Kumho Ecsta KU39

The Kumho Ecsta KU39 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 76%
Wear 73%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 122 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 1,270,286 miles driven.

The Ecsta KU39 is ranked 44th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild Top 15 Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning results, short braking distances on dry roads, quiet pass-by noise, good value for money
  • Negative - Poor mileage, slow steering response
View Full Test >>

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 13th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 European Summer Sports Tyre Test - 10th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Perform well in almost all disciplines
  • Negative - A little weak in the wet
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R16 87Y XL   C B 71 8.92kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   C B 71 10.28kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   C B 71 9.71kgs
225/35 R17 86Y XL   E B 70 8.65kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 71 8.68kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.87kgs
235/40 R17 94Y XL   C B 70 10.82kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E C 71 11.36kgs
255/40 R17 94Y   E C 71 11.89kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 71 9.26kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 71 9.80kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C B 74 10.75kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C B 74 10.89kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E C 70 11.14kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E C 70 11.39kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E C 71 11.80kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 11.15kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 10.94kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 74 11.82kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 74 11.72kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E B 71 8.90kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 72 12.35kgs
275/35 R18 95Y   E A 71 12.65kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   C B 71 9.52kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E C 74 10.64kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E C 70 11.16kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E C 70 11.21kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 11.96kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 72 12.57kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 13.22kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C B 70 11.07kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C B 74 12.16kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 12.80kgs
275/45 R18 103Y   E A 71 13.83kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C C 74 12.47kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 11.64kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 12.17kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 12.51kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 72 13.74kgs
215/35 R19 85Y XL   E A 71 9.45kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 70 9.94kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 11.00kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.54kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 12.27kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 72 12.45kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C A 70 11.33kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 12.80kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 14.16kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   C A 72 14.50kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 71 12.38kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.97kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Ecsta KU39. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ecsta KU39 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 10 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Ecsta KU39 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Ford S Max (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Good, quiet, responsive tyre with good braking in wet and dry. However, very poor wear longevity. Only had tryes for less than 18 months, do less than 10.000 miles per year and both front and rear are nearly bald. Would not buy again for this reason.
169 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Focus RS (225/45 R19 V) on mostly motorways for 5 average miles
I run a stage 1 350 BHP RS and as my 400 BHP buddy it is no fun if you cant put power down. I am glad to say that dry grip is astro! and wet well not being a wally and in total agreement with RS 400 up top there, I don't mess about in the rain, well nit with my motor anyway :) I had a picture to rear drivers side and had to, had fit Hancock jobby Will smith as I call them...Well, since then, very choppy at speed but grips all the same, will be buying replacement Khohmo or however they are spelling it :)
14 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2016   
Given 91% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I brought two of these tyres about 12 months ago to go on the rear and then last month another two for the front. In both cases they replaced Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance tyres. I am very pleased with these tyres especially considering how much cheaper they are than Goodyears. Dry/Wet grip far exceeds the limits to which I am prepared to push my car. Noise levels are very good.
I cannot think of any negatives with these tyres. Of course I have only been running them for just over a year so my view is relatively short term. Not much wear apparent as yet.They represent excellent value for money. I will definitely buy again.
14 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2017   
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta KU39 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta KU39? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecsta KU39 >

Latest Kumho Ecsta KU39 Reviews

Given 78% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.6cr TDi (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Overall the tyres are nice. They are good value for money, and feel safe, even if you are driving them a bit harsher, if you know how to control the slip angle of the tyres, in spirited driving. Now, the sidewall is soft, so soft that I had to inflate the tyre over the recommended pressure by 2 PSI. This was to get rid of understeer in the dry. Amazingly enough, the understeer is most noticable when doing slow corners if the tyres are under inflated. On the motorways, the tyres have never failed me or made me lose trust, not even once. On the country roads however... Acquaplaning can be an issue if it is a very wet day, and you are driving conservatively. It was for me at least. For me, this tyre shines on the motorway. The noise is low, the comfort is high. Even in a low profile such as the one in my car. Overall, for the price of tyres, they are not bad. I would get them again if they were on a promotion. I would recommend.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2020   
Given 72% while driving a Nissan 350z (265/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Excellent dry grip for the price. Wet grip is average, not dangerous but will spin up when you put your foot down. Sidewalls are very hard so they are a bit noisey and harsh.
Overall a good tyre for the price
0 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a BMW X3 (235/45 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 22,000 easy going miles
I have bought these tyres to the rear wheels for my 2007 BMW X3 3.0sd (twin turbo 286 HP, 6 automatic gearbox, four wheel drive version) in May 2017. Now, the time is October 2019 and the tyres have been used for 22000 miles since new in 3 summer seasons (mostly from April to November).
GRIP: Dry Grip: Very good overall, but it is not excellent like a Michelin Pilot Sport or Continental Sport Contact.
Wet Grip: Very good overall.
Offroad usage: Satisfactory. I have even used them on bushy, grassy and muddy offroads. Only once I had a risk of staying (bushy and muddy conditions with slight uphill were together), but my X3's electronic systems have helped to go inch by inch! Else they were very good in handling and traction.
BRAKING: Dry and wet : Very safe.
Offroad : Safe enough.
WEAR: Expected life of the tyres are around 30000 miles according to current wear figures. Also, tyres are very durable against unusual knocks created by potholes and bumps (ps: I have used 42-45 psi tyre pressure, recommended tyre pressure of the BMW is 42psi for maximum loaded car, once a month, I check the tyre pressures, and approximately 3 psi loss per month could be faced)
DRIVING STYLE: 80% 50MPH average speed drive (60 mph in German and Austrian Highways!). 1% offroad usage. Around 6000 kms, Ukrainian roads and offroads have been used with extreme potholes, bumps. (My left front suspension has been broken because of Ukrainian roads!)
BUY AGAIN: Yes. They are very good in performance/price measure.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2019   
Given 56% while driving a Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce (205/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Tyre wall too soft, will bend during heavy cornering
Wear is quite good actually
Tyre started showing cracks early in his life. Will not buy again.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Smart Forfour (205/45 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Premium tyres at mid range prices. Pleasantly surprised how good these tyres are, replacing a set of Continental EcoContacts. Handles very well in the dry, turn in is much sharper than the Contis, making the vehicle much more nimble, yet comfort and noise is outstanding, absorbs bumps very well considering these are 45 profile ultra performance tyres, with very little road roar compared with the Contis, it transformed the whole character of the car. Wear rate should be good at 280. Sporty looking tread pattern, with squared off shoulders. Haven't had much chance to test them properly in the wet yet. I would definitely buy these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Audi TT (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Seem to be really good tyres- had gt radial sport active fitted previously which were absolutely awful in the wet and changed because these were so bad in the wet. The kuhmo are so much better and grip really well in the wet and dry grip is superb- the price is really competative about £110 a tyre compared to £160 ish for premium tyres. Wear seems fine so far to as some reviews say they wear really quickly. Only slight negative is they do seem a bit noisy on certain road surfaces. For the price they are a great all round tyre and would have no hesitation about buying them again
0 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo (235/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 miles
The new KU39 sided versions are way better than the previous models.

Still running the old version on the front and will replace with the latest KU39s asap.

Decent all round tyre which is fine for my MR2 Turbo as they are a bit lairy in the wet!
0 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2018   
Given 84% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer VRX (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
Fitted these to replace the ageing Cinturato P6 tyres that were on my Lancer when I bought it. The old tyres were lacking grip, starting to get noisy and had premature tyre squeal when driving hard.
Fitted 4x KU39 from Tempe Tyres in Sydney.
Upsized from 215/45/R18 to 225/45/R18 on the stock 7.5in.

Tyres were fantastic. Loads more grip right off the bat. Drove the car home after the tyres were fitted on the freeway for 2 hours in the pounding rain. No issues.
Nice stiff sidewall so no feeling of washiness or roll. Loads of grip wet and dry for what they are and low tyre noise (at least for the 10 months I used them)

Unfortunately the car they were on was written of by a red light runner who T-boned me so only put 15,000kms on the tyres, but they were still going strong after roughly a year.

Will definitely buy again.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2018   
Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 37,500 average miles

I am better at speaking in English than writing it. sorry for my bad enlgish but i hope you understand!

Dry grip; 8. Well.... when it is summer the tyres are great! Only when it is below under 7 degrees the tyres want to do a step aside. But... If you drive sportive you never have a unsafe feeling in summer.

Wetgrip; 7. If you drive in the rain with a normal road you have 0% stress about the grip, even in roundabouts or in turns on a 60mile motorway the tyre go's wherever you want to go there is no complains about. However. If there is aquaplanning (i dont know if this word is correct cause i'm dutch and here in the Netherlands you have aquaplanning alot), the Kumho's KU39 struggle's with the water... only option is to slow down the speed or doing two hands on your steering wheel! But if you know this and you seeing alot of water on the road you can lowing your speed for like 10km/h's and there are no problems.

Road Feedback; 9. The Kumho's give you always the feeling what's happening. And that's the reason why i love them.

Handling; 10. When you go with to much speed around the corner most tyres you go in to a slip . These tyres don't!!! In all the 37.5000 miles and my sportive drivenstile i have no unsafe feeling when i realy push hard. When you think; Oh shit mayby i'm late to take the corner. No problem... when you want to take a corner on your right... you go that way you want!

Wear; 10. AWESOME. I have an Alfa Romeo 147 JTD 140hp 340nm and i'm drive normal for like 90% of the time. Only i have my moments like everyone.... and then i realy pushed hard around the corners. Sometimes i leave with wheelspin by the trafficlights, or have slippy tyres when i go hard in a sharp turn.

I driven 37.500 miles (60.000km) on 1 set Kumho's KU39 front tyres!!! That's alot. Only they are now gone, and when they are born like now, you have not much grip but it is cold outside and i think that is normal when the tyres have 1.6mm left.

Comfort; 10; No complains about the comfort the sidewall is not soft but bad roads are no problem for the tyres (or your back)

Buy Again; 6. Well it is very hard to find tyres who are 100% what you want IMO. But i tink if you looking for a cheap tyre that makes you happy in all conditions buy the Kumho for sure. If you live in a country where it rains all day mayby you have to look at another tyre like the Uniroyal rainsport 3 (only with aquaplanning you have to pay attention on the road), but if you live in Italy, Kroatië or another warm country the Kumho's ku39 are perfect for you!!!

I give this time the change to Michelin Pilot Sport 4. They are much expensiver then Kumho's..... but YOLO. You can spend out your money 1 time in you life!
8 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2018   
Ford (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Have not had these long, but weather in Ireland is wet and dry so in a short time it has had good experience on all sorts of roads and conditions. They perform as well as Goodyear Efficient Grip in all areas except one! Rolling resistance must very very high! Averaging 45MPG before i am lucky to break 40MPG now and i only fitted them on the front. Makes a big different over a lot of miles, and wont recover the reduced cost of the tyres. Sorry Kumho, not again!
10 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2017   
Given 96% while driving a Mazda 6 Estate 2.2D Soport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 27,000 easy going miles
I have been running these tyres for a couple of years now. Exceedingly good braking response in the wet, by trying REALLY hard I can just get the ABS to kick in on a soaking wet road. Not the quietist of tyres but certainly not the noisiest either. Longevity has exceeded my expectations. 27000 miles out of pair fitted to the front (drive) axle of a 185 BHP Mazda 6. Just bought another two because they offer excellent value for money and I KNOW I can stop in the wet!! Amazing that tyres costing nearly three times as much have a much worse wet braking rating. If it all goes wrong I want to know I can stop!!
3 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2017   
Given 91% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 JTD (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles

I'm writing this via google translate as my english is not that good.

I ordered these tires as a friend recommended them. He even drove on the track and these tires, the Kumho Escta Le Sport (KU39) were great tires for street use and possibly a roundabout circuit.

The tires have almost no limit on dry asphalt if they are well-driven. Can bend very hard without losing my grip. Rather; Never lost grip. The tires are somewhat uncomfortable, but I knew that because the XL version was ordered. Also at high speeds, 200km / h the tire gives a lot of feedback and keeps handling, for example, to send left / right to pass a car without the tires getting sluggish, giving you a safe feeling.

Be very satisfied with these Kumho's on dry roads.

On wet roads, the Kumho's also have sufficient grip on bends. Only what I find so strange is that the tires have enough grip on a normal wet road. And lose their grip on aquaplaning and give you an unsafe feeling.

That's the only thing to complain about.

Have the tires now 20.000miles. And there is still a profile. So the wear is very good.
2 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2017