Avon ZV7

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

Tyre review data from 130 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 831,154 miles driven, and 13 tests with an average result of 17th.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 72%
Wear 59%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 59%

First On MarketJanuary 2015
Wheel Size15 - 19"
Width185 - 265mm
Profile30 - 65
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)69 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The ZV7 is ranked 93rd of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5.

Tests Included

13

Best Result

8th

Worst Result

42nd

Average Result

17th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test
10th of 14 tyres
  • Low rolling resistance, quiet external noise, well priced.
  • Long wet and dry braking, low grip in the handling tests.
  • The Avon ZV7 is a well priced tyre with low noise levels, however it couldn't match the group in the grip tests.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/65R15 91 VDA70
195/65 R 15 91 VDA70
195/65 R 15 91 VDA70
195/55 R 15 85 VDA70
195/55 R 15 85 VDA70
195/65R15 91 VDA70
195/55R15 85 VDA70
16 inch
205/55 R 16 91 WDA70
215/60 R 16 99 V XLCA70
205/55 R 16 94 W XLDA70
205/60 R 16 96 V XLCA70
205/55R16 94 V XLDA70
205/55R16 91 VDA70
205/55R16 94 W XLDA70
205/55 R 16 94 W XLCA70
205/55 R 16 91 WDA70
205/55 R 16 94 V XLDA70
205/55 R 16 91 WDA70
205/55 R 16 91 VDA70
205/55 R 16 91 VDA70
205/55 R 16 91 VDA70
205/55 R 16 94 V XLDA70
205/55 R 16 94 V XLCA70
205/55R16 91 WDA70
205/55 R 16 94 W XLDA70
205/60R16 96 V XLCA70
215/60R16 99 V XLCA70
205/55R16 91 WDA70
205/55R16 94 W XLDA70
205/55R16 91 VDA70
205/55R16 94 V XLDA70
17 inch
205/50R17 93 W XLCA70
225/45 R 17 94 W XLCA70
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLDA70
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLDA70
225/50 R 17 98 W XLDA70
225/50 R 17 98 W XLDA70
225/45 R 17 94 Y XLDA70
225/45 R 17 94 Y XLCA70
225/45 R 17 94 W XLDA70
225/45 R 17 91 YDA70
205/50 R 17 93 W XLCA70
225/45 R 17 91 YDA70
215/55 R 17 98 W XLCA70
215/55 R 17 98 W XLCA70
215/55 R 17 94 WCA70
215/55 R 17 94 WDA70
215/45 R 17 91 Y XLDA70
215/45 R 17 91 W XLDA70
215/45R17 91 W XLDA70
215/55R17 94 WCA70
215/55R17 98 W XLCA70
215/45R17 91 Y XLDA70
225/50R17 98 W XLDA70
225/50R17 98 Y XLDA70
225/45R17 91 YDA70
225/45R17 94 Y XLDA70
225/45R17 94 W XLDA70
18 inch
245/40 R 18 97 Y XLDA70
255/35 R 18 94 Y XLDA71
255/35 R 18 94 Y XLDA71
245/45 R 18 100 Y XLDA70
245/45 R 18 100 Y XLDA70
245/40 R 18 97 Y XLDA70
225/40 R 18 92 W XLCA70
225/40 R 18 92 W XLDA70
255/35R18 94 Y XLDA71
225/40R18 92 W XLDA70
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLDA70
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLCA70
245/40R18 97 Y XLDA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLDA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLDA70
19 inch
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLDA70
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLDA70
235/35R19 91 Y XLDA70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Avon ZV7 >>

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


2019-06-07 - Would the Avon ZV7 fitted to my Volvo V70 2009, be ok as I tow a caravan. Within the specification it states for passenger cars.

Yes, as long as you're within the specified load rating.


2022-06-10 - I am considering the purchase of the ZV7 tyre but am worried by reports of tyre cracks. Do these tyres have a fault resulting in cracks ?

I've not seen any unusual reports from media or reports from the manufacturer about an ongoing issue with cracking.


2022-07-22 - Did The ZV7 replace The ZZ5 as well as The ZV5 ?

At time of writing there is no news on a ZZ5 replacement. The V version of the tyre was usually more comfort bias, so there might be a ZZ7 in the future!


2023-12-31 - What is the maximum and minimum PSI for AVON 225/50/17. 98XL , ZV7 , front and rear. Please . Thank you

maximum will be on the sidewall, usually something around 50psi. Minimum is not something given, but less than 20psi without bead lock would be risky.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £77.96 - £112.46 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £63.99 - £93.59 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £80.50 - £104.99 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £79.99 - £122.76 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.97 - £98.80 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £109.99 - £131.99 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Avon ZV7 Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Bought these for the front of my 08 tdi fiesta 1.6.
On the 5 April covered 7000 miles since then. Went back to get two rear last Friday 20th September, and was told that I needed two front also..even wear across tyre, just wore out...
Helpful 305 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2019
Given 90% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
Helpful 407 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016
Given 60% while driving a Vauxhall Viva (2015 19) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I haven't left a review before but wanted to comment on my strong disappointment that the tyre has cracking in one of the treads after 2 years. This is after a mileage of just over 20k on the rear wheel, very little overall tread wear - still 6mm+ left. No issues with the road performance of the ZV7, but won't buy again, quite a few reviews on here saying similar things about tread cracking. And they are £100 these days, which is very expensive for a mid range tyre.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2023
Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZV7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon ZV7 >

Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

Given 50% while driving a Citroën berlingo (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 9,000 average miles
Second lot of 4 Avon ZV7 tyres, as with my previous tyres all 4 developed cracking in tread wells around entire tread and the off side front tyre developed a single crack across the entire tread but not the sidewalls at all. Contacted DVSA by filling in online form , they need more evidence e.g. photographs ,actual tyres and more complaints to take further action.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2024
Given 43% while driving a Citroën berlingo (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 9,000 average miles
purchased 4 Avon ZV7 XL after just 18 months cracks appeared in the tread valleys of all 4 tyres, returned all 4 to tyre shop. . Very disappointed .
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 59% while driving a Ford Mondeo 2.0 ~TDCi Business Ed. (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Seemingly good tyre, let down by premature cracking around the longitudinal grooves.

I have these on a Mondeo, so not the most demanding car. I have checked pressures fairly regularly and never found them along way off the recommended values, but still within a couple of years have found them to be cracking really quite badly along the tyre grooves, to the extent that the carcass is visible at the bottom of the cracks.

The tyres are less than 3 years old, so age shouldn't really be a problem.

Having to replace these when they are less than half worn - so not best pleased. It looks as though I'm not alone if you check in the various motoring forums.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2024
Given 83% while driving a BMW 530D (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I like these, good wet & dry grip, when i got my BMW, it was on runflats(Horrible things No Grip) I was so sick of not being able to use my cars power, now shes no Ferrari, but no slug either, 500nm torque will unstick most tyres in the wet, but these ZV7s have made a big difference to my cars handling in the wet, I will admit they can be a bit snappy on the limit, but not unless your arrogant with them, they are on rear axle on my car (RWD). E60 fairly big car, and I like to get on with it, these tyres give good stability at high speed (100mph+) and feel planted. Good tyre sensible price. will buy again as i will be interested to get all 4 tyres the same and see the improvement, I ve got Vredestein on fronts axle, not bad but not good lack feel
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2024
Given 73% while driving a Citroën berlingo (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Just don't! I had Avon tyres before, they were ace and lasted long. This however, not even sure they did the 9000 as I have winter tyres too and didn't mark the mileage so it is an educated guess. They are good tyres in terms of performance, can't fault them. Love their grip on wet and dry and give a stable cornering experience. I bought my car when it was 1 year old and they came with Michelin Supremacy or whatever it was and they were horrible. I felt I was driving on ice, especially in wet conditions so I quickly replaced them. On my former car I had the Avons and in fact I still have them in the shed as I sold the car with the winter tyres, and that Avon is still solid at 6+ years old, no cracks, and did at least 25 000 miles. However the ones I bought in 2021 for the Berlingo they got cracks all over the place as described by other reviews. Also I didn't check the treads properly just briefly and it was around half way on the sides, never realised that they were almost on the legal limit in the middle until I've read it in the shop report that the tyres were at 6%. We went away for a long weekend and having 3 little children I didn't take any chances, told the local shop to replace them. Since I had only 2 days to sort it out I went for the same again. First I thought I must have had done something to the tyres myself like letting them on for this winter or the high speed travel on the autobahn had its toll or just simply had a bad batch as the other avons were fine. I hope I won't regret this decision, I came to look if it is really fine to have less than 3 year old tyres with all the cracking. I was shocked to see all these reviews with the same issues. I wish I had the time to check around before I had to buy again, I would have avoided it!
I didn't mind the mileage as much as I wasn't particularly soft with them and this is a big box car, probably has a bit more force on the corners than the ford focus I had before but wasn't happy about it either. It is not cheap, it cost me £110 per tyre fitted now. The guy in the shop said it is completely normal to have those cracks on a 3 years old tyre. I guess he said that because he knew I bought those from them too. Anyway, this review is for that faulty set of tyres. Since I normally use winter tyres too I kept the front and back rotating therefore I had all 4 tyres on 6% according to the tyre shop. As many other it was the middle tread which was gone with the sides looking like half way done only.
There is one more aspect that probably nobody noticed, Now that I had the new ones fitted the car is more "bouncy" like the tyres were overinflated. I am yet to check that (was nothing but raining badly since) but I doubt the shop put more air in them than shown on the sticker in the door frame and that's what I usually kept myself with regular checks and adjustments. If the pressure is in the same region it would mean that the tyres are "softening" with time and road feedback changes. However, I must point out that I didn't notice any change in the grip on the worn tyres. I wasn't pushing them to the limits though but in everyday spirited driving they didn't feel different.
I will come back in a year or two and give another feedback on the current set. Hopefully I will be lucky and these will last long and won't crack. Also I have a set of winter tyres they are Avon too, at some point I'll do a review on them as well. In terms of performance they are the same as this so quite happy with those too, but now I am worried about the longevity.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2024
Given 80% while driving a MG ZS EV (215/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
I only usually buy premium tires, but out MG ZS EV is due to go back to the lease company in the next month or so and the Bridgestone Weather control evos on it worn.

The Avons have been a very pleasant surprise.

Great dry and wet handling, good breaking and low noise.

Great comfort too.

Don't over looked these Avons.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2024
Given 66% while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I've been using Avon tyres for upwards of 7 years on my Ford Fiesta, where the past 18 months I moved to the ZV7s as the previous model was no longer available.
The tyres are more than capable in the dry/wet and i have always felt confident driving in any conditions, however i have never tested the maximum capabilities of the tyres, so i can't comment for those scenarios. However day-to-day driving, the tyres are excellent.
Despite saying this, i would not recommend these tyres. 2 out of my 3 Avon tyres (I had the O/S front replaced during an insurance job and they installed a Continental instead), can be seen to have noticeably worn more in the centre of the tyres than around the edges, especially the with the N/S front. This was highlighted to be today during my MOT, where the centre of the tyres are close to the limit, yet the edges have 5+mm left.
The MOT tester said that this can be caused by overpressuring, however i have always regularly checked my tyres, and i have never had this issue during my 8 odd years of motoring. Looking online i can see that others have experienced the same issue with these new Avon tyres, and so i can only put it down to the tyres.
I am fuming to replacing the tyre after less than 18 months, for which it has covered less than 15,000 miles, especially as the previous model of Avon tyres i never encountered an issue.
I'm now replacing the tyre with a continental to match the other tyre which is less than 2 months old, but it is safe to say i won't be returning back to Avon.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2024
Given 10% while driving a Vauxhall Astra (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 100 average miles
Not often I submit any reviews but if you are tempted to go with Avon tyres just dont. I was initially pleased with them on my Ford Focus and stupidly recommended them for my daughter in laws Vauxhall Astra. They looked good and for some reason I thought they were a bit above your average budget tyre. How very wrong. Less than 6 months after fitting they developed cracks between the treads all the way round the tyre and I got an advisory on my MOT but since then have sold the car on . Meanwhile whilst servicing my daughter in laws car last weekend I noticed both Avon tyres on her car had developed similar cracking between the treads with tyres only fitted a year ago and probably covered less than 1000 miles. At MOT today she was issued a do not use this car notice based on the dangerous state of the tyres which had minimal wear and looked new.
Be aware, its you life you are risking and these tyres should not be available for purchase.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2024
Volkswagen (215/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
Avon ZV7 Bought and fitted August 2021 for 2 years and 10k miles inspected in August 2023 and all 4 tyre are cracking between treads patterns .
Rubbish tyre for value of the money . Process claim is not easy and friendly . i need to purchase new set of tyre before to be able to make a claim and investigated by Avon
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2024
Given 69% while driving a Renault (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 easy going miles
A full set of ZV7 were purchased for my Renault Captur in September 2021.
Jan-24, I unfortunately got a nail in the rear tyre with plenty of tread remaining - 5.5mm - thinking that I could get a repair, but noticed that on all tread wells the tyre had perished. Checking all other three tyres, the same perishing has occurred. Sidewalls all okay.
Not high mileage - c.5k PA - but used regularly and pressures maintained.
Happy with performance, but really disappointed with longevity and would not buy again.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2024
Tyre reviews and ratingsTyre Reviews Replies
Cracking in the tread void, while unsightly, is not that uncommon and isn't usually a reason to scrap a tyre. It might be smart to have them inspected by an independent before scrapping them.
Given 10% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/60 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
I've only driven 5000 miles on the Avon AS7 tyres and already they are cracking and the tread is peeling. The MOT tester and several garages have all said that Avon tyres are complete rubbish and I totally agree and will never buy them again. I hope this review saves someone else from making the same mistake.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2023
Given 70% while driving a Volvo V70D5 (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Replaced all 4 tyres on a Volvo V70 D5 with Avon ZV7. No issues at all with how they drive, both with a driver only or 4/5 passengers & a full load. However, after just 6 months & 11k miles I noticed the front tyres were wearing at a significantly faster rate in the centre than the outer edges & rear tyres. Having had them checked at a tyre centre, I was advised that they are wearing in the centre due to motorway driving. Centres 3mm, inner & outer edges 5mm & rears 6-8mm (hardly worn really). Tyre pressures have always been monitored. Having read other reviews, it appears that these Avon's have a soft tyre wall which seems to struggle to bear the weight of a heavy diesel engine. The tyre depot had no other advice than to just let them wear out & replace them! Really disappointed, as expected to get 20k miles out of the fronts & a lot more from the rears (I may achieve this). Previous Good Year, although more expensive, lasted 20k+ on the front. Wouldn't put Avon's on a diesel car again - will look for another mid-range alternative.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2023