Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 72%
Wear 88%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 86%
Snow Grip 86%
Ice Grip 74%

The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3

Show All

Tyre review data from 30 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 345,280 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Relatively good in the wet, low wear.
  • Negative - Weakness on dry roads and in the snow.

2019 Auto Express All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 11 tyres

  • Positive - A great all round performance, excellent in the wet and snow.
  • Negative - Not the sharpest during dry handling.

2019 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - An excellent all season tyre with strong winter characteristics, safe handling and a good balance int he wet, good comfort, good mileage, good price to wear ratio.
  • Negative - Slow steering in the dry.
  • Overall - Good.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T XL   E C 66 5.56kgs
165/70 R13 79T XL   E B 67 6.08kgs
175/70 R13 82T XL   E B 67 6.47kgs
165/60 R14 75H XL   E C 66 6.02kgs
185/60 R14 82H XL   C B 67 6.90kgs
155/65 R14 75T XL   E C 66 5.60kgs
165/65 R14 79T XL   E C 67 6.26kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   C B 67 6.75kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C B 68 6.70kgs
175/65 R14 82T XL   E B 68 6.57kgs
185/65 R14 86H XL   C B 67 7.20kgs
165/70 R14 81T XL   E B 67 6.60kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   C B 67 6.73kgs
175/70 R14 84T XL   E B 67 6.89kgs
185/70 R14 88T XL   C B 68 7.31kgs
175/80 R14 88T XL   E B 67 7.60kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 67 7.38kgs
195/50 R15 82H XL   E C 71 7.44kgs
195/50 R15 82H XL   E C 68 7.44kgs
185/55 R15 82H XL   E B 68 7.09kgs
185/55 R15 82H XL   C B 68 7.02kgs
195/55 R15 85H XL   C B 68 7.64kgs
165/60 R15 81T XL   E B 67 6.56kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 68 7.50kgs
185/60 R15 84T XL   B B 68 7.45kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C B 67 7.71kgs
195/60 R15 88V XL   C C 69 8.71kgs
195/60 R15 88H XL   C B 68 7.93kgs
205/60 R15 95H XL   B B 68 8.52kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C B 67 6.68kgs
165/65 R15 81T XL DOT B C 68 6.46kgs
175/65 R15 84H XL   C B 67 6.95kgs
175/65 R15 84T XL   C B 67 6.95kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   C B 69 7.80kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   C B 68 7.38kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   C B 68 7.36kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   C B 69 7.79kgs
185/65 R15 88V XL   B B 71 7.66kgs
185/65 R15 88H XL   C B 68 7.38kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B C 70 8.85kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 68 8.86kgs
195/65 R15 91V XL   C B 68 8.82kgs
195/65 R15 91T XL   C B 68 8.86kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   B C 70 8.28kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C B 68 8.86kgs
195/65 R15 91H XL   C B 70 8.27kgs
205/65 R15 94H XL   C B 68 8.65kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL AO C B 69 8.24kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C B 68 7.62kgs
195/55 R16 87V XL   C B 68 7.91kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   B B 72 7.35kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL AO C C 69 8.16kgs
195/55 R16 87H XL   E B 68 10.35kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   C B 68 8.56kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 68 8.66kgs
205/55 R16 91H XL   C B 68 8.60kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   B B 72 8.48kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   B C 70 8.79kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 68 8.75kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 68 8.77kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   C C 71 8.77kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL   E B 68 11.09kgs
215/55 R16 93V XL   C B 69 9.74kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 70 9.19kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL AO B C 67 9.00kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL   C B 68 9.30kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 68 9.30kgs
205/60 R16 92V XL   C B 68 9.73kgs
215/60 R16 95V XL AO C B 68 10.60kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C B 69 10.10kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   C B 69 10.56kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 69 8.80kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 69 9.77kgs
225/45 R17 91V XL   E B 68 11.81kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C B 69 9.77kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 69 9.74kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 70 9.81kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 68 9.30kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 68 9.37kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 69 10.68kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 68 10.30kgs
225/50 R17 94V XL   C B 69 10.48kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 69 10.46kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   B B 68 9.32kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL AO C B 69 9.77kgs
215/55 R17 94V XL   C B 70 9.79kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 69 10.46kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 69 9.93kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 69 10.43kgs
225/55 R17 97V XL   B B 69 10.94kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 69 12.20kgs
235/55 R17 103H XL   C B 69 12.20kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 69 11.90kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL RENAULT B B 69 9.69kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL   B B 68 9.76kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   B B 69 10.01kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 69 9.84kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C C 69 12.04kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C B 70 10.30kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 69 10.61kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C C 71 12.20kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL NON DOT C B 71 12.50kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C B 71 12.25kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   B B 69 10.65kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

2018-02-21 - Are Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 M+S marked?

Yes, the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 meets the M+S and 3 peak mountain and snowflake symbol standards.


2018-09-20 - As a set of winter specific tyres for the South West of the UK, would you recommend these or the more summer biased Michelin Crossclimate+? I have Michelin PS4s for summer, so winter performance in ice and the odd bit of snow is important but without the full winter tyre downsides.

I would look at the Michelin for the south of the UK.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
185/55 R15 £81.00 - £87.52 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £72.00 - £112.76 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £110.00 - £110.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £100.00 - £100.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £87.00 - £142.09 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 55 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country (225/45 R17 R) on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
Excellent all season tyre
248 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Skoda Citygo (165/70 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 4,500 easy going miles
Changed to these tyres when my last tyres (Continental ecocontact 3 tyres) had completed no more than 4500 miles, as they were purely a Summer tyre & did not really inspire confidence in the wet. Was also somewhat concerned about how they would perform in more wintery conditions.
56 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a (185/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
While I have to admit these tyres are very comfortable in a road noise and ride quality way, I don't feel all that safe driving on them. I drive a fiat panda, not a fast car and not driven hard but they are very easy to spin the wheels and feel very loose and floaty on tight bends. Lost control of the rear of my car on a sweeping bend with a 60mph limit, I was only doing 35, back end just broke away with no warning. I don't feel that they are as good as my previous tyres (Bridgestone Ecopia EP150) and I'm enclined to change them well before they wear out. Not recommended.
50 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2016   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 >

Latest Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 2,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres to replace a set of Michelin Energy savers fitted to my 2018 Hyundai Ioniq PHEV. The energy savers has around 3.5 to 4mm tread left all round, but were noisy and the grip on cold wet roads was poor. The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 have been a revelation. Wet cold salted roundabouts now have grip!! After a couple of hundred miles the initial low frequency hum the tyres exhibited has dissapeared and they are much quieter and more comfortable than the Michelins especially on poor road surfaces. Finally we have had a few days of snow and the tyres have been fantastic on snow and ice. I live at the top of a hill on an untreated road and would have struggled if I had to stop on the hill on the way home. On these I was stuck behind a couple of vehicles and had to give way to a few coming down the hill on ocassion and the car just started off and accelerated up the hill with no drama. Grip on cold (2 degree) dry roads has been excellent we will see what dry warm grip is like in the summer! No Idea what wear will be like either. Overall I wish I'd tried Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 tyres years ago......when you need them they are great!
0 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2021   
Given 78% while driving a SEAT Exeo ST (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 49,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres after watching a test by Tyre Reviews, to replace both my previous winter and summer set ups so I don't need to change and store wheels, and they have not disappointed. To me they feel like a winter tyre that has been adapted to work in summer, with a slightly soft, but comfortable and quiet feel in the dry. In the wet they gave me plenty of confidence that I had enough grip, even when worn, and resisted aquaplaning well in downpours. I was most surprised with their performance in the snow however, which was nearly on par with my old winter Nokians in deep snow, which was highlighted as I easily drove around a stuck Insignia estate (similar type of car to my Exeo ST, and yes I did help push!) in a snowy carpark in the Cairngorms, more importantly braking was predictable in snow / slush conditions. I had the tyres on the car for approx. 49,000 miles, and they still had 3mm tread left when I changed them due to slight vibration / possible slow puncture / leaking valve. I was so impressed with the Vector 4Season Gen 2, that I went for the 4Season Gen 3 as their replacement.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 78% while driving a Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 35,000 easy going miles
Dry grip- As my previous review during the summer they aren't that great at high speed driving and cornering. However, during the winter they are fantastic. Steering is still numb but better the colder it gets. Braking seems good again the colder the better it seems to be. Wet grip- Same as above really still great at roughly 5.5 mm but still feel confident in driving with these in heavy rain. Road feedback and handling- Already covered above. Wear- They have been on the fronts now for 7000 miles after having 30,000 on the rear. So good going for a tyre. Comfort- Really good but as they are a winter oriented winter tyre you would expect the softer compound and the sidewalls and tread can be squeezed easily by hand. Buy again- For winter use only yes but I would look at the Cross Climate Plus or Vredestien symmetrical A/S tyre before going for these or the Gen 3 that have come out. Snow grip- Always been really good but recently in the UK we had a lot of snow fall and at roughly 5.5 mm left they griped really well. Cannot fault them. Ice grip- Not as good as snow grip but they can get going but do slip a little if more on polished ice but good enough otherwise you would need studded tyres or chains if it is that bad.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Mazda 3 1.6 Takuya (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
If this was a one word review, that word would be "Comfortable". As a year round commuting tyre they are great, low noise, decent rolling resistance and drama free. The slight softness of the tyre also means they round off small imperfections and rough surfaces. Main downsides would be the previously mentioned softness gives small issues on warmer days (25 degrees + especially). So if you're someone who enjoys back road blasting in the summer, get something else you will be disappointed with the lack of absolute feedback and slight wooly feeling these tyres provide. Also they don't like suddenly heavy braking on hot days either, quite likely you'll activate ABS. However summer wet weather handling is very good, the deep grooves for snow mean aquaplaning isn't really a thing and braking is good. Provide extremely stable performance in extreme weather. Moving to cold weather more of the same, stable drama free performance. Travelled round on frosty mornings with ice before dawn with no scrabbling for grip or issues at all which the summer tyres I had (Also Goodyear but EfficientGrip Performance) used to. Only really travelled in my street on snow..so can't give full write up though I've been stuck in my street on summer tyres and again it just moved without drama. If you just want to get from point A to B, year round without drama they are a great tyre.
7 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Mondeo MK4 2.0L TCDI (140) Zetec Estate (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 30 easy going miles
I found the tyres to be excellent in dry and wet handling when temperatures were below 5 degrees c. They are fantastic. Snow grip is great and not tested on ice. However, they are winter all seasons because once the temperature starts to go upwards of 20+degrees C they handling poorly especially at speed. Dry braking is worse and it understeers quite easily. I’d recommend this tyre for winter use but too much of a compromise for summer for me. It’s ok for city driving at low speeds but highway speeds or twisty roads during the summer you’d be better of with either summer tyres or a more summer focuses all season. If you use this as a winter tyre that you put on in October and take off in Easter then I can happily recommend it for the colder months. Comfort wise they are really good but that’s because of the softer compound. My cars suspension is comfortable anyway but you do get the boaty feeling more as the temperature increases. Noise wise very little road noise in my car. Not much more to say on that. Wear front set that were on the back are around 30,000 miles with rotation and are down to 3mm. That includes a summer runs as well. So not bad for price paid. Snow and ice. Snow is very good. It gets you home and can cope with a sizeable amount as per German magazine ratings. Ice, I’ve not tested on so cannot comment on that.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Replaced Goodyear All Weather factory fit. Now at11k miles in.
These tyres are very good indeed. Planted, secure, quiet. Can handle the weight near 2 tons and 233hp. Very good in the wet. Good on snow in the mountains. Not bad on ice either. Not a racer but even in 40+ degrees in Southern Spain drives well enough for me. So if you have a car over 1.5 tons and horse power over 150+ and you drive in the wet /cold conditions occasionally snow perhaps worthwhile considering. Wear ? Seems good despite the soft mix and heavy load.
12 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a SEAT ALhambra TDi (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Extremely positive experience in colder weather dry-wet normal driving and huge grip on snow, even deep snow in UK (north of Scotland and South of England). Huge confidence in the tyre. And far, far more confident grip and handling during winter. Still better in warm weather to flip back to summer tyres given braking and handling trade-offs once above 20 DegC. Love these tyres, strongly recommend ...
17 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2019   
Given 68% while driving a Renault Laguna Phase II (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
These replaced Bridgestone A001's on my car,they do nothing as well as the discontinued Bridgestones did,they aquaplane badly and understeer a lot earlier than the bridges did.I won't be buying again.
20 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 13,750 spirited miles
I am living in Athens Greece, and I am using these tyres on a set of wheels for the winter only.

I switch wheels from Summer to All Season in December and back to summers in April, so I am using the Vectors for four months a year, driving an average of 11.000 km during this period.

Temperatures usually run from 6 to 20 degrees Celsius these months in Athens, and I would not consider switching if I didn't have to drive to our winter house in the northern mountains a coupe of times each winter.

During these trips, the temperature in my destination goes down to minus fifteen degrees in extreme cases, but certainly stays below zero most of the time, definitely with snow , but even ice in seldom cases.

So, after being struck on the road on my summer tyres and messing with chains twice, I decided to get me a set of used wheels and fit these All Seasons in the winter so i don't get stuck again :-)

Winter tyres are probably an overkill and I would be complaining most of the time driving them in dry conditions.

Now, the Vectors are very good tyres. Much better than my summer tyres in temperatures below 5 degrees, both in braking and in handling.

On normal snow they are brilliant.

Ice, I have ran across only once, but driving conservatively I had no problem covering a distance of about 5 kilometres with no hiccups.

On dry, they are safe tyres but no match for my summer tyres (Goodyear Performance or Toyo CF2).

Especially when temperatures rise above the mid 20s, they don't drive too well and I need to slow down.

I will probably try the Michelin Cross Climate next time, just for the sake of comparison between Michelin and Goodyear.
14 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2019   
Given 70% while driving a Renault Megane II 1.4 16V 98hp (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Excellent balance between comfort and safety in all kind of weathers, all of it for a reasonable price.
They are very forgiving and give you plenty of margin once they started to squeal.
Thanks to their decent feedback, you can smoothly regain control once you've exceeded their capabilities.
They are quiet and smooth on the highway, but I am not sure how sturdy they are and if they could survive going through many potholes.

The two slight drawbacks are the bad lateral grip on ice or packed snow and the "floaty" feeling that comes with a not-so-good dry lateral grip when the tires are hot.

Compared to worn-out Michelin Alpin 4, they are much better in the rain/snow/ice, but have slightly less lateral grip on the dry.
Compared to Norauto Prevensys, they are better and safer in every aspect (and they don't brutally give-up with no warning), so don't cheap-out.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2019   

See all 25 customer reviews of the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (newest first) >>