Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf MK6 1.6 tdi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (42) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (86) 87% 89% 84% 76% 89% 87%
Kumho Solus HA31 (8) 77% 78% 78% 78% 73% 85%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (34) 84% 85% 79% 79% 86% 82%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (35) 83% 80% 80% 82% 83% 85%
Michelin CrossClimate (127) 87% 85% 83% 80% 83% 89%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (271) 83% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (166) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Davanti DX640 (69) 80% 72% 78% 77% 66% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (109) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 79%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (141) 84% 74% 74% 76% 73% 75%
Continental Eco Contact 3 (53) 80% 78% 72% 68% 74% 77%
Three A P606 (45) 79% 72% 69% 68% 73% 77%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (87) 80% 70% 68% 65% 62% 72%
Kormoran Snowpro B2 (4) 45% 53% 33% 43% 63% 35%
Constancy LY966 (1) 30% 10% 10% 10% 100% 10%

Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 84% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 easy going miles
Fitted for 2 years now, and, after recent snow, Have experienced all conditions. For general use, excluding very progressive driving, I cannot fault these tyres. At first fitting, road noise slightly higher than previous summer Conti's until bedded in. Very impressed with comfort and handling on all road surfaces. Water clearance is good, and, with present tread depth, no aquaplaning. Provide high confidence in snow - yes they will break traction, particularly on cornering, but only when pushed. But they give far greater control than summer tyres in snow. On compressed snow/ice their advantages are limited however. Most impressed with wear rate. At 18k, with relaxed driving style, still have 4mm front, 5mm rear, and have just stopped front to rear. As these have directional tread they cannot be switched to alternate sides (for a diagonal switch). I have these also fitted to my Ford S-Max (15). Even more impressed with those - though being 225's gives the comfort. I will certainly be sticking with these and looking forward to the latest upgrade in compound. Having previously been a summer/winter wheel switcher every six months for about five seasons (on my old Galaxy), these really are a great compromise.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-11 09:18:44
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 73% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
These tyres have lasted me 30,000 miles at the front, on mixture of country lanes, motorways (mostly) and in the city. They do wear quite quickly compared to some tyres, however they are very quiet and comfortable to drive on with good grip both in dry and wet conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-18 09:41:06
Writing about the Three A P606 given 63% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on track for 30000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-26 14:21:33
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 83% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
I have fitted these wheels in my two cars, Golf VI, 1.6 TDI and BMW 320CI, compared with the previous ones, Brigestone Turanza, give me much more grip in dry and wet, they are quieter, currently have 50,000 km, no problems, in the BMW I replaced a ContiSport Contact, in this case the grip in wet is better, dry are similar, what I have noticed is that at high speeds the steering is less precise. I will repeat wheels in the Golf and in the BMW I will look for something inside Continental. My driving pattern is smooth (not slow).
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-02 12:20:33
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 3 given 79% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 average miles
I had these tyres as original fitted on my father's VW Golf 6 1.6 Tdi the car is from january 2012 and the tyres were produced end of 2011.
the tyre qualities are comfortable and silent ride and under braking they are still excellent
the tyres weaknesses are the wear on the shoulders when used a little more sporty than usual.
All in all is a sincere tyre made for a quiet driving style.
Now is almost time to replace them and there is very little choice on the market could buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-13 19:29:33
Writing about the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 easy going miles
Amazing on snow ! Feel like tyre catching snow ! Went everywhere. 30 cm
Of snow. Any hills no problem. Will drive for 2 more winters. Brand new had 9mm in November. After 4 months It have 7mm
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-10 09:29:23
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 easy going miles
Really good tyres that are actually fantastic in all weathers without much compromise on my Golf. 12000 miles and little wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-01 11:07:44
Writing about the Kormoran Snowpro B2 given 33% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Car slides on corners in the dry
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-14 17:16:01
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 91% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
unbelievable tyre in the wet, had pirelli p7s on before these and the uniroyals can do in the wet what the pirellis couldnt do in the dry. very good grip in the dry also, it has mostly been wet since i got these tyres but in the dry spells the grip is great too. in the wet and greasey weather you cand find the limit of the grip with these. very impressed, will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-16 20:30:39
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 100% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
They're great both on snow and dry, I'm impressed!
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-05 07:51:27
Writing about the Constancy LY966 given 26% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
these tyres are absoloutely terrible...i bought a second hand 2011 vw golf with a full set of these tyres on it and they are very dangerous, dry grip is shameful and there is no such thing as wet grip with these tyres its like driving in ice when it rains, the noise is awful once you pass 30mph. i tend to drive moderately fast and i have genuinely almost been involved in several accidents due to these tyres especially in the wet...two months after i bought the car i switched these tyres for pirelli p7 and the difference is like magic... constancy is not a real tyre brand
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-05 20:54:26
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 77% (220-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Very impressed with this tyre at first. Exceptional grip, performance, fuel economy, comfort, the works!! I drove from Swansea to Margate and reached 72 MPG with these at AVG speed of 69mph. Exceptional.

BUT
I reached about 7K miles and realised the outer edges were scuffing BADLY. Had the camber/caster checked by VW. Apparently fixed. Reached 12K miles and now they have started showing threads out of the scuff marks. Needed to be replaced. FRONT TYRES ONLY! Back tyres are still 6cm of tread throughout.

So. My advice for someone getting these for a VW. Rotate them around 5K so that you do not blow them like I did.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-12 17:23:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre