought these Falken. After 1000km, i can say that these tyres are below UG9 in roling resistance, handling and wet braking. Eurowinter HS01 is good in wet and dry braking, very good in comfort and road noise, especially on rough road surfaces. Very good at cornering and they look nice. My biggest complain goes to handling. I dont know how to explain, but my Focus mk1 on higher speeds (100,110km/h) feels like not been fasten to the road. Weird feeling sometimes, but ofcourse nothing dramatic. That never happend to UG9. Overall score 8. Recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-13 22:18:43
Writing about the Lassa Greenways given 54% (185-65-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Comfortable but not safe tyres. The car in skidding tendencies. Also in wet conditions, too bad.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-10 06:40:25
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 90% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
haven't driven many cars, only other tyre brand tested was bridgestone on my old car, and i must say they are nothing alike, i mean bridgestone seemed to have better dry grip but worse wet grip and one annoying feature which was the noise they made when doing a spinout at the traffic light. with the dunlops it was a whole new world, more quiet even on rough surface roads, spinnouts were silent and the only way to know i was spining out was from the car going sideways or engine revving higher than it was supposed to. they tend to understeer a bit if you push too hard trough corners but if they had the grip of the bridgestones i'd be scared to push as hard from the fear of rolling over , my car has quite high ground clearance and soft suspensions. they are excelent on wet surface you can predict exactly when and where they will slip and when it's a surprise is usually the fact they don't slip and also the understeer is more pronounced in wet conditions but still controllable . one thing i'd wish for would be the durability, mine are 2 years old now and barely made 8000 km and the front ones seem already gone over the 60% of they'r life while the back ones look at around 75% . the thin sidewalls are a double edged sword they are good for handling on slow speeds but bad for high speeds , good for comfort bad for hitting a curb. had 2 instances when i had to change one because of hitting a curb at 30 km/h , last one actually bent the rim a bit so i guess it was to be expected.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-24 18:49:55
Writing about the Tigar Winter 1 given 66% (185-65-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3100 spirited miles
Bought these in autumn 2014, they were the cheapest winter tyres of this size at the time.
Good on snow, not very good traction on wet sleet or ice
Dry braking is long.
After 5 years they still had good elasticity.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-13 20:31:15
Writing about the Tigar Prima given 53% (195-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 spirited miles
When I bought these in spring 2016, they were the cheapest summer tyres in this size, so did not expect much.
Decent enough on dry, not too noisy and okish handling - they do squeal if pushed a little in the corners.
Didnt push them hard on wet.
Very soft rubber, about 30% used after 7500 miles in 3 years.
Sold the car in early 2019, dont expect them to last more than 20-25.000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-13 20:24:43
Writing about the Kumho Ecowing ES31 given 83% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
I bought these tyres to replace some Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres, as the price of those tyres has increased substantially since I last bought some, probably 3-4 years ago. The Kumho's were significantly cheaper, but I had read good things about them so thought I would give them a try.

I haven't noticed any difference in performance compared to the Goodyear tyres. The Kumho's seem to grip just as well in wet or dry conditions. One thing I can say is that the car rides much better over bumpy surfaces, the old GY tyres were sometimes a bit crashy. The Kumho's are also noticeably quieter with less droning on certain types of tarmac.

I can't comment on how well they will wear as they have only been on two weeks, but I did get 3-4 years out of the old GY tyres before they were ready for replacement, hopefully the Kumho's will last just as long!

So, overall I am impressed, the tyres drive just as well, are quieter, and were significantly cheaper. When the back tyres are ready for changing, I'll definitely get the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-21 10:50:30
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 87% (195-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
very happy with these tyres. had a set of Goodyear efficient grip on my 1.8 focus before which are ok, but the Dunlops I replaced them with have more wet and dry grip, are less noisy and at the same mileage have a good 25% more wear to go. that is game set and match for the Dunlops. also, they are a reasonable price so will be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-28 16:52:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre