Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 90%
Wear 83%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 87%

Tyre review data from 193 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 1,057,306 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 5th of 69 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent rounded tyre with almost no weakness, sporty handling in the dry and wet, very short wet braking, very high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Average external noise.
  • Overall - The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a tyre with almost no weaknesses, it has excellent grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, excellent aquaplaning resistance and low rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - A very wall balanced tyre with excellent handling in the dry, forgiving and still sporty in the dry, low rolling resistance, high driving stability and good comfort.
  • Negative - Not a very dynamic steering response, higher noise levels.
  • Overall - The Asymmetric 5 is sporty and comfortable for every day safety in any weather.
View Full Test >>

2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and short braking distances on dry and wet roads, good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tyres. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tyre size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tyre in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tyre in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tyres are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tyre? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tyres are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tyre. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tyre for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tyres? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tyre pressure be ??

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tyres, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tyre would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tyre or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tyre like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-11 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tyre size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tyre range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tyres, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tyres, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


2021-07-01 - The "Fuel" results of Asymmetric 5 Label Scores have all kinds of result from A to E. Why the testing results are so inconsistent for different sizes of the same model? I am going to buy "25/40 R18 92Y XL" which has "E", is it going to be very bad for fuel consumption?

Generally bigger / wider tyres have a higher rolling resistance, which is why you often see different label scores when looking at a tyre range with lots of sizes. The real world differences between a C and E aren't that huge and I personally wouldn't let it influence my purchase decision too much.


2021-07-06 - The price difference for both the PS4 and the GYA5 is £20 for two tyres. Which should I go for? And would you recommend the XL version or the standard? These are for the front 2 tyres on a BMW F30. Thanks!

From all my testing I prefer the front axle feel of the Asymmetric 5, but both tyres are excellent products!


2021-10-29 - Many Jaguar XF owners have slated the AS5 and favoring its predecessor, the AS3. Does anyone know why?

I've not heard of this, sorry. Jag owners are also the only people in the world to like the P6000 so it might be the OE Asym 3 is more suited than an aftermarket Asym 5.


2022-02-20 - Hello! Can you help me please - choosing for BMW 525d Xdrive from GYA5 (or GYA6) and Michelin PS4. What on your opinion will be good for my car in 245/45/18? Looking for a kind of balance between sporty and a kind of comfort. Thanks a lot!

This 18" tyre test will show you everything you need to know about the PS4 vs Asym 5.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/40 R17 £81.49 - £102.00 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.39 - £101.30 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.39 - £93.00 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £101.99 - £121.50 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £100.99 - £139.88 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 73 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
609 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tyres, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
73 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a MINI Roadster SD (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
These tyres are super sticky as expected. Grip levels are top notch both in dry and wet.
Silent and super comfortable. I wish steering to be sharper and faster. But we can't have it all.
They are actually not Ultra High Performance or Max Performance tyres. I would call these as Sport Touring tyres. It's really pity that premium tyre manufacturers don't have real Max Performance and Ultra Performance Tyres (below 19") in their product portfolio anymore. Instead they label Touring Tyres as Performance Tyres which is not really good.

Would I buy these again? Maybe not for my weekend/sport car. But I would definitely buy these for our family estate car. Excellent quality tyres.
53 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2019   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 67% while driving a BMW 330CD (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Grip levels are fine. The biggest downside is tread life - I have put on about 15 000 kms on them, and they are close to done. Mind you the driving style is pretty normal, with 70% on highways.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2022   
Given 77% while driving a Audi A4 Avant Quattro 252 bhp S Line Sport (8W/B9) (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
After many years of using Good Year winter tires on all our Audi’s, we happily swopped the original -not too great- ‘A0’ Hankook Ventus S1 evo 2 tires for these famous F1’s some weeks ago. The drive precision, stability and road holding is indeed much better. Only problem we hear is the excessive rolling noise they produce between 80-130km/h on smooth highway tarmac. It sounds like a hollow singing noise. Similar to the hollow echo you hear when skipping a highly pressurized basketball, only continuous/monotone (instead of briefly with each bounce). Really annoying since quite prominent. Our Audi dealer installed them carefully on the original RS summer rims (8W0073189A 8AU). No advise from Good Year what to do to get these great v5 quiet on these rims, like they should be as ‘C’ labeled for rolling-noise. May be we should have waited for our larger size of the recently introduced slightly better v6? Because of this - never experienced before - excessive hollow rolling noise, somewhat disappointed.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I found these tyres to have a sportier feel than the Pilot Sport 4 tyres I later changed to. They feel dynamic and have a good linear steering feel, similar to the Bridgestone Pirelli RE003 tyres. They lasted quite a long time, but they were significantly louder and slightly less comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4 tyres I changed to later, and their wet grip wasn't quite as good.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2022   
Given 84% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Just a brilliant tyre all round, The rim protector does not really seem to be large enough to do anything I must say. the tyre isnt as comfortable as its competitors due to the more rigid sidewall but it is worth it for the improved feedback and handling.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022   
Given 90% while driving a Volvo S60 T5 stage 1 (235/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
I have a 2016 Volvo S60 T5 with an ecu tune (roughly 300hp and 450-470nm of torque). I have to say the first thing I noticed about the tires are how good they grip in the dry.. they almost eliminated 90% of the negatives associated with front wheel drive which was very impressive because they had to handle a good amount of torque for a front wheel drive setup. They have really good traction in the wet too, specifically wet braking impressed me. Road feedback is excellent! Disadvantages: Wear was a little bit too much for me on the front tires but I guess you could blame the stress of the high torque and my very enthusiastic driving… I would also note that grip is noticeably lower the wear is high but it is understandable. The only reason I will not buy these again is the new F1 asymmetric 6.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Peugeot 207 GTI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
impressive tires. excellent dry and wet grip. incredible dry braking and incredible wet braking.. the best tires in this measure. without comparison
0 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Peugeot 207 GTI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
impressive tires. excellent dry and wet grip. incredible dry braking and incredible wet braking.. the best tires in this measure. without comparison
0 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2022   
Given 83% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato 2019 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 18,000 miles
Changed out of stock Kumho tyres at around 17,000km about two years ago. Having clocked 30,000km on highways and city roads, the F1A5 still retains much of its well-reviewed dry and wet grips and handling characteristics. Even now, it performs well for dry and especially wet braking. At the same time, being UHP tyres, the noise and comfort characteristics are not exceptional, but I find them still acceptable. Rolling resistance was high for the first 20,000km; thereafter, the drop in resistance was noticeable, with the car able to roll and coast for longer distances. All in all, very satisfied with the overall performance of the tyres, especially when they cost about 20% to 25% less than the PS4.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2022   
Given 80% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (240/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Seems to not like very wet roads. Great on dry roads with positive grip. Noise levels not too bad overall a good tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2022   
Given 83% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
I was using Primacy 4 prior and was looking for new tires that can drive relatively fast in the wet without experiencing aquaplaning like the Primacy 4 did and yet comfortable. Initially wanted to give PS4 a try but decided with AS5 as it was newer and cheaper. I was not disappointed at all - AS5 gives you great confidences driving in the wet and did not experience aquaplaning where I used to with Primacy 4. The ride quality may not be as plush as Primacy 4 but firm yet still comfortable. You will notice the tire noise getting louder once you hit over 10000km. The tire threads still have about 5mm left and should not have issues running at least another 20000km. Overall a good tire which suits my casual spirited driving.
2 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2022   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
awesome tires. This is the third outfit I've been wearing. for me the best. The best in the water and impressive in the dry. They are unrivaled to this extent.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2022   
Given 73% while driving a BMW 335i (D) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Incredible grip in all conditions, these tyres feels amazing. Better grip than the Dunlop Sport Maxx tyres I had previously, but the trade-off for all that grip is very poor wear rate. Overall I would choose the Dunlops over these as they lasted far longer and gripped almost as well.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2022