Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 84%
Wear 74%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 80%

Tyre review data from 290 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 3,895,602 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is ranked 16th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test - 7th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - High resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Poor lateral grip on wet surfaces, longer braking distance on dry roads
View Full Test >>

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Particularly good on dry roads, good in the wet
  • Negative - Relatively high wear
View Full Test >>

2015 Auto Express Tyre Test - 3rd of 11 tyres

  • Overall - While the Michelin Primacy 3 is a few years old, it still managed a great performance, excelling particularly in the aquaplaning tests where it won both the straight and curved aquaplaning.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         10.53kgs
0/0 R0 0         9.44kgs
0/0 R0 0         9.48kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 7.37kgs
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71 7.58kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71 7.81kgs
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71 8.08kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL AODT1 E B 71 8.51kgs
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71 8.47kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71 8.79kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71 10.25kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70 8.70kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71 9.24kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71 10.34kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73 11.32kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71 11.18kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 12.65kgs
275/35 R18 95Y MO F A 71 12.00kgs
285/35 R18 101Y XL MO1 E A 73 12.18kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 73 11.31kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71 9.40kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.81kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71 9.53kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71 10.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO E A 71 10.10kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71 10.05kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL AO E A 71 11.15kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO F A 71 11.15kgs
245/40 R18 93Y MO F A 71 10.80kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL MO1 E A 71 11.40kgs
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71 10.25kgs
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71 10.07kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71 10.20kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71 10.58kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70 11.00kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.90kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73 13.03kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO E A 71 12.10kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73 11.70kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71 11.77kgs
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71 11.70kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL AO E A 71 13.20kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL MO E A 71 13.26kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL MO E A 71 13.83kgs
275/40 R19 101Y MO C A 71 13.20kgs
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71 11.62kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL A T0 C A 71 12.33kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL MO C A 71 11.98kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL *MOE C A 73 12.51kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL *MOE C A 70 12.30kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL A*MOE C A 70 12.30kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL MO E A 73 14.65kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO E A 71 13.27kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-26 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


2018-12-31 - Which tyres are better for those who tried these 3? RE003 potenza by bridgestone or michelin ps3 or Hankook Ventus 12 evo 2? There is no ps4 option for 15 inch rims.

As far as I'm aware, no one has tested all three officially. The RE003 gets great reviews in America, but the people I know in the UK tend to prefer the Michelin.


2022-05-21 - I have mazda mx5 nb with 195/50/15 and looking for best tyres performance and feel(balance) wise. Comfort/noise/fuel are low on priority. Looking for best grip on wet and dry and best balance on wet and dry. Currently stuck between Michelin PS3, Dunlop sport bluresponse, Hankook ventus prime 3 and Hankook ventus prime v12 evo2. Of these 4 the michelin, hankook v12 and dunlop are in uhp range, though ventus prime 3 seems to beat dunlops in most tests and dunlops beat v12 in one test. There is little data on ps3 as they are old now. So could ventus prime 3 (which is basically touring tyre) beat older models of uhp tyres?

Newer tyres generally have better wet grip and braking results which are high priority tests in an overall test result, which is why you might see the Prime 3 doing well. If available we recommend looking into the Maxxis HP5 as that is a nice handling tyre in the smaller wheel sizes.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £64.29 - £88.86 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £108.69 - £143.99 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £131.49 - £164.87 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 29 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

Helpful 124 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016
Given 31% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 7,300 average miles
Worst tyres I have ever used. Bought a Kia cee’d 1.6 gt as an ex demonstrator in July 2018 as a 6m old car. Front tyres replaced at 7300miles. Shocking, I dont drive the car hard nor throw into corners.
Bought Vredestein Ultrac as replacement and will report on longevity. PS3 are shockingly bad
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2019
Daihatsu Perodua Myvi 1.3 SE (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Honestly one of the most worth it tyres to have.

Previous tyres was RE003, before changing to PS3.

Constant sprited driving in the "malaysian supercar". Casual Genting/Uluyam car.

Still grips and able to be pushed to car's limit even after over 50000km on tyres on dry. Wet performance have not deteriorated too bad.

Noise level was low at beginning, but gets louder over time. Still acceptable and not re003 loud.

This is the most reliable and well performed tyres so far.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2019
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 96% while driving a Suzuki Swift (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Using these tires in my Suzuki Swift Boosterjet mostly on dry tarmac but whenever I get into wet tarmac they grip extremely good.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2022
Given 96% while driving a Alfa Romeo 145 1.6 Boxer (195/50 R15) on mostly town for 1,000 spirited miles
Amazing tyres.. Had Falken Ziex ZE914 before and thought they were great until I tried the PS3.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2022
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
These tyres were the perfect match for my GTi, they have a lot of controlled flexion of the sidewalls but when you start to trust them you can go very very fast, the lifespan is incredible for me, my car is all use like spirited driving daily use etc… and these are on 35k km and still going another round! For me the best tyre for all round use if i could use some ps4 i would buy them asap because this is my best all round match since it’s awesome wet handling and also on dry surface when you warm them up
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Ford Focus (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Weak sidewalls but not the worst. Good grip in the dry. Have never pushed the tires in wet conditions so can't speak for that. Low noise. Nice comfort.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Westfield FW (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Not many reviews for tyres on a Westfield so here goes; I replaced my fairly fresh set of Toyo T1R's which were quite possibly the worst tyres you could have especially on a car with 270 BHP per tonne, they understeer and oversteer and were generally terrifying. I picked up a set of second hand 5 year old PS3's which transformed the car. Even though these were 5 years old they offered more grip, were more comfortable and well priced. Only downside would be they maybe aren't the hardest of sidewalls, so handling could be slightly better. The tyres are now 7 years old, and have 6mm of tread remaining, I will only be replacing them with a fresh brand new set next year as these are now past their best - however I am very happy with them considering they were still most likely past their best when I purchased them. I cannot comment on wet performance as I do not drive this car in bad weather, however I know these are used a lot as wet tyres on track for Westfields and are raved about. If you cannot get PS4 for your car, these are the ones to have.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2021
Given 82% while driving a Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack (/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Really impressed with the PS3's, IMO the best summer road tyre for the MK2 Clio sports, although apparently now impossible to find in this fitment, hopefully a temporary supply issue.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Mazda 3 MPS (215/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Driving in the dry felt always safe, sticky, even when cold. It's surprisingly good in the wet. I wasn't event sure if it's noticeable slower than in the dry. I never experienced Aquaplaning with these tires. The feedback from the tires is very progressive as long as u have the right tire pressure. Once the tire got temperature/rising pressure the performance gets expectantly worse. But as soon as I corrected the pressure with hot tires they were mind blowing. They lasted pretty much one season for me with about 10.000km. Driving to work everyday I was still using the tires about 80% because I got some nice curves on the way. In the night I was using them 100% with hard braking, hard acceleration, maximum speed through corners with lift off oversteer, handbrake drifts and a couple burnouts at the traffic lights. Even at the end of the rubber with lower temperatures in autumn they still performed safe and reliable. Comfort was okay, as it's a UHP and not a Touring tire. I would buy them again for a good price since they're older. But I'd rather try newer generations from Goodyear.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2021
Given 85% while driving a Hyundai Sonata LF 2.0 2016 (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 33,000 average miles
Before I have used Kumho Solus XC, this tyres become on my car. İts little bit noise and stop distance as well as long on wet grip, also on dry grip stopping distance not a short. I’m not satisfied with KUMHO SOLUS XC But instead it Michelin Pilot Sport 3 have a good stopping distance on dry and on wet grip. Also driving is more comfortable. And I took this tyres 3 years ago now I went to car service to fix some details. Instead of 52000 km I used this tyres without any checking, tyre worker said that it’s ideal tyre no need a fix..
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2021
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz S500 (275/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
These tyres lasted for only 8000km of calm and moderate driving! Worest tyres i ever bought! I will never buy them again!!!
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2020
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Yaris 1.5 ts (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Bought these for my T Sport after having binned it on the dodgy tires it came with losing all grip in the rain and I must say these are pretty much the best value for money tire you can get for these cars. I elected to fit wider wheels as well as these so this isn't a like for like comparison, previous wheels only allowing me to go up to 185 safely. The dry grip is excellent, I drive spiritedly and have never been in a position where the tires are the limiting factor. For wet grip they're not as good but I've never felt sketchy driving spirited in damp conditions, night and day over the old tires which spun up even looking at rain. Road feedback and handling is very good, the car doesn't feel disconnected from the road surface. I can't say how these feel on stock suspension, but on lowered suspension and with performance bracing you can most definitely feel everything. I've not got measurements for the wear specifically but I can say that after 6000 miles there's still a lot of meat left, I'm not worried about them running out of life for a long while. They are somewhat more noisy than what I had but personally this doesn't bother me, however it may bother you if you just want a sensible daily driver, in which case I'd recommend something else. All in all, I would definitely buy these again. I recommend them to loads of people as being the best value road tire for these cars.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2020
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (195/55 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Excellent hydroplaning resistance, good in dry, numb handling feel, comfortable, soft sidewalls. As long as you're not the type that pushes the car to the limit, this is an excellent tyre. Perfect for family car. I drive a proton waja fitted with coilovers and stiffen anti roll bars. Needless to say, road feedback is determined mostly by the tyre due to stiff characteristics of the suspension setup. I touge my car up Fraser's hill, Ulu yam,...etc occasionally. Driven on these tyres until it reaches the markers Here's my opinion, the sidewalls are too soft and causes a delayed response for corner entry or sudden lane changes. This gives the impression of losing control but it's actually all fine. Therefore it's not as predictable at the limits in the dry. The grip on these are superb and it can almost match semi slicks when it's warmed up. In the wet is where these tyre shine, it gives you full confidence in the wet. Never once hydroplaned in these tyres even after accidentally hitting puddles on highway speeds. In terms of comfort, it made my car feel very comfortable even though I'm on coilovers, some of my friends and family didn't even notice I'm on stiffen suspension. Noise level is also very low. It tends to wear on the outside due to the sidewall flex. But running some negative camber managed to balanced it out. Overall an impressive tyre and would buy again for a family car. For car enthusiasts, you probably want some other tyres which has stiffer sidewalls.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2020
Given 73% while driving a Renault Clio 172 Cup (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought Clio Cup in 2017 with 2 x Uniroyal rainsport 3 and 2 x Toyo T1R fitted - Then fitted new 4 x new Toyo T1R as they had been recommended by a hard core clio nut. I couldn't resist a bargain (having picked them up for £30 per corner).but was never happy with the performance. The dry grip was OK but in the wet they were lethal. Having already switched from T1Rs on my Accord Type R to Michelin Pilot Sport 4 I decided to bite the bullet and get Michelin Pilot Sport 3 for the Clio. Better grip in the dry and now pretty good in the wet too, a great all year round tyre. After 5000 miles the average usable tread depth remaining is 4.6mm (to the legal limit bars). My main criticism is that feedback from the tyre is a little numb. My next tyre upgrade (for summer and track use only) will be Dunlop DZ03G and reduction in wheel size to 15". Moral of the story, never scrimp on tyres, it only costs in the long run. Buy the best available regardless of cost otherwise you never reach your car's potential.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2020