Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 91%
Wear 88%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 89%

Tyre review data from 119 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 505,437 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 2nd of 62 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Top marks in the wet and dry, plus low rolling resistance means the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 wins this test.
View Full Test >>

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - A very wall balanced tyre with excellent handling in the dry, forgiving and still sporty in the dry, low rolling resistance, high driving stability and good comfort.
  • Negative - Not a very dynamic steering response, higher noise levels.
  • Overall - The Asymmetric 5 is sporty and comfortable for every day safety in any weather.
View Full Test >>

2020 Gute Fahrt SUV Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in the wet, ahead of all the competition, very good dry performance, good comfort levels.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Very good - when water appeared on the track, the goodyear dominated.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tyres. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tyre size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tyre in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tyre in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tyres are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tyre? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tyres are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tyre. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tyre for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tyres? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tyre pressure be ??

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tyres, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tyre would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tyre or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tyre like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-11 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tyre size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tyre range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tyres, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tyres, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £76.00 - £87.28 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £70.00 - £92.24 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £74.90 - £99.70 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £107.50 - £191.30 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £107.00 - £130.19 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 66 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
545 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tyres, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
45 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a MINI Roadster SD (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
These tyres are super sticky as expected. Grip levels are top notch both in dry and wet.
Silent and super comfortable. I wish steering to be sharper and faster. But we can't have it all.
They are actually not Ultra High Performance or Max Performance tyres. I would call these as Sport Touring tyres. It's really pity that premium tyre manufacturers don't have real Max Performance and Ultra Performance Tyres (below 19") in their product portfolio anymore. Instead they label Touring Tyres as Performance Tyres which is not really good.

Would I buy these again? Maybe not for my weekend/sport car. But I would definitely buy these for our family estate car. Excellent quality tyres.
39 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2019   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Mitsubishi EVO 8 (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
I bought my Evo in November, and it came with AD08r's. I know these tyres are highly rated in the Jap scene with a lot of people running them, as they are known to be a track tyre for the road. The thing is, they made my car feel extremely nervous and gave next to no confidence in the bends (which may surprise a few people but I'm being honest, as a racing driver I'll be upfront about if something sucks no matter what it is). I did a lot of research before deciding to buy a set of Asymmetric 5's, and let me tell you they are amazing. After I'd scrubbed them in, it felt like a whole new car. They inspire so much confidence and I've yet to break grip with them. Sometimes where I'd expect them to start slipping, they just refuse to let up. They work from much lower temperatures than the AD08's, which are like an ice rink until they get a decent amount of heat (classic characteristic of a track tyre). The thing is though, the amount of heat that AD08's need to give you the grip you want is beyond what you can safely achieve on the road without getting into trouble, hence why they're more of a track tyre. You'll get them lukewarm at best. For the Asymmetric 5's, they are pretty much ready to go from the start, and throughout the drive they just get better. The sidewalls have some give to them, but it's honestly just the right amount for my car. The geo setup makes my Evo quite light on its feet and agile, so coupled with the AD08's it was honestly just WAY too sensitive. One little movement on the steering and it would dart, just felt very unstable and crap (coming from someone with very smooth hand movements). The Asymmetric 5's dial the steering sensitivity back to exactly where I want it, still nice and direct, but it's perfectly stable unlike the AD08's. They're also more comfortable due to the softer sidewall (what you want on the road) while still giving you a good amount of feedback. In my opinion the feedback level could be slightly higher, but it's definitely enough (the sidewalls are not solid like a track tyre after all). Also due to the softer sidewalls, they allowed me to set my coilovers to a stiffer setting to get the car handling even better, while still being more comfortable than the AD08's were on a softer setting (win win). I've driven them in the wet once, and they honestly had more grip than the AD08's did on a dry road (which again may surprise some people but again I'm being honest. It highlights how much the AD08's don't work at road driving temps, and the importance of having the correct tyre compound for what you're doing). I gradually built boost towards the exit of a roundabout for instance, and when I floored it at the exit it just gripped! For reference if I tried to exit a corner like that in the wet with the AD08's, I'd probably be dead lmao. My Evo has over 400 hp and torque so it's not slow either. I can't comment on the wear at present because it's only been a few hundred miles, but my Evo is not a daily driver at all, so time wise they're gonna last a while. I would 100% recommend these tyres, but just remember that all cars will act to the same tyre differently, and that goes for all tyres. It's a lot to do with the way they're setup more than anything. P.S. I'm not trying to make the AD08's sound terrible, they're just for the track not the road. I'm sure once you wake them up on a track they're completely fine, but for the road there are many better options. Many people think getting a track tyre will give you an advantage over other people on the road...it doesn't. They're called "track" tyres for a reason.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2021   
Given 82% while driving a BMW (275/35 R19) on track for 1,000 average miles
I use this tyre as a daily on a car that uses R-comps during the track in the dry and don't really change the alignment (camber settings). Dry grip and some parameters such as feedback and handling at the limit could be slightly unfair as a result. However, this tyre is quite nice and progressive. The car, BMW 1M traditionally lacks traction and likes to swap ends although this tyre was awesome in high speed sections letting you know where the limit is, especially braking in tricky conditions. There were times the tyre was a bit vague on the front axle in terms of response/initial turn-in which is probably down to the hot pressures I chose. I ran them at 33/32psi hot F/R. Although this results in some sidewall rollover, and potentially less response - it felt better balanced and grippier than anything above 34 for me. As a daily, they're great and can be fun. Much better than PSC2 in terms of fun, standing water resilience and of course PSS. For comparison sake, I look forward to trying the PS4S next time.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 77% while driving a Honda S2000 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
these i imagine would be great on a saloon or coupe, as they are very comfortable, however on my s2000 they feel quite wobbly on the rear. i had hankook v12 evo 2 before changing and you had excellent stability. might not grip as well but you were faster with confidence. but the ride quality was quite harsh which the goodyears resolved well. on smooth track surfaces the goodyears seem to perform well. I believe these tyres are bouncy and unsettle the car, giving you the impression the back end is breaking away but actually its more likely the tyre is folding over as the sidewalls cannot cope with the extra grip. I have opted for some PS4 this time round to compare......if they are similar, i think I will have to look at a road legal semi slick. I recommend if you like comfort or dont drive a sports car
9 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2021   
Given 31% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very poor tyre, haven’t lasted well so expected fantastic grip but not the case, just about decent in dry, useless in everything else, do not inspire any confidence in the tyre at all, The tyres they replaced were far superior, couple of people have driven my car in poor conditions and agree fully with this, car is borderline dangerous in anything other than perfectly dry weather, avoid these tyres.
17 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2021   
Given 71% while driving a Audi A4 Allroad (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
Bought these tyres as I’d heard good reviews of them. It performed well in the dry, the wet, for low noise but the wear was not good at all. A set has lasted 12,000 miles on very conservative driving style. Will not be buying these again.
2 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a BMW 435d (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
A good improvement on the AS3, great grip in dry and wet. Car only goes sideways when forced. Road noise is quiet, Been great in snow too. Can't wait to get them on a track. Car is 390bhp and the tyres handle it well though an awd system. Can't fault them. Definitely buy again
3 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Dry grip is great but really come into their own in the wet, totally sure footed . Reasonable on the noise factor and great value for money. Had Ps4s last time and apart from wear the Goodyear knock spots off them.
15 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Really great tyre, good comfort and steering, really happy with it on my Golf
14 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2021   
Given 69% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 230 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
On a daily use: as good as any other UUHP tyre. Easy to lose grip in RWD but also easy to restore it. Not reliable in rainy conditions but good grip on a track where the tarmac is good and the tyre is heated. On a track: Easy to overheat. When overheated loses grip dramatically. With optimal temperature very reliable on corners and excellent in braking and accelerating. I expected better road feedback though. Unpleasant rollover. After 6 months, 5 events and 5 track days (and daily use) there was no rubber left. I can not recommend this tyre for competition driving on sunny days. I will buy it for my wife's car :-)
8 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2020   
Volkswagen (235/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 11,000 average miles
Have been using the Goodyear asymmetric tyres for some time now, had the asymmetric 3's first then went to the 5s good grip and handling, on both types feels secure in the wet and dry. Good grip and no under or over steer. On the 3's I was averaging 12000 miles on the front and about 24000 to 25000 on the rear slightly less on the 5s about 11000 on the fronts and about 24000 to 25000 on the rear same as the 3's.Recently had a little surprise when I went for a service the technician told me that there was slight cracking on the o/s front tread these were the 5s the n/s was fine mind you they are almost at the end of their life with nearly 11000 to 11500 so not a bad innings.All in all a good tyre which l have faith in, and will shortly be buying another set for the fronts fairly soon.
8 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,000 easy going miles
Have been using them for about 10 months.Very nice tyre,silent and grip is very good. The tyre has not significant wear marks. Though,the weak part is the side of the tyres. Two times, the same front tyre has been cut. Definitely a good reason to think about re-buying. Old michelin's did not have the same side weakness..
8 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2020   
Volkswagen Polo GTI (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Got a 2019 polo GTI originally on 215/40 R18 Bridgestone turanza t005, these were terrible for traction, very scary in the wet particularly with aqua planing. Swapped for 225 section Goodyear’s and the car is transformed, so much better in the wet and much better for traction. Definitely buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2020