Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 89%
Wear 82%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 86%

Tyre review data from 212 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 1,271,365 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 10th of 72 Summer Max Performance tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent rounded tyre with almost no weakness, sporty handling in the dry and wet, very short wet braking, very high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Average external noise.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a tyre with almost no weaknesses, it has excellent grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, excellent aquaplaning resistance and low rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - A very wall balanced tyre with excellent handling in the dry, forgiving and still sporty in the dry, low rolling resistance, high driving stability and good comfort.
  • Negative - Not a very dynamic steering response, higher noise levels.
  • Overall - The Asymmetric 5 is sporty and comfortable for every day safety in any weather.
View Full Test >>

2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and short braking distances on dry and wet roads, good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-06 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tyres. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tyre size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tyre in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tyre in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tyres are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tyre? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tyres are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tyre. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tyre for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tyres? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tyre pressure be ??

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tyres, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tyre would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tyre or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tyre like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-11 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tyre size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tyre range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tyres, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tyres, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


2021-07-01 - The "Fuel" results of Asymmetric 5 Label Scores have all kinds of result from A to E. Why the testing results are so inconsistent for different sizes of the same model? I am going to buy "25/40 R18 92Y XL" which has "E", is it going to be very bad for fuel consumption?

Generally bigger / wider tyres have a higher rolling resistance, which is why you often see different label scores when looking at a tyre range with lots of sizes. The real world differences between a C and E aren't that huge and I personally wouldn't let it influence my purchase decision too much.


2021-07-06 - The price difference for both the PS4 and the GYA5 is £20 for two tyres. Which should I go for? And would you recommend the XL version or the standard? These are for the front 2 tyres on a BMW F30. Thanks!

From all my testing I prefer the front axle feel of the Asymmetric 5, but both tyres are excellent products!


2021-10-29 - Many Jaguar XF owners have slated the AS5 and favoring its predecessor, the AS3. Does anyone know why?

I've not heard of this, sorry. Jag owners are also the only people in the world to like the P6000 so it might be the OE Asym 3 is more suited than an aftermarket Asym 5.


2022-02-20 - Hello! Can you help me please - choosing for BMW 525d Xdrive from GYA5 (or GYA6) and Michelin PS4. What on your opinion will be good for my car in 245/45/18? Looking for a kind of balance between sporty and a kind of comfort. Thanks a lot!

This 18" tyre test will show you everything you need to know about the PS4 vs Asym 5.


2022-08-23 - In the size that fits my car (MAZDA6 WAGON MY2017 ) 225/45R19 there are two different references of the Asym5 with two different scores Fuel/Wet B/C and A/B. I found a website that states that this diference is beause there is a Tube and a TL version. In your opinion what would be the best option ?? Thanks in advance.

I'm not sure one is a tube version, that would be very odd with todays technology. It's more likely one was an updated tyre for a better label result or one is an OE fitment which has a different blend of performances. I'd double check one isn't OE fitment and if not get the better label score.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/40 R17 £81.49 - £132.99 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.39 - £121.70 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.39 - £110.70 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £101.99 - £144.20 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £100.99 - £156.60 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 75 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
Helpful 626 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tyres, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
Helpful 85 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2021
Given 89% while driving a MINI Roadster SD (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
These tyres are super sticky as expected. Grip levels are top notch both in dry and wet.
Silent and super comfortable. I wish steering to be sharper and faster. But we can't have it all.
They are actually not Ultra High Performance or Max Performance tyres. I would call these as Sport Touring tyres. It's really pity that premium tyre manufacturers don't have real Max Performance and Ultra Performance Tyres (below 19") in their product portfolio anymore. Instead they label Touring Tyres as Performance Tyres which is not really good.

Would I buy these again? Maybe not for my weekend/sport car. But I would definitely buy these for our family estate car. Excellent quality tyres.
Helpful 62 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2019
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.2d 190hp (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 25 spirited miles
Factory tyres in my giulia diesel. Most miles on motorways in high speed, mostly in dry and hot conditions (living in Greece). Very balanced tyre, both on dry and wet surfaces. Only negative the noise they make. Thinking of replacing them with asymetric 6.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 27,000 spirited miles
High dry performance, high mileage, good road feedback and wet handling. To buy again for sure
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2023
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 99% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
I had the asym3 on the G30 and I was very satisfied, the asym5 is an even better tire.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2023
Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
after 2 seasons tire is awful on wet grip is horrible, much worse than my winter kleber HP3 tires. on dry road the ride is fine so far, but driving on wet is a night mare, as you are on ice
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2023
Given 61% while driving a Citroën C5 (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
Did about 30.000km on them, before them I had the GY EfficientGrip (101 XL) and they were much, much better for my car. With the F1s I had a handling issue as the side wall appeared to be to soft (97 load index, no XL) and the car went all wobbly when going over pot holes. Likewise the car was unstable when making fast lane change maneuvers, it did a boat wobble which I hate. Looks like they are not suited for big sedans in this dimension, if you like driving a bit friskier. Also they wore quite fast and after 3 seasons they had to be replaced as the front had only 3mm left (I did switch front/rear every year). The braking was good in dry and wet. Will be looking at other tires this year. I also noticed a dip in the middle of the tire when I took them of the wheels.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2022
Given 66% while driving a Toyota supra turbo (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 easy going miles
Having replaced my ageing Continental Premium-contact 6's and looking over the reviews decided to buy some Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5's from reviews. Absolutely no issues with performance but the tyre life sadly is not good - mine lasting a mere 4500miles (I cover 1000miles/month) so very disappointed as how soon I need to replace them. In hindsight looking at my records I did put these similar model Goodyear tyres on 10-15 years ago and they also lasted a mere 4000 miles back then - I obviously forgot to check my history! So back to Continentals! The fronts are F1 V6 and to be fair are looking almost new so cant complain there.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
Very good tyre. Great on wet and dry. Best wear ever. I did 65.000km with this tyres on 2.0 tdi Golf 7 Variant (185Hp, 430Nm). Sure i did swap tyres from rear to front and back every 10-15.000km to male them wear even. I will buy again.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Before i left a review for these tyres i wanted to have used them for a while. They were fitted in october 2021 and i have covered 12000miles on them. At first, these tyres were pretty loud and i thought i'd made a mistake but after around 500 miles they were practically silent compared to the landsail tyres my car had fitted when i bought it. During the summer, these tyres have been superb, Wet or Dry, the car grips like nothing else and while its not a sporty car i can stick it into corners with confidence. Braking in wet & dry is brilliant. Wear, they are down to 5.5mm all round, i did rotate them front to rear in june or july just to balance out the wear. These are great tyres HOWEVER, they do come with a warning for UK drivers who generally use the same tyre all year round, these are high performance summer rubber and as such, turn rock solid below 3c, offer zero grip in the snow, understeer in the cold & wet if pushed too hard. Less then 1cm of snow will defeat them on a tiny incline. My car is a 2016 ford mondeo estate 2.0 diesel, remapped at 224bhp and 470nm, very little to no wheelspin if i have to accelerate quickly wet or dry. Would i buy again, 100%
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2022
Given 85% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 3.0 V6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Recently switched from a full set of Roadstones which I was getting tired of spinning up every time I tried to drive in the wet and were woeful at cornering at the first sign of any moisture. I generally research tyres for a long time before committing to buy, and I had finally narrowed myself down to these Good Years or a set of equally rated Falkens. I went for the Good Years based on how reasonable the price was at one of my usual local fitters. The car feels like I've got in something completely different. It has transformed the drive and handling immeasurably. I am absolutely staggered at how well these tyres cope in corners particularly with a front-heavy transverse mounted V6 inside an already heavy car. Understeer was a massive problem in the Saab previously and it made it a chore to drive at times of wet or cold weather. These tyres cope incredibly well on wet tarmac as well as dry. I've not been unlucky enough to encounter anything severe enough to cause aquaplaning just yet but I've no doubt they will do just fine. I can't fairly comment on wear as I've not owned them long enough. My only criticism if I absolutely had to provide some is they aren't really noticeably quieter than any decent mid-range tyre and would fall in to the average category. But the improved handling far outstrips any disappointment!
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Had Continentals on before and they were awful, Merc 350 Coupe is utterly transformed with these Goodyears on.. Merc is lovely to drive now, where before it was all over the shop
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Audi A3 2.0T quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Amazing tyres, quite simply the best I've ever had. Absolute grip in the dry... But its the wet which amazes me more because this tyre treats the wet like its dry!!
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,534 spirited miles
For the competitive price and above 8 scores across all parameters. This tire is truly a winner which offers the best advantages. The only down side is the tire could get a little noisy after 20,000km in my personal experience.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2022