Michelin Energy Saver+

The Michelin Energy Saver Plus is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Energy Saver and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Energy Saver 4.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 77%
Wear 92%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 82%

Tyre review data from 57 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 1,464,266 miles driven.

The Energy Saver+ is ranked 35th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 15th of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in wear, low fuel consumption, good in the dry
  • Negative - Weak on wet roads
View Full Test >>

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks for fuel consumption and wear, good in the dry
  • Negative - A slight weakness in the wet
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   C B 68 6.28kgs
185/60 R14 82T   C B 68 6.36kgs
185/60 R14 82H   C B 68 6.38kgs
165/65 R14 79T   C B 68 5.75kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C B 68 6.48kgs
175/65 R14 82H   C B 68 6.51kgs
185/65 R14 86T   C B 68 6.66kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 6.74kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 68 5.86kgs
175/70 R14 84T   C B 68 6.49kgs
185/70 R14 88H   C B 68 7.19kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 68 6.95kgs
195/70 R14 91T   C B 68 7.76kgs
195/50 R15 82T   C A 70 7.07kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 68 7.06kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 70 7.20kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 70 7.31kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 68 7.16kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 68 6.94kgs
185/60 R15 84H AO C A 68 7.00kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 7.70kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 6.96kgs
195/60 R15 88T   C A 70 7.60kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C A 70 7.72kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C A 70 7.58kgs
195/60 R15 88V DT C B 70 7.80kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C A 70 7.94kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C A 70 7.92kgs
165/65 R15 81T   B A 68 7.00kgs
165/65 R15 81T   B A 68 6.20kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C A 68 6.70kgs
175/65 R15 84T   C A 68 6.74kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 68 7.23kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 68 7.26kgs
195/65 R15 91H G1 B A 69 7.90kgs
195/65 R15 91T   B A 70 7.90kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   B A 70 7.91kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 70 7.87kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 70 7.71kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C A 70 7.70kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C A 70 8.79kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C A 70 8.83kgs
215/65 R15 96H   B A 70 9.16kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 70 7.96kgs
185/55 R16 83V   C A 68 7.55kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 70 7.96kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 70 8.00kgs
195/55 R16 91T XL   C A 70 8.11kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 70 7.86kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 70 8.35kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   B A 70 8.50kgs
205/55 R16 91W AO B A 70 8.00kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   A A 70 8.10kgs
205/55 R16 91V * B A 70 8.00kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B A 70 8.24kgs
205/55 R16 91V   B A 70 8.12kgs
205/55 R16 91H AO B A 70 8.15kgs
205/60 R16 92W MO B A 70 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL * B A 70 8.56kgs
205/60 R16 92H AO B A 70 8.35kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   B A 70 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 92H   B A 70 8.63kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   B A 70 8.69kgs
205/60 R16 92V   B A 70 8.61kgs
215/60 R16 95V   B A 70 9.20kgs
215/60 R16 95H   B A 70 9.37kgs
195/65 R16 92H   B A 70 8.40kgs
205/65 R16 95V *       10.24kgs
205/65 R16 95V MO A A 70 8.60kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Energy Saver Plus

2016-05-23 - I've noticed that these tyres come in 2 different tread paterns with the same name, according to their size. Is that correct?

It's not unusual for the tread pattern of tyres to alter slightly as the tyre width increases, with a lot of manufacturers putting in an extra circumferential rib to their larger sizes.


2016-06-28 - I am about to change my tyres and have been very pleased with my Michelin Energy Savers. After nearly 2 years of use totalling 38,000 miles and getting an average 62.5 mpg from my Honda Civic Tourer, I am sticking with Michelin but cannot decide between the Michelin Energy Saver Plus and the fairly new Michelin Cross Climate. From what i have read if I could get similar life out of the latter, that would be the best choice but I am concerned that I will get less life from the Cross Climate. Any thoughts would be most welcome. Thanks.

The CrossClimate is reported to have slightly better wear than the Energy Saver+, and much improved wet grip. The Energy Saver+ will still have the rolling resistance advantage in certain sizes, but the difference will be small.


2017-12-09 - Michelin Energy Saver Plus,205/55/16,tyre weight?

We don't have an exact weight for the Michelin Energy Saver+ on record, but it should weigh around 8kgs.


2019-02-16 - The energy saver plus are tires aimed for excellent fuel efficiency but their fuel efficiency rating is C!?! I have bridgestone t005's and their fuel efficiency is poor compared to the toyo nano energy i had before. The fact that these Michelin are rated C will they be worse in fuel efficiency compared to my B rated t005's?

There's a chance they will be, yes, but different car and tyre combinations can work differently. Don't forget a tyres rolling resistance improves with wear, and double check your tyre pressures as a few PSI can make a difference too.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Energy Saver Plus Prices

Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £54.84 - £65.83 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £57.91 - £161.90 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £88.90 - £91.30 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £78.00 - £91.86 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 24 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
Very quiet and comfortable, good braking on wet and dry. Moderate handling. Good fuel economy, very good wear. But sidewalls are very soft and poor. Price is very high.
132 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2016   
Given 86% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 2,500 easy going miles
I have these tyres, the Energy Saver + for 4.000km and before i have the same tires, but then the normal version of it. The normal Energy saver.
My english is nog as good as some people espect, but i do my best.

At first i want a performance tyre cause i drive sportive, my car is a Alfa Romeo 147 140hp JTD, but a few days later i realize i want tyres where ecofuelly. Cause i drive 40.000km in one year, it save's fuel and also money.
The day i put them on my car, the first corner i thought damn, these tyres are excellent when driving, steeringwheel is much easyer and lighter. The previous tyres (normal energy savers) the steering becomes a bit heavy, but now it's easy to steer to right or left.

I can't say anything about wear but i have much confidence in Energy Saver+

Also good dry and wet grip. It's not a performance tyre but if you drive normal and not like a fool or something, you have always a safe feeling, even when it rains hard and much aquaplanning on the road, always a safe feeling and a lot of feedback what you doing.

18 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2018   
Given 91% while driving a Citroën C3 (185/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 70,000 average miles
this set of tyres was used for about 70000 kms
excellent comfort and incredible wear also excellent fuel economy tanks to these tyres
the tyre feels very safe even when driving fast
now after 4 years and 70000 kms it feels less safe and grip loss is noticeable when compared with new or mid life
I will definitely buy again
excellent value tyre
15 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017   
Have you driven on the Michelin Energy Saver Plus tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy Saver Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Energy Saver Plus >

Latest Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 33 average miles
So, after 33,000miles/53.000km I can say a few things about these tyres. +Really good on wearing slowly +Comfortable +Good mileage +Great for average driving +Stable even at 170+km/h/105miles/h +excellent at dry grip/breaking +pricing -not for sporty driving -not stable if worn in wet roads -a bit bumpy when curving -might lose grip if pushed after a couple of dozens of thousands of miles. A great choice of touring tyre for sure.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Hyundai Getz (175/65 R14 T) on for 1,000 spirited miles
excellent dry grip,just average on wet thought.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 76% while driving a Hyundai Getz (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bought a set of used ones in decent condition and i must say that the dry grip was superb! Even on hard cornering at highway speeds the tires have great traction and the car felt secure, I was really impressed about how good they were on dry conditions, didn't expect that coming. They were also very comfortable probably due to the sidewall size (175/65/14) also the braking on dry roads again was good enough. But i was really disappointed about the wet grip of the tires. On high speeds with moderate rain the car didn't felt secure at all and on corners i really had to brake a lot not to get off the road! Also on hairpin turns at slow speeds the tires aquaplaned and it was really scary, unacceptable! Last but not least i was again disappointed a little about the wear as only after 300 km i noticed they were not in the same condition, maybe it was due to the fact they were already used and 4 years old and the treadwear was at the end of its life and they wearing out faster than normal i dont' know for sure...Finally the fuel efficiency was another disappointment as Michelin sells these tires as "energy saver" and i was expecting a better gas mileage from a tire rated C on fuel.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2020   
Given 86% while driving a Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3 (185/45 R15 T) on mostly town for 38,000 average miles
michelin energy saver tyres, on 3 rd set of tyres and covered 38000 miles each time down to 2mil approx, type of driving 6000 miles local, 3000 further afield travel, have bought budget tyres over the years but false economy
6 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 65,000 average miles
I have done over 100'000 km in these tyres are they still have loads left in the thread. However the side walls are starting to become cracked with age, they have just headed 5 years old. I am going to get the same tyres again because they were so good, hopefully the new ones will last another 5 years and then i will have a new car! Overall they are worth it because you get so long out of them, also great performance and very comfortable.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
Treadwear 400, Traction A, Temperature A

One of the most outstanding tyres I have ever used.

Dry grip is phenomenal.

Wet grip is adequate for most normal driving conditions.

Road feedback, comfort and handling are on par with the everyday use orientation of the tyre.

Wear is simply amazing. The tyre loses 0.5mm of tread evey 10.000km.

What is worth commenting is the tyre's performance throughout its lifespan. Even after 80.000km, with still 3.2mm of tread left, it performs the same as new. Almost same comfort, same noise, almost same dry and wet braking, and that is probably the best argument why to buy this tyre. Reliable, efficient and same performance for around 80.000km. Of course, it could go beyond 100K to reach the legal limit, but what's the point?
4 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2019   
Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
I have those tyre on my Golf Mk7 for last 40,000 km. They don't wear, I would easily get another 40,000km out of them. I do drive hard and like to take corners also hard. Over all the tyre is good, but I find it very loud on motorways. Its also no where near ContiSportContact 6 for handling in the wet. Ill be going back to Continentals for my next tyre. But overall, tyre is good and exceptionally good at not wearing. Would be ideal for Taxi's.
8 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
I have around 30k km with the tyres, with plenty of tread left. Personally I push the tyres quite a lot, and I didn't have any real issue with this tyre, especially with it's category and price. I have even driven on snow, where of course it's slippery, but drivable. Would recommend them for casual use, but if you want something more aggressive and high performance, I would look somewhere else.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2019   
Nissan LEAF Tekna (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Good tyre all round for my 10,000 miles on them. On an EV they break loose on full excelleration on dry summer road around 17°c . They spin for 1 Sec over taking but slight adjustment and they feel really well sure footed . Tbis mus the the compromise between low rolling resistance to their touting primacy tyre.
Never let me down under city braking in slot on emergency brake tests with pedestrians. Not once did abs kick in.
So all in all a good tyre as you don’t notice them then they are good.
Only one spin out under load when grrip goes light under hard acceleration from a torqued ev Nissan Leaf .
5 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Suzuki Splash SZ4 (185/60 R15) on mostly town for 20 average miles
VERY durable tyre and very reliable . Grips and handles great , ever after almost 4 years use. You pay premium price but the tyre is of premium quality as well . I just feel that through time ,the tyre has become a bit harder for my (already firm Japanese) suspension .
6 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2018   
Given 97% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 7,150 average miles
This is my initial review of the tire after first summer season of use. The car came fitted with these tires from the dealer.
The tires feel comfortable especially on dry but they are good in wet conditions as well. I wouldn't force them though. I drove in torrential rain on the highway and they felt safe. Emergency braking o dry is remarkable and in wet is good as well. Fuel consumption seems to be ok. Hope it will be good for another couple of seasons.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2018   
Given 50% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 40,000 easy going miles
Had a weird drone from 30mph, reduced as tyres wore but very annoying. Michelin head office were not interested in helping.
12 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2017