Nissan LEAF Tekna Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Nissan LEAF Tekna.

Do you Drive a Nissan LEAF Tekna? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a LEAF Tekna better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (111) 88% 86% 82% 74% 88% 87%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (40) 82% 84% 78% 78% 87% 83%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (62) 84% 72% 78% 76% 91% 83%
Michelin CrossClimate (143) 88% 85% 82% 80% 84% 89%
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (29) 86% 72% 81% 77% 81% 81%
Nexen N Blue ECO (34) 83% 78% 77% 77% 69% 74%
Michelin e.Primacy (9) 81% 73% 70% 59% 86% 75%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (142) 82% 80% 73% 74% 66% 73%
Avon ZV7 (128) 83% 79% 73% 73% 60% 79%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (82) 79% 86% 76% 72% 62% 75%
Tracmax X Privilo TX2 (2) 70% 65% 60% 70% 70% 75%
Michelin Energy (42) 71% 65% 59% 61% 84% 76%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (36) 74% 67% 68% 69% 60% 68%
Habilead ComfortMax AS H202 (7) 77% 69% 65% 63% 74% 74%
Michelin Energy Saver AS (9) 74% 53% 70% 67% 63% 69%
Dunlop Econodrive (14) 69% 55% 48% 62% 59% 53%

Nissan LEAF Tekna Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 62% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 miles
Worst winter tires i ever had. On snow/ice it is noticeably has worse grip compared to the previous tires i had. Car is like a cow on ice with these tires. Very disappointed, although tests show different story. .
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-14 08:06:57
Writing about the Tracmax X Privilo TX2 given 71% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 24000 average miles
These tyres came in my Nissan Leaf when I bought the car. I usually use Michelin, Good Year or Pirelli. I was quite skeptical but since the tyres were almost brand new and it would be a waste I kept using these tyres. It was quite good. I won't recommend these for spirited/hard driving always however, when I required to drive hard they were quite good. Had good grip in the corners and wet whether traction was also good. Used them even after the wear indicators came as Sri Lanka did not have tyres to buy. Even though they were near bald (Outer walls were almost bald) they held on pretty well during heavy rains driving at 100kmph on highways. I did not loose confidence yet I was cautious. (I do not suggest driving like this at all costs. Feedback only.) Quite happy with them. But I switched to Michelin Primacy 4. Did not seem too much of a difference other than the comfort level. I'm yet to drive hard with the michelins so can't mention the difference yet. All in all a good experience with the tracmax tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-17 03:31:19
Writing about the Kormoran Kormoran UHP given 57% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Cheap...medium quality...
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-25 14:49:22
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver AS given 66% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27000 average miles
Stock tires for the 2018 NIssan Leaf. These have worn faster than I have expected. These are bit scary in the cold wet Seattle roads. Steering feel and "return to center" is better with the 205/65r15 bridgestone blizzak ws80s.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-21 01:21:30
Writing about the Michelin e.Primacy given 86% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 easy going miles
So much quieter on the car compared to the previous set. Only did the fronts but the difference was dramatic. Will definitely use these these tyres when the rears are due for replacement. A real winner for me.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-14 01:21:13
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 78% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I've had these on my car for a few years now, they have been fine in the dry, and decent in the wet. I have a leaf and I've found a lot of tyres struggle with the weight and the torque, especially under wet braking. They don't effect the range too much and they are good enough in the snow. Don't expect winter tyre levels of grip but they will get you home as long as you're gentle with the right foot
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-12 00:27:07
Writing about the Michelin Energy given 77% (215-50-17-)
Driving on for 0 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-27 23:07:59
Writing about the Kormoran Kormoran UHP given 83% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
So these replaced other budget tyres (P609) after a bulge developed, and I can honestly say that they are far more grippy. They are easily twice as good in the wet and far less tyre squeak in the dry on pull-away. Braking is noticeably more stable and uniform. I would say they are excellent, given they are far better than comparatively priced budget tyres. I have no way to know if they are better or as good as anything premium, as I have not been able to compare them like for like on the same car. But I would certainly purchase them again and for other cars given these last 1500 miles and wintry conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-12 23:41:05
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 77% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 average miles
The tyre appears to grip quite well, however one drawback appears that it is too soft. During 3-4 months of usage number of stones embedded in it, with one eventually puncturing it causing deflation. I have never experienced a puncture before that could be caused by a small stone.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-11 13:16:47
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
With so many good reviews of the CrossClimate+ (both here and elsewhere) during my research of what to buy I felt it was necessary to give some balance and point out the very significant flaws these tyres have, after spending (wasting?) £547 on a set in 215/50/17 for a Nissan Leaf Tekna. In short, the ride is atrociously harsh compared to the summer tyres (Dunlop Enasave) they replaced. I've used All Seasons tyres before on previous cars (most recently Vredstein Quatrac 5) and they tend to ride a bit softer than the same size summer tyre - somewhere between a summer tyre and a winter tyre, as you might expect. I'm fine with that - I actually prefer a more comfortable ride to outright cornering grip for a daily commuter car like this. So I was pretty shocked and disappointed at just how bad the ride is after fitting these compared to the summer tyres in the same size. I'm a big Michelin fan, my other (petrol) car has Michelin Energy Savers on it which ride GREAT and over the years I have bought lots of Michelin tyres and been very happy. But Michelin have dropped the ball on this one, and it pains me to say so. Every tiniest line, crack or imperfection in the road crashes through the body of the car as if the tyres were solid rubber not pneumatic tyres. Potholes or recessed manhole covers feel so bad you think something is going to break. I don't think I've ever driven a harsher riding tyre in over 25 years driving. There is just no isolation from the road at all. It probably sounds like I'm exaggerating but really I'm not. The tyres ride like they are massively overinflated at the correct 36 psi. To test this theory I've dropped them down to 33psi and they start to feel a bit more tolerable and more like a normal tyre with some isolation from road imperfections but even then they still ride a lot harder than the original summer tyre and this lower pressure may cause faster tyre wear. (But since I can't put up with the harshness at 36psi it will just have to stay like this) If you care about ride comfort and don't like a harsh ride do not buy these tyres, you have been warned. While it's true that they might ride slightly better in higher profile smaller wheel versions, I suspect the real issue is that these are XL rated tyres on a car which is not heavy enough to require XL tyres. They have extremely stiff sidewalls which are nearly flat and barely bulge at all even at the reduced 33psi. In other words the sidewalls have no give and consequently don't provide any isolation from the road surface. The second problem these tyres have is they are VERY noisy. Many reviews say they are quiet, but that is a lie. They are quite quiet at lower speeds when the car is coasting, yes. But as soon as you accelerate they make a loud "slithering" noise like an angry hissing snake which is proportional to the power you put down. It is more audible on smooth surfaces. Coast and they're silent. Accelerate and they hiss like crazy. They also hiss under stronger braking and cornering to a lesser degree. The Leaf only has 107HP so a car with more power would presumably make them generate even more noise under acceleration. I suspect reviewers overlook this because they are usually driving in petrol/diesel cars where the engine noise when accelerating will drown out the high pitched "hiss" the tyres make under acceleration (and braking) loads, however in an otherwise quiet EV with no engine noise the hiss they make every time you put your foot down is quite loud and intrusive, and easily loud enough for passengers to comment on and ask what the source of the strange noise is. The summer tyres they replaced were absolutely silent under acceleration - only the G forces would let you know you were accelerating. Another noise problem they have which has been reported on in some reviews is a weird buzzing noise which can be heard from around 50-70mph particularly on smooth motorway. This is supposedly a result of the V shaped tread pattern. It's not loud but in a quiet EV it is audible and very strange sounding. It sounds like you're on a motorway with grooves/ruts even when it's perfectly smooth, a sort of tonal droning noise. In a petrol/diesel car it would probably be drowned out by engine noise. If this was the only fault the tyres had I could live with it. Now for the good points - wet grip is fantastic just as the reviews have said, and dry grip in hot weather is also very good, comparable to the summer tyre. Steering precision is good although not quite as direct as the summer tyre probably due to the flexible isolated tread blocks. Cold weather grip is also excellent - no loss of grip noticeable at 2C vs 15C. I have not yet been through a winter with these so I cannot comment on their snow or ice performance, I presume their winter performance will be adequate and probably comparable to the Quatrac 5 I've used before. Would I buy them again ? Not a chance. I could almost live with the slithering noise under acceleration if the ride was comfortable, but the harsh ride totally ruins the driving experience for me and actually makes me want to avoid driving the car. I seriously regret buying these tyres and replacing some part worn still perfectly usable summer tyres instead of picking up a second set of smaller wheels and putting some conventional soft riding winter tyres on them. I drove Quatrac 5's all year round on my last car and had no real complaints with them except unusual tread wear patterns. But their ride comfort, snow, ice and wet performance were great and dry summer performance was adequate. (Although a little soft - I actually had to increase their pressure 2psi in summer, not reduce it like the CrossClimates!) Once the winter is over I'll be getting a second set of wheels to put the most comfortable riding summer tyres on I can find so that I can start enjoying driving the car again, and through the winter I'm just going to have to run them at a lower pressure to make them tolerable. Until manufacturers can start making non-XL rated All Season tyres in the larger sizes I think I'm going to have to stick to summer and winter sets of tyres. The loss in ride quality year round due to the XL rating just to get through a few days or weeks of snow just isn't worth it in my opinion.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-24 03:14:24
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 88% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 22000 average miles
22000 miles nearside on the marks and off side about.0.5 millimeter above the marks. Good wet braking and good dry braking. Tire very quiet can't hear them. Only on the front of car fulkens on the back. Good in the snow and ice. Very pleased with them. Sad I can't at this time afford them so will have to go with a cheaper premium summer tire. I suppose you get what you pay for. Car is a Nissan Leaf. Only down side is fuel economy not the best.
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-20 13:03:14
Writing about the Habilead ComfortMax AS H202 given 60% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
Good tier for the price , do his job well
You have To be careful during turns when you over 80km/h
Perfect for city driving
Used them for 1.5 years
Never change the range that my electric car covered during the charge .
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-26 02:13:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre