Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue

The Cinturato P7 Blue, Pirelli’s ambassador for sustainability, has been renewed and now extends its ‘AA’ European tyre label rating to all new sizes, setting a new standard.

When originally launched in 2012, the Cinturato P7 Blue was the first tyre in the world to claim a maximum score on the European tyre label for energy efficiency and safety (in certain sizes). The latest Cinturato P7 Blue extends this standard to the new sizes added to the range, meaning that it now boasts a maximum European tyre label score on nearly all the sizes in the entire range.

This tyre replaced the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 and this tyre has been replaced by the Pirelli Cinturato P7 C2.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 71%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 71%
Wear 87%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 61%

Tyre review data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 610,389 miles driven.

The Cinturato P7 Blue is ranked 71st of 147 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Very low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Long braking distances and poor handling on dry and wet surfaces, relatively low resistance to aquaplaning, high price.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 13th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Very low rolling resistance, good ride comfort.
  • Negative - Long wet braking distances, poor lateral stability in the wet, low aquaplaning resistance, slow steering.
View Full Test >>

2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 17 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test (225/55 R17)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 13th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 9th: 2018 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 3rd: 2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 4th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 8th: 2017 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2016 Market Overview - Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2016 AutoBild Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2015 Test World Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2015 ACE Summer Touring Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2015 European Tyre Test 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2015 Auto Review Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2015 AMS Performance Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2014 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    205/55 R16 91V   B A 71 8.05kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 72 8.32kgs
    215/55 R16 93W   B A 71 8.22kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 71 8.76kgs
    225/55 R16 95V   A A 71 9.21kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL   A A 71 9.79kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL   A A 72 9.30kgs
    225/55 R16 95V   B A 71 9.16kgs
    205/60 R16 92H (AO) B B 70 8.40kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   B A 71 8.38kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   A A 71 8.67kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   B A 71 8.80kgs
    225/45 R17 91V (AO) B A 71 8.79kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   A A 71 9.42kgs
    235/45 R17 94Y   B A 71 9.47kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   A A 72 9.13kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   B A 72 10.28kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   A A 72 10.00kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   A A 71 8.32kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 72 7.94kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   A A 71 8.36kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 72 8.40kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   A A 71 9.14kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   B A 72 9.08kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 71 9.23kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 72 10.06kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 71 9.80kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   B A 72 9.10kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   A A 71 8.80kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL   A A 71 9.39kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL   B A 72 9.19kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL   A A 71 9.74kgs

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/55 R17 £153.99 - £153.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Opel vectra c (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
    Hello.

    I bought the Pirelli Cinturato P7 blue as a replacement for Uniroyal RainSport2/Continental SportContatc2 combo that was fitted to the car when I bought it.
    Was deciding between Conti SportContact5, Vredestein Ultrac Vorti and Cinturato P7 blue. Finally decided fot touring instead of sport tire and I'm not sorry. The tires are safe and progressive, very strong in wet conditions, very fuel efficient and ware slowly (after 10.000 miles stil 6,5-7mm thread left).
    My driving style is mixed - mostly is motorway (75 mph) but I do alot of B road too and sometimes a section ot two of very spirited driving. Because these are touring tires I really cant fault them.

    However ...

    If you are doing a lot of spirited driving be ware ...
    They have soft sidewalls so the road feedback and turn in into corners is a bit mooshy, grip is pleanty if driving is precise, but the tire will slide if you apply full power on faster (60 mph) long sweepers when the tires are fully loaded.

    Final thoughts ...
    Very competent, efficient and safe tire for touring and sometimes spirited driving.

    For its intentions would definitly recomend ;)

    Cheers from Slovenia
    Helpful 77 - tyre reviewed on August 26, 2015
    Given 60% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 VTEC Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
    It’s very bad when it’s over 20-25 Celsius degreeses. The tyre starts to swim. Driving in wet is terrible- actually the worst part is driving on wet asphalt (when it’s raining while you’re driving, it’s not that bad, as when it stopped raining, but the asphalt is still wet).
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2021
    Given 61% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 w205 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    Very good tyre for Dry enviroment. It appear to wear nicely and "slow". The tyre produces to much noise and at certain speeds becomes annoying. With the wet road it kind of dangerous, my car is RHD and I have to be very carefull with trotle. Tends to oversteer in wet roads.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2021
    Have you driven on the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue >

    Latest Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue Reviews

    Given 53% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    The Grid is good in dry dry enviroment. The tyre is confortable and low rolling resistence. My average fuel consuption dropped 1l/100km compared to my previous tires (ContiSportContact5). It's a very good tread life and it wear very slow compared to my previous tired. Now the bad part. The tire in the wet has very low grip!! I have to be very carefull with the "gas pedal". My car is Rear wheel drive, so in the wet it's all the time oversterring. And the control traction is always on when i push the "gas pedal". The tires are extremelly noice even compared to my previous ones (ContiSportContact5). If you drive your car in wet or semi-wet conditions AVOID this tired!
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2021
    Given 90% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
    the original OEM tyres were: Pirelli PZERO ROSSO 225 50R W and I was really shocked but the wear lifespan 53'000[km] and for a Pirelli it's really a record; ahhh the performance was awesome. The shop has given to me the new version (P0 Rosso is out) and I was a bit worry for the "green" design. The new Blue Cinturato has keeping the promises of the old one; may a bit soft, in particular with the holes in the tarmac, but the pushed the limit of handling so high that, it's difficult be in troubles. Only when temp drops below 5[°C] the grip start to be not very good, but at that temp probably I've already the winter set.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 67% while driving a Skoda (215/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    After about 10.000 km and season and a half of driving, tyres started to slip in wet. I noticed it even in city while accelerating. I drive Skoda Superb with two kids in the back so I’m definitely not a spirited driver.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2020
    Given 59% while driving a Opel Vectra C GTS (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Hi,

    This is a follow up on mid life of the tires!

    After just 16.500km and 2 seasons of driving these tires have become I'd call dangerous on wet, with almost no grip at all, the car won't stop just like in ice even with just a little bit of rain on the road. Also when accelerating you have to be very very gentle.

    On the dry it is the first time I experience my car lose grip even at very low speeds (on town roads), the dry handling was not particularly good to begin with but now the car is all over the place.

    Barking and comfort wise I cannot feel any noticeable diffidence.

    I AM VERY DISSAPOINTED BY PIRELLI, and It is very hard for me to understand how and why a brand like Pirelli makes such a bad product, definitely not going to buy any pirelli tiers again!
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2019
    Given 44% while driving a BMW 523i tourer (225/55 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 12,400 easy going miles
    Bought these tyres as replacement of the Pirelli Cinturato P7 with BMW * marked.
    The P7* performed pretty well. I have the tyres on a BMW E61 5-series. Initially I put the tyres on the rear wheels. The car went all over the place. The tyres gave very poor longitudinal stability. On the front wheels they are reasonable. Although.... I had to exchange tyres under waranty 2x as the tyres were simply not round and very hard to balance. Strong points of the tyres is grip in dry conditions and they seem to last forever. 20.000 km (12400miles) and just 1 - 1.5mm wear.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2019
    Given 78% while driving a Volvo V60 D5 (235/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
    I purchased this set of 4 Pirelli P7 Blue tyres, replacing Continentals on my Volvo V60, after reading reviews.

    I was particularly impressed by the 3/4 mpg reduction in my fuel consumption, but my problems with these tyres are that they are very easily damaged. 3 out 4 of these tyres have had to be replaced due to sidewall bulges. The first was replaced after 10,200 miles. The second was replaced at 16900 miles and the faulty tyre returned to Pirelli for their comments, which were that the damage was probably caused by pot holes. Both these tyres were replaced with the same PirelliP7 Blue tyres. The third tyre was replaced with an Avon tyre, as it was the only one available in stock at the particular tyre centre, with the correct specification, and the faulty tyre again returned to Pirelli for their comments and again the response was that the damage was probably caused by pot holes.
    Now, considering the state of a lot of our roads, regarding pot holes, I don't consider these tyres fit for purpose, It's easy for Pirelli to just state that 'it's probably due to pot hole damage', but if the side walls are not strong enough to withstand the rigors of our roads, they are not fit for purpose, and added to that is the inherant cost of replacing tyres that were not worn out!.

    I have never had this type of problem with any previous makes tyres, on any of my cars, in over 50 years of driving.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2019
    Given 78% while driving a Volvo V60 D5 (235/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
    I purchased this set of 4 Pirelli P7 Blue tyres, replacing Continentals on my Volvo V60, after reading reviews.

    I was particularly impressed by the 3/4 mpg reduction in my fuel consumption, but my problems with these tyres are that they are very easily damaged. 3 out 4 of these tyres have had to be replaced due to sidewall bulges. The first was replaced after 10,200 miles. The second was replaced at 16900 miles and the faulty tyre returned to Pirelli for their comments, which were that the damage was probably caused by pot holes. Both these tyres were replaced with the same PirelliP7 Blue tyres. The third tyre was replaced with an Avon tyre, as it was the only one available in stock at the particular tyre centre, with the correct specification, and the faulty tyre again returned to Pirelli for their comments and again the response was that the damage was probably caused by pot holes.
    Now, considering the state of a lot of our roads, regarding pot holes, I don't consider these tyres fit for purpose, It's easy for Pirelli to just state that 'it's probably due to pot hole damage', but if the side walls are not strong enough to withstand the rigors of our roads, they are not fit for purpose, and added to that is the inherant cost of replacing tyres that were not worn out!.

    I have never had this type of problem with any previous makes tyres, on any of my cars, in over 50 years of driving.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2019
    Given 89% while driving a Volvo C70 D5 LUX (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 100,000 spirited miles
    I've used these on my Volvo C70 D5, S80 D5, and a V70 T5 to cover 100k+

    This is a touring tyre, and is the best I've used. As a touring tyre feedback can be a bit mushy compared to a modern sports tyre and they don't offer the same level of dry grip under very hard driving but to find these limits you have to be driving in a way that would get you immediately collared if the police saw you. Wet grip and braking is excellent too.

    Tyre life is absolutely fantastic and almost unbelievably last twice as long on the front as other premium tyres I've used (Michelin Primacy etc). 30k on a set of front tyres on a remapped Volvo D5 vs 15K from the best of the other tyres I've used.

    Highly recommended.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2019
    Given 56% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 1.4 EcoTSI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 12,500 average miles
    I'm still using the the tires after 3 years and 20,000km on Seat Leon 5F FR 150HP FWD.
    Dry grip is ok when tires are cold but fantastic if they are warmed up, but I can't tell the same for wet grip. Wet grip is really poor if you push them on bendy roads and corners. I experience understeer in wet conditions and it scares me.

    The wear on the tires are excellent. After 20,000km 6.5 mm of tread left on the tires.
    Comfort is below average I think. Even my Petlas w651 snow tires are more comfortable on bumpy roads and less noisy than these.

    I think the rolling resistance of these tires are exceptional. I get 6 - 6.5 lt / 100 km of gasoline consumption in city.

    I think I'll try Goodyear as my next tires because of the comfort issues of these tires.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2018
    Given 37% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    the worst tires I ever had
    not satisfied from the first day
    dangerous on wet
    not bad on a dry road
    after 20k, they are only suitable for change
    I think it's tires for taxi, and tiny cars
    absolutely not suitable for sedans with an engine over 100hp
    is the second Pirelli model and never more Pirelli
    the previous ones were good, but still not perfect
    I used conti tires, Michelin, nexen
    different models, and I have never been so disappointed
    even budget tires, just better
    please avoid, take care of your safety
    do not buy it, life is more important
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2018
    Given 67% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro (225/55 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
    I drive quite a lot mostly on motorways and I have the tyres since 3 years already. I like them due to a lot of good issues which all others have also mentioned, however I am now thinking to change to another brand. The reason for that is that I had to order already 2 extra tyres in the last 1 year. 1 was damaged last fall at the car maintenance during the change for my winter tyres. The Pirelli was torn apart through the usual tool which they use to remove it from the rim. I was shocked when I saw it after 1 1/2 year of usage. In the maintenance they told me that they've never seen something like that. Last week when I let my winter tyres change to the Pirelli again at another maintenance one of the tyres had a bulge on the inner side. Either I received accidentally the 2 worst tyres made by Pirelli or the quality is worrying. I just ordered another tyre and it will be the last P7 Blue and will see what will happen.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2018
    Given 94% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 36,430 spirited miles
    The previous tyres fitted to my Mk3 Skoda Octavia vRS when it was new lasted less than 22,000 miles of spirited cross country driving on mixed A & B roads so I went looking for a tyre that would wear less but provide better economy and grip in both wet and dry conditions. After reading many tyre reviews I decided to fit a set of 4 Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue tyres as they had scored well in previous tests and reviews, and I have not been disappointed. After covering over 36,400 miles there is still just under 4mm of tread on each tyre, mind you I have rotated Front to Rear every 10,000 miles to ensure even wear, even with a Stage 1 remap the tyres handled the additional power and torque for the last 26,000 miles and have continued to provide me with the same level of grip and comfort as they did when initially fitted. I think that they are so good, that I'm about to order another full set.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2018