Continental PremiumContact 7

The new PremiumContact 7 will be available in autumn 2022. The PremiumContact 7 is reported to improve the the handling, braking ability and ride comfort of the PremiumContact 6.

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 41,600 miles driven, and 14 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 96%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 87%
Wear 84%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 84%

First On MarketApril 2022
Wheel Size16 - 21"
Width205 - 315mm
Profile35 - 65
Rolling ResistanceB - C
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)71 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The PremiumContact 7 is ranked 8th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 6.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Tests Included

14

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

5th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 ADAC Summer Tyre Test
1st of 16 tyres
  • The Continental PremiumContact 7 excels in driving safety for both dry and wet road conditions in this year's test, achieving the top marks for its excellent steering feedback, safe handling at the limit, and shortest braking distances, though it receives an average rating for aquaplaning resistance. While it demonstrates very good projected mileage and low tyre wear, its environmental impact rating is slightly reduced due to its relatively high weight and average noise levels, narrowly missing a high rating in efficiency.
View Full Test >>
2024 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test
1st of 8 tyres
  • Outstanding grip on wet surfaces, safe in aquaplaning. Also strong adhesion in dry curves, precise and reliable. Good rolling comfort.
  • Slightly louder rolling noise outside, increased rolling resistance/low fuel efficiency.
  • By far the highest grip and safest tyre in the test.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
205/55 R 16 91 VCA71
205/55 R 16 91 HCA71
215/60 R 16 99 V XLCA71
205/60 R 16 96 V XLCA72
17 inch
225/45 R 17 94 Y XLCA72
225/50 R 17 98 Y XLCA72
225/50 R 17 94 YCA71
225/50 R 17 94 WCA71
225/45 R 17 94 V XLCA72
225/45 R 17 91 YCA71
225/45 R 17 91 WCA71
225/45 R 17 91 VCA71
215/55 R 17 94 VCA71
215/55 R 17 98 W XLCA71
18 inch
245/45 R 18 96 YCA71
245/45 R 18 100 Y XLCA72
245/40 R 18 93 YCA71
245/40 R 18 97 Y XLCA72
235/60 R 18 107 V XLCA72
225/40 R 18 92 Y XLCA72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental PremiumContact 7 >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental PremiumContact 7

2023-02-25 - Is new premium contact 7 softer or the same as premium contact 6? Which is more comfortable?

According to Continental the 7 should have an improvement in comfort, though I have yet to test them back to back.


2023-04-09 - I have a 2wd 3.5l V6 Toyota Estima. A big comfy thing that looks like an egg. Unfortunately, on the Yokohamas it came with, it also handles like one. It feels glassy when going round roundabouts and frequently spins its wheels when pulling away from traffic lights in the wet. I want something that gives me some idea of what the front end is doing, with excellent wet braking and curved aqua. Would I be better off with a UHP tyre like this, or a premium touring tyre like the Michelin Primacy 4? Cheers.

The PC7 is a good mix of touring and sports, so in theory should meet all your requirements. Hopefully it will turn your boiled egg into something more exciting, maybe scrambled egg.


2023-04-17 - Is PC7 actually an UHP tyre like PS⁵ and Asy 6? Some test result show that not huge performance difference between PC7 and Asy6/PS⁵

The PC7 is a bit of a confusing tyre as it covers both HP and UHP. In the larger sizes, 17" and above it is certainly a rival to the PS5 and Asymmetric 6.


2023-05-11 - I plan to ditch the run flat GY F1 3s on my BMW 520d, and goal of increased comfort on poor roads whilst retaining sporty subjective handling has brought me to PS5 vs PC7. Do you think there will be a direct comparison test? Would you agree PC7 might have better subjective handing and less harsh over expansion joints and potholes? Many thanks.

Just finishing this test now so check out YouTube next week, but to answer directly, both tyres now feel very similar. I would suggest fitting the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 instead.


2023-06-02 - Would you say the loss of sportyness in the CP7 compared to the PS5 is noticeable in road driving? Or are you talking about the limits of handling on the track? Many thanks for your dedicated research.

In the 18" test the PC7 and PS5 felt very similar, any loss of sportyness was comparing against the previous tyre, the PC6.


2024-01-11 - Does this new Conti tyre have Contiseal..?

I've not seen any SEAL versions of the PC7. They might exist in certain OE sizes, they will be clearly marked as SEAL tyres when shopping for your size if so.


2024-03-11 - Undecided between Asymmetric 6 or PC7 for my golf mk 7.5 GT 225/40/18. Car came with Dunlop sport maxx RT. I’ve seen the PC7 wins both the HP and UHP segment, but which would be better suited… the Asymmetric 6 or PC7?

If you've seen the tests you know as much as I do. Both excellent tyres. The PC7 has the slight edge at the moment in grip but the Goodyear is always excellent value.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £96.23 - £107.93 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £135.97 - £157.86 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/65 R16 £140.09 - £146.40 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £97.79 - £113.59 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R16 £164.09 - £173.70 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £113.20 - £133.02 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £134.48 - £165.05 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Continental PremiumContact 7 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres. Previous tyres were Michelin ps4. These 7s are possibly better in every department. Highly recommend them. Very impressed.
Helpful 183 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2023
Given 56% while driving a Volkswagen (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
I was a fanatic customer of Continental for the last 10 years , i have bought for our family cars ,all season , winter contact ts860,870 , Premium 5 , Premium 6, were almost perfect in their behaviour on the road. But the last 5 months with the Continental premium 7 , it was the worst experience i could imagine . Apart Wet and dry braking that was satisfactory .
The handling and the sense of the road is like i have an other , no stable car. Its likefeel the dimension of the tyres are 40 % less. The sense of the steering wheel is definetely lighter and almost dangerous. I have gone to the tyre shop i bought them and check it from the beginning . Everything was ok apart the behaviour of the tyres... I would not recommend it ( Continental premium 7 ) ..
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2023
Given 91% while driving a BMW 530D (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Bmw 530d is a heavy powerful rwd car. In the wet, I can floor it and the rear will just not let go. Quite amazing in the wet. Very quiet at speed. Dry handling up with the best. Too early for life, but if I see 15000 miles out of rear, I'll be happy. Buy them!
Helpful 73 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2023
Have you driven on the Continental PremiumContact 7 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental PremiumContact 7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental PremiumContact 7 >

Latest Continental PremiumContact 7 Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 1.5TSI 150HP (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
Replaced the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2's that came as standard on my Golf MK7.5, which were odd from the start.

These Conti's are way better in almost every aspect, especially handling (wet) curves. The car glues itself to the road, while the Hankooks made me feel insecure in any wet conditions. I experienced massive aquaplaning on the M25 near London, during my trip to the UK last October, but they handled very well. As for the wear they're also really good, but I'm a relaxed driver, not sporty. The only thing that they lack a bit, is the noise and comfort on bad surfaces. Even on the quality roads here in the Netherlands, they can still be quite noisy sometimes and a bit 'bumpy'.

Overall they're really amazing tires. I'm really happy with them and they feel very secure.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk 8 Life Plus (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Switch out the T005s that came with the Golf Mk 8. Good fuel consumptions but handling and braking distances were pretty bad. Did some research before deciding on switching to Continental PC7s. No regrets. Handling is way better. Handling around bends are done with more confidence and braking distance in dry and wet conditions are good too. Comfort and Noise are still bearable for me. Fuel consumption is still pretty decent as i'm able to do up to 20km/L if its highway with a tad of city driving, with an average of 16-17km/L on a full tank.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 98% while driving a Audi S3 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Continental PremiumContact 7 tyres (235/35 R19) on 2017 Audi S3.

Replacing some old Goodyear tyres. The difference is Night and Day - the car feels more planted, you feel more connected to the road and the handling in both wet and dry is superb. Breaking is exceptionally good and I highly recommend making the switch to the CPC7
Kudos Jonathan and many thanks!
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2024
Given 93% while driving a Volvo (235/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
Coming from a winter tire, it was expected for this one to perform far better than the previous one. Surprisingly, Continental is not stiff anymore (had PremiumContact 6 a few years back). Sidewalls are way softer than before, as far as I remember. Direction change response is good, feedback seems fine too. Rolling resistance is also good. And I can see a few mpg improvement (doesn't necessarily mean this one is fuel-friendly, just better than the winter one).
Anyway, initially quite pleased, we will see about wear, but I don't expect them to last too long since the car has 1900kg.
Price was also competitive at ±140 EUR per each.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2024
Given 62% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Continental say they did put effort on making this a comfortable tyre but i have to disagree.
Great grip, feedback etc but comfort is rubish, and i personally look out for comfort.
They are actually harder than pirelli scorpion verde which are know for being hard!
Cannot recomend.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2023
Given 94% while driving a Volvo S60 2.0T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
The 8th wonder of the world is called ¨ Continental PremiumContact 7 ¨ nothing more nothing less.
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I originally bought Continental Ultracontact, only to regret it after a few days, too soft tire, no ultra contact properties at all. It goes well in both dry and wet conditions, but behaves badly in turns. I'm a bit more aggressive driver. To trade a few days ago for a continental premium contact 7. The tire is a monster. 10 times better than ultra contact in every sense. Amazing tyre, corners like I'm driving a porsche, car is glued and no lean, be it wet or dry. Wet braking, I was amazed when I braked in the rain. Brutal tire. Top tire. The best I've ever had. And I drove a lot
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2023
Given 99% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Wow! Phenomenal tyres. Scoring 10s all round but gave a 9 for wear as still need to see how these fair out in that department compared with the previous fast wearing 6s. Handling is razor sharp! Comfort is excellent. Noise is low. Highly recommend these. Best summer sporty tyres I have ever had and have owned over 30 performance cars and done track days etc. These have got to be the best road tyres out there. Maybe not so for track having a fast wear rate? Highly recommend these for spirited road driving. Very very good Continental!
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2023
Given 95% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
Dry grip so far is impressive.

Wet grip is basically the same as the dry grip which means i haven`t been near the limit of the tyres so far with fairly spirited road driving.

Feedback and handling is the same at low speeds as my "winter tyres" - Michelin CC2. However when you pick up the speed in a corner - there is huge difference. The car turns immediately and is a lot more stable mid corner and this is on low temperature 7-11 degrees C.

Comfort is similar as CC2 which are 94Y vs 91V index on the Continental. Noise is higher but it`s okayish. Can`t really comment on wear and fuel efficiency.
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
500 miles later.... scuffed & broken in. V6 Merc 3 liter diesel E Class. BIG LUMP. Previous Cross Climates 30k. I have given the rubbers max marks for every criteria. Yes they are that dam good ! I am not worried if they last 12 months or 3 years. I will buy them again. It has transformed my remapped Merc to something else ! Scooby Subaru difference. The car sits in the road and steers razor sharp. The braking was tested return trip to the Cotswold in the wet. WOW kid you not THE CONFIDENCE IT GIVES YOU IS IMMENSE. Cross Climates carnt come close sorry ! Heres the kicker i have 16 rims , nothing sporty so if you did have wider wheels OMG you would be like a Cheshire cat. That said , I have 530Nm with a XLR pedal box. So it can shift. I never thought that tyres could alter / transform the ride, comfort , noise so much. Wasnt expecting that and can only comment on my truck. Have owned Scoobys , M3 , Porsche , MR2s, Mercs am an old fart 58. So I have an idea what a positive transformation these CP7s have made to the overall ride , steering razor sharp, grip, comfort, noise. Braking and direction is immense. I have lost about 2MPG rolling resistance tough. I have been bamboozled by the amount of tyres and compounds on offer. However, the expert review here and other research made me DO IT. I am so happy I payed the extra lolly. I feel like i have a two ton Subaru they are that good! Enjoy the trip.
Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2023
Given 96% while driving a Renault (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Had a PC6 before and it was a very good tyre that suits me absolutely. However, there were only a couple of nuances that were not good for its price - noise and wear. And if noise is more or less acceptable and heavily depends on your own car, but wear is something that was really annoying. Every season you can easily see how your tread is passing away.

So, the new PC7 and already has enough mileage in different conditions. The ride is significantly better. In every way, more comfort, less unnecessary information from a surface, everything was smoothed and I like it. The grip is on the ultra level. No matter what you have underneath the rubber. Noise is still here but subjectively lower.

The most important thing that was in the previous generation is still here and even more vivid - your feelings behind the wheel. The tires are so dart and agile that you have a feeling of a different car. Every corner is so expected and so pleasant that you want more and more of them. You want to drive your car more and more, no matter of destination point and purpose. Line changing in a blink of an eye. Accelerating and stopping after +10 degrees can impress till shock.

I honestly can't wish for more from a summer tire. The only hope it will last more than its predecessor.
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2023