BMW M135i Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW M135i.

Do you Drive a BMW M135i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a M135i better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Giti GitiSport S1 (10) 92% 81% 87% 87% 86% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (219) 93% 90% 87% 88% 80% 81%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (142) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (295) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (17) 85% 86% 86% 86% 81% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (284) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Ovation W 582 (3) 67% 80% 60% 63% 77% 77%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (57) 74% 60% 66% 67% 73% 50%

BMW M135i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Giti GitiSport S1 given 100% (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Tyre is smooth operator! Been using PSS4 for all my years but after changing to GITI S1 it is different. Much quieter when driving, performance wise is amazing. Bring it on a track and the tyre makes me feel safe that is the most important. After the track i use for normal road and surprisingly it performs the same.
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-17 13:18:13
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres, best I've had on a car so far. My M135i had Michelin Pilot Super Sports (MPSS) when I bought it and these were grippier in the dry, however in the wet they were bordering on dangerous. The MPSS gave very little feedback in the wet and you could easily find yourself sideways putting the power down in 3rd going around a gentle bend on a dual carriageway! Changing to Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric completely changed the behaviour of the car in the wet. Predictable, easy to control on the limit (or slightly beyond), lovely tyres. They wear well too, I've just had 15000 miles out of a rear set and I drive around with the traction control fully off all the time (LSD on the back). Still good grip in the dry, but I do admit less grippy in the dry than the MPSS were. All round the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric can't be beaten in my view. I'd love to try another brand but I tried that before and they were much worse, so I'm not going to risk it!
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-09 15:26:49
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Generally a well balanced tyres which is very progressive in dry warm weather, but is less so when wet with rear wheel drive. At low temperatures can be quite unpredictable even at lower speeds. They are wearing extremely well and still don't need changing so well worth the cost overall
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-02 18:31:19
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 61% (245-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-16 17:45:50
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 P given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I was really impressed with these tyres, surpringly good even on warmer days in the dry, very secure in the wet and seemed very reliable on the few days of snow we had. If anything the car was less tail happy on these than on normal summer tyres in the summer
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-02 11:58:38
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 79% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
These came on the M135i I bought instead of the original Pilot Super Sports. I've found them generally very good. In the summer they just about handle the power of the car. Any slides are predictable with good communication and progression. In the wet I found them a little bit less secure, and a bit more spikey than I had expected. In light snow they also coped surprisingly well considering the car. Wear has been good and comfort much better than I expected.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-06 18:47:53
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 51% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
I purchased these tyres on reviews & good price. What a big mistake. The tyres are very comfortable but that is where the praise ends. These tyres are shocking when i comes to feedback, they wobble when changing direction at any speed above 40 mph. It feels as though they are under inflated or almost flat & actually quite dangerous when changing direction. I think they are either faulty of have very soft side walls & that is with the extra load spec. I have run them over inflated to over 40 psi with no difference in handling just a more choppy ride.I have contacted Goodyear with my concerns & their response is that the tyres are not star marked for bmw cars, which basically means i should not have them on my car as bmw don't recommend them. I was told to take the tyres off and send them in to be checked, sure no car for weeks as they take a look at them and send them back with saying nothing wrong with them, don't think so. No way would i by Goodyear tyres again i'll stick to Michelin thanks. Tyres are now off the car as can't go the understeer / oversteer feeling every time i turn into a corner.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 11:53:20
Writing about the Ovation W 582 given 30% (225-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
I ran these tyres for one winter on a RWD 320bhp car.
They were a very bad choice for the car. Traction in both wet and dry needed feather light throttle inputs and I found the car unstable through corners.
I wouldn't recommend these tyres.
That said, I previously used Ovation winter tyres on a small van (with >90bhp) and they worked well in snowy conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-15 13:54:01
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 61% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Fitted these to the rears just before winter last year as I figured the oem MPSS wouldn't do too well in cold/wet weather. Bit of a mistake to be honest, I've heard many good reviews and they aren't expensive but my experience was pretty poor. For the first 2000 miles the tyre seemed to be so soft and 'squidgy' that turning at any speed over 30mph resulted in traction light flashing and the car feeling like it was about swap ends. I played about with pressures to no avail and I was almost ready to bin them as they were so disconcerting at speeds (even as simple as changing lanes on a motorway). I've heard many other M135i owners complain of the same behaviour, perhaps it's something to do with less weight being over the rear. Would make sense as FWD owners tend to have positive reviews.
Interestingly though, as they started to wear they improved in this respect. I ended up running them at 38psi cold and while it was useless to begin with it did improve to be a decent and stable tyre. Wet weather grip improved and these are MUCH better than MPSS in this regard. In the recent wet weather in the last 2-3 months they have been pretty exceptional to be fair to them, but the tradeoff is clear as when it gets warm again they don't have much outright grip. This was again proven at a trackday when I wore them to shreds on just a few afternoon sessions. I again monitored pressures and they seemed to be 'ok' but the tyre was deforming quite quickly, which was entertaining on the track but I was hoping for at least a little more life than that.
I'll be replacing with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and to be honest I'll just stick with these throughout the year rather than experiment with a different tyre for the seasons.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-05 12:47:30
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT given 50% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Skittish in damp conditions, noisy on the motorway, expensive, not much to like to be honest.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-18 19:52:42
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 70% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Running 225-40 and 245-35 18s on an M135i (stock tyres on this car). 1st off they need warmed up any time of the year. Once warm they grip like hell in the dry and are pretty progressive letting you know what is going on and you can feel any slip start to build.

However, with 25 years of driving in Scotland in a wide variety of cars (RWD, FWD and 4WD) with all sorts of power and lack there-of and on many different tyres these are not the best in the wet even when warm. They're mediocre at best. If you like to drive hard, go to track days and the like then these are the tyres for you on dry days, but for everyday driving and in particular in a country with a damp, cold (ish) climate they're not my 1st tyre of choice.

Plus, the dual compound and BMW chassis geometry means terrible edge wear on the fronts (just Google it !!). This can be negated to some degree by running higher PSI but they are fickle about the PSI you put in, smoother and more progressive at the right PSI (but with terrible edge wear) bit more noise and the not as quiet or as much feedback at higher PSI (but better edge wear).... no happy medium with these.

They're also quite nosiey and not as good on fuel as others... but that's a known trade of for a performance tyre.

In two minds whether to stick with them or go back to Eagle F1s next year (when the winters come off).
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-21 18:52:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre