Avon ZV7

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 72%
Wear 61%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 60%

Tyre review data from 120 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 744,054 miles driven.

The ZV7 is ranked 92nd of 147 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 42nd of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2023 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 23rd of 48 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance, quiet external noise, well priced.
  • Negative - Long wet and dry braking, low grip in the handling tests.
  • Overall - The Avon ZV7 is a well priced tyre with low noise levels, however it couldn't match the group in the grip tests.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 23rd: 2023 Summer Tyre Market Overview (225/45 R18)
  • 42nd: 2023 ADAC Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2021 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 10th: 2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 25th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2020 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 25th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 14th: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 16th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 15th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 17th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    195/50 R15 82V   E A 69 8.20kgs
    185/55 R15 82V   E A 68 8.42kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   E A 69 8.27kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   E A 69 8.62kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   E A 69 9.27kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   E A 69 9.07kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   E A 69 9.32kgs
    195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 70 7.92kgs
    205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 70 8.53kgs
    205/45 R16 83W   E A 69 8.53kgs
    215/45 R16 90V XL   C A 69 9.58kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70 8.40kgs
    205/50 R16 87W   E A 69 8.87kgs
    225/50 R16 92W   E A 69 10.50kgs
    185/55 R16 83V   E A 68 8.19kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   E A 69 8.68kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 70 9.31kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   E A 69 9.77kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   E A 69 9.31kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 9.69kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70 9.54kgs
    225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
    195/60 R16 89V   E A 69 9.22kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 70 9.80kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 70 10.24kgs
    205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 70 8.26kgs
    215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 8.49kgs
    245/40 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.53kgs
    205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 70 9.11kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 70 9.32kgs
    215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.33kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
    235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 9.75kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 70 9.52kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70 9.89kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 70 9.87kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70 10.63kgs
    215/55 R17 94W   E A 69 10.63kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 69 10.81kgs
    245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 10.12kgs
    255/35 R18 94Y XL          
    265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 10.99kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 9.42kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 10.23kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 70 10.68kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 9.87kgs
    235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 70 10.48kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 70 11.13kgs
    255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 71  
    255/30 R19 91Y XL         10.10kgs
    225/35 R19 88Y XL         9.25kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.07kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 70 10.18kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL          
    225/40 R19 93Y XL   C A 70 10.05kgs
    235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 70 10.92kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 11.17kgs
    255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.89kgs
    255/45 R19 104Y XL   E A 70 12.16kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

    2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

    The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


    2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

    The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


    2019-06-07 - Would the Avon ZV7 fitted to my Volvo V70 2009, be ok as I tow a caravan. Within the specification it states for passenger cars.

    Yes, as long as you're within the specified load rating.


    2022-06-10 - I am considering the purchase of the ZV7 tyre but am worried by reports of tyre cracks. Do these tyres have a fault resulting in cracks ?

    I've not seen any unusual reports from media or reports from the manufacturer about an ongoing issue with cracking.


    2022-07-22 - Did The ZV7 replace The ZZ5 as well as The ZV5 ?

    At time of writing there is no news on a ZZ5 replacement. The V version of the tyre was usually more comfort bias, so there might be a ZZ7 in the future!


    2023-12-31 - What is the maximum and minimum PSI for AVON 225/50/17. 98XL , ZV7 , front and rear. Please . Thank you

    maximum will be on the sidewall, usually something around 50psi. Minimum is not something given, but less than 20psi without bead lock would be risky.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/50 R16 £77.96 - £109.57 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £63.99 - £95.52 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £72.97 - £93.65 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R18 £109.99 - £137.72 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/45 R17 £109.99 - £131.63 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Avon ZV7 Reviews

    Given 54% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    Bought these for the front of my 08 tdi fiesta 1.6.
    On the 5 April covered 7000 miles since then. Went back to get two rear last Friday 20th September, and was told that I needed two front also..even wear across tyre, just wore out...
    Helpful 275 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2019
    Given 90% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
    The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
    Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
    Helpful 396 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016
    Given 10% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/60 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
    I've only driven 5000 miles on the Avon AS7 tyres and already they are cracking and the tread is peeling. The MOT tester and several garages have all said that Avon tyres are complete rubbish and I totally agree and will never buy them again. I hope this review saves someone else from making the same mistake.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2023
    Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZV7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Avon ZV7 >

    Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

    Given 69% while driving a Renault (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 easy going miles
    A full set of ZV7 were purchased for my Renault Captur in September 2021.
    Jan-24, I unfortunately got a nail in the rear tyre with plenty of tread remaining - 5.5mm - thinking that I could get a repair, but noticed that on all tread wells the tyre had perished. Checking all other three tyres, the same perishing has occurred. Sidewalls all okay.
    Not high mileage - c.5k PA - but used regularly and pressures maintained.
    Happy with performance, but really disappointed with longevity and would not buy again.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2024
    Tyre reviews and ratingsTyre Reviews Replies
    Cracking in the tread void, while unsightly, is not that uncommon and isn't usually a reason to scrap a tyre. It might be smart to have them inspected by an independent before scrapping them.
    Given 70% while driving a Volvo V70D5 (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
    Replaced all 4 tyres on a Volvo V70 D5 with Avon ZV7. No issues at all with how they drive, both with a driver only or 4/5 passengers & a full load. However, after just 6 months & 11k miles I noticed the front tyres were wearing at a significantly faster rate in the centre than the outer edges & rear tyres. Having had them checked at a tyre centre, I was advised that they are wearing in the centre due to motorway driving. Centres 3mm, inner & outer edges 5mm & rears 6-8mm (hardly worn really). Tyre pressures have always been monitored. Having read other reviews, it appears that these Avon's have a soft tyre wall which seems to struggle to bear the weight of a heavy diesel engine. The tyre depot had no other advice than to just let them wear out & replace them! Really disappointed, as expected to get 20k miles out of the fronts & a lot more from the rears (I may achieve this). Previous Good Year, although more expensive, lasted 20k+ on the front. Wouldn't put Avon's on a diesel car again - will look for another mid-range alternative.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 60% while driving a Vauxhall Viva (2015 19) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    I haven't left a review before but wanted to comment on my strong disappointment that the tyre has cracking in one of the treads after 2 years. This is after a mileage of just over 20k on the rear wheel, very little overall tread wear - still 6mm+ left. No issues with the road performance of the ZV7, but won't buy again, quite a few reviews on here saying similar things about tread cracking. And they are £100 these days, which is very expensive for a mid range tyre.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2023
    Given 40% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (245/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
    Got ZV7s on the rear in summer 2020 and not even a year later a tyre shop advised that they started cracking and should monitor them. Contacted Avon for warranty and they didn't really want to say anything unless I returned the tyre to them and would get credit in return from the original tyre fitter - not guaranteed though. Ran them for a year more and now at around 5.5mm tread have to replace them as the cracking is really bad - both in between the treads and across the treads - even the oval where the DOT is written has cracked....never again!
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2023
    Given 54% while driving a Hyundai i40 tourer (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    On the drive axle (front) worn so quick. I did buy them Less than 1 year ago and i have done 5000 miles and only 1-2000 left in them. Also full of cracks all around the tyre. DOT is 26/22 so new tires. I am a bit disappointed. I did expect these will run double at least.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2023
    Given 54% while driving a Hyundai i40 tourer (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    On the drived axel (front) worn so quick. I did buy them Less than 1 year ago and i have done 5000 miles and only 1-2000 left in them. Also full of cracks all aroud the tyre. DOT is 26/22 so new tires. I am a bit disappointed. I did expect these will run double at least.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2023
    Given 46% while driving a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2D Sport (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
    Wishy washy tyres. They just feel weak willed. Not bad as such, but not confidence inspiring.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2023
    Given 39% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST200 (205/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,500 easy going miles
    (AVOID)
    Absolutely garbage in Scottish Highland roads don't drive fast of whatever.
    Went through 4 sets because executive wear in the middle band for no reason, went on to a more expensive brand and lasted a year
    Only got two months out of front tyres
    Although I do drive a lot and btw that was just all (B) roads and motorway not city driving I hate these tyres absolutely rubbish compound
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2023
    Given 60% while driving a Toyota Corolla T Sport E12 (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
    Decent wet/dry grip, nice looking tyre. Racing pedigree around the brand led me to buy. Lasted 14 months/8k miles before they cracked and were deemed no longer fit for purpose. Not great value for money.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2023
    Given 47% while driving a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2D Sport (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Horrible tyres. I bought a pair of these as an emergency purchase in Feb 2022 having had two tyres damaged after hitting a serious pothole (crater) on the B4011 road southbound between Long Crendon and Thame. Thank you Bucks CC for not maintaining the roads. Anyway, these Avons were mounted and I do not like them at all. Quiet is the best I can say of them. The steer response is sluggish, and, although not understeery as such they do start to run wide in a way decent tyres shouldn't. I have disposed of them and replaced with proper tyres that work. My experience of these Avon tyres isn't good. There was also a slight left pull with these mounted that wasn't present before they were fitted and has gone away after they were removed. I had a full four wheel alignment performed - that did not resolve the issue, despite the car being straight before and after the fitment of these pitiful tyres from Avon. Avon will likely hammer me for this. That's fine by me. I am open to discussion. I note this review as end of life because I've chosen to get rid of these useless tyres.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2023
    Given 69% while driving a Volvo V70 R AWD (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    I know the Avon is a more 'mid range' tyre, but it still delivers in most of the areas that you want from a sporty to borderline 'UHP' tyre. Leaves a little to be desired in wet grip, tending to push wide by preference when leaned on. Great in the dry, grip pretty well but tend to get hot pretty quickly on something the size and weight of the Volvo. The most dissapointing thing about these is the durability, not only do they tend to dissapear remarkably quickly, but in the case of the rears, they have started to suffer from cracking (both in the tread grooves and on the sidewalls) on tires that are less than 2 years old and have done less than 20000km. Some quick reserch reveals that this is not a rare problem. All in a good tyre, maybe some better options out there, but certainly for the money they are a solid bet.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2023
    Given 53% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 easy going miles
    Bought a set of ZV7 for my wife's car. Only two years old and covered less than 10,000 miles and there are cracks in the tread for the whole circumference of the wheel, which will require the tyres to be replaced. This appears to be a very common fault with ZV7 tyres. I have been using Avon tyres for about 15 years, but will be looking for an alternative brand now.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2023