Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 86%
Wear 76%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 80%

Tyre review data from 211 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 1,934,858 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 is ranked 17th of 62 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent rounded tyre with almost no weakness, excellent grip in the dry and wet, short braking distances and safe balance.
  • Negative - Average rolling resistance, not the most sporty feeling of the UHP tyres.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a tyre with almost no weaknesses, it has excellent grip in all conditions, good aquaplaning resistance, and a low noise. The only negative is that it's not the most responsive of tyres during the dry handling test.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty steering behaviour, excellent driving dynamics, good aquaplaning resistance, short braking distances.
  • Negative - Expensive.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 70 9.63kgs
205/55 R16 91W   E A 70 9.16kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   E A 70 9.13kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 71 8.24kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.90kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 10.10kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.67kgs
195/45 R17 81W   E A 70 8.09kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL         9.26kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.82kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.70kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL G1 C A 71 8.80kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL DT1 E B 71 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 71 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 70 11.34kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.51kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 9.66kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E A 70 9.44kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 11.34kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.29kgs
255/45 R17 98Y   E A 70 11.07kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 71 9.35kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 70 10.98kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 9.69kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.00kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 71 10.72kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 10.21kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 12.33kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 12.32kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E B 71 9.12kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL   E A 70 9.20kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL DT1 C A 71 8.90kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   E A 71 9.27kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71 9.66kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.78kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 C A 71 10.20kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.05kgs
235/40 R18 91W   E A 70 10.20kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL DT1 E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.78kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.73kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO E A 70 11.25kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 70 10.74kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 11.22kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL * B B 71 12.89kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 13.10kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 71 9.26kgs
215/45 R18 89Y   E A 70 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * C A 71 10.00kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * B B 71 11.70kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL MO C A 71 9.80kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E A 70 9.70kgs
225/45 R18 91W MO C A 70 9.65kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.40kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL A T0 B B 71 11.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.89kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
275/45 R18 107Y XL   C A 72 13.46kgs
225/50 R18 99Y XL   C A 70 11.22kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 70 11.26kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 70 11.83kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.53kgs
235/35 R19 87Y   E A 70 10.43kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 13.16kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * B A 72 13.60kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.85kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * A B 72 10.75kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * B A 72 12.70kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL VOL C A 71 12.35kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL A VOL C A 71 12.52kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 13.86kgs
295/40 R19 108Y XL N0 B B 73 14.28kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL * A B 71 10.20kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B A 71 10.55kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL MO C A 71 11.38kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   B A 71 11.30kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71 11.38kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL A AO B A 71 11.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 71 12.88kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AAOS1 B A 71 12.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL A AO C A 71 13.04kgs
265/45 R19 105Y XL N0 C B 71 13.56kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL NF0 B A 71 15.10kgs
225/55 R19 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.40kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 72 13.49kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL A N0 C A 73 15.30kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.76kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL A AO C A 71 12.80kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 13.67kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL A N0 C A 71 14.00kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL NF0 B B 71 14.96kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.34kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A N0 E B 71 13.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

2016-06-21 - I have a Nissan Leaf (electric). The fuel economy is important to me. How does the fuel economy of the Pilot Sport 4 compare with the original factory fitted Bridgestone Ecopia

The OE Ecopia tyre is a dedicated low rolling resistance tyre, whereas the Pilot Sport 4 is a sport tyre with low rolling resistance. While they've not been tested together, we would expect the Bridgestone to have the slight edge in rolling resistance, but the PS4 to have vastly better wet grip. You can also check the EU rolling resistance label score in your size to give you a better idea.


2016-05-21 - Are the pilot sport ok for a lotus evora 2009 na?

Assuming you can get the correct tyre size, there's no reason the Pilot Sport 4 wouldn't be a great tyre on a light car like the Evora. If you're coming from a more dry / track focused tyre, you might find you lose some steering feel with the Pilot Sport 4, but gain comfort.


2016-08-08 - Which is the country origin of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 , 245/45/17 ?

Here is the response from Michelin:
Pilot Sport 4 is made in Germany, France, Spain and Italy (in that order predominantly) but may be the odd ones from other plants.
We never have a definitive list size by size, because our quality structures are the same country to country, plant to plant and in most cases the compounds and carcass materials come from the same plants and are "assembled".
We know from testing we've done, we don't have the big differences with identical tyres made in different plants that some manufacturers have.


2016-10-13 - I am about to change my tyres on my merc E220. I have opted for the reviews on the Michelin Pilot sport 4 but cannot find a 225/50/R17 /98W or Y. Is it available and from where?

It doesn't look like a 225/50 R17 Pilot Sport 4 is available yet. More sizes are being produced all the time.


2017-04-05 - I have a mazda mx 5 . Is this tyre too good for this car . ? Is it quiet and comfortable ?

Yes, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is both quiet and comfortable. There are quieter tyres on the market however you would lose some sporty feel, which is important on a car like the MX5.


2017-08-17 - I am driving 2013 BMW 330D Xdrive with dimensions 225/45/R18 and I cant decide is it better to purchase Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or Continental Premium Contact 6??? It is very hard to find those two tyres in comparison in this dimensions! I am looking only for the best tyre!

This test should answer your questions. Pilot Sport 4 in 1st place, Premium Contact 6 in 3rd, using your size.


2017-09-06 - Hi there, I have an e39 M5.. usually use Michelin Super Sports which are priced the same as the PS4.. I have 18" wheels to PS4s isn't available in my size.. Which is a better tyre the Super Sport or the standard PS4 (no s)...

In 99% of cases, the newer PS4 is the better tyre. The PSS has the edge in dry grip, feedback and track day work, but if you're using the tyre on the road you won't be disappointed with the PS4.


2017-11-14 - BMW 318i with Contipremiumcontact 2, im looking to get some new tires didn't mind how these handled although they had slight under steer in wet if pushed im looking at PS4 and the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance only problem is the PS4 dont come in the current size on the car and the Goodyears do. My question is would there be a benefit coming down from 225/50/16 to 205/55/16 so i can fit these tires are they really that much better in the wet/dry/ect... that the loss of with wont matter

Without specific testing it is too difficult to answer properly, however it's worth noting you will have to declare the new tyre size as a modification to your insurance company which is reason enough to stay with the OE size.


2018-02-27 - Shouldn't this tire be labeled as "Ultra High Performance" and not "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Sport 3? The Pilot Sport 4 S is the "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Super Sport.

It's an interesting question. The Pilot Sport 4 is the direct replacement of the Pilot Sport 3, but Michelin moved the game on so much with regards to sporty handling and feel of the tyre it deserves to be in the higher category.


2018-03-17 - Hi, for a Honda Civic 1.8 petrol 2010 tyres 225/40/R18 Y XL would Michelin PS4 or Pirelli PZero PZ4 give best ride comfort? I know Goodyear Asmm. 3 offer good ride but currently I have Potenza S001 at front PS3 rear so concerned about softer sidewall of Goodyears. Many thanks.

I've not tested them back to back so I'm unsure which would be more comfortable, but if I had to guess based on experience I would say the P Zero PZ4 would be slightly more comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4.


2018-05-07 - Hello. My Audi A4 Quattro needs only Front Tyres at the moment. I would like to fit Pilot Sport 4. Do you think these will behave ok with the standard fit Hankook Ventus S1evo2 that are on the back? Thanks

Both tyres are produced within the allowable size guidelines so technically they should work fine together, however it might be worth checking owners forums to be sure.


2018-06-15 - Hi guys! I am using this tyre (Pilot Sport 4) on a Hyundai Genesis Coupe also equipped with B14 Bilstein coilovers... I have 225/40/19 front and 245/40/19 rear... BUT I still haven’t found a proper pressure tyre to set, in order to feel a good feedback and feeling from the car... I feel it not coumicative, and on the fast straight I find a little vagueness in the center if I move left/right of few cm on the steering (with pressure at 2.3 bar) What di you recommend??

Sadly the PS4 is a little vague due to the higher levels of comfort. I can't recommend anything specific, but a small amount of over inflation can help with steering response.


2018-07-31 - I really want PS4"S" for my 18inch E46 M3. BUT they are only 19 inch at the moment right? So given I want decent performance on track, do I go Cup2 or would these non "S" PS4's be ok?

Good news, subscribe to our youtube channel and hit the bell icon as in the next 2 weeks we have a PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup 2 video :)
https://www.youtube.com/user/tyrereviews


2018-09-05 - Hey there. I own a '06 Mercedes E550. I just bought a set of lighter 18'' rims and next summer, I want to fit new 245/40 tyres. I only drive 4000kms in the summer, rarely spirited, so wear is not a concern. Yet I demand a good steering response and light weight to make for a more nimble feel of the car. I think I wanna go with the PS4, yet I think about the Falken 510 also. In the past, I regretted fitting mid range tyres. But due to the low miles, and the good test, I feel like giving the 510s a try. Yet I fear that they will be overwhelmed by the weight of the car and the V8 on the front axle. Would you recommend just going with the PS4 or could the 510s be an option?

I'm not sure either the PS4 or FK510 will be the answer to your question, both have quite soft sidewalls. If steering precision is your drive above all else, something like the Vredestein Vorti R might be a good tyre to look into.


2018-10-29 - I going to replace my Jaguer XF3.0 tyre, previously I tried Pzero and Pilot Super sport. could you please comment if I change to PS4 (no S), I'm not an aggressive driver, want maintain the sport feeling but a little more comfort and silent...

The PS4 won't feel as sporty as the Pilot Super Sport, but will certainly more comfortable and quieter and it has excellent wet grip, so would be a good choice for your Jag.


2019-03-18 - Hello! I'm about to replace the Michelin Energy tires on my VW Golf5. I'd like to extract more sportiness and feel out of the car while retaining a solid and safe daily driver with nice comfort and low noise. Aiming for the Pilot Sport 4 or the PremiumContact 6. The Golf is not a sports car but since i dont wear tyres too fast, the price premium is not that much considering the relative small 205/55 R16 size, so both fits within my budget. Which one would you think suit me (or the car) better? I heard a few complaints about the PS4-s behaving jelly-like when pushed. Im aware that a road tyre in this size, no matter the brand, wont give the kind of feedback as a smaller sidewall variant with a bigger wheel would, so that behaviour might still be the same with a PC6-s in the same size. Whats your take on this? Thank you in advance, and keep up the great content!

The differences between the Pilot Sport 4 and PremiumContact 6 are now so small both tyres will be an excellent option if available in your size.


2019-05-05 - I am driving 2008 Audi A5 1.8 TFSI 170 FWD and I can't decide whether to go for Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 (93Y) or Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 93Y AO. Would there be any differences? May AO tire be "outdated" in 2019? What is your recommendation?

Generally with OE marked tyres it's recommended to go with the correct version where possible as this will have been tuned to work with the vehicle suspension etc. The PS4 isn't old enough to worry about the AO version being out of date.


2019-08-19 - There I have a VW Mk5 GTI (FWD) with coilover suspension and the car is modified around 300hp, I mainly drive on the road and would like to do a bit of track during the year (also we have around 185 days of rain in average per year). Do you think that tire would be suitable for that use? (225/40R18 92Y)

We suggest looking at our video comparing all three Michelin Pilot tyres here.


2019-08-30 - I have a Volvo V60 with 235/40R18 W95 fitted. As the Ixion alloys seem to have a ridiculously wide edge to the rim, is the rim protector on the Pilot Sport 4 a decent size? Also, would up-sizing to a 245 width increase the size of said rim protection? Are there any other recommendations you can make for the largest rim protection you're aware of?

Rim protection varies by tyre size, and wheel width also plays a huge factor so it's impossible to say with any accuracy. Changing tyre size is also impossible to recommended due to the many other factors it effects.


2019-10-22 - Hi guys, i'm driving a Ford Fiesta MK8 with this Michelin Pilot Sport 4. I'm in italy and here temperatures never go below 0C, or in any case there is never snow and ice but just rain. I've to buy winter tires, or can I go with this Michelin all of the year? I used them for a winter, and seems they went very cool.

Below around 5c in the wet, a winter tyre will offer an advantage, but in the dry, the PS4 will always have the better grip. If you're not seeing snow or ice, there's no issues with running the Pilot Sport 4 all year.


2019-12-02 - I want to replace the standard Bridgestone Potenza's on my MX-5 ND 2.0 with a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 but which exact spec is best? Michelin's website recommends 205/45 ZR17 (88Y) DT1, 205/45 ZR17 88W or 205/45 ZR17 (88Y). However, the dealership also mentioned a choice of 205/45 R17 88V G1. Speed index of V should be sufficient for the car (240km/h rated tyre should be fine for the car's 214km/h top speed). But what does G1 mean? The G1 model is has a C fuel efficiency label while the others all have E. Should the G1 behave the same as the Y DT1, Y or W tyre?

Interestingly, G1 indicates that the outside diameter or tread width differ from a tyre without this marking. We recommend to fit matching G1s on the same axle, or a set of 4 for all wheel drive. In this case, I'd go with a normal, non g1 fitment.


2020-05-30 - Do you think that jelly sensation that a lat o people talk about when the tyre are pushed very hard, is it solved by choosing the ZP (run flat) model (that should have the side wall reinforced)?

In theory the runflat version of the tyre will not have that steering delay, but there are many negatives associated with runflats that are equally as undesirable.


2020-07-03 - I'm looking to replace all 4 Pilot Super sports on my 2015 M135i. I have the option to go for the PS4 or the PSS. What's the main difference between the two? Will I notice the difference in wet/cold grip in regular daily driving? I'm happy to stick with the PSS but if the difference is minimal then I'll save myself £150 and go for the PS4's.

I would suggest watching this video comparing the PS4S to PSS. The PS4 will be similar to the PS4S, only with a little more comfort.


2020-10-23 - I want my car to have less hydroplane and very good grip in wet. Which one is better between PS4 and PS4S?

In theory, the PS4, but it will be very close. Check out or UHP Summer test which includes aquaplaning.


2020-11-25 - Alfa Mito 135 (215/45/R17) looking to replace my P Zero Neros for some Pilot Sports, I do enjoy some spirited driving now and again hence choosing the Pirellis last time. but for a daily driver, would the Pilot Spots be the better all-rounder over the year? looking to improve on the tyre noise and economy whilst maintaining high levels of grip in all-weathers.

Certain people report the Pilot Sport 4 getting a little noisy as it wears so maybe the goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 would be a better option.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport 4 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £76.70 - £230.89 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £89.30 - £113.99 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £83.20 - £127.79 (58 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £131.70 - £213.83 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £138.60 - £149.88 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 106 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tyre out, however my initial observations are as follows:

Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytyres, however tyreloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tyres. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tyre on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tyre and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tyres to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tyres.
204 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2016   
Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 300 average miles
Had these on my mk5 Golf GTI for a couple of weeks before changing back to Conti Sport Contact 5s.

The PS4s were simply outstanding for steering feel and precision and wet grip. However, I couldn't live with their very sharp ride and intrusive high-pitched whining. The CSC5s are probably at 95+% of the PS4s good attributes(steering, wet grip), but with a more forgiving ride and less noise.
58 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 200 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Tried the Pilot Sport 4 back to back with the Michelin Primacy 4, i.e. all tires were brand new and I compared the same car on the same day with both models of tires.

In all respects I'd the Primacy 4 tires are the best tires I've tried so far and much better than the Continenal PremiumContact I had earlier.

The main problem with Pilot Sport 4 are that they feel very hard. The road feedback is good, but it's a hard and unpleasant ride compared to Primacy 4.
45 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2018   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
So i use my tires on my daily mx5 NC, it heavy modified and before covid i used it daily for work. On the weekends nice fast drives and 4 times per year track driving or autocross. What do I think off it? I think its the best tire ever owned. Let me explain why: The dry handling is great, loads of grip and when over the limit very controllable. When sliding or drifting the tires does not kill you all of a sudden. Its always keeps in form no surprises In the wet its a extension of the dry, you can pretty much still race around without any TCS or abs moments because the tires have so much grip understeer only comes when driving crazy speeds and heavy rain is also fine. Since i use them on a MX5 with a weight of 1 ton, aquaplaning is always an option because of the wide tires + low weight. Braking is amazing, and you feel save. Driving on the highway in rain and having to brake hard breaks no sweat. They do wear faster then budget tires, but i drive way faster then other people so getting 15.000 miles+ out of a set that also did circuit driving is pretty good. The price? Yes they are expensive, but it's the only connection to the road and its makes the car so much better. Even tho a set on a MX5 225/45/17 costs between €500/600 i still think its not that expensive if you know what the tires can give you in fun, safety and life. 10/10 would buy again. Are you focused on more track driving? Get the cup2s i have them on the MX5 now for track driving and daily driving, in the winter they can get slippery but above 10 degrees celcius its fine. Also even tho its a semi, it still does good in the rain. Just be alert., and don't drive like a maniac. Cheers!
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021   
Given 67% while driving a Renault Megane RS265 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
The tyre comfortable and has an OK level of dry grip. It's is a perfect fit for a fast tourer or a car that mostly drives the highways. However when i took my Megane RS out of the city for a ride i found the tyres very limiting as the temperature was getting higher. I put them on in July and when I was swapping them for winters in November the fronts were already nearly dead. I swapped them with the rear set for the next season, but after a month i my rear axle started drifting badly. So after 10 months I'm buying a new set. Note: The retailer i bought the PS4 from made a mistake as I ordered the PS4S originally, but as tyres were already on the car when I found out i decided to give them a shot. And they proved not to be a good fit for an aggressive driving style.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 74% while driving a Ford fiesta st (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,400 spirited miles
Very good summer tire but they have a problem and it's that after mid life they lose many properties. I will probably not buy them again because that and because they are very expensive. I will try the new goodyear supersport.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Audi RS3 8V (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
This is the second RS3 I’ve owned, and up until now I’ve kept to the stock Pirelli Zeros. The stock tyres were fine, but had a habit of tramlining white lines, which I grew to find annoying. Time for a change! I wanted a summer tyre that performed well in the wet (hey, this is the UK), so after reading lots of reviews, thought I’d give the Sports a go. The bad bits first: they do wear faster, and they do make more road noise, especially on hard surfaces (like the patches of concrete on the motorway). They are also notably squarer and wider than the Pirelli for the same tyre size (I have 255/30 on all four wheels), so if you are running tight clearances on the Pirellis, you’ll likely be rubbing with the Sports. I’d also say that the performance degrades faster in the cold than the Pirellis too. Not a problem for me, as I tend to swap to winters though. So, the good bits: no more tramlining. And the wet performance is much better than the Pirelli: feels very stable in standing water. The grip on hard corners is also better, and I thought the tendency to bump-steer was reduced. The feel between the two tyres is actually pretty different. I’d say, when unloaded (such as in a straight line) in general the Pirelli feels more stable at speed. However, this is more of a “feel” thing, as when I have actually pushed the car hard, the Sports feel like they are more controlled, and the breakaway point is more predictable. Note: try running the Sports at the higher tyre inflation values. For me, the low values just feel vague and floaty, whereas the higher ones feel more precise.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2021   
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Got them for new on my Golf 6 GTI which is a tuned Stage 2 FWD Hothatch. They handle the power amazingly, dry and wet, really surprised with the wet grip. Pilot Sport 4S were not available in the 18s when I got these, but these are amazing in the performance department. Comfort is what you would expect, is fine overall nothing to complain about considering the setup. Wheelspin is very little on ideal conditions, really puts the power down and in the wet as well, they just fly. Wear could be better but considering the spirited driving I've done, is not too bad. Ran them for two season, but sold them These tires are real good for their price point, definitely above the competition in this price range. Keen to try the 4S now as I upgraded to 19s for the summer, but might not happen as I've got them with Hankook Ventus V12 Evo2, 6 tires, so might take a while to go through all of them. Gonna run them and see how they behave.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2021   
Given 76% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Initially I had a shortlist of 3 tyres. Those were pretty much the go-to usual suspects for smaller diameter wheels. They were the PS4's obviously,continental premium contact 6 and Goodyear eagle F1 asymmetric 5. I would have been happy with any to be fair, but what swung it was the price funnily enough, as Michelin seem to always be the most expensive. At the time of buying there was a cash back offer for buying 2 or 4 at a time, I got 4 and had 50 pounds refunded and this took the price to around 35 pounds cheaper than the next tyre. Watching a number of you tube video reviews a couple mentioned the PS4's were ironically the least 'sporty' of the three tyres given its naming, which slightly put me off the Michelin. As a result when the price suprise came about I had to think of a possible way of mitigating this possible issue. Having never had these tyres on before, this was effectively a guess. I decided to go with an XL load rating like I do with my winter tyres, which generally works well. The result is what can best described as a firm ride. I've not played around with tyre pressures as yet, so there what ever the tyre fitter put in, they didn't throw the pressure sensors off, so won't be far off. They generally go for 30psi and they should be 32, so it could get worse! It is really noticeable on motorways and as a result I think the adaptive suspension will never be used while these are on(it ruins the ride quality on the softest tyres without give back much in increased handling). The upside of this possibility is the turn-in they have,the civic has reasonably fast steering and this tyre doesn't detract from that. The grip these have in the dry are fantastic frankly, I can't say too much on the braking side due to the well below par pagid pads that are in at the moment (new OEM Honda's going back in), but what I can throw at them is impressive. Once the brakes are sorted I think these will be really impressive. I can't comment on wet weather performance, but reviews are placing them high up there. If it's at the same level as the dry performance then these will be a special tyre. On the relatively short mileage I've done on these I've already come to a conclusion they will be going back on for sure, only with the standard side wall strength hoping it doesn't affect turn-in too much. Excellent tyre for sure.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2021   
Given 46% while driving a Honda S2000 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Moderate grip in dry setting and same with wet. There's a lot of understeer because of how soft the sidewalls are which also dull the feeling of the steering and response. For a sport tire this is truly rubbish quality made in Vietnam by a big brand. Wear is OK and comfort is not better. To simply put it, good for the price but not a sport tire.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2021   
Given 67% while driving a Mercedes Benz C320 cdi (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Grip itself is awesome on both dry and wet surfaces. However sidewals are so weak, at higher speeds in the corner you could feel the tire moving and the whole car would "dance". That wasn't the case with my Continental TS860 winter tyres, which were superior when it comes to high speed cornering. I'm comparing it to this tyre because it was the only tyre I drove with that car, beside EcoContact5 which I immediately replaced with Michelin because Eco on rain is like they're made from plastic. It may behave better on lighter cars. Mine was around 1700kg.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2021   
Peugeot (205/55 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
I use these as my summer set (in place of an unknown brand fitted by the previous owner). Compared to the previous ones, this is like changing your car. The balance is neutral, predictable, communicative enough (not the best in that regard, the Pilot Super Sport win in that regard), very grippy in the dry (brand new or at 1.6mm, good to be replaced), as good grip in the wet (but as expected, loose more grip in wet driving when the tires wear) and not too noisy. The price is great (70€ per tire in my tyre shop which is also good and car setup). The wear is fine, the front are shot at 15000 to 20000km (I drive a lot on the front end) and the rear does double that. If you can find them at the same kind of price as I do (20-30€ cheaper than on the web), go ahead.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen polo gti 1.8t (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
The PilotSport 4 tyres on my Stage 2 Polo GTI 1.8T are amazing. Just so you get an understanding this is a car that weighs 1234kg-ish but has 260bhp and 452nm of torque, The wheelspin is ridiculous... These tyres are a massive saviour, I tested a few different tyres and even though these may not last aslong as most average tyres since they do wear out slightly faster than your average bridgestones they definitely perform above and beyond your expectations, The small 215 width was not enough for the car but once its moving those pilotsports keep you on track and keep your car going exactly where you point it. Understeering was rare even if slightly speeding on roundabouts. So far nothing can compete with these tyres in my opinion, They lasted about 8000 miles (Unsure of the exact mileage when they was fitted) and then needed replacing
2 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2021   
Given 30% while driving a Audi TT 2.0 Quattro (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I had Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyres prior to purchasing a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and the two don't even compare. I used to be able to throw my car around roundabouts and country roads in both wet and dry weather without a single worry but since I got the Michelin tyres I have had to calm my driving style drastically! I barely dare to overtake now when the roads are dry let alone when they are wet because these tyres just don't grip very well at all and has sent me fishtailing on a few occasions. My fuel consumption has gone down by around 100 miles per full tank with these tyres too which is dreadful considering I've been forced to slow my driving down. I bought the Pilot Sport 4s because of the reviews and a few people recommending them to me (one of which was a fellow TT quattro owner) but I can only say that I've been nothing other than disappointed with these. I will never buy another set of Michelin tyres after the experience I've had with these, thats for certain, and they aren't exactly cheap either! Complete waste of money!
22 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz C300 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
It is great tyre overall .... good on both wet and dry conditions ... great at cornering .... No aquaplaning on wet roads ... slow wearing ..... and comfort.
9 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2021