Michelin Pilot Sport 4

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 273 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 2,724,748 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 is ranked 21st of 70 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Very spontaneous, direct, precise and dynamic on dry roads while still being safe in the wet. Fulfills sporting demands.
  • Negative - Limited in the wet, subjectively quite sensitive to puddles, low self damping.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Sports tyres with balanced performance potential, dynamic dry handling, optimal aquaplaning reserves, precise steering behavior, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - High price.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Premium summer tyres with the best dynamic driving characteristics in the dry (direct steering with good feedback), safe wet handling, short wet and dry braking, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - High price level.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 70 9.63kgs
205/55 R16 91W   E A 70 9.16kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   E A 70 9.13kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 71 8.24kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.90kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 10.10kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.67kgs
195/45 R17 81W   E A 70 8.09kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL         9.26kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.82kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.70kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL G1 C A 71 8.80kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL DT1 E B 71 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 71 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 70 11.34kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.51kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 9.66kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E A 70 9.44kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 11.34kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.29kgs
255/45 R17 98Y   E A 70 11.07kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 71 9.35kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 70 10.98kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 9.69kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.00kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 71 10.72kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 10.21kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 12.33kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 12.32kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E B 71 9.12kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL   E A 70 9.20kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL DT1 C A 71 8.90kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   E A 71 9.27kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71 9.66kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.78kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 C A 71 10.20kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.05kgs
235/40 R18 91W   E A 70 10.20kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL DT1 E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.78kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.73kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO E A 70 11.25kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 70 10.74kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 11.22kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL * B B 71 12.89kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 13.10kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 71 9.26kgs
215/45 R18 89Y   E A 70 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * C A 71 10.00kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * B B 71 11.70kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL MO C A 71 9.80kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E A 70 9.70kgs
225/45 R18 91W MO C A 70 9.65kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.40kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL A T0 B B 71 11.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.89kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
275/45 R18 107Y XL   C A 72 13.46kgs
225/50 R18 99Y XL   C A 70 11.22kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 70 11.26kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 70 11.83kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.53kgs
235/35 R19 87Y   E A 70 10.43kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 13.16kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * B A 72 13.60kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.85kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * A B 72 10.75kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * B A 72 12.70kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL VOL C A 71 12.35kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL A VOL C A 71 12.52kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 13.86kgs
295/40 R19 108Y XL N0 B B 73 14.28kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL * A B 71 10.20kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B A 71 10.55kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL MO C A 71 11.38kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   B A 71 11.30kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71 11.38kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL A AO B A 71 11.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 71 12.88kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AAOS1 B A 71 12.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL A AO C A 71 13.04kgs
265/45 R19 105Y XL N0 C B 71 13.56kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL NF0 B A 71 15.10kgs
225/55 R19 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.40kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 72 13.49kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL A N0 C A 73 15.30kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.76kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL A AO C A 71 12.80kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 13.67kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL A N0 C A 71 14.00kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL NF0 B B 71 14.96kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.34kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A N0 E B 71 13.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

2016-06-21 - I have a Nissan Leaf (electric). The fuel economy is important to me. How does the fuel economy of the Pilot Sport 4 compare with the original factory fitted Bridgestone Ecopia

The OE Ecopia tyre is a dedicated low rolling resistance tyre, whereas the Pilot Sport 4 is a sport tyre with low rolling resistance. While they've not been tested together, we would expect the Bridgestone to have the slight edge in rolling resistance, but the PS4 to have vastly better wet grip. You can also check the EU rolling resistance label score in your size to give you a better idea.


2016-05-21 - Are the pilot sport ok for a lotus evora 2009 na?

Assuming you can get the correct tyre size, there's no reason the Pilot Sport 4 wouldn't be a great tyre on a light car like the Evora. If you're coming from a more dry / track focused tyre, you might find you lose some steering feel with the Pilot Sport 4, but gain comfort.


2016-08-08 - Which is the country origin of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 , 245/45/17 ?

Here is the response from Michelin:
Pilot Sport 4 is made in Germany, France, Spain and Italy (in that order predominantly) but may be the odd ones from other plants.
We never have a definitive list size by size, because our quality structures are the same country to country, plant to plant and in most cases the compounds and carcass materials come from the same plants and are "assembled".
We know from testing we've done, we don't have the big differences with identical tyres made in different plants that some manufacturers have.


2016-10-13 - I am about to change my tyres on my merc E220. I have opted for the reviews on the Michelin Pilot sport 4 but cannot find a 225/50/R17 /98W or Y. Is it available and from where?

It doesn't look like a 225/50 R17 Pilot Sport 4 is available yet. More sizes are being produced all the time.


2017-04-05 - I have a mazda mx 5 . Is this tyre too good for this car . ? Is it quiet and comfortable ?

Yes, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is both quiet and comfortable. There are quieter tyres on the market however you would lose some sporty feel, which is important on a car like the MX5.


2017-08-17 - I am driving 2013 BMW 330D Xdrive with dimensions 225/45/R18 and I cant decide is it better to purchase Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or Continental Premium Contact 6??? It is very hard to find those two tyres in comparison in this dimensions! I am looking only for the best tyre!

This test should answer your questions. Pilot Sport 4 in 1st place, Premium Contact 6 in 3rd, using your size.


2017-09-06 - Hi there, I have an e39 M5.. usually use Michelin Super Sports which are priced the same as the PS4.. I have 18" wheels to PS4s isn't available in my size.. Which is a better tyre the Super Sport or the standard PS4 (no s)...

In 99% of cases, the newer PS4 is the better tyre. The PSS has the edge in dry grip, feedback and track day work, but if you're using the tyre on the road you won't be disappointed with the PS4.


2017-11-14 - BMW 318i with Contipremiumcontact 2, im looking to get some new tires didn't mind how these handled although they had slight under steer in wet if pushed im looking at PS4 and the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance only problem is the PS4 dont come in the current size on the car and the Goodyears do. My question is would there be a benefit coming down from 225/50/16 to 205/55/16 so i can fit these tires are they really that much better in the wet/dry/ect... that the loss of with wont matter

Without specific testing it is too difficult to answer properly, however it's worth noting you will have to declare the new tyre size as a modification to your insurance company which is reason enough to stay with the OE size.


2018-02-27 - Shouldn't this tire be labeled as "Ultra High Performance" and not "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Sport 3? The Pilot Sport 4 S is the "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Super Sport.

It's an interesting question. The Pilot Sport 4 is the direct replacement of the Pilot Sport 3, but Michelin moved the game on so much with regards to sporty handling and feel of the tyre it deserves to be in the higher category.


2018-03-17 - Hi, for a Honda Civic 1.8 petrol 2010 tyres 225/40/R18 Y XL would Michelin PS4 or Pirelli PZero PZ4 give best ride comfort? I know Goodyear Asmm. 3 offer good ride but currently I have Potenza S001 at front PS3 rear so concerned about softer sidewall of Goodyears. Many thanks.

I've not tested them back to back so I'm unsure which would be more comfortable, but if I had to guess based on experience I would say the P Zero PZ4 would be slightly more comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4.


2018-05-07 - Hello. My Audi A4 Quattro needs only Front Tyres at the moment. I would like to fit Pilot Sport 4. Do you think these will behave ok with the standard fit Hankook Ventus S1evo2 that are on the back? Thanks

Both tyres are produced within the allowable size guidelines so technically they should work fine together, however it might be worth checking owners forums to be sure.


2018-06-15 - Hi guys! I am using this tyre (Pilot Sport 4) on a Hyundai Genesis Coupe also equipped with B14 Bilstein coilovers... I have 225/40/19 front and 245/40/19 rear... BUT I still haven’t found a proper pressure tyre to set, in order to feel a good feedback and feeling from the car... I feel it not coumicative, and on the fast straight I find a little vagueness in the center if I move left/right of few cm on the steering (with pressure at 2.3 bar) What di you recommend??

Sadly the PS4 is a little vague due to the higher levels of comfort. I can't recommend anything specific, but a small amount of over inflation can help with steering response.


2018-07-31 - I really want PS4"S" for my 18inch E46 M3. BUT they are only 19 inch at the moment right? So given I want decent performance on track, do I go Cup2 or would these non "S" PS4's be ok?

Good news, subscribe to our youtube channel and hit the bell icon as in the next 2 weeks we have a PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup 2 video :)
https://www.youtube.com/user/tyrereviews


2018-09-05 - Hey there. I own a '06 Mercedes E550. I just bought a set of lighter 18'' rims and next summer, I want to fit new 245/40 tyres. I only drive 4000kms in the summer, rarely spirited, so wear is not a concern. Yet I demand a good steering response and light weight to make for a more nimble feel of the car. I think I wanna go with the PS4, yet I think about the Falken 510 also. In the past, I regretted fitting mid range tyres. But due to the low miles, and the good test, I feel like giving the 510s a try. Yet I fear that they will be overwhelmed by the weight of the car and the V8 on the front axle. Would you recommend just going with the PS4 or could the 510s be an option?

I'm not sure either the PS4 or FK510 will be the answer to your question, both have quite soft sidewalls. If steering precision is your drive above all else, something like the Vredestein Vorti R might be a good tyre to look into.


2018-10-29 - I going to replace my Jaguer XF3.0 tyre, previously I tried Pzero and Pilot Super sport. could you please comment if I change to PS4 (no S), I'm not an aggressive driver, want maintain the sport feeling but a little more comfort and silent...

The PS4 won't feel as sporty as the Pilot Super Sport, but will certainly more comfortable and quieter and it has excellent wet grip, so would be a good choice for your Jag.


2019-03-18 - Hello! I'm about to replace the Michelin Energy tires on my VW Golf5. I'd like to extract more sportiness and feel out of the car while retaining a solid and safe daily driver with nice comfort and low noise. Aiming for the Pilot Sport 4 or the PremiumContact 6. The Golf is not a sports car but since i dont wear tyres too fast, the price premium is not that much considering the relative small 205/55 R16 size, so both fits within my budget. Which one would you think suit me (or the car) better? I heard a few complaints about the PS4-s behaving jelly-like when pushed. Im aware that a road tyre in this size, no matter the brand, wont give the kind of feedback as a smaller sidewall variant with a bigger wheel would, so that behaviour might still be the same with a PC6-s in the same size. Whats your take on this? Thank you in advance, and keep up the great content!

The differences between the Pilot Sport 4 and PremiumContact 6 are now so small both tyres will be an excellent option if available in your size.


2019-05-05 - I am driving 2008 Audi A5 1.8 TFSI 170 FWD and I can't decide whether to go for Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 (93Y) or Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 93Y AO. Would there be any differences? May AO tire be "outdated" in 2019? What is your recommendation?

Generally with OE marked tyres it's recommended to go with the correct version where possible as this will have been tuned to work with the vehicle suspension etc. The PS4 isn't old enough to worry about the AO version being out of date.


2019-08-19 - There I have a VW Mk5 GTI (FWD) with coilover suspension and the car is modified around 300hp, I mainly drive on the road and would like to do a bit of track during the year (also we have around 185 days of rain in average per year). Do you think that tire would be suitable for that use? (225/40R18 92Y)

We suggest looking at our video comparing all three Michelin Pilot tyres here.


2019-08-30 - I have a Volvo V60 with 235/40R18 W95 fitted. As the Ixion alloys seem to have a ridiculously wide edge to the rim, is the rim protector on the Pilot Sport 4 a decent size? Also, would up-sizing to a 245 width increase the size of said rim protection? Are there any other recommendations you can make for the largest rim protection you're aware of?

Rim protection varies by tyre size, and wheel width also plays a huge factor so it's impossible to say with any accuracy. Changing tyre size is also impossible to recommended due to the many other factors it effects.


2019-10-22 - Hi guys, i'm driving a Ford Fiesta MK8 with this Michelin Pilot Sport 4. I'm in italy and here temperatures never go below 0C, or in any case there is never snow and ice but just rain. I've to buy winter tires, or can I go with this Michelin all of the year? I used them for a winter, and seems they went very cool.

Below around 5c in the wet, a winter tyre will offer an advantage, but in the dry, the PS4 will always have the better grip. If you're not seeing snow or ice, there's no issues with running the Pilot Sport 4 all year.


2019-12-02 - I want to replace the standard Bridgestone Potenza's on my MX-5 ND 2.0 with a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 but which exact spec is best? Michelin's website recommends 205/45 ZR17 (88Y) DT1, 205/45 ZR17 88W or 205/45 ZR17 (88Y). However, the dealership also mentioned a choice of 205/45 R17 88V G1. Speed index of V should be sufficient for the car (240km/h rated tyre should be fine for the car's 214km/h top speed). But what does G1 mean? The G1 model is has a C fuel efficiency label while the others all have E. Should the G1 behave the same as the Y DT1, Y or W tyre?

Interestingly, G1 indicates that the outside diameter or tread width differ from a tyre without this marking. We recommend to fit matching G1s on the same axle, or a set of 4 for all wheel drive. In this case, I'd go with a normal, non g1 fitment.


2020-05-30 - Do you think that jelly sensation that a lat o people talk about when the tyre are pushed very hard, is it solved by choosing the ZP (run flat) model (that should have the side wall reinforced)?

In theory the runflat version of the tyre will not have that steering delay, but there are many negatives associated with runflats that are equally as undesirable.


2020-07-03 - I'm looking to replace all 4 Pilot Super sports on my 2015 M135i. I have the option to go for the PS4 or the PSS. What's the main difference between the two? Will I notice the difference in wet/cold grip in regular daily driving? I'm happy to stick with the PSS but if the difference is minimal then I'll save myself £150 and go for the PS4's.

I would suggest watching this video comparing the PS4S to PSS. The PS4 will be similar to the PS4S, only with a little more comfort.


2020-10-23 - I want my car to have less hydroplane and very good grip in wet. Which one is better between PS4 and PS4S?

In theory, the PS4, but it will be very close. Check out or UHP Summer test which includes aquaplaning.


2020-11-25 - Alfa Mito 135 (215/45/R17) looking to replace my P Zero Neros for some Pilot Sports, I do enjoy some spirited driving now and again hence choosing the Pirellis last time. but for a daily driver, would the Pilot Spots be the better all-rounder over the year? looking to improve on the tyre noise and economy whilst maintaining high levels of grip in all-weathers.

Certain people report the Pilot Sport 4 getting a little noisy as it wears so maybe the goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 would be a better option.


2022-04-05 - Please advise on best tyre for wet track days Currently I use ps cup 2 for dry & PS4 for wet track days but is there a better option?

The PS4 is a great option, as it the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £80.00 - £101.46 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £90.99 - £148.00 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £86.99 - £139.60 (48 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £129.08 - £197.00 (47 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £141.19 - £163.90 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 98 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tyre out, however my initial observations are as follows:

Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytyres, however tyreloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tyres. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tyre on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tyre and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tyres to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tyres.
Helpful 230 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2016
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 200 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Tried the Pilot Sport 4 back to back with the Michelin Primacy 4, i.e. all tires were brand new and I compared the same car on the same day with both models of tires.

In all respects I'd the Primacy 4 tires are the best tires I've tried so far and much better than the Continenal PremiumContact I had earlier.

The main problem with Pilot Sport 4 are that they feel very hard. The road feedback is good, but it's a hard and unpleasant ride compared to Primacy 4.
Helpful 88 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2018
Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 300 average miles
Had these on my mk5 Golf GTI for a couple of weeks before changing back to Conti Sport Contact 5s.

The PS4s were simply outstanding for steering feel and precision and wet grip. However, I couldn't live with their very sharp ride and intrusive high-pitched whining. The CSC5s are probably at 95+% of the PS4s good attributes(steering, wet grip), but with a more forgiving ride and less noise.
Helpful 82 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2017
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Polo GTI (215/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Great tyres overall, perfect for daily driven performance vehicles
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245/40 R18) on mostly town for 29,200 easy going miles
Excellent grip in wet and dry. Wear is just insane! In this size 245/40/18, I have done 47000Km so far and there is about 4.5mm of tread left! Due to the staggered wheel design on my car, these are on the front and have never been rotated in 5 years. I must admit, I never abuse the tyres. The story is much different for the rears. Size 265/35/18 and the tyres are finished after 33000Km (4 years) - 1.5mm of tread left. So, same tyre model but different size and the wear rate is drastically different!
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2022
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 74% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,390 spirited miles
I had the tire for 65,000 km and during that time I was very pleased. At first the grip was great during wet and dry conditions and the noise was not very much. After about 45,000 km grip started to fall and after 60,000 km there was a humming noise from the front tires, and there was a pretty big drop of performance from the front tires creating lots of understeer (admittedly I never switched front to back so that had something to do with it).
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2022
Given 50% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
In short I'm very disappointed with these tyres as they don't provide a "sporty" drive feeling. Negative: - They don't provide any feel or feedback while cornering which is probably related to the second point. - The ride feels very harsh and unforgiving. - Wet traction is very bad, a lot of wheelspin in the wet. - Cornering grip becomes dangerously low at lower temperatures / below 12°C. - They tend to understeer in all conditions. Neutral: - The rolling noise is acceptable, no high-pitched noise but a heavy rumble can be heard. Positive: - Rolling resistance seem very low according to lower fuel consumption than previous tyres. - The tyre wear appears to be quite good. I haven't tested these tyres on the track and I'm assuming they can provide better grip when they're heated up. This seems to be a very hard rubber compound.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2022
Given 76% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 linear sport 1.9TID (150) (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Bought to replace partly worn Goodyear Asym 5s which had been on the car prior to my ownership and on which I covered approximately 5000 miles. The MPS4s have also covered about 5000 miles in my hands and the difference was night and day. The key feature is an incredible amount of grip, most notably in the wet. Shortly after fitting these tyres I relocated to the north of Scotland, where they performed adequately through the winter, tackling snow and ice with better results than I had expected. Comfort is not the best, I must admit. There is a considerable amount of tyre roar and the tyres do not absorb road imperfections with much grace, but these are not touring tyres and I suppose that's the nature of the beast. Fuel economy is remarkably good though, returning an average of 47mpg on mixed town and country roads with an inefficient automatic diesel. After 7000 miles of use, the tyres are down to a shade over 4mm on the front and about 6mm on the rear with very little loss of performance. They also hold air remarkably well, for what it's worth. Definitely one of the best tyres out there in my opinion for a medium performance car.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Kia Motors Stinger 2.0 RWD (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 14,300 spirited miles
I replaced the OE Continental SportContact5 on my 2020 Kia Stinger GT-Line with 19" staggered wheels because they were worn out in less than two years and provided no traction anymore. I replaced them a year ago with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres, and while I felt the sidewalls of the front tyres were a bit softer than the Continentals, everything else was much better. I can make hard, and sudden lane changes at 200+ km/h while feeling confident with the Pilot Sport 4.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2022
Given 76% while driving a Volkswagen (215/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
An overall excellent tyre. Outstanding grip wet or dry. Since having PS4's fitted I've never been concerned with losing control of the car or if the car will do something unpredictable no matter the weather. However, below 4°C they do turn to bricks and it's quite noticeable, but they're a summer UHP tyre not a winter or all-season tyre. Braking is excellent with the ABS only kicking in under 35mph in the very unscientific test I did, cornering feels pretty good but you notice the tyre needing to be loaded up first before it properly bites which is especially apparent in chicanes but this only takes a second and can easily be accounted for. I had to really try to get the tyres to break traction pulling away in the dry which would only result in a small chirp and I could only get the tyres to spin in 1st and 2nd in the wet putting my foot to the floor. Coming from a mix of Accelera's (front) and Bridgestone's (rear) I have complete confidence in the car and have never been able to upset it and have ESC kick in. A number of times with the Accelera's I had the car understeer in the wet with ESC kicking in. On one particular occasion having the car go straight on at a roundabout doing only 28mph, reducing my steering input and braking did nothing it was luck and having a car with ESC that made it turn. On another occasion having the front wash wide on some back roads at a corner I'd taken at the same speed in another, much older Polo with Yokohama V701s fitted in a smaller size (195) and no fancy ESC and traction control systems perfectly fine. After those experiences, I ordered a set of PS4's within 2 weeks of getting the car and I now firmly believe that you get what you pay for with tyres and there's no point in getting something that is "as good as but". One thing to note is that after fitting a set of PS4's my MPG dropped from 44-46mpg to 39-42mpg on average. But I didn't buy them for their fuel economy and expected it to drop. On the odd occasion that I've been caught out by a corner being tighter than it seemed the tyre told me that it was at its limit but never let go and was very easy to predict and manage. Bumps and potholes can be felt more compared to the previous tyres that were fitted and road noise is quieter comparatively but in general, is still fairly loud. However, I believe that's just the car. It's a Polo, not an S-class Merc. The tyres came with around 7.5-8mm of tread and I'm now down to 3mm on the lowest tyre after 22,000 miles roughly of motorway, normal day-to-day use and spirited back road driving with no perceivable loss of performance wet and dry. I would buy the tyre again but newer tyres have been released which perform better. As Michelin dropped the 215/40/17 size from the PS5 I'll be getting a set of Goodyear Asym 6's to replace the PS4's in the coming months. Hopefully someone found this useful :)
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2022
Given 88% while driving a Ford Focus (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Feel and handing and grip and steering precision very much improved on my previous tyres(primacy 4) fuel consumption much higher - more than 10%- but I wouldn't change back as the general handling ability has changed the entire driving experience
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2022
Given 100% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
These have lasted 15,000 miles and were fitted to the front of my BMW 520d M Sport (runflat) and still had 6mm Excellent dry and wet grip Treadwear rating 320 AA I sold my vehicle but I think they would have done at least 50,000 miles
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen R32 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted on my R32 replacing the poor budget tires previously on it. Impressions were great, suited the car very well. Best wet performance of any tire I've driven, dry performance not as impressive but very good, has a tendency to understeer. Quite noisy but to be expected.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
I've gone through two sets of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 over the past few years on a MK6 Golf. I find them comfortable and extremely grippy in both dry and wet conditions, grippy enough that I can feel my suspension be the one giving out in hard cornering before the tyres do; you can really throw them into corners much faster than you'd expect and they don't give in. They're quiet and comfortable but they don't give a very accurate feel of the road (at least on the 225/45r17 setup I have). I also found the tread life to be quite short compared to my previous Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric tyres. Even with proper regular rotations and balances, the tread disappeared fairly quickly on a low powered car. I recommend them for a comfort tyre that is extremely safe in wet and dry conditions, but I wouldn't recommend them for maximum tread life or sporty driving.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Volvo C30 D5 (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very happy with the PS4s. Good levels of both grip and comfort, topped off with a quiet ride. They grip surprisingly well, usable even a few degrees (centigrade) under freezing. You'd have to do something very silly to get them to lose traction. I can really feel the difference, both handling and comfort, coming from Goodyear Eff Grip Performance (gen 1). I feel they're the best balance between comfort and sportiness, as while they aren't the most communicative tyre, they're not completely numb either. There's plenty of warning before they lose grip. Wear is comparable to the Goodyears, which is to say it's pretty good. After just over 10k miles, they have around 3.5mm left, so should be good for a few more months.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2022