Avon ZV7

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 74%
Wear 71%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 71%

Tyre review data from 98 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 565,944 miles driven.

The ZV7 is ranked 60th of 136 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance, quiet external noise, well priced.
  • Negative - Long wet and dry braking, low grip in the handling tests.
  • Overall - The Avon ZV7 is a well priced tyre with low noise levels, however it couldn't match the group in the grip tests.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 25th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Avon is closing in on its rivals with the ZV7, but there's still a way to go!
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2021 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 10th: 2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 25th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2020 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 25th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 14th: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 16th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 15th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 17th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    195/50 R15 82V   E A 69 8.20kgs
    185/55 R15 82V   E A 68 8.42kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   E A 69 8.27kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   E A 69 8.62kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   E A 69 9.27kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   E A 69 9.07kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   E A 69 9.32kgs
    195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 70 7.92kgs
    205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 70 8.53kgs
    205/45 R16 83W   E A 69 8.53kgs
    215/45 R16 90V XL   C A 69 9.58kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70 8.40kgs
    205/50 R16 87W   E A 69 8.87kgs
    225/50 R16 92W   E A 69 10.50kgs
    185/55 R16 83V   E A 68 8.19kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   E A 69 8.68kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 70 9.31kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   E A 69 9.77kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   E A 69 9.31kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 9.69kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70 9.54kgs
    225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
    195/60 R16 89V   E A 69 9.22kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 70 9.80kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 70 10.24kgs
    205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 70 8.26kgs
    215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 8.49kgs
    245/40 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.53kgs
    205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 70 9.11kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 70 9.32kgs
    215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.33kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
    235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 9.75kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 70 9.52kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70 9.89kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 70 9.87kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70 10.63kgs
    215/55 R17 94W   E A 69 10.63kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 69 10.81kgs
    245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 10.12kgs
    255/35 R18 94Y XL          
    265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 10.99kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 9.42kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 10.23kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 70 10.68kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 9.87kgs
    235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 70 10.48kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 70 11.13kgs
    255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 71  
    255/30 R19 91Y XL         10.10kgs
    225/35 R19 88Y XL         9.25kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.07kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 70 10.18kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL          
    225/40 R19 93Y XL   C A 70 10.05kgs
    235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 70 10.92kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 11.17kgs
    255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.89kgs
    255/45 R19 104Y XL   E A 70 12.16kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

    2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

    The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


    2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

    The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


    2019-06-07 - Would the Avon ZV7 fitted to my Volvo V70 2009, be ok as I tow a caravan. Within the specification it states for passenger cars.

    Yes, as long as you're within the specified load rating.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/50 R16 £64.79 - £91.80 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £51.99 - £89.99 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/45 R17 £70.50 - £115.40 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £71.69 - £99.99 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £63.39 - £84.99 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 58 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Avon ZV7 Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
    The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
    Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
    Helpful 372 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016
    Given 54% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    Bought these for the front of my 08 tdi fiesta 1.6.
    On the 5 April covered 7000 miles since then. Went back to get two rear last Friday 20th September, and was told that I needed two front also..even wear across tyre, just wore out...
    Helpful 181 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2019
    Given 29% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
    This is a review after 14,000 miles. Tread depth overall is now just under 4mm but the handling and general feel are nowhere near as good as before. Steering is vague and grip in wet/dry also deteriorated. I'm really disappointed in the way these tyres have lasted. Going to replace with Goodyear Asymmetric 5, I won't buy these tyres again.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020
    Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZV7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Avon ZV7 >

    Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
    Would choose these over michelin ps4's everyday of the week
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/55 R15) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
    Tyres are good. Quiet and good value. Trouble is after just 16 months all 4 tyres have cracks all around the inner and outer tread blocks. ATS say they are faulty but it's up to Avon if they want to give anything back. I have to buy a new set and have them fitted then wait in hope Avon agree with ATS who spotted it. If they don't I'm out of pocket for £320. There must be another way to sort manufacturers defect. After all, it's not like a kettle you can just take back is it. I won't buy Avon again and they on all 4 cars we own.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2022
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 77% while driving a Honda S2000 (225/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tyre for the money, good levels of grip and progressive on the limit, very quiet when new and give good feedback
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2022
    Given 50% while driving a Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    I had these tyres on for 11 months, I have done about 8000 miles on them and I was horrified when putting air in them today that the front ones have worn through to the wire, admittedly the tracking was out a bit but I've never had this happen before in such a short space of time. I drive a 2010 focus TDCI.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Jaguar XKR (255/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    Night and day improvement from the stock Pirelli P Zeros. First off no more tramlining, which was bad enough with the PIrellis that I reduced the tyre pressure to the 28 comfort setting, which mitigated but didn't cure the issue.. Running the ZV7s at 34 PSI stock and no tramlining whatsoever. Secondly my XKR now feels like a Grand Tourer, much reduced road noise and noticeably more comfortable ride. Turned her from a cheap feeling harlot into a lady with a streak of flith. Lots of potholes in Wales and the access road to my house is more suited to a 4x4. Previously I'd be steering round the potholes and always having to be looking out for them on the road. Much more comfortable now and makes driving much less tiring without any twitchiness. Certainly seems to be much better and more assured in the wet, and more refined in the dry. Seem to warm up a lot faster than the PIrellis, though haven't noticed any difference in grip in the dry. One huge improvement however is a nice little squeal if you really push them. The Pirellis were grip, grip, grip ditch with no warning... The Avons you can tell when you are reaching the limits. It took me quite some time to decide which tyres to buy, including scouring the reviews and videos on this site. Two things made my mind up. Firstly the XKR has staggered wheels and all the bigger brands seem to chop their warranties in half for such. So that ruled out Michelins, Hankook Ventus ( which a friend recommended for their wet abilities... useful in Wales!) and several others. Dunlops are stock on the later XKRs and lots of people switch from them, or don't rate them. What made my mind up however was talking to a friend in the plod. He says their white fleet is contracted to Goodyear but they insist upon Avons for their pursuit cars as they're specifically designed for our climate, hence give them the edge over scroats in high powered cars. I figure noone else does more fast driving in the UK than them, rather than Southern Europe where most of the tyre tests seem to happen, so given a very reasonable price they were worth a shot. Seems like a good choice so far, will review again after a few thou.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2022
    Given 66% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
    Good grip wet and dry, got slippy near end of life in the wet. Only lasted only 9000miles, disappointed to say the least, my previous GY 4 seasons which were supposed to be a softer tyre did double the mileage. Will not be buying again the avons again.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2022
    Given 60% while driving a Rover 25 (180/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
    Avon zv7 185/55/15. fitted to the rear of a 1.4 rover 25. These tyres were purchased on 11/7/2019; The car has done about 2000 miles on them. I got MOT advisories on both of them for cracks at the bottom of the tread grooves on 21/12/2021. I am a pensioner. I do not drive like a lunatic.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2021
    Given 71% while driving a Renault twingo (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
    I am dissapointed with these tyres, I purchased them to replace 'cheapy & useless in the wet' accelerras. they do grip well & are better in all respects EXCEPT road noise, they are very noisy by comparison & not what I expected from the reviews. They are newly fitted so cant really review for wear but can only hope they may get quieter with age!
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2021
    Given 53% while driving a MINI Cooper S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
    I bought these to replace the run flats on my R53 Mini. I had numerous unusual sidewall "punctures" meaning I had to scrap the tyres with low miles on them. The internal sidewalls crack and split after a few years, causing slow deflation. Rubbish tyre. Won't buy Avons again.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2021
    Given 67% while driving a Ford Mondeo estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    I put ZV7's on the front a Mondeo diesel estate, went for an MOT after 10k miles and got advisories on both tyres. I checked them before the MOT and they were 3-4mm tread left not sure if it was an over zealous MOT inspector. That said the tyres had worn more in the middle of the tread rather an even wear - maybe my fault but as far as I was concerned the pressures were to spec. So I really not convinced on these tyres. Hope that helps
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2021
    Given 93% while driving a SEAT Leon FR184 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Bought a full set of these as was recommended by my local tyre fitters. Not as precise as the Goodyear F1s they replaced but I am very impressed with them so far, mixed driving on twisty Scottish roads around where I live I've been finding the grip wet or dry very good, only down side to them they seem to have a softer sidewall and this can be felt when pushing on, in all, I will definitely buy again.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2021
    Toyota Corolla (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 easy going miles
    I've just purchased a Toyota Corolla hybrid with Avon ZV7's fitted to the front wheels. They are dated 2720 and have only covered about 2000 miles but they are already cracking between the treads. I think i will replace them soon even though they still have 7.5mm of tread remaining. Most disappointing for such an old and well respected brand.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2021