Avon ZV7

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 73%
Wear 72%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 73%

Tyre review data from 90 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 529,344 miles driven.

The ZV7 is ranked 54th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Avon is closing in on its rivals with the ZV7, but there's still a way to go!
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance, quiet external noise, well priced.
  • Negative - Long wet and dry braking, low grip in the handling tests.
  • Overall - The Avon ZV7 is a well priced tyre with low noise levels, however it couldn't match the group in the grip tests.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 25th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   E A 69 8.20kgs
185/55 R15 82V   E A 68 8.42kgs
195/55 R15 85V   E A 69 8.27kgs
195/60 R15 88V   E A 69 8.62kgs
205/60 R15 91V   E A 69 9.27kgs
195/65 R15 91V   E A 69 9.07kgs
205/65 R15 94V   E A 69 9.32kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 70 7.92kgs
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 70 8.53kgs
205/45 R16 83W   E A 69 8.53kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C A 69 9.58kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70 8.40kgs
205/50 R16 87W   E A 69 8.87kgs
225/50 R16 92W   E A 69 10.50kgs
185/55 R16 83V   E A 68 8.19kgs
195/55 R16 87V   E A 69 8.68kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 70 9.31kgs
205/55 R16 91V   E A 69 9.77kgs
205/55 R16 91W   E A 69 9.31kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 9.69kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70 9.54kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
195/60 R16 89V   E A 69 9.22kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 70 9.80kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 70 10.24kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 70 8.26kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 8.49kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.53kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 70 9.11kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 70 9.32kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.33kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 9.75kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 70 9.52kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70 9.89kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 70 9.87kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70 10.63kgs
215/55 R17 94W   E A 69 10.63kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 69 10.81kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 10.12kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL          
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 10.99kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 9.42kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 10.23kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 70 10.68kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 9.87kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 70 10.48kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 70 11.13kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R19 91Y XL         10.10kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL         9.25kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.07kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 70 10.18kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL          
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C A 70 10.05kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 70 10.92kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 11.17kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.89kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   E A 70 12.16kgs

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


2019-06-07 - Would the Avon ZV7 fitted to my Volvo V70 2009, be ok as I tow a caravan. Within the specification it states for passenger cars.

Yes, as long as you're within the specified load rating.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


ZV7 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £66.90 - £80.23 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £49.29 - £92.10 (33 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £68.49 - £118.40 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £69.72 - £86.75 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.04 - £73.58 (31 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £69.30 - £82.65 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 56 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Avon ZV7 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
370 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016   
Given 54% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Bought these for the front of my 08 tdi fiesta 1.6.
On the 5 April covered 7000 miles since then. Went back to get two rear last Friday 20th September, and was told that I needed two front also..even wear across tyre, just wore out...
126 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2019   
Given 29% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
This is a review after 14,000 miles. Tread depth overall is now just under 4mm but the handling and general feel are nowhere near as good as before. Steering is vague and grip in wet/dry also deteriorated. I'm really disappointed in the way these tyres have lasted. Going to replace with Goodyear Asymmetric 5, I won't buy these tyres again.
17 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020   
Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZV7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZV7 >

Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Renault twingo (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
I am dissapointed with these tyres, I purchased them to replace 'cheapy & useless in the wet' accelerras. they do grip well & are better in all respects EXCEPT road noise, they are very noisy by comparison & not what I expected from the reviews. They are newly fitted so cant really review for wear but can only hope they may get quieter with age!
0 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2021   
Given 53% while driving a MINI Cooper S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
I bought these to replace the run flats on my R53 Mini. I had numerous unusual sidewall "punctures" meaning I had to scrap the tyres with low miles on them. The internal sidewalls crack and split after a few years, causing slow deflation. Rubbish tyre. Won't buy Avons again.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 67% while driving a Ford Mondeo estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I put ZV7's on the front a Mondeo diesel estate, went for an MOT after 10k miles and got advisories on both tyres. I checked them before the MOT and they were 3-4mm tread left not sure if it was an over zealous MOT inspector. That said the tyres had worn more in the middle of the tread rather an even wear - maybe my fault but as far as I was concerned the pressures were to spec. So I really not convinced on these tyres. Hope that helps
1 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a SEAT Leon FR184 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought a full set of these as was recommended by my local tyre fitters. Not as precise as the Goodyear F1s they replaced but I am very impressed with them so far, mixed driving on twisty Scottish roads around where I live I've been finding the grip wet or dry very good, only down side to them they seem to have a softer sidewall and this can be felt when pushing on, in all, I will definitely buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2021   
Toyota Corolla (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 easy going miles
I've just purchased a Toyota Corolla hybrid with Avon ZV7's fitted to the front wheels. They are dated 2720 and have only covered about 2000 miles but they are already cracking between the treads. I think i will replace them soon even though they still have 7.5mm of tread remaining. Most disappointing for such an old and well respected brand.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2021   
Given 47% while driving a Jaguar XF (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 easy going miles
DO NOT BUY - TYRE CRACKS I have had these tyres 9months on front and 15months rear (install split due to Covid lockdowns). Both tyres have over 7mm of tread depth remaining, but all 4 have radial cracking inside the inner and outer tread grooves. I have covered 4k & 6k miles respectively with these tyres. I appreciate these are not premium Michelin / Bridgestone etc, but Avon isn't exactly a budget tyre. I have the correct specification tyre for my vehicle and always maintain correct pressures. Really disappointed and don't seem to be the first person to experience this issue with Avon ZV7.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2021   
Mazda (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I really enjoyed these tyres I'm now in my 3rd set in 3 years on 3 cars. Driven on both road and track they last really well giving consistent secure grip in the dry. In the wet they have an initial reluctance to turn for a heart beat but then grip like a limpet. On track they do brilliantly. I drive mainly light weight sub 950kg cars and have never managed to overheat a set. Braking is great sure footed and easy to make adjustments to line while braking in wet and dry. If you can trail brake the zv7 is very rewarding.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021   
BMW (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Very soft side walls resulting in very poor contact through the steering. Not a good tyre for performance cars.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
I've had Avon's for over 20 years and been very happy with them. I found this tyre site tonight sadly. I wish I had lastnight because others have gone through what I have over the last 18 months. Tyres deflating.... It's happened 3-4 times. The last time was 25/01/21. The following day I inflated the tyre back up to the correct pressure and thought it was a nail or something. The following day I got out to expect it to be low and it was absolutely fine. However I had two new ones fitted. Then came across this website. Reading some of the reviews on here I can fully understand that in all fairness the sidewalls are cracking and letting the air out....
10 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2021   
Given 41% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (205/40 R17 W) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
Decent tyres for the money. If you're just using your car for driving around town, they'll be fine. If you do any spirited driving whatsoever, avoid. I had these on the front of my 2015 Ford Fiesta ST and they lasted less than four months. They were fitted by Blackcircles in June and they've now come off this week for a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres. They have a soft compound so they're quite good in the rain but they wear very quickly. Road feedback is okay, they're not the quietest and they're not the cheapest either so I'd pay extra to go with a premium brand. I definitely won't be buying Avons again. I thought I'd be changing these next summer, not this soon. Like I said, for a small hatchback for motorway or town journeys they'll be fine but on a fwd hot hatch you'll struggle to get much life out of these.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2020   
Given 62% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
Good feel tyre but rather noisy. BUT after less than 17,000 mile were told they are perished. They still have loads of grip but all 4 tyres have developed a crack between the tread on the whole circumference of each tyre. Now have to buy 4 new tyres and lodge a compliant, a low drawn out affair which clearly favours the manufacturer and not the customer!
8 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2020   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Mondeo 2.0 ~TDCi Business Ed. (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Before I submit, I'm a very hard driver !!! Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent, however they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits (Mondeo 2.0 TDCi) ! Excellent cornering. The ride is smooth at all speeds. They do wear out quicker, but the Mondeo is a very heavy front wheel drive car. I had Michelin PS 4, won't be fitting them again.
15 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2020