Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 85%
Wear 75%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 231 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 2,185,858 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 is ranked 17th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent rounded tyre with almost no weakness, excellent grip in the dry and wet, short braking distances and safe balance.
  • Negative - Not the most sporty feeling of the UHP tyres.
  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a tyre with almost no weaknesses, it has excellent grip in all conditions, good aquaplaning resistance, and a low noise. The only negative is that it's not the most responsive of tyres during the dry handling test.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty steering behaviour, excellent driving dynamics, good aquaplaning resistance, short braking distances.
  • Negative - Expensive.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 70 9.63kgs
205/55 R16 91W   E A 70 9.16kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   E A 70 9.13kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 71 8.24kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.90kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 10.10kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.67kgs
195/45 R17 81W   E A 70 8.09kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL         9.26kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.82kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.70kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL G1 C A 71 8.80kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL DT1 E B 71 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 71 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 70 11.34kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.51kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 9.66kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E A 70 9.44kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 11.34kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.29kgs
255/45 R17 98Y   E A 70 11.07kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 71 9.35kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 70 10.98kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 9.69kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.00kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 71 10.72kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 10.21kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 12.33kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 12.32kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E B 71 9.12kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL   E A 70 9.20kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL DT1 C A 71 8.90kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   E A 71 9.27kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71 9.66kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.78kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 C A 71 10.20kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.05kgs
235/40 R18 91W   E A 70 10.20kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL DT1 E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.78kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.73kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO E A 70 11.25kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 70 10.74kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 11.22kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL * B B 71 12.89kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 13.10kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 71 9.26kgs
215/45 R18 89Y   E A 70 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * C A 71 10.00kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * B B 71 11.70kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL MO C A 71 9.80kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E A 70 9.70kgs
225/45 R18 91W MO C A 70 9.65kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.40kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL A T0 B B 71 11.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.89kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
275/45 R18 107Y XL   C A 72 13.46kgs
225/50 R18 99Y XL   C A 70 11.22kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 70 11.26kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 70 11.83kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.53kgs
235/35 R19 87Y   E A 70 10.43kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 13.16kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * B A 72 13.60kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.85kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * A B 72 10.75kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * B A 72 12.70kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL VOL C A 71 12.35kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL A VOL C A 71 12.52kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 13.86kgs
295/40 R19 108Y XL N0 B B 73 14.28kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL * A B 71 10.20kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B A 71 10.55kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL MO C A 71 11.38kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   B A 71 11.30kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71 11.38kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL A AO B A 71 11.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 71 12.88kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AAOS1 B A 71 12.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL A AO C A 71 13.04kgs
265/45 R19 105Y XL N0 C B 71 13.56kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL NF0 B A 71 15.10kgs
225/55 R19 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.40kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 72 13.49kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL A N0 C A 73 15.30kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.76kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL A AO C A 71 12.80kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 13.67kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL A N0 C A 71 14.00kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL NF0 B B 71 14.96kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.34kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A N0 E B 71 13.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

2016-06-21 - I have a Nissan Leaf (electric). The fuel economy is important to me. How does the fuel economy of the Pilot Sport 4 compare with the original factory fitted Bridgestone Ecopia

The OE Ecopia tyre is a dedicated low rolling resistance tyre, whereas the Pilot Sport 4 is a sport tyre with low rolling resistance. While they've not been tested together, we would expect the Bridgestone to have the slight edge in rolling resistance, but the PS4 to have vastly better wet grip. You can also check the EU rolling resistance label score in your size to give you a better idea.


2016-05-21 - Are the pilot sport ok for a lotus evora 2009 na?

Assuming you can get the correct tyre size, there's no reason the Pilot Sport 4 wouldn't be a great tyre on a light car like the Evora. If you're coming from a more dry / track focused tyre, you might find you lose some steering feel with the Pilot Sport 4, but gain comfort.


2016-08-08 - Which is the country origin of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 , 245/45/17 ?

Here is the response from Michelin:
Pilot Sport 4 is made in Germany, France, Spain and Italy (in that order predominantly) but may be the odd ones from other plants.
We never have a definitive list size by size, because our quality structures are the same country to country, plant to plant and in most cases the compounds and carcass materials come from the same plants and are "assembled".
We know from testing we've done, we don't have the big differences with identical tyres made in different plants that some manufacturers have.


2016-10-13 - I am about to change my tyres on my merc E220. I have opted for the reviews on the Michelin Pilot sport 4 but cannot find a 225/50/R17 /98W or Y. Is it available and from where?

It doesn't look like a 225/50 R17 Pilot Sport 4 is available yet. More sizes are being produced all the time.


2017-04-05 - I have a mazda mx 5 . Is this tyre too good for this car . ? Is it quiet and comfortable ?

Yes, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is both quiet and comfortable. There are quieter tyres on the market however you would lose some sporty feel, which is important on a car like the MX5.


2017-08-17 - I am driving 2013 BMW 330D Xdrive with dimensions 225/45/R18 and I cant decide is it better to purchase Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or Continental Premium Contact 6??? It is very hard to find those two tyres in comparison in this dimensions! I am looking only for the best tyre!

This test should answer your questions. Pilot Sport 4 in 1st place, Premium Contact 6 in 3rd, using your size.


2017-09-06 - Hi there, I have an e39 M5.. usually use Michelin Super Sports which are priced the same as the PS4.. I have 18" wheels to PS4s isn't available in my size.. Which is a better tyre the Super Sport or the standard PS4 (no s)...

In 99% of cases, the newer PS4 is the better tyre. The PSS has the edge in dry grip, feedback and track day work, but if you're using the tyre on the road you won't be disappointed with the PS4.


2017-11-14 - BMW 318i with Contipremiumcontact 2, im looking to get some new tires didn't mind how these handled although they had slight under steer in wet if pushed im looking at PS4 and the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance only problem is the PS4 dont come in the current size on the car and the Goodyears do. My question is would there be a benefit coming down from 225/50/16 to 205/55/16 so i can fit these tires are they really that much better in the wet/dry/ect... that the loss of with wont matter

Without specific testing it is too difficult to answer properly, however it's worth noting you will have to declare the new tyre size as a modification to your insurance company which is reason enough to stay with the OE size.


2018-02-27 - Shouldn't this tire be labeled as "Ultra High Performance" and not "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Sport 3? The Pilot Sport 4 S is the "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Super Sport.

It's an interesting question. The Pilot Sport 4 is the direct replacement of the Pilot Sport 3, but Michelin moved the game on so much with regards to sporty handling and feel of the tyre it deserves to be in the higher category.


2018-03-17 - Hi, for a Honda Civic 1.8 petrol 2010 tyres 225/40/R18 Y XL would Michelin PS4 or Pirelli PZero PZ4 give best ride comfort? I know Goodyear Asmm. 3 offer good ride but currently I have Potenza S001 at front PS3 rear so concerned about softer sidewall of Goodyears. Many thanks.

I've not tested them back to back so I'm unsure which would be more comfortable, but if I had to guess based on experience I would say the P Zero PZ4 would be slightly more comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4.


2018-05-07 - Hello. My Audi A4 Quattro needs only Front Tyres at the moment. I would like to fit Pilot Sport 4. Do you think these will behave ok with the standard fit Hankook Ventus S1evo2 that are on the back? Thanks

Both tyres are produced within the allowable size guidelines so technically they should work fine together, however it might be worth checking owners forums to be sure.


2018-06-15 - Hi guys! I am using this tyre (Pilot Sport 4) on a Hyundai Genesis Coupe also equipped with B14 Bilstein coilovers... I have 225/40/19 front and 245/40/19 rear... BUT I still haven’t found a proper pressure tyre to set, in order to feel a good feedback and feeling from the car... I feel it not coumicative, and on the fast straight I find a little vagueness in the center if I move left/right of few cm on the steering (with pressure at 2.3 bar) What di you recommend??

Sadly the PS4 is a little vague due to the higher levels of comfort. I can't recommend anything specific, but a small amount of over inflation can help with steering response.


2018-07-31 - I really want PS4"S" for my 18inch E46 M3. BUT they are only 19 inch at the moment right? So given I want decent performance on track, do I go Cup2 or would these non "S" PS4's be ok?

Good news, subscribe to our youtube channel and hit the bell icon as in the next 2 weeks we have a PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup 2 video :)
https://www.youtube.com/user/tyrereviews


2018-09-05 - Hey there. I own a '06 Mercedes E550. I just bought a set of lighter 18'' rims and next summer, I want to fit new 245/40 tyres. I only drive 4000kms in the summer, rarely spirited, so wear is not a concern. Yet I demand a good steering response and light weight to make for a more nimble feel of the car. I think I wanna go with the PS4, yet I think about the Falken 510 also. In the past, I regretted fitting mid range tyres. But due to the low miles, and the good test, I feel like giving the 510s a try. Yet I fear that they will be overwhelmed by the weight of the car and the V8 on the front axle. Would you recommend just going with the PS4 or could the 510s be an option?

I'm not sure either the PS4 or FK510 will be the answer to your question, both have quite soft sidewalls. If steering precision is your drive above all else, something like the Vredestein Vorti R might be a good tyre to look into.


2018-10-29 - I going to replace my Jaguer XF3.0 tyre, previously I tried Pzero and Pilot Super sport. could you please comment if I change to PS4 (no S), I'm not an aggressive driver, want maintain the sport feeling but a little more comfort and silent...

The PS4 won't feel as sporty as the Pilot Super Sport, but will certainly more comfortable and quieter and it has excellent wet grip, so would be a good choice for your Jag.


2019-03-18 - Hello! I'm about to replace the Michelin Energy tires on my VW Golf5. I'd like to extract more sportiness and feel out of the car while retaining a solid and safe daily driver with nice comfort and low noise. Aiming for the Pilot Sport 4 or the PremiumContact 6. The Golf is not a sports car but since i dont wear tyres too fast, the price premium is not that much considering the relative small 205/55 R16 size, so both fits within my budget. Which one would you think suit me (or the car) better? I heard a few complaints about the PS4-s behaving jelly-like when pushed. Im aware that a road tyre in this size, no matter the brand, wont give the kind of feedback as a smaller sidewall variant with a bigger wheel would, so that behaviour might still be the same with a PC6-s in the same size. Whats your take on this? Thank you in advance, and keep up the great content!

The differences between the Pilot Sport 4 and PremiumContact 6 are now so small both tyres will be an excellent option if available in your size.


2019-05-05 - I am driving 2008 Audi A5 1.8 TFSI 170 FWD and I can't decide whether to go for Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 (93Y) or Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 93Y AO. Would there be any differences? May AO tire be "outdated" in 2019? What is your recommendation?

Generally with OE marked tyres it's recommended to go with the correct version where possible as this will have been tuned to work with the vehicle suspension etc. The PS4 isn't old enough to worry about the AO version being out of date.


2019-08-19 - There I have a VW Mk5 GTI (FWD) with coilover suspension and the car is modified around 300hp, I mainly drive on the road and would like to do a bit of track during the year (also we have around 185 days of rain in average per year). Do you think that tire would be suitable for that use? (225/40R18 92Y)

We suggest looking at our video comparing all three Michelin Pilot tyres here.


2019-08-30 - I have a Volvo V60 with 235/40R18 W95 fitted. As the Ixion alloys seem to have a ridiculously wide edge to the rim, is the rim protector on the Pilot Sport 4 a decent size? Also, would up-sizing to a 245 width increase the size of said rim protection? Are there any other recommendations you can make for the largest rim protection you're aware of?

Rim protection varies by tyre size, and wheel width also plays a huge factor so it's impossible to say with any accuracy. Changing tyre size is also impossible to recommended due to the many other factors it effects.


2019-10-22 - Hi guys, i'm driving a Ford Fiesta MK8 with this Michelin Pilot Sport 4. I'm in italy and here temperatures never go below 0C, or in any case there is never snow and ice but just rain. I've to buy winter tires, or can I go with this Michelin all of the year? I used them for a winter, and seems they went very cool.

Below around 5c in the wet, a winter tyre will offer an advantage, but in the dry, the PS4 will always have the better grip. If you're not seeing snow or ice, there's no issues with running the Pilot Sport 4 all year.


2019-12-02 - I want to replace the standard Bridgestone Potenza's on my MX-5 ND 2.0 with a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 but which exact spec is best? Michelin's website recommends 205/45 ZR17 (88Y) DT1, 205/45 ZR17 88W or 205/45 ZR17 (88Y). However, the dealership also mentioned a choice of 205/45 R17 88V G1. Speed index of V should be sufficient for the car (240km/h rated tyre should be fine for the car's 214km/h top speed). But what does G1 mean? The G1 model is has a C fuel efficiency label while the others all have E. Should the G1 behave the same as the Y DT1, Y or W tyre?

Interestingly, G1 indicates that the outside diameter or tread width differ from a tyre without this marking. We recommend to fit matching G1s on the same axle, or a set of 4 for all wheel drive. In this case, I'd go with a normal, non g1 fitment.


2020-05-30 - Do you think that jelly sensation that a lat o people talk about when the tyre are pushed very hard, is it solved by choosing the ZP (run flat) model (that should have the side wall reinforced)?

In theory the runflat version of the tyre will not have that steering delay, but there are many negatives associated with runflats that are equally as undesirable.


2020-07-03 - I'm looking to replace all 4 Pilot Super sports on my 2015 M135i. I have the option to go for the PS4 or the PSS. What's the main difference between the two? Will I notice the difference in wet/cold grip in regular daily driving? I'm happy to stick with the PSS but if the difference is minimal then I'll save myself £150 and go for the PS4's.

I would suggest watching this video comparing the PS4S to PSS. The PS4 will be similar to the PS4S, only with a little more comfort.


2020-10-23 - I want my car to have less hydroplane and very good grip in wet. Which one is better between PS4 and PS4S?

In theory, the PS4, but it will be very close. Check out or UHP Summer test which includes aquaplaning.


2020-11-25 - Alfa Mito 135 (215/45/R17) looking to replace my P Zero Neros for some Pilot Sports, I do enjoy some spirited driving now and again hence choosing the Pirellis last time. but for a daily driver, would the Pilot Spots be the better all-rounder over the year? looking to improve on the tyre noise and economy whilst maintaining high levels of grip in all-weathers.

Certain people report the Pilot Sport 4 getting a little noisy as it wears so maybe the goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 would be a better option.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport 4 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £79.74 - £102.04 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £87.99 - £124.37 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £86.59 - £133.00 (61 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £131.69 - £213.83 (55 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £140.79 - £156.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 107 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tyre out, however my initial observations are as follows:

Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytyres, however tyreloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tyres. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tyre on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tyre and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tyres to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tyres.
214 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2016   
Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 300 average miles
Had these on my mk5 Golf GTI for a couple of weeks before changing back to Conti Sport Contact 5s.

The PS4s were simply outstanding for steering feel and precision and wet grip. However, I couldn't live with their very sharp ride and intrusive high-pitched whining. The CSC5s are probably at 95+% of the PS4s good attributes(steering, wet grip), but with a more forgiving ride and less noise.
65 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 200 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Tried the Pilot Sport 4 back to back with the Michelin Primacy 4, i.e. all tires were brand new and I compared the same car on the same day with both models of tires.

In all respects I'd the Primacy 4 tires are the best tires I've tried so far and much better than the Continenal PremiumContact I had earlier.

The main problem with Pilot Sport 4 are that they feel very hard. The road feedback is good, but it's a hard and unpleasant ride compared to Primacy 4.
59 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2018   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Volkswagen e Golf (205/45 R16) on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
My comments are for the ZR (XL) version, used on my 2018 e-golf. These are the first set of replacement tyres I've bought and a huge step up from the energy saver original tyres. The benefits have been huge, and the icing on the cake is the efficiency has not dropped on the "C' rated PS4. The lateral G on roundabouts feels very high and compatible to track day tyres on previous cars. Its still possible to break traction on damp roads with electric car power delivery, but in general the tyre limits are above what I'm going to get upto on the public road. can't comment on wear yet, but noise & comfort are what i expect from Michelin.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021   
Given 70% while driving a Ford Focus (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I write this review with mixed feelings, maybe all the prizes got me a little too hypped. Fact is, I've driven this tyres for 10 thousand KM including some good 50 track day laps and now it's time to say goodbye (they are gone despite my belief that they shouId've lasted longer). I've never felt so confident whenever breaking or also when driving on wet roads, you just knew whatever was going on the road, but this amount of feedback would naturally lead to a caveat... feeling each and every pothole (and, believe me, there are plenty of them in Sao Paulo) makes cruising around boring and painful. The most disappointing thing about it was the grip. Don't get me wrong, It had plenty but, I expected much more from them and up until now I still can't believe in the amount of wheeI spin that a 115 hp car could get on these tyres without that much effort. Good tyres, but now I'm testing something else.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 73% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
The tyre is a bit weird. The car might have good handling but it feels like there is no connection between the driver and the road. Its just like neutral…
9 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2021   
Given 57% while driving a Mazda 6 GH 2.5 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 17,400 spirited miles
After 2 seasons and 28000km it is not UHP tyre. Around 10000km wet grip decreased to 70%, around 20000km dry grip decreased to about 70% and soften sidewalls. They are at the end of life altough my car is not sportscar - Mazda 6 GH 2.5 (2007). I will not buy this expensive tyres again and will look for some Goodyear - apparently Assymetric 5 or Supersport.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2021   
Given 70% while driving a BMW 135i (245/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
These tyres wear quickly if you are constantly pulling, 6 months and I am at 2mm. I may go back to PSSs as they seem to be more hard wearing.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2021   
Honda FRV (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These are by far the best tyres I’ve ever used. For years I have used mid range energy saving tyres from the likes of Dunlop and Goodyear but became frustrated with loosing traction in even slightly damp conditions pulling out of junctions and onto roundabouts etc. Even under light/medium throttle the front wheels would spin up. It’s just a 2.2 diesel but quite torquey. With the PS4 fitted it has transformed the car, over the past 18 months since I had these I have never lost traction the same way as before. I’ve noticed no change to fuel economy either despite these being rated lower. I’m about 10000 miles into these now, the rears still look new with the fronts still looking like they’re good for at least another 10K. They inspire more confidence in handling rain or shine and I’d never go back to using other mid range tyres again. Don’t think if you drive an average car like mine then it’s not worth it . All cars, performance or not can benefit greatly from these tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2021   
Given 53% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Pros: + Grips quite well in the rain + Good comfort for a low profile tyre. Not the best in this segment but still does well. + Good MPG as long as tyres are with correct PSI for the car. + Good braking distance Cons: - Performance of the tyre really drops off when tread depth starts to go below 5mm. - Steering precision also drops off badly the more the tyre is used. - Steering feel can be lacking - Can wear out quick. This I attribute to how soft the tyres are. Overall: Despite the great reviews I have seen for the PS4 tyres, I cannot say the same thing. When I got them brand new, they performed well. With time & usage though, I noticed the performance & feel of the tyres was dropping off even though there was still plenty of tread depth left. They also start to wear quicker too, which seems to be caused with how soft the tyres are. At least even with the wear, braking distance & wet weather performance was still remaining ok. If you always do spirited driving, then you could be disappointed the more these tyres lose their edge quite quckly over time. Maybe the problem could be that the Octavia VRS being a heavy car, was eventually too much for the soft Michelin PS4 tyres. Before this, I had Bridgestones which were a lot harder. Although the Bridgestones had much less comfort, they were more consistent & did not wear off anywhere near as much as the Michelins. My guess is that the Bridgestones could take the heavy weight of the car better thanks to its stiffer overall construction. In my view, the Michelin PS4 is a safe & an ok tyre as long as you are not into spirited driving or you don't have a performance orientated car. Just be aware of how they can wear quite quickly as shared with my experience.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2021   
Given 73% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,500 spirited miles
This is a follow up review as I've now put some miles on this set. My initial opinion on dry grip remains the same, very impressive. The one slight downside I've found is this tyre doesn't give a great impression on initial turn in, it hard to pin down, but it just doesn't feel sporty for want of a better word. Once the first input has been put in it's clear there's lots of grip to be had. I opted for an XL rating to take any potential floating feeling out of the tyre (relatively soft side wall/construction had been mentioned in reviews) and these tyres certainly don't suffer from that sensation you can get with say cheaper winter tyres or my experience with Uniroyal rainsports. The downside is the really harsh ride quality (I mentioned in my previous review about it effectively ruling out using the adaptive suspension) Performance in the wet is equally excellent, depending on the amount of water there is. ESP kicks in far less than the OEM primacy 3 the car came with and the axel tramp this car can suffer with is also greatly reduced. Where this tyre does fall down to a degree is clearing standing water. If you catch a puddle with even a slight amount of lock on the car will lift and step out quite rapidly. Straight line wet aquaplaning is less of an issue, but still not the best(the Rainsport has this covered). As far as wear goes I've done 4.5k miles and the fronts have lost between 1.5 to 2mm, rears have minimal wear as you would expect on a front wheel drive car. My overall opinion of the PS4 is it's a great tyre that just needs some sportiness dialed into it to make it come alive a bit more when pushing on.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2021   
Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
After driving for a full year, I need to say that it is the best overall tyre I have ever tried. The grip is unparalleled and unique. The comfort is well above average and the feeling of absloute safety in dry and wet conditions is what makes the big difference. I hope they last. I will definitely buy them again regardless of the price. They cost me almost 120€ more than my second option but for 4 years it is about 30€ more per year. So safety first.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2021   
Given 80% while driving a Holden Clubsport R8 (2001) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
i have owened a vxr8- holden commadore ve for 10 years. always put on top range tyres. i haveonabboonable /m never experianced such wet traction and also dry tractio with these michelin tyers. now with mods at 450hp this caar is behaving like a proper vehicle.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2021   
Given 95% while driving a Fiat Abarth Grande Punto (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
Amazing performance/grip in a car with 400NM and 270HP with no TCS
0 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Volvo XC90 T8 Inscription (235/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
The car came originally fitted with Michelin Latitude Sport 3, Tried Continental PremiumContact 6 & SportContct 5 & Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance SUV, totaled over 90,000 kilometers. Comfort/ride quality wise, These Pilot Sport 4 tires are the most comfortable under the same tire pressure/road condition, possibly due to softest sidewall among all the models. PC6s are a bit firmer, Goodyear feels a bit "bouncy", LS3s and CSC5s are total disaster. Noise wise, Goodyears are the most quiet and low pitch, PS4s and LS3s is a bit louder, CSC5s and PC6s are very noisy and higher pitch. Wet grip and dry grip among all of them are sufficient for everyday use, Goodyear do provide lower dry grip when driven hard, but with this 2.3ton SUV, I'd say it's not that noticeable. Handling wise, softer tires do lean a bit more, and feel a bit sluggish turning in to corners, but in my case it's absolutely worth it for the comfort, and I'm usually running lower pressure at 34psi rather than the recommended 38psi. Wear wise, most of them worn out between 25,000~30,000km, CSC5 and Goodyears were changed before they worn out due to complicated reasons. Might do an end of life review about these PS4s to share how they ages and the wear situation, I'll be pretty satisfied if they last over 25,000km due to softer compound, sightly low tire pressure and heavy weight of the car.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2021