Volkswagen Golf Mk6 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf Mk6.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf Mk6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf Mk6 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin A4 (53) 88% 95% 91% 88% 94% 93%
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (108) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (58) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Giti GitiSport S1 (9) 91% 79% 86% 86% 84% 84%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (27) 81% 80% 77% 74% 80% 81%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (37) 89% 93% 88% 88% 88% 92%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (290) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
General Altimax Sport (31) 80% 80% 80% 78% 87% 80%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (58) 84% 72% 79% 77% 91% 83%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (55) 85% 83% 82% 84% 86% 83%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Michelin CrossClimate (135) 88% 85% 83% 80% 83% 89%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (231) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Fulda EcoControl HP (15) 82% 73% 76% 81% 78% 80%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (189) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (114) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 78%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (163) 83% 74% 74% 75% 70% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Pirelli P 7 (82) 79% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (210) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Nokian W Plus (15) 77% 70% 69% 68% 86% 82%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (98) 80% 70% 69% 67% 63% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (155) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Continental ControlContact Sport SRS Plus (5) 80% 70% 68% 56% 75% 56%
Infinity INF 050 (19) 66% 47% 59% 54% 78% 51%

Volkswagen Golf Mk6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ControlContact Sport SRS Plus given 56% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 8800 average miles
Comfort rating is low on these, with only 8,800 miles on them, they're LOUD. It sounds like there's a plane overhead when driving at 40mph or above.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-01 18:50:20
Writing about the Giti GitiSport S1 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9500 spirited miles
GitiSport S1 tyre performance impresses me during my high spirited drive, the best thing about this tyre is, it is cheaper than other majority brands but with almost similar performance. Will get this tyre again once it wears out, hoping to get GitiSport S2 model instead.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-20 03:21:50
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
On a VW Golf 1.4 TSI, these provided good grip in both dry and wet conditions. I always felt confident when going around bends or through standing water. They are somewhat soft but still grippy enough for the occasional twisty road. Noise and comfort levels are good with this being more of a touring tyre. I wouldn’t mind putting these on my car again but would probably consider slightly sportier alternatives from Conti, Goodyear or Dunlop.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-28 05:07:46
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 67% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Tyre with very god performances in dry and wet. Handling and comfort are also good, but they dont last very long.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-17 12:57:30
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 80% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 16000 average miles
TLDR: A solid all round summer tyre without any weaknesses.

At low to moderate speeds, in warmer 10 degree plus temperatures, these tyres don't feel any different wet or dry. Coming from a set of Michelin Energy Saver plus, this was a revelation. In colder sub 5 degree temperatures, the grip does fall off noticeably but even then they feel about as grippy as the Energy Savers at peak performance. Also in contrast to the other reviewers, I haven't had problems with high wear with 5mm tread remaining on the rears after 16,000miles. Sure the Energy Savers were at 6.5mm over the same period but the enhanced grip of the Continentals make the trade off worthwhile, at least for me. Also after 2 years use, the Continentals also still look new. At this stage, the Energy Savers started to develop haircut cracks that grew worse over time.

The tyre is almost as quiet as the Energy Saver. It gives off a touch more roar, but not an amount you would notice if you weren't specifically listening out. The ride comfort is about the same.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-24 22:07:24
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 90% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Replaced a set of Falcon's on the front and what an amazing difference the cross climates have made. Most notably these tyres are so much quieter, more comfortable, especially across pot holes and I'm seeing around a 10% increase in economy. They seem more secure on fast sweeping bends at motorway speeds and hold a line far more accurately that the Falcon's. Unable to comment on winter handling and wear but I hope those atttributes will prove as good as the other positive characteristics. I'm so impressed and am contemplating replacing the rear tyres a little earlier than necessary as the increased economy should help pay for the tyres.

tyre reviewed on 2017-05-14 13:58:36
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 96% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Hello everyone

I got to my car, vw golf mk6 in dimension 195/65/15 Crossclimate.

I walked with them around 15,000 kilometers.

The tires were better than I expected.

They are comfortable and pretty quiet for the "V" design pattern.

Excellent lateral grip in the wet cornering.

Before I had two sets of tires, continental "PremiumContact 5" in summer and "TS830" in the winter ... in the same car in the same dimension 195/65/15

What I have noticed so far negative, it is that love turn into an empty wheel, a sudden start.

I attribute this "air design" pattern on the tires.

Then I noticed that during heavy braking earlier lights abs.

You could also say the same ... because if the friction surfaces are loosened ... not expect behavior such as racing "slick" tires.

Either way, we will see how it will be this winter, with snow in my town.

Nice greetings from Croatian
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-16 09:31:12
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 83% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Before I start, I hail from Singapore, so my view is based purely on tropical climate. This being the most comprehensive tyre review site I can find anywhere, so I decided to post here.
Just got this set of tyres after much research, especially from the reviews here. Read about the tyre being too soft for the side walls. Verified that.
Before tyre installation, I was pressing on the side walls, comparing it with the Efficientgrip (without "performance" in the name) and the Efficientgrip has slightly thicker and firmer sidewalls than the Efficientgrip Performance. Noise-wise very good for this tyre. Very quiet even on rough/porous pavement used in Singapore expressways. Hence extremely quiet on concrete surfaces in carparks. Cannot comment on wear yet. Will update, but expecting the hot weather here to adversely impact the wear as the tyre compound is soft. The tyre shop generally uses 250kPa/36psi for tyre pressure for fuel efficiency. So at 36psi/250kPa, the tyre handles pretty well. Similar to the handling of my old Falken ZIEX914 ecorun at 33.5psi/235kPa. My old Falken914s were quite for the first 2000km, then became noisy, especially on porous roads. Hope these goodyears hold up to their claims. Overall, quite satisfied with the purchase. The ride definitely softer now.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-14 03:56:49
Writing about the General Altimax Sport given 100% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
These tyres are excellent and have lasted so far for 22000 miles and have still around 4.8mm so very pleased overall with longevity. The performance in varied conditions is excellent and equivalent to Continental tyres that I have used for many years. Very highly recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-07 15:10:42
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver Plus given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Not really suitable unless you are doing high mileages in the dry. I replaced my front pair in 2015 after the outside shoulders started cracking. Apparently safe (asked at two different tyre fitters) and passed MOT but obviously past their best. The tyres were manufactured in 2012 and had 4mm and 5mm tread remaining. They only wore down 2mm in 20k miles of mixed road driving, including a track day on a VW Golf. I'm not sure if the track day "cooked" the rubber as the front pair developed a different shaded band between the tread and side wall where it started to crack. The rear pair under much less load didn't discolour and are still fine. Handled fine in the dry but were quite weak in the wet, understeering quite quickly on faster A roads. I changed them over for a pair of Continental Premium Contact 5's and the car feels much more positive. Would be a fine tyre choice if you do a lot of unstressed miles. Low milers (you'll never wear this tyre out in the 5 year recommended precautionary change point) and enthusiasts would best look elsewhere.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-05 09:23:58
Writing about the Fulda EcoControl HP given 76% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-14 21:29:05
Writing about the Nokian Line given 84% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
First time buyer of Nokian tyres and I am not dissapointed, they are very compatible to any premium brand.
Very good tyres, very stable and firmly solid planted grip on the road, very good for fast country roads and for high speed driving on curvy and straight highways /motorways, good precise steering feel/response, I feel very safe with these tyres.
Dry grip is very good, for this tyre size I give them full 10 points.
Wet grip is also good although they slip slightly sooner in curves than my previous good tyres but it is no problem and a very small difference.
Rather predictable before they loose grip although sometimes they can be a little bit snappy on wet roads but it is no problems.
Very good braking on dry and wet, traction is also good but not perfect, I think however this is more a problem with the car itself.
I'm a little bit surprised regarding the comfort/noise level on these Nokian tyres considering the comfort orientated reputation Nokian has and the very good comfort reviews they get both on this site and in magazines.
I think the comfort is good but firm, it is suitable for my VW Golf and I like this solid and stable feeling on my VW but if you want a more soft and floating feeling on your ride then there might be other tyres that is better for that, off course depending on what car you drive.
On my car the noiselevel is good but slightly higher than my previous tyres, again a little surprised about that but no problems.
The wear rate seems to be very good, it is much better compared to my previous tyres, it is good economy and they are probably safe for a very long time.
Very satisfied with these Nokian tyres, they fit my car very well, I have nothing bad to say about them, the only thing that I sometimes miss a little bit is the soft floating feeling my previous tyres had especially in city driving and bumpy roads.
I recommend these tyres and I would buy them again maybe with the exception of extrem need for soft and supersilent comfort.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-04 20:14:09
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre