Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

The Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 provides improved grip for better handling on snow. The large amount of sipes at the center of the tyre’s tread provide for better snow biting, improving handling on snow by 5% in comparison to the previous Vector 4Seasons Gen-2.

Goodyear’s Dry Handling technology provides strong crown and shoulder blocks that reduce the deformation of the tyre during heavy maneuvers improving dry braking by 5%.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 also maintains its predecessor’s impressive level of aquaplaning resistance thanks to Goodyear’s Aqua Control technology, which uses deep and wide grooves to improve water dispersion.

The new Vector 4Seasons Gen-3 was introduced as of April 2020, with 65 new SKUs to be progressively introduced in 2020 and further SKUs to follow in 2021 and 2022.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 84%
Wear 89%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 92%
Snow Grip 89%
Ice Grip 82%

Tyre review data from 25 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 168,875 miles driven.

The Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 is ranked 4th of 47 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent grip in the wet with short braking distances and good handling, very high aquaplaning resistance, excellent braking and handling in the snow, fastest dry handling time.
  • Negative - Lower snow traction, long dry braking distances.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Vector 4Season Gen 3 had a poor result in the Tyre Reviews all season test last year, but that was certainly an outlier rather than the rule, and now the tyre is back exactly where it should be. The only drawback, which we've seen many times before, was average dry braking, but it was consistently amongst the best in the wet, including aquaplaning results, and the snow.

View Full Test >>

2022 Sport Auto All Season Tyre Test - 5th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Decent grip and agile handling on snow, safer and wider limit area on wet. Very manageable on dry roads, but not very dynamic.
  • Negative - Low reserves for spinning wheels on snow. Not very stable when changing loads in the wet. Longer braking distances on dry asphalt, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 17 tyres

  • Positive - Test winner with convincing driving characteristics in all weather conditions, dynamic wet and dry handling, precise steering behavior, low wear.
  • Negative - Elevated rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

2020-07-02 - I bought a brand new set of this tyres for my Audi A3, size 225/45 R17, to replace my 7 year old winter tyres. Now I can hear a very obvious bumping noise coming from tyres, at about 40 to 50km/h. I can kind of feel it on the steering wheel too. Never heard that before with any winter nor all-season tyres, let alone summer tyres. Two separate garages checked the car, including Audi, and said they could no find anything wrong, and that the noise may be normal for those tyres. Can this be the case? Has anyone had the same experience with these tyres? I am really quite unhappy with them.

This is certainly not the fault of the tyres, unless they've been stored incorrectly and have gone "out of round" or been damaged internally. I'd keep complaining to the garage! One option would be to have the fronts and rears swapped to see if the noise moves, and if so you know there's a wheel / tyre issue.


2020-10-31 - Been looking at these to fit on a Gen 10 Honda Civic 1.5 turbo which is a reasonably quick car and has good handling, I am just a little concerned regarding dry braking, do these tyre make an appreciable difference compared to the OE tyres which are Michelin Primacy 3?

Check out our all season tyre test which has a reference summer tyre in to show you the difference between this and a summer tyre.


2021-05-25 - I have to fit my Hyundai Tucson with new tires. I have to choose between Goodyear 4season Gen 3 and Michelin crossclimate plus. My main focus is on treadlife and dry and wet performance. What should I choose?

The two tyres seem to be relatively similar in wear, the Michelin better in the dry and the Goodyear has the edge in the wet. If you've not seen it, check out our all season tyre test from 2020 as that should give you all the details.


2022-10-20 - Is the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 also available in a RunFlat version?

Yes in certain sizes there are runflat versions of the Vector 4Seasons Gen-3


2022-11-23 - Hello! I been choosing new tires for Ford Kuga MK1 SUv with 4x4 120kW. I checked all tests which i found on yuour website and i want to buy Goodyear Vector 4Seasons G3, but i found there are two types of tires - Vector 4Seasons G3 with index H99 which is still good for me and Vector 4Seasons G3 SUV with index 103Y, my question is do i need to buy SUV variant or should be good the first variant? Because on SUV variant there are not that much tests like the first variant. Thanks

The overall performance of the non-suv and suv versions should be very similar. If the Kuga is ok with a 99 load rating then pick whatever is cheaper.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £76.94 - £91.29 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £95.70 - £114.98 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £114.00 - £116.88 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £151.00 - £167.62 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Bought a set of Gen 2s 2 years ago. Done about 25k miles on them. Had them rotated 3 times. Have driven in blistering heat, freezing temperatures and torrential rain. They have always felt well planted and feedback from the tryes has been good. I have used them on motorways, welsh A and B roads, grass and mud but never got the chance to try them in the snow and ice which is the main reason I got them. Maybe this year as I am going to fit some Gen3s in a few weeks. What I will say is this is the first set of tyres where I have NEVER picked up a puncture. Whether I have just been lucky or the different tread design from normal road tyres with radial groves has been a factor, I don't know. Thoroughly recommend these.
Helpful 82 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2020
Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors Stonic (185/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Been using the 3rd gen since 2 months ago. I would say that they are better than the 2nd gen in every aspect. Better on snow/ice than the Michelin CrossclimatePlus that's for sure. But a bitt worse than the CrossclimatePlus on dry and wear wise. Still since the CrossclimatePlus is pretty unstable on snow/ice , this is the real all season tyre to go with.
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2020
Given 92% while driving a Skoda (235/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Great tyres! I changed the tyres 3 weeks ago and switched from summer Pirelli Cinturato P7, which came with my new Skoda. The car is with DCC, which I use in comfort mode. Immediately after I changed the tyres I feel the difference. the car became much more comfortable and quiet. Especially on weared and cracked road surfaces. When going over bumps, the car is feeling smooth and soft. There is not any more typical noises from suspension and much less road noises can be heard. I drove in autumn conditions in range +3 to +25 DEG Celsius. The grip below +15 DEG is much better than with the summer tyres, in all conditions - wet, dry, muddy. Between 15 and 20 DEG, the grip is similar like P7. Above 20 DEG, V4 Gen3 start feeling more soft than needed and start "floating" on the pattern's blocks when cornering. Braking grip is also excellent in all conditions till now. In addition to quietness, would like to add that on extremely wet surface there is not typical for most winter patterns high frequencies noises when accelerating, caused by water extraction from the pattern in the contact spots. In regards with the tests published on this website I would confirm that the tyres are very close to best winter tyres performance on dry and wet below 15 DEG (based on my previous experience with winter Goodyear, Continental, Semperit, Kleber, Toyo etc, which I drove on my previous cars). After I collect some experience on snow and ice, I will update this review. And after at least a full year I can evaluate the wear of the tyres, til now the tyres are quite new and I cannot make evaluation. I hope that in hot summer in Bulgaria tyres will survive in 40++ DEG and will save elasticity for the next few years. As major drawback I will note the price. Currently the model is very new and I have to wait for 2 weeks after the order. The price is higher than on Michelin CC+ here in Bulgaria and even PILOT ALPIN 5, which are the most expensive tyres for normal road cars. At the end would like to give my huge LIKE on www.tyrereviews.co.uk, which are making our choice of tyres much easier with the information and tests published here :-) ! Thank You Tyrereviews!
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2020
Have you driven on the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 >

Latest Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Peugeot 308 GT 180 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
1st time I have gone for all season tyres, having previously used Michelin PS4 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 5 and 3. Comfort is excellent, you can feel it instantaneously and it makes for a very enjoyable drive. I've read many reviews and watched lots of reviews too, before finally deciding against Michelin PS5 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 6 and giving all season tyres a try. I have to say so far so good, and yes dry grip when pushing the car is better with summer tyres, but having said that with normal driving and even with occasional "foot down" around the corner Vector 4Seaons G3 are surprisingly good and more than enough for me! Looking forward to cold temperatures, when I will be able to feel the massive difference! As I said so far so good! Good job Goodyear!
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2022
Given 82% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Very two faced tyres. They have really good lateral grip and amazing feel both wet and dry, but the longitudinal grip is not very good, especially braking. When the tyres were new I honestly believed that my car had some abs problem, because it engaged so early. It was literally much worse than the Radar Dimax tyres it replaced. The car felt loose and uncertain. This was probably due to having the wrong size rims for the tyres 6,5 inch wide. So I have refitted to a 7,5 inch wide rims which solved the loose feeling but the longitudinal grip is still not as good as I expected. On dry roads my 2.0 liter Mazda can spin a tyre in 1st gear even from a rolling start. Interestingly the wet grip is almost the same as the dry. Also fuel consumption is not the best. In snow it is OK, but it really struggles with slush and has almost no longitudinal traction on wet ice, which is strange as lateral grip is miles better. I have been using it for 15 000 km and it has very good tread depth. If it goes like this it will past 60 000 km before it wears down, although I ude it mostly on country roads and highways.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a BMW 540I (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
I've just had these recently fitted to my 17" alloys on my Japanese import BMW E39 540i Sport as I always have a set of alloys with tyres for summer; and a separate set for over winter etc. However, this time I decided not to go for dedicated winters, but rather all-seasons and bought these on the strength of Jons reviews on Youtube etc.
Have done around 400 miles on them so far on a road trip around Anglesey & North Wales and then literally the last few days doing chores from home, in the wet.
So they've had a good dry run and now some good wet runs They're superb! Very planted / grippy in the wet; and very grippy in the dry. Albeit temps haven't been below c12ºC recently; I'd say they'll fair even better when it gets colder! Quiet, smooth and comfortable as well; which is exactly what I want from my tyres anyway and why I sold the 18" alloys and moved back to 17s for that added comfort/extra sidewall etc Looking forward to seeing how these do in the colder temps but also when we travel up to the Highlands in Dec & Feb
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2022
Given 93% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Bought my seat ibiza 2019 1.5 TSI FR with 38200km, i changed the tyres at about 38500, the car has now 48000 so about 10000Km made with these new tyres. My car was previously fitted with Nexen Summer tyre which were noisy and not confortable but had almost 40K KM so pretty used. When i got the new Vector, the Confort and noise changed dramatically, no more tyre noise and much better confort (absorption of bumps in the road) The Ibiza FR has pretty firm suspension and 17" wheels so it's kinda hard but those GoodYear tyres help mitigate this issue. I live in Auvergne in France, so it's mostly Mountain/Country Roads and Highway. On the dry on country roads at high speeds :p, the tyres are glued to the road and it feels super safe. On the Wet it's hard to make these loose grip, it really holds well. Did not tried snow yet. As for the wear, the tyres looks almost new at 10k KM. Bought these on suggestion of your Youtube Videos 1 year ago, and i'm really pleased with these Goodyear's
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2022
Given 88% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,500 average miles
Superb tires! Specially for the price I paid in the summer of 2021. (71£ each) They exceed my old Nokian Weatherproof's by miles in every category. The V4S Gen3's really matches up with the weather in Denmark! Affraid of aquaplaning? I drove under a bridge on the motorway w/ 90 km/h into a 10cm deep puddle and felt no slip. Absolutely impressed by that, compared to previous cars and tire combos, summer/winter/all-season.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Nissan Primera (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 easy going miles
this tyres loves the cold weather. its perfect on snow and sure provide confidence. its very good in rain conditions and ok to dry weather never feel any unstubillity in logical frame. Also is very queit. I live in greece and i warried about wear in summer month but high summer temperatures do not affect their wear. on negatives now is how the tyre has a very bad feedback, its filtering the most and the feel is like no have idea where is the wheel. But the biggest disadvantage is the brake on warm weather, as feel and perfomance, every time feel how needed little more space to stop from what you think. its no traggik but sure worst from summer tyres. my previeus toyo proxes cf2 is much better from that in any summer sittuation. but because i feel unsecure in winter change to all season. generly from my expirience, below 10 celcius its the ultimate tyres who i have tries, grip snow&dry&wet, brake snow&dry&wet, feeling. over 10 celcius start compromises. that is the point who a summer tyres is better. finaly this tyres is perfect for people like me who driving style is calm-economy, wants all season tyres who preefer some little comromise from change to summer.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen b5 1.8t (/65 R15) on for 15,000 miles
I have fot it on an old VW Passat. In Winter it behave like an Winter Tire. The only slightly disadvantage in Winter is during fast cornering. Than it start to loose grip but in what a predictibly way - I am SO impressed. Predictibility is the key Word for Winter. In summer it behaves like a normal tire. The Best abilities are when temperature is near 0 Celsius, wonderfull and well holding corners tire then. Talking about milage, after whole one year of use in Middle-East Europe front tires tread looks like it was hard biten, (25k km) but it still holds the grip. I will rotate front to rear. I think that my set will hold 3 years, maybe 2 and a half. For me it is fine. I think that I may buy and swap tires for summer month and put back Goodyear gen. 3 for spring, autumn and winter. Great tire for 3seasons. I think summer overhits and fastens the wear.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 95% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Switched to Gen 3 from CC+ and already loving it. The A fuel rating and B wet performance is simply amazing. Besides, they are definitely more quiet than the CC+ even though the label states 72db. The response from the steering is second to none. Tried them in the dry and wet, and never had a spin, can't say that about CC+, though a big fan of those before. Ready to test them in winter, can't wait, to be honest. So far I am totally impressed. Well done, Goodyear.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 88% while driving a Renault Zoe (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Incredible rounded tyre with low rolling resistance. I can recommend this tyre especially for EV drivers.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2021
Given 48% while driving a Jaguar XF Sportbrake 2.2 (200) (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Initially I got massive feedback and vibrations through the steering wheel. This got better after 500 miles or so but still some vibrations remained at highway speeds. Never had that issue before with my previous Vredestein Quatrac pro's..... The tires seems to struggle with the weight of the car. Increased the tire pressures to max. as indicated in car's manual. (High speed, full load setting instead of the comfort pressures I normally run) Now they seem fine. Compared to the Vredesteins they are a bit quieter at highway speeds. (But that might be because they are new...) No experience in snow yet, tires seem to do well in dry and wet conditions. require a bit less steering input than previous tyres.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2021
Given 99% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 5,000 spirited miles
I have been completely satisfied with his performance in all seasons. It's amazing. I recommend it to everyone.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2021
Given 82% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.6TDCI 2008 2011 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Some info beforehand: bought them for ~290 EUR for all 4 corners. 205 55 R16 on a Focus 2 estate. I live in Romania and temperatures range and have ranged from -10 to 35+ C. I've done more than 12K kms on them. Tread is at 7 from 8 mm. Bought December 2020. Haven't rotated them yet. I've previously had: Bridgestone Turanza T001 / Michelin Primacy 3 for summer and Kumho iCept RS2 for winter By no means am I a racing driver or anything so with the city and occasional out of the city driving that I do, they've done well for me. Here's my take: The good: - Fuel economy. Getting a better average overall than my summer + winter ones combined; - The fact that one doesn't have to change them every single time so you can say you're always ready if the bad weather suddenly appears; which in these weird times has happened... it can be an issue; - Road noise and comfort is decent, can't say I've felt any difference compared to either previous summer or winter tires. - Personally, I found aquaplaning almost non-existent even at 80 kph. The not-so-good: - Grip sometimes in the dry is so and so. Car feels a bit wobbly, so I try not to take turns too vigorously. Smooth and steady/ - Dry braking, to be honest, is a bit tricky sometimes thus I try a more defensive driving approach. Obviously, I wouldn't count on them as much as a regular summer tire. Maybe, if one lives in a more hot environment, a Crossclimate is the better choice. - They do squeak when taking tight turns at low speed in the dry / warmer temps - They also squeak when on certain zebra crossing or when leaving the lights more enthusiastically. Again during the summer time when temps are 30 and beyond Would I buy again? Absolutely.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2021