Pirelli CINTURA/TO P7

The Pirelli CINTURATO P7 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 181 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 2,438,361 miles driven, and 26 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 75%
Wear 70%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 63%

First On MarketJuly 2008
Wheel Size15 - 20"
Width195 - 275mm
Profile35 - 65
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - E
Noise (dB)66 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The CINTURA/TO P7 is ranked 89th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue.

Tests Included

26

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

11th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Best SUV Tyres Tested
6th of 12 tyres
  • Sporty, dynamic handling with short braking distances on wet and dry roads, good aquaplaning reserves, agile off-road handling.
  • Average mud and gravel traction.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>
2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test
4th of 10 tyres
  • Excellent wet handling, good result in elk test, high level of comfort.
  • Higher fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>
2020 Gute Fahrt SUV Summer Tyre Test
5th of 8 tyres
  • Acceptable handling in all conditions, high aquaplaning resistance, low rolling resistance.
  • Long dry braking, weak lateral stability, high noise level.
  • Good - A good balance of performance, but not on the level of the best in test.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/55R15 85 HDE70
195/55R15 85 HDD70
16 inch
205/60R16 92 HBB70
205/55R16 94 V XLBA69
205/55R16 91 WDB70
215/60R16 99 V XLCA69
205/55R16 94 V XLCA71
205/60R16 92 VDC69
205/55R16 91 VDB70
205/55R16 91 WCA68
205/60R16 96 V XLBA71
205/55R16 91 WCB71
205/55R16 91 VCA69
205/55R16 91 WDB71
215/60R16 99 V XLBA70
205/60R16 92 VAB70
205/60R16 92 WBB68
205/55R16 94 W XLCB69
205/60R16 92 VBB69
205/60R16 96 W XLBA69
205/55R16 91 WBB69
205/55R16 91 VCB70
205/60R16 92 WDB71
205/55R16 91 WCA71
205/55R16 91 VDB71
205/55R16 94 V XLCA69
205/55R16 91 HDB71
205/60R16 92 VCB72
205/55R16 94 V XLCB71
205/60R16 92 HCB70
215/60R16 99 V XLCB71
205/60R16 96 W XLCA71
215/60R16 99 H XLCB71
205/55R16 91 VCA70
205/55R16 91 VCB69
215/60R16 99 V XLCA70
205/60R16 92 VCB71
205/55R16 91 VBB69
205/55R16 91 VBB71
17 inch
225/45R17 91 WCA69
215/55R17 94 WCA69
225/50R17 98 Y XLBB68
225/50R17 98 W XLCB67
225/60R17 99 VCB69
205/50R17 93 W XLCA72
225/50R17 94 WCB69
225/50R17 98 W XLCB69
225/50R17 94 WCA71
225/50R17 94 WCB71
205/50R17 89 HBC71
225/50R17 98 V XLCA71
225/50R17 94 YBC70
215/55R17 94 VAB70
205/50R17 93 W XLCA70
225/45R17 91 YCA69
225/50R17 98 Y XLCA71
225/45R17 91 YCB68
225/45R17 91 WDB69
225/45R17 94 Y XLCA69
215/45R17 91 W XLCA72
225/45R17 94 Y XLCB71
225/60R17 99 YBA69
215/45R17 91 V XLCC72
205/50R17 89 VCB71
205/50R17 93 W XLBA69
225/45R17 94 Y XLAB70
225/45R17 91 YBA68
215/55R17 94 VCB71
225/45R17 91 WCB68
225/60R17 99 VDB69
205/50R17 89 YDB71
225/60R17 99 VDB71
225/45R17 91 WDB71
225/50R17 98 V XLBA70
225/45R17 91 WDB71
205/50R17 89 WDB71
225/45R17 91 YDB71
225/50R17 94 WDB71
225/50R17 94 WCB71
225/50R17 98 Y XLCA70
225/45R17 94 Y XLCA70
225/60R17 99 VDB71
225/45R17 91 VCB71
225/45R17 91 WDB69
205/50R17 89 VDB71
225/45R17 91 VDB71
225/45R17 91 WDB71
225/45R17 91 YCB71
225/50R17 94 HDB71
215/55R17 94 WCB71
225/45R17 91 YCA70
225/50R17 94 VDB71
225/50R17 98 Y XLCB71
225/50R17 98 Y XLBA70
215/55R17 94 VBB71
225/50R17 94 YAB69
225/50R17 98 V XLAB70
205/50R17 89 HAB70
225/50R17 94 WCB71
225/45R17 94 W XLCB72
215/55R17 94 WCB71
225/45R17 94 Y XLBA70
225/45R17 91 VDB71
18 inch
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA71
225/40R18 92 W XLCA71
245/45R18 100 Y XLCA69
245/40R18 97 Y XLBA71
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB69
245/40R18 97 W XLCA71
225/40R18 92 W XLBA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLBA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLBA69
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA72
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA72
245/40R18 97 Y XLCA72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCC71
245/45R18 100 Y XLCA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLCA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLBA70
245/40R18 97 Y XLCB71
245/40R18 97 Y XLCC72
245/40R18 93 YCA71
245/45R18 96 YDB71
245/40R18 97 Y XLCB72
245/40R18 93 YDB71
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA72
245/40R18 97 Y XLCB71
225/40R18 92 W XLCB71
245/40R18 97 Y XLBB72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCA70
225/40R18 92 Y XLBB70
245/45R18 96 WAA70
245/45R18 100 Y XLBA70
245/40R18 97 Y XLAB69
245/40R18 97 Y XLBB69
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB69
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
245/45R18 100 W XLAB69
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 >>

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli CINTURATO P7

2016-10-03 - What does the "91V" or 91W at the end of the tyre spec signify?

The number is the load rating, the letter the speed rating of the tyre.


2016-09-05 - What should the tire pressure be?

The tyre pressure for the Cinturato P7 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-11-28 - Great contents and review, awesome job! I want to know if I can put these P7 (normal ones not Run flats or all seasons) on my Audi Q3 2012 2.0 TDI quattro model? my tire size is 235/55 R17 99W. Is this tire ok to fit on my SUV?, i need a stiffer sidewalls due to nature of road conditions in India. please help me with my query.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £66.98 - £121.68 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £76.20 - £129.00 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £122.54 - £172.12 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli CINTURATO P7 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I've had these on since my car was new I've went through 6 tyres in total and covered 106000 miles at the moment they are the run flats too.... These are probably my favrioute tyre for all round performance I've used that's why I keep using them.
Helpful 1007 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016
Given 53% while driving a Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
Very disappointed with the Pirelli Cinturato P7 tyres that my car came with. After 8-years and only 16,000-miles the tyres are cracking badly where the tread meets the sidewall. This was picked up during an MOT and - although the MOT wasn't a fail - I was given a "warning".
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Have these tyres all round on my Golf MK6. They have excellent grip in the dry, low noise and decent rolling resistance too. There is definitely a lot of sidewall movement when cornering enthusiastically but this is to be expected on a larger sidewall touring tyre. On the limit it pushes to understeer but this takes some effort to get it there due to the excellent dry grip, not once have I had any oversteer. Wet grip is below what I expected, water displacement and braking are not bad but some spirited acceleration in the wet will give lots of wheelspin. Winner for me is that after 20,000 on the front set there is still 5-5.5mm of tread across the whole tyre and after 40,000 on the rears there is 4.5mm on the insides and 6mm across the middle and outer edge (tracking was out when the set was put on, sorted now) so the treadwear has been excellent for me - mostly motorways but a decent amount of town driving too.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2023
Have you driven on the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli CINTURATO P7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli CINTURATO P7 >

Latest Pirelli CINTURATO P7 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Saab Automobile 2.0T Aero Convertible (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
I drive a Saab 9-3 Aero, these tyres are a great match for the car, dry grip is very good, wet grip is acceptable but best of all they last for a long time, 30,000 on the front and 40,000 on the rear. I've had goodyears and Bridgestone and Falken tyres that have barely managed to last half the time. They're reasonably priced and perfect for my vehicle.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Mazda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 32,000 spirited miles
2012 Mazda 3 hatchback Skyactiv manual. Yes, I put BMW star spec tires on a mainstream compact (although that isn't why I chose them), and yes I live in a climate where I can run summer tires all year long (San Antonio, TX). I loved these tires but admittedly they did not last long. Purchased 03/22, replacing 12/23, approximately 32,000 miles on them. I do not drive gently. Found them to be very smooth riding; picked them in part because of their light weight according to sources I could find. Nomenclature is very confusing for this tire, as my local Discount Tire has at least four entries under this one name and size to account for variations of different speed ratings and OE designations. Mine have the star on the sidewall and were 91V rated. Hope that helps.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 37% while driving a Ford (225/55 R19) on mostly town for 30,125 easy going miles
Apart from original equipment tires, which are often complete junk, these are the worst tires I've ever had. I drive carefully, rotate and air check my tires faithfully. But I barely got 30k out of these. Numerous flats, including an irreparable one that precipitated my replacing them all, as my tread was down to 3/32" anyway. Quiet enough, but nothing special. Very disappointed, as I had considered Pirelli to be a premium brand.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2023
Given 41% while driving a Volvo S60 D5 (185) (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 6,500 average miles
Very disappointed with these pirelli cinturato p7's. The wet grip is abysmal to the point of being dangerous. They also seem to be narrower than an equivalent tyre of the same dimensions. The dry grip isn't that much better with very little feedback and unpredictable going round corners. Considering mine are extra load, sharp turns makes it so the tyres fold and the side walls end up being scrubbed. This all happens under normal driving. I have been driving over 30 years and have never come across tyres as bad as these. Even budget tyres are better than these!
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Audi A3 1.8T Quattro Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Had these put on my car by the dealer (wouldn't have been my first choice). Handling was generally decent but nowhere as good as say Bridgestone Potenza R003s. Going through large pools of water the P7s were great and I had zero grip loss.

Sadly I curbed my wheels lightly while parking (the first time in this car and on these tires), sidewall got torn up and over a week the tire went flat.
Now I'm not the best parker and in my previous car with Goodyear Assurances, I curbed them quite a few times and the sidewalls were fine, so needless to say I was disappointed with the P7s.

If you plan on driving in the wet then they're pretty good but otherwise there's better options.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2023
Given 78% while driving a BMW X4 20d X drive (225/60 R18) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
great tire, i have put them on my bmw x4 g02 , coming from summer bridgestone alenza to this the difference is very big, it handles great even for a suv the car is more sharp in corners, would like to add they are summer tires not runflat in the rain they handle above average, they do need to warm up a bit before they grip well, this also applies for when it doesnt rain only downside is once they get warm they steer a bit harder this is ofc because they grip more, another down side once they are warm is that they are pretty sticky and grab on to a lot of dirt
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2023
Given 51% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
For me they work best on the motorway/ Highway , through town they are okay. But in the rain they are shocking , always spinning in the rain they have no traction on rain. Or when there is sand or dust on the road. Would not recommend for all year tyres only good for summer and that’s it.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2023
Given 59% while driving a BMW 1 series M pack (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
It was an average feeling tyre on all aspects. Non-RFT version is much more acceptable than the RFT version. Definitely wouldn't recommend getting the RFT one. Replacing these with Conti PC6's was a good idea, both mediocre comfort and noise level bu Conti has much more grip and road feedback for the same price.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2023
Given 50% while driving a BMW 530dA M sport Touring (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I had these on my car when I bought it used and after driving on them I realized they were incredibly bad at wet performance and why I am getting rid of these tires next summer. When it was slightly colder and wet they have a terrifyingly small amount of grip. Dry performance is decent but almost every tire is decent in the dry I would say. I would say I could get another 10.000 miles out of these tires before they would be gone which is ok but not anything to boast about for being so bad or average at other things. The comfort is a bit hard but they are run flats so that is expected. For my car (G30 xDrive 530d touring) the tires were not that noisy but that could be the case with great insolation and double-glazed windows. TL;DR; Tyres are really really bad on wet surfaces.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz A250 AMG Sport (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Great performance tyres. For Mercedes-Benz A-Class, replaced factory Hankooks; noisier and less comfortable but excellent dry and wet grip.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2022
Given 47% while driving a Mercedes Benz (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,500 spirited miles
A very loud hard tire
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Volvo V60 D3 (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 29,000 average miles
Factory fitted tyres from new. Comfortable tyre used for mostly motorway driving, but also A/B roads. Handle well under normal driving conditions both wet and dry. Have worn well, 29k miles on the front. Rear tyres still plenty of tread left.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2022