Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 43 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 475,280 miles driven, and 36 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 73%
Wear 86%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 79%
Snow Grip 82%
Ice Grip 71%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size13 - 20"
Width155 - 245mm
Profile40 - 80
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripB - D
Noise (dB)68 - 72
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is ranked 21st of 58 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3.

Tests Included

36

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

5th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tyre Test
2nd of 9 tyres
  • Relatively good in the wet, low wear.
  • Weakness on dry roads and in the snow.
View Full Test >>
2019 Auto Express All Season Tyre Test
1st of 11 tyres
  • A great all round performance, excellent in the wet and snow.
  • Not the sharpest during dry handling.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

Reports

  • Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 2 - Press Release - Press Release
  • SizeFuelWetNoise
    14 inch
    185/70R14 88 TCB71
    165/70R14 85 T XLCB70
    165/70R14 81 TDB70
    15 inch
    195/65R15 91 HBC72
    185/65R15 88 VCB71
    185/65R15 88 TCB71
    195/65R15 95 H XLBC70
    195/65R15 91 TCB71
    195/65R15 91 HCB71
    195/55R15 85 HCB71
    185/65R15 88 VCB71
    16 inch
    205/55R16 94 V XLBB72
    205/55R16 94 H XLBC72
    205/55R16 94 V XLCB71
    215/60R16 95 VCB70
    215/60R16 95 VCB70
    205/55R16 94 V XLBB72
    205/55R16 91 VCC71
    205/55R16 91 VDB71
    205/55R16 94 H XLBC72
    205/60R16 92 HCB69
    17 inch
    225/45R17 94 V XLBB72
    225/45R17 94 V XLBB72
    215/55R17 94 VCB70
    225/50R17 98 V XLCB72
    225/45R17 91 VDB70
    215/55R17 94 VCB71
    215/55R17 94 VCB71
    225/45R17 94 V XLCB71
    225/45R17 94 V XLCB71
    225/45R17 94 V XLCB71
    18 inch
    245/45R18 100 Y XLCB72
    225/40R18 92 Y XLCC72
    View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 >>

    Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2

    2018-02-21 - Are Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 M+S marked?

    Yes, the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 meets the M+S and 3 peak mountain and snowflake symbol standards.


    2018-09-20 - As a set of winter specific tyres for the South West of the UK, would you recommend these or the more summer biased Michelin Crossclimate+? I have Michelin PS4s for summer, so winter performance in ice and the odd bit of snow is important but without the full winter tyre downsides.

    I would look at the Michelin for the south of the UK.


    2021-09-04 - Are Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen-2 tyres all run flats or is there an option for a regular non run flat version?

    There are both runflat and non-runflat versions of this tyre.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/50 R15 £70.90 - £91.92 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £80.27 - £132.02 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/60 R16 £101.98 - £120.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £107.40 - £163.99 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

    Given 88% while driving a Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country (225/45 R17 R) on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
    Excellent all season tyre
    Helpful 289 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2016
    Given 83% while driving a Skoda Citygo (165/70 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 4,500 easy going miles
    Changed to these tyres when my last tyres (Continental ecocontact 3 tyres) had completed no more than 4500 miles, as they were purely a Summer tyre & did not really inspire confidence in the wet. Was also somewhat concerned about how they would perform in more wintery conditions.
    Helpful 178 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2018
    Given 48% while driving a Toyota (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
    This is an end of life review for the fronts 2.5mm but the rears have a bit more life left 5mm if the crazing does not get worse. Noisy Poor ride and on the front the Polish make tyres started to delaminate the tread. I will changed those early, at the rear the Polish ones stood up well apart from a puncture that could not be repaired, and the Turkish replacement has started to craze on the side wall next to the rim. Always had correct pressures so no excuse! My car Toyota Prius PHV has seen off the fronts too easily even though I keep the drive in eco mode it still spins up the Goodyears easily. I won't be using these again. I see Hankook has a new iON range, those next if they test well.
    Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2022
    Have you driven on the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 >

    Latest Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 Reviews

    Given 48% while driving a Volkswagen Passat estate 2.0 TDI 110 kW (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
    This generation 2 vector 4 seasons tyre seems to be compromised in too many areas.
    Wet traction is especially poor leaving the car scrambling for grip under acceleration in wet conditions.
    Comfort is poor with harsh ride and noise. Doesn’t help that they collect numerous small stones in the tread blocks.
    Snow traction is adequate in fresh snow.
    Traction on compacted snow is less than ideal but better than a summer tyre.
    Wear rate is low. I can’t wait to wear them out so that I can justify replacing them.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2024
    Given 10% while driving a Opel insignia (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Advertised as a 4 season tire, but doesn't work for summer weather. Tires are all chopped up, I guess from the very hot asphalt during the summer season.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Mazda Mazda6 Sedan 175 (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
    These tyres replaced Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance tyres just before the wintery weather arrived in central Scotland. In normal conditions they felt similar to the Summer tyre, but in the recent snow and ice these really came into their own on wife’s car for her late night home support work in the hilly area around us. Vastly different from last winter on the summer tyres.
    Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2022
    Given 47% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,000 easy going miles
    Bought these as looking for a good all season tyre. I used to have a RAV4 with Town Country tyres on that was unstoppable. As you can no longer get them any more, decided to go to all season on my Vitara . Very disappointed. 2 winters now and I have found the car slipping in both on snow. Tread on the tyres is very shallow. Think I'll be changing them for AT next time as these appear to have the same 50:50 mix as old town and country tyres. Wouldn't buy again.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2021
    Given 79% while driving a Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
    Got these tyres to get more into snow driving as I started snowboarding, before I had many summer tyres, from dunlop, pirelli pzeros, conti... all usually lasted me about 15.000 to 25.000kms, I usually drive sporty so wear is spected, since I changed to the vectors the sporty its kinda woobly in a sense the car feels a bit floaty on dry, good on wet and excelent on snow, Ive driven up to the ski resort before on my audi with summer tyres and the ESP turned off spinning the wheels a lot but got me through while some people where putting on chains, witch the vector spinning has come to a second place and mostly hard driving on heavy snowfalls but mostly ice, Ive found that wet snow and ice are worst for these and thats when I think a pure winter tyre might excel over the vector, but for me almost 45000kms on the gen2s (sun, rain, hot weather and long highway travels as well as small gravel roads, mountain passes and even rock and gravel mountain farm access) and got them on december 10th 2019, still decent and tested them two weeks ago with snow and ice and still felt ok, might change them this december again for heavy snows and might get the GEN3's
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2021
    Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 31,000 spirited miles
    I have had a set of these on my car since November 2017. Living in the southeast of England we have not had much snow since then and I have no real experience of performance in that kind of weather. However, they have been excellent tyres generally in warm and cold weather and I have done 31,000 miles on them - changing over once from back to front. These are the best wearing tyres I have ever had.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2021
    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.2 (170/70 R14) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Doesn't match a summer tyre in the dry and feels a bit wooly when warm but incredible on wet, greasy roads and when the weather is colder. Lots of grip and feedback in the rain. Braking isn't the best again but good enough. I and I live in the Midlands in the UK and when we had some heavy snow last winter I was able to drive up and down steep hills and corner with confidence while others were sliding around.
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2021
    Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    After having driven pure Summer (Bridgestone Turanza ER300) and Winter (Continental WinterContact TS 850) tyres I decided to try an All Season tyre and wow what a surprise! The Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 is the best tyre in the wet I've ever driven! Also Comfort is much better than the summer tyre and snow grip is on a similar level with the winter tyre. Only in dry conditions it lacks feedback and overall grip to the summer tyre. Apart from that, best of the 2 worlds! I'd expect around 25k miles / 40k km
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2021
    Given 97% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 0 miles
    Excellent in all seasons.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2021
    Given 97% while driving a BMW 116i (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Had these on my BMW 1 series for winter 2019 to 2020 on the front as my summer tyres were breaking traction at temps around zero on damp roads at relatively low speeds on the front. The handling transformed, I could drive the car as hard all over winter as I could in summer. It was a mild winter with little in the way of frosts and I don't remember there being any snow. Once the weather warmed up I put the summer tyres back on, I never changed the rears as the traction control and the Hankook Ventus Prime 3's had the back end covered well enough. The Kumho Ecsta's I had on the fronts were out of control on the rear before and not good enough for the front either. I had some spare wheels so swapping over was easy. I will do another review later but had to have just one vehicle until recently as I was in and out of work. I've just got a Golf diesel so I don't have to drive my van all the time so these will be going on there next winter and might see a bit of track action in the wet too.
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2021
    Given 94% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 2,000 easy going miles
    I bought these tyres to replace a set of Michelin Energy savers fitted to my 2018 Hyundai Ioniq PHEV. The energy savers has around 3.5 to 4mm tread left all round, but were noisy and the grip on cold wet roads was poor. The Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 have been a revelation. Wet cold salted roundabouts now have grip!! After a couple of hundred miles the initial low frequency hum the tyres exhibited has dissapeared and they are much quieter and more comfortable than the Michelins especially on poor road surfaces. Finally we have had a few days of snow and the tyres have been fantastic on snow and ice. I live at the top of a hill on an untreated road and would have struggled if I had to stop on the hill on the way home. On these I was stuck behind a couple of vehicles and had to give way to a few coming down the hill on ocassion and the car just started off and accelerated up the hill with no drama. Grip on cold (2 degree) dry roads has been excellent we will see what dry warm grip is like in the summer! No Idea what wear will be like either. Overall I wish I'd tried Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 tyres years ago......when you need them they are great!
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2021
    Given 78% while driving a SEAT Exeo ST (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 49,000 easy going miles
    I bought these tyres after watching a test by Tyre Reviews, to replace both my previous winter and summer set ups so I don't need to change and store wheels, and they have not disappointed. To me they feel like a winter tyre that has been adapted to work in summer, with a slightly soft, but comfortable and quiet feel in the dry. In the wet they gave me plenty of confidence that I had enough grip, even when worn, and resisted aquaplaning well in downpours. I was most surprised with their performance in the snow however, which was nearly on par with my old winter Nokians in deep snow, which was highlighted as I easily drove around a stuck Insignia estate (similar type of car to my Exeo ST, and yes I did help push!) in a snowy carpark in the Cairngorms, more importantly braking was predictable in snow / slush conditions. I had the tyres on the car for approx. 49,000 miles, and they still had 3mm tread left when I changed them due to slight vibration / possible slow puncture / leaking valve. I was so impressed with the Vector 4Season Gen 2, that I went for the 4Season Gen 3 as their replacement.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021