Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 84%
Wear 73%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 80%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 280 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 3,762,734 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Particularly good on dry roads, good in the wet
  • Negative - Relatively high wear

2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test - 7th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - High resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Poor lateral grip on wet surfaces, longer braking distance on dry roads

2015 Auto Express Tyre Test - 3rd of 11 tyres

  • Overall - While the Michelin Primacy 3 is a few years old, it still managed a great performance, excelling particularly in the aquaplaning tests where it won both the straight and curved aquaplaning.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         10.53kgs
0/0 R0 0         9.44kgs
0/0 R0 0         9.48kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 7.37kgs
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71 7.58kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71 7.81kgs
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71 8.08kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL AODT1 E B 71 8.51kgs
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71 8.47kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71 8.79kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71 10.25kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70 8.70kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71 9.24kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71 10.34kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73 11.32kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71 11.18kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 12.65kgs
275/35 R18 95Y MO F A 71 12.00kgs
285/35 R18 101Y XL MO1 E A 73 12.18kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 73 11.31kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71 9.40kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.81kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71 9.53kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71 10.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO E A 71 10.10kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71 10.05kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL AO E A 71 11.15kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO F A 71 11.15kgs
245/40 R18 93Y MO F A 71 10.80kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL MO1 E A 71 11.40kgs
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71 10.25kgs
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71 10.07kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71 10.20kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71 10.58kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70 11.00kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.90kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73 13.03kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO E A 71 12.10kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73 11.70kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71 11.77kgs
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71 11.70kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL AO E A 71 13.20kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL MO E A 71 13.26kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL MO E A 71 13.83kgs
275/40 R19 101Y MO C A 71 13.20kgs
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71 11.62kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL A T0 C A 71 12.33kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL MO C A 71 11.98kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL *MOE C A 73 12.51kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL *MOE C A 70 12.30kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL A*MOE C A 70 12.30kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL MO E A 73 14.65kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO E A 71 13.27kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


2018-12-31 - Which tyres are better for those who tried these 3? RE003 potenza by bridgestone or michelin ps3 or Hankook Ventus 12 evo 2? There is no ps4 option for 15 inch rims.

As far as I'm aware, no one has tested all three officially. The RE003 gets great reviews in America, but the people I know in the UK tend to prefer the Michelin.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £62.00 - £152.70 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £95.59 - £623.00 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £118.00 - £143.02 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

113 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   
Given 31% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 7,300 average miles
Worst tyres I have ever used. Bought a Kia cee’d 1.6 gt as an ex demonstrator in July 2018 as a 6m old car. Front tyres replaced at 7300miles. Shocking, I dont drive the car hard nor throw into corners.
Bought Vredestein Ultrac as replacement and will report on longevity. PS3 are shockingly bad
28 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2019   
Daihatsu Perodua Myvi 1.3 SE (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Honestly one of the most worth it tyres to have.

Previous tyres was RE003, before changing to PS3.

Constant sprited driving in the "malaysian supercar". Casual Genting/Uluyam car.

Still grips and able to be pushed to car's limit even after over 50000km on tyres on dry. Wet performance have not deteriorated too bad.

Noise level was low at beginning, but gets louder over time. Still acceptable and not re003 loud.

This is the most reliable and well performed tyres so far.
20 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2019   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz S500 (275/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
These tyres lasted for only 8000km of calm and moderate driving! Worest tyres i ever bought! I will never buy them again!!!
6 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Yaris 1.5 ts (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Bought these for my T Sport after having binned it on the dodgy tires it came with losing all grip in the rain and I must say these are pretty much the best value for money tire you can get for these cars. I elected to fit wider wheels as well as these so this isn't a like for like comparison, previous wheels only allowing me to go up to 185 safely. The dry grip is excellent, I drive spiritedly and have never been in a position where the tires are the limiting factor. For wet grip they're not as good but I've never felt sketchy driving spirited in damp conditions, night and day over the old tires which spun up even looking at rain. Road feedback and handling is very good, the car doesn't feel disconnected from the road surface. I can't say how these feel on stock suspension, but on lowered suspension and with performance bracing you can most definitely feel everything. I've not got measurements for the wear specifically but I can say that after 6000 miles there's still a lot of meat left, I'm not worried about them running out of life for a long while. They are somewhat more noisy than what I had but personally this doesn't bother me, however it may bother you if you just want a sensible daily driver, in which case I'd recommend something else. All in all, I would definitely buy these again. I recommend them to loads of people as being the best value road tire for these cars.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (195/55 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Excellent hydroplaning resistance, good in dry, numb handling feel, comfortable, soft sidewalls. As long as you're not the type that pushes the car to the limit, this is an excellent tyre. Perfect for family car. I drive a proton waja fitted with coilovers and stiffen anti roll bars. Needless to say, road feedback is determined mostly by the tyre due to stiff characteristics of the suspension setup. I touge my car up Fraser's hill, Ulu yam,...etc occasionally. Driven on these tyres until it reaches the markers Here's my opinion, the sidewalls are too soft and causes a delayed response for corner entry or sudden lane changes. This gives the impression of losing control but it's actually all fine. Therefore it's not as predictable at the limits in the dry. The grip on these are superb and it can almost match semi slicks when it's warmed up. In the wet is where these tyre shine, it gives you full confidence in the wet. Never once hydroplaned in these tyres even after accidentally hitting puddles on highway speeds. In terms of comfort, it made my car feel very comfortable even though I'm on coilovers, some of my friends and family didn't even notice I'm on stiffen suspension. Noise level is also very low. It tends to wear on the outside due to the sidewall flex. But running some negative camber managed to balanced it out. Overall an impressive tyre and would buy again for a family car. For car enthusiasts, you probably want some other tyres which has stiffer sidewalls.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2020   
Given 73% while driving a Renault Clio 172 Cup (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought Clio Cup in 2017 with 2 x Uniroyal rainsport 3 and 2 x Toyo T1R fitted - Then fitted new 4 x new Toyo T1R as they had been recommended by a hard core clio nut. I couldn't resist a bargain (having picked them up for £30 per corner).but was never happy with the performance. The dry grip was OK but in the wet they were lethal. Having already switched from T1Rs on my Accord Type R to Michelin Pilot Sport 4 I decided to bite the bullet and get Michelin Pilot Sport 3 for the Clio. Better grip in the dry and now pretty good in the wet too, a great all year round tyre. After 5000 miles the average usable tread depth remaining is 4.6mm (to the legal limit bars). My main criticism is that feedback from the tyre is a little numb. My next tyre upgrade (for summer and track use only) will be Dunlop DZ03G and reduction in wheel size to 15". Moral of the story, never scrimp on tyres, it only costs in the long run. Buy the best available regardless of cost otherwise you never reach your car's potential.
5 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2020   
Daihatsu Perodua Myvi 1.3 SE (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Honestly one of the most worth it tyres to have.

Previous tyres was RE003, before changing to PS3.

Constant sprited driving in the "malaysian supercar". Casual Genting/Uluyam car.

Still grips and able to be pushed to car's limit even after over 50000km on tyres on dry. Wet performance have not deteriorated too bad.

Noise level was low at beginning, but gets louder over time. Still acceptable and not re003 loud.

This is the most reliable and well performed tyres so far.
20 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2019   
Given 60% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 150HP (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Very over estimated (and also over priced).

Weak handling and feedback in dry, they feel spongy all the time. To make it more sharp, buying new Bridgestone T005 (same size) gives you totally different league driving experience.

Definitely do not recommend PS3.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I bought my 2012 C180 CGI AMG about 6000 miles ago and it came with PS3s in the front. They were DOTxx15, so very high points on wear!
They had about 3 mm of thread when I bought the car and when changed them for the PS4s 10 days ago they still had 2 mm of thread! Main reason of changing before getting to the legal 1.6 mm is that I had a bolt stuck in one of the tire. (Yes, I drove the car for the last 2 months - about 1000 miles - knwoingly that I have an allen bolt stuck in one of the tires).
I was amazed how good they were even at the end of their life - 4 years old and only 2 mm of thread - going hard around roundabouts or cruising at high speeds on the motorway - no issues!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Audi A5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Originally had Pirelli Rosso Tyres on my 2015 A5 S-Line 1.8TSi, seemed to grip ok but first outing out on a motorway revealed terrific tyre noise roar which having been used to a almost deafly silence in a previous car which happen to have Michelins on was quite alarming. Although the Pirelli's were no where near worn I quickly replaced them with some PS3's, straight away this cut the road roar down to an acceptable level, don't have to turn the radio up so much now! The Michelins have also made the suspension a little more forgiving on the S-line's harsh ride and the dry grip is what you would expect from a Michelin.
The one thing it hasn't completely cured is the tramlining which probably is more to due to the width of the tyres and suspension set up,(appears to be a common complaint on the Audi) I have found that reducing the tyre pressure a couple of LBs has slightly improved that issue. Wet grip on quick get away is probably not as good as the Pirelli but again the car is crying out for traction control especially when the weight of the engine/gearbox on the A4/A5 is forward of the front axle.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2019   

See all 233 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>