Michelin Energy Saver+

The Michelin Energy Saver Plus is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 62 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 1,618,266 miles driven, and 14 tests with an average result of 9th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 76%
Wear 91%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 82%

First On MarketJanuary 2012
Wheel Size14 - 16"
Width165 - 215mm
Profile50 - 70
Rolling ResistanceB - C
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)68 - 70
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Energy Saver+ is ranked 41st of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Energy Saver and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Energy Saver 4.

Tests Included

14

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

9th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test
11th of 16 tyres
  • Top marks in wear, low fuel consumption, good in the dry
  • Weak on wet roads
View Full Test >>
2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 185/65 R15
10th of 16 tyres
  • Top marks for fuel consumption and wear, good in the dry
  • A slight weakness in the wet
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Michelin Energy Saver+ - Launched
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    14 inch
    185/60R14 82 HCB68
    165/70R14 81 TCB68
    175/65R14 82 TCB68
    175/65R14 82 HCB68
    185/70R14 88 TCB68
    185/70R14 88 HCB68
    15 inch
    195/65R15 91 TCA70
    195/65R15 95 T XLBA70
    195/65R15 91 HCA70
    185/65R15 88 HCA68
    185/65R15 88 TCA68
    195/55R15 85 VCA70
    16 inch
    205/55R16 91 HBA70
    205/60R16 96 H XLBA70
    215/60R16 95 HBA70
    205/60R16 92 HBA70
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin Energy Saver Plus >>

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Energy Saver Plus

    2016-05-22 - I've noticed that these tyres come in 2 different tread paterns with the same name, according to their size. Is that correct?

    It's not unusual for the tread pattern of tyres to alter slightly as the tyre width increases, with a lot of manufacturers putting in an extra circumferential rib to their larger sizes.


    2016-06-28 - I am about to change my tyres and have been very pleased with my Michelin Energy Savers. After nearly 2 years of use totalling 38,000 miles and getting an average 62.5 mpg from my Honda Civic Tourer, I am sticking with Michelin but cannot decide between the Michelin Energy Saver Plus and the fairly new Michelin Cross Climate. From what i have read if I could get similar life out of the latter, that would be the best choice but I am concerned that I will get less life from the Cross Climate. Any thoughts would be most welcome. Thanks.

    The CrossClimate is reported to have slightly better wear than the Energy Saver+, and much improved wet grip. The Energy Saver+ will still have the rolling resistance advantage in certain sizes, but the difference will be small.


    2017-12-09 - Michelin Energy Saver Plus,205/55/16,tyre weight?

    We don't have an exact weight for the Michelin Energy Saver+ on record, but it should weigh around 8kgs.


    2019-02-16 - The energy saver plus are tires aimed for excellent fuel efficiency but their fuel efficiency rating is C!?! I have bridgestone t005's and their fuel efficiency is poor compared to the toyo nano energy i had before. The fact that these Michelin are rated C will they be worse in fuel efficiency compared to my B rated t005's?

    There's a chance they will be, yes, but different car and tyre combinations can work differently. Don't forget a tyres rolling resistance improves with wear, and double check your tyre pressures as a few PSI can make a difference too.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    175/65 R14 £69.80 - £94.63 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    185/65 R15 £97.28 - £99.97 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £94.31 - £95.49 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 11 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
    Very quiet and comfortable, good braking on wet and dry. Moderate handling. Good fuel economy, very good wear. But sidewalls are very soft and poor. Price is very high.
    Helpful 157 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2016
    Given 87% while driving a Toyota Corolla (175/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
    Very good tyres in wet and dry roads. Low noise and very comfort.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2022
    Given 59% while driving a Citroën C3 (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 55,000 easy going miles
    OE on a 2015 Citroën C3 1.2 PureTech. Not the best Michelins imo The big problem with these is the dry rotting of the whole tyre. It's pretty bad. Grip is normal, as expected from a Michelin. I can't recommend them because of the dry rotting problem.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2022
    Have you driven on the Michelin Energy Saver Plus tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy Saver Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin Energy Saver Plus >

    Latest Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews

    Given 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 33 average miles
    So, after 33,000miles/53.000km I can say a few things about these tyres. +Really good on wearing slowly +Comfortable +Good mileage +Great for average driving +Stable even at 170+km/h/105miles/h +excellent at dry grip/breaking +pricing -not for sporty driving -not stable if worn in wet roads -a bit bumpy when curving -might lose grip if pushed after a couple of dozens of thousands of miles. A great choice of touring tyre for sure.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2021
    Given 84% while driving a Hyundai Getz (175/65 R14 T) on for 1,000 spirited miles
    excellent dry grip,just average on wet thought.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2021
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 76% while driving a Hyundai Getz (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    I bought a set of used ones in decent condition and i must say that the dry grip was superb! Even on hard cornering at highway speeds the tires have great traction and the car felt secure, I was really impressed about how good they were on dry conditions, didn't expect that coming. They were also very comfortable probably due to the sidewall size (175/65/14) also the braking on dry roads again was good enough. But i was really disappointed about the wet grip of the tires. On high speeds with moderate rain the car didn't felt secure at all and on corners i really had to brake a lot not to get off the road! Also on hairpin turns at slow speeds the tires aquaplaned and it was really scary, unacceptable! Last but not least i was again disappointed a little about the wear as only after 300 km i noticed they were not in the same condition, maybe it was due to the fact they were already used and 4 years old and the treadwear was at the end of its life and they wearing out faster than normal i dont' know for sure...Finally the fuel efficiency was another disappointment as Michelin sells these tires as "energy saver" and i was expecting a better gas mileage from a tire rated C on fuel.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3 (185/45 R15 T) on mostly town for 38,000 average miles
    michelin energy saver tyres, on 3 rd set of tyres and covered 38000 miles each time down to 2mil approx, type of driving 6000 miles local, 3000 further afield travel, have bought budget tyres over the years but false economy
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 65,000 average miles
    I have done over 100'000 km in these tyres are they still have loads left in the thread. However the side walls are starting to become cracked with age, they have just headed 5 years old. I am going to get the same tyres again because they were so good, hopefully the new ones will last another 5 years and then i will have a new car! Overall they are worth it because you get so long out of them, also great performance and very comfortable.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2020
    Given 93% while driving a Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
    Treadwear 400, Traction A, Temperature A

    One of the most outstanding tyres I have ever used.

    Dry grip is phenomenal.

    Wet grip is adequate for most normal driving conditions.

    Road feedback, comfort and handling are on par with the everyday use orientation of the tyre.

    Wear is simply amazing. The tyre loses 0.5mm of tread evey 10.000km.

    What is worth commenting is the tyre's performance throughout its lifespan. Even after 80.000km, with still 3.2mm of tread left, it performs the same as new. Almost same comfort, same noise, almost same dry and wet braking, and that is probably the best argument why to buy this tyre. Reliable, efficient and same performance for around 80.000km. Of course, it could go beyond 100K to reach the legal limit, but what's the point?
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2019
    Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
    I have those tyre on my Golf Mk7 for last 40,000 km. They don't wear, I would easily get another 40,000km out of them. I do drive hard and like to take corners also hard. Over all the tyre is good, but I find it very loud on motorways. Its also no where near ContiSportContact 6 for handling in the wet. Ill be going back to Continentals for my next tyre. But overall, tyre is good and exceptionally good at not wearing. Would be ideal for Taxi's.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2019
    Given 73% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
    I have around 30k km with the tyres, with plenty of tread left. Personally I push the tyres quite a lot, and I didn't have any real issue with this tyre, especially with it's category and price. I have even driven on snow, where of course it's slippery, but drivable. Would recommend them for casual use, but if you want something more aggressive and high performance, I would look somewhere else.
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2019
    Nissan LEAF Tekna (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Good tyre all round for my 10,000 miles on them. On an EV they break loose on full excelleration on dry summer road around 17°c . They spin for 1 Sec over taking but slight adjustment and they feel really well sure footed . Tbis mus the the compromise between low rolling resistance to their touting primacy tyre.
    Never let me down under city braking in slot on emergency brake tests with pedestrians. Not once did abs kick in.
    So all in all a good tyre as you don’t notice them then they are good.
    Only one spin out under load when grrip goes light under hard acceleration from a torqued ev Nissan Leaf .
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2018
    Given 86% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 2,500 easy going miles
    I have these tyres, the Energy Saver + for 4.000km and before i have the same tires, but then the normal version of it. The normal Energy saver.
    My english is nog as good as some people espect, but i do my best.

    At first i want a performance tyre cause i drive sportive, my car is a Alfa Romeo 147 140hp JTD, but a few days later i realize i want tyres where ecofuelly. Cause i drive 40.000km in one year, it save's fuel and also money.
    The day i put them on my car, the first corner i thought damn, these tyres are excellent when driving, steeringwheel is much easyer and lighter. The previous tyres (normal energy savers) the steering becomes a bit heavy, but now it's easy to steer to right or left.

    I can't say anything about wear but i have much confidence in Energy Saver+

    Also good dry and wet grip. It's not a performance tyre but if you drive normal and not like a fool or something, you have always a safe feeling, even when it rains hard and much aquaplanning on the road, always a safe feeling and a lot of feedback what you doing.

    Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2018
    Given 89% while driving a Suzuki Splash SZ4 (185/60 R15) on mostly town for 20 average miles
    VERY durable tyre and very reliable . Grips and handles great , ever after almost 4 years use. You pay premium price but the tyre is of premium quality as well . I just feel that through time ,the tyre has become a bit harder for my (already firm Japanese) suspension .
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2018
    Given 97% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 7,150 average miles
    This is my initial review of the tire after first summer season of use. The car came fitted with these tires from the dealer.
    The tires feel comfortable especially on dry but they are good in wet conditions as well. I wouldn't force them though. I drove in torrential rain on the highway and they felt safe. Emergency braking o dry is remarkable and in wet is good as well. Fuel consumption seems to be ok. Hope it will be good for another couple of seasons.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2018