Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 74%
Wear 89%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 85%
Snow Grip 82%
Ice Grip 72%

Tyre review data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 434,280 miles driven.

The Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is ranked 16th of 42 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Relatively good in the wet, low wear.
  • Negative - Weakness on dry roads and in the snow.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - An excellent all season tyre with strong winter characteristics, safe handling and a good balance int he wet, good comfort, good mileage, good price to wear ratio.
  • Negative - Slow steering in the dry.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2019 All Season Tyre Performance Overview - 5th of 31 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T XL   E C 66 5.56kgs
165/70 R13 79T XL   E B 67 6.08kgs
175/70 R13 82T XL   E B 67 6.47kgs
165/60 R14 75H XL   E C 66 6.02kgs
185/60 R14 82H XL   C B 67 6.90kgs
155/65 R14 75T XL   E C 66 5.60kgs
165/65 R14 79T XL   E C 67 6.26kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   C B 67 6.75kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C B 68 6.70kgs
175/65 R14 82T XL   E B 68 6.57kgs
185/65 R14 86H XL   C B 67 7.20kgs
165/70 R14 81T XL   E B 67 6.60kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   C B 67 6.73kgs
175/70 R14 84T XL   E B 67 6.89kgs
185/70 R14 88T XL   C B 68 7.31kgs
175/80 R14 88T XL   E B 67 7.60kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 67 7.38kgs
195/50 R15 82H XL   E C 71 7.44kgs
195/50 R15 82H XL   E C 68 7.44kgs
185/55 R15 82H XL   E B 68 7.09kgs
185/55 R15 82H XL   C B 68 7.02kgs
195/55 R15 85H XL   C B 68 7.64kgs
165/60 R15 81T XL   E B 67 6.56kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 68 7.50kgs
185/60 R15 84T XL   B B 68 7.45kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C B 67 7.71kgs
195/60 R15 88V XL   C C 69 8.71kgs
195/60 R15 88H XL   C B 68 7.93kgs
205/60 R15 95H XL   B B 68 8.52kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C B 67 6.68kgs
165/65 R15 81T XL DOT B C 68 6.46kgs
175/65 R15 84H XL   C B 67 6.95kgs
175/65 R15 84T XL   C B 67 6.95kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   C B 69 7.80kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   C B 68 7.38kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   C B 68 7.36kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   C B 69 7.79kgs
185/65 R15 88V XL   B B 71 7.66kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   C B 68 7.38kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B C 70 8.85kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 68 8.86kgs
195/65 R15 91V XL   C B 68 8.82kgs
195/65 R15 91T XL   C B 68 8.86kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   B C 70 8.28kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C B 68 8.86kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 70 8.27kgs
205/65 R15 94H XL   C B 68 8.65kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL AO C B 69 8.24kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C B 68 7.62kgs
195/55 R16 87V XL   C B 68 7.91kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   B B 72 7.35kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL AO C C 69 8.16kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   E B 68 10.35kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   C B 68 8.56kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 68 8.66kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 68 8.60kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   B B 72 8.48kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   B C 70 8.79kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 68 8.75kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 68 8.77kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   C C 71 8.77kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   E B 68 11.09kgs
215/55 R16 93V XL   C B 69 9.74kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 70 9.19kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL AO B C 67 9.00kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   C B 68 9.30kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 68 9.30kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   C B 68 9.73kgs
215/60 R16 95V XL AO C B 68 10.60kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C B 69 10.10kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   C B 69 10.56kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 69 8.80kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 69 9.77kgs
225/45 R17 91V XL   E B 68 11.81kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C B 69 9.77kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 69 9.74kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 70 9.81kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 68 9.30kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 68 9.37kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 69 10.68kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 68 10.30kgs
225/50 R17 94V XL   C B 69 10.48kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 69 10.46kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   B B 68 9.32kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL AO C B 69 9.77kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL   C B 70 9.79kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 69 10.46kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 69 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 69 10.43kgs
225/55 R17 97V XL   B B 69 10.94kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 69 12.20kgs
235/55 R17 103H XL   C B 69 12.20kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 69 11.90kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL RENAULT B B 69 9.69kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL   B B 68 9.76kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   B B 69 10.01kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 69 9.84kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C C 69 12.04kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C B 70 10.30kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 69 10.61kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C C 71 12.20kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL NON DOT C B 71 12.50kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C B 71 12.25kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   B B 69 10.65kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

2018-02-21 - Are Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 M+S marked?

Yes, the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 meets the M+S and 3 peak mountain and snowflake symbol standards.


2018-09-20 - As a set of winter specific tyres for the South West of the UK, would you recommend these or the more summer biased Michelin Crossclimate+? I have Michelin PS4s for summer, so winter performance in ice and the odd bit of snow is important but without the full winter tyre downsides.

I would look at the Michelin for the south of the UK.


2021-09-04 - Are Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-2 tyres all run flats or is there an option for a regular non run flat version?

There are both runflat and non-runflat versions of this tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £71.00 - £108.00 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £103.00 - £111.66 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £123.31 - £123.31 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £114.53 - £114.53 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £89.00 - £155.51 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country (225/45 R17 R) on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
Excellent all season tyre
253 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Skoda Citygo (165/70 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 4,500 easy going miles
Changed to these tyres when my last tyres (Continental ecocontact 3 tyres) had completed no more than 4500 miles, as they were purely a Summer tyre & did not really inspire confidence in the wet. Was also somewhat concerned about how they would perform in more wintery conditions.
99 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a (185/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
While I have to admit these tyres are very comfortable in a road noise and ride quality way, I don't feel all that safe driving on them. I drive a fiat panda, not a fast car and not driven hard but they are very easy to spin the wheels and feel very loose and floaty on tight bends. Lost control of the rear of my car on a sweeping bend with a 60mph limit, I was only doing 35, back end just broke away with no warning. I don't feel that they are as good as my previous tyres (Bridgestone Ecopia EP150) and I'm enclined to change them well before they wear out. Not recommended.
53 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2016   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 >

Latest Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

Given 47% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,000 easy going miles
Bought these as looking for a good all season tyre. I used to have a RAV4 with Town Country tyres on that was unstoppable. As you can no longer get them any more, decided to go to all season on my Vitara . Very disappointed. 2 winters now and I have found the car slipping in both on snow. Tread on the tyres is very shallow. Think I'll be changing them for AT next time as these appear to have the same 50:50 mix as old town and country tyres. Wouldn't buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
Got these tyres to get more into snow driving as I started snowboarding, before I had many summer tyres, from dunlop, pirelli pzeros, conti... all usually lasted me about 15.000 to 25.000kms, I usually drive sporty so wear is spected, since I changed to the vectors the sporty its kinda woobly in a sense the car feels a bit floaty on dry, good on wet and excelent on snow, Ive driven up to the ski resort before on my audi with summer tyres and the ESP turned off spinning the wheels a lot but got me through while some people where putting on chains, witch the vector spinning has come to a second place and mostly hard driving on heavy snowfalls but mostly ice, Ive found that wet snow and ice are worst for these and thats when I think a pure winter tyre might excel over the vector, but for me almost 45000kms on the gen2s (sun, rain, hot weather and long highway travels as well as small gravel roads, mountain passes and even rock and gravel mountain farm access) and got them on december 10th 2019, still decent and tested them two weeks ago with snow and ice and still felt ok, might change them this december again for heavy snows and might get the GEN3's
0 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 31,000 spirited miles
I have had a set of these on my car since November 2017. Living in the southeast of England we have not had much snow since then and I have no real experience of performance in that kind of weather. However, they have been excellent tyres generally in warm and cold weather and I have done 31,000 miles on them - changing over once from back to front. These are the best wearing tyres I have ever had.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.2 (170/70 R14) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Doesn't match a summer tyre in the dry and feels a bit wooly when warm but incredible on wet, greasy roads and when the weather is colder. Lots of grip and feedback in the rain. Braking isn't the best again but good enough. I and I live in the Midlands in the UK and when we had some heavy snow last winter I was able to drive up and down steep hills and corner with confidence while others were sliding around.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
After having driven pure Summer (Bridgestone Turanza ER300) and Winter (Continental WinterContact TS 850) tyres I decided to try an All Season tyre and wow what a surprise! The Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is the best tyre in the wet I've ever driven! Also Comfort is much better than the summer tyre and snow grip is on a similar level with the winter tyre. Only in dry conditions it lacks feedback and overall grip to the summer tyre. Apart from that, best of the 2 worlds! I'd expect around 25k miles / 40k km
2 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 0 miles
Excellent in all seasons.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a BMW 116i (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Had these on my BMW 1 series for winter 2019 to 2020 on the front as my summer tyres were breaking traction at temps around zero on damp roads at relatively low speeds on the front. The handling transformed, I could drive the car as hard all over winter as I could in summer. It was a mild winter with little in the way of frosts and I don't remember there being any snow. Once the weather warmed up I put the summer tyres back on, I never changed the rears as the traction control and the Hankook Ventus Prime 3's had the back end covered well enough. The Kumho Ecsta's I had on the fronts were out of control on the rear before and not good enough for the front either. I had some spare wheels so swapping over was easy. I will do another review later but had to have just one vehicle until recently as I was in and out of work. I've just got a Golf diesel so I don't have to drive my van all the time so these will be going on there next winter and might see a bit of track action in the wet too.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 2,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres to replace a set of Michelin Energy savers fitted to my 2018 Hyundai Ioniq PHEV. The energy savers has around 3.5 to 4mm tread left all round, but were noisy and the grip on cold wet roads was poor. The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 have been a revelation. Wet cold salted roundabouts now have grip!! After a couple of hundred miles the initial low frequency hum the tyres exhibited has dissapeared and they are much quieter and more comfortable than the Michelins especially on poor road surfaces. Finally we have had a few days of snow and the tyres have been fantastic on snow and ice. I live at the top of a hill on an untreated road and would have struggled if I had to stop on the hill on the way home. On these I was stuck behind a couple of vehicles and had to give way to a few coming down the hill on ocassion and the car just started off and accelerated up the hill with no drama. Grip on cold (2 degree) dry roads has been excellent we will see what dry warm grip is like in the summer! No Idea what wear will be like either. Overall I wish I'd tried Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 tyres years ago......when you need them they are great!
2 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2021   
Given 78% while driving a SEAT Exeo ST (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 49,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres after watching a test by Tyre Reviews, to replace both my previous winter and summer set ups so I don't need to change and store wheels, and they have not disappointed. To me they feel like a winter tyre that has been adapted to work in summer, with a slightly soft, but comfortable and quiet feel in the dry. In the wet they gave me plenty of confidence that I had enough grip, even when worn, and resisted aquaplaning well in downpours. I was most surprised with their performance in the snow however, which was nearly on par with my old winter Nokians in deep snow, which was highlighted as I easily drove around a stuck Insignia estate (similar type of car to my Exeo ST, and yes I did help push!) in a snowy carpark in the Cairngorms, more importantly braking was predictable in snow / slush conditions. I had the tyres on the car for approx. 49,000 miles, and they still had 3mm tread left when I changed them due to slight vibration / possible slow puncture / leaking valve. I was so impressed with the Vector 4Season Gen 2, that I went for the 4Season Gen 3 as their replacement.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021   
Given 78% while driving a Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 35,000 easy going miles
Dry grip- As my previous review during the summer they aren't that great at high speed driving and cornering. However, during the winter they are fantastic. Steering is still numb but better the colder it gets. Braking seems good again the colder the better it seems to be. Wet grip- Same as above really still great at roughly 5.5 mm but still feel confident in driving with these in heavy rain. Road feedback and handling- Already covered above. Wear- They have been on the fronts now for 7000 miles after having 30,000 on the rear. So good going for a tyre. Comfort- Really good but as they are a winter oriented winter tyre you would expect the softer compound and the sidewalls and tread can be squeezed easily by hand. Buy again- For winter use only yes but I would look at the Cross Climate Plus or Vredestien symmetrical A/S tyre before going for these or the Gen 3 that have come out. Snow grip- Always been really good but recently in the UK we had a lot of snow fall and at roughly 5.5 mm left they griped really well. Cannot fault them. Ice grip- Not as good as snow grip but they can get going but do slip a little if more on polished ice but good enough otherwise you would need studded tyres or chains if it is that bad.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Mazda 3 1.6 Takuya (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
If this was a one word review, that word would be "Comfortable". As a year round commuting tyre they are great, low noise, decent rolling resistance and drama free. The slight softness of the tyre also means they round off small imperfections and rough surfaces. Main downsides would be the previously mentioned softness gives small issues on warmer days (25 degrees + especially). So if you're someone who enjoys back road blasting in the summer, get something else you will be disappointed with the lack of absolute feedback and slight wooly feeling these tyres provide. Also they don't like suddenly heavy braking on hot days either, quite likely you'll activate ABS. However summer wet weather handling is very good, the deep grooves for snow mean aquaplaning isn't really a thing and braking is good. Provide extremely stable performance in extreme weather. Moving to cold weather more of the same, stable drama free performance. Travelled round on frosty mornings with ice before dawn with no scrabbling for grip or issues at all which the summer tyres I had (Also Goodyear but EfficientGrip Performance) used to. Only really travelled in my street on snow..so can't give full write up though I've been stuck in my street on summer tyres and again it just moved without drama. If you just want to get from point A to B, year round without drama they are a great tyre.
8 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 30 easy going miles
I found the tyres to be excellent in dry and wet handling when temperatures were below 5 degrees c. They are fantastic. Snow grip is great and not tested on ice. However, they are winter all seasons because once the temperature starts to go upwards of 20+degrees C they handling poorly especially at speed. Dry braking is worse and it understeers quite easily. I’d recommend this tyre for winter use but too much of a compromise for summer for me. It’s ok for city driving at low speeds but highway speeds or twisty roads during the summer you’d be better of with either summer tyres or a more summer focuses all season. If you use this as a winter tyre that you put on in October and take off in Easter then I can happily recommend it for the colder months. Comfort wise they are really good but that’s because of the softer compound. My cars suspension is comfortable anyway but you do get the boaty feeling more as the temperature increases. Noise wise very little road noise in my car. Not much more to say on that. Wear front set that were on the back are around 30,000 miles with rotation and are down to 3mm. That includes a summer runs as well. So not bad for price paid. Snow and ice. Snow is very good. It gets you home and can cope with a sizeable amount as per German magazine ratings. Ice, I’ve not tested on so cannot comment on that.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2020