Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 91%
Wear 87%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 89%

Tyre review data from 158 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 815,253 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is ranked 2nd of 64 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - A very wall balanced tyre with excellent handling in the dry, forgiving and still sporty in the dry, low rolling resistance, high driving stability and good comfort.
  • Negative - Not a very dynamic steering response, higher noise levels.
  • Overall - The Asymmetric 5 is sporty and comfortable for every day safety in any weather.
View Full Test >>

2021 Motor Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and short braking distances on dry and wet roads, good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Top marks in the wet and dry, plus low rolling resistance means the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 wins this test.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tyres. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tyre size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tyre in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tyre in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tyres are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tyre? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tyres are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tyre. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tyre for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tyres? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tyre pressure be ??

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tyres, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


2020-06-13 - what sort of tyre would your recommend for a vw sharan with 184 bhp front wheel drive. Would you recommend strictly touring tyre or uhp if you like some spirited driving? I have p7 at the moment. So far having read reviews on p7, ps4, pc6, gy ef1 a5 am leaning towards goodyears. Or shall I wait for new p7 c2 as there are no reviews on them? Comfort, fuel efficiency and good wet dry handling is the priority... hope you can help!!

A tyre like the Asymmetric 5 would be an excellent blend of comfort and sporty driving for your VW.


2020-08-11 - If price were not a factor which would you recommend for a combination of comfort on road trips and spirited driving on windy roads: Michelin pilot sport 4 or Goodyear eagle fi asymmetric 5? Seat Leon fr 225/40 R18

My choice would be the Asymmetric 5 as I prefer the handling over the PS4.


2020-09-22 - Do they make 275/35/19 asymmetric 5 for rear of BMW 5-Series.

They sure do, they can be found here.


2021-03-20 - I have a TVR T350, its a very light sports car but because if the front tyre size being 225-35-18 the 35profile tyre range is limited. After a lot of search I am torn between the Asymetric 5 or running a Michelin Super Sport on the front and a PS4S on the rear. Michelins are my preferred however because of the size I would need to mix in this way. Is this a good idea or would the Asymetric 5 although a range below the Michelin be a better bet?

Good question. Usually I'd prefer to match tyres, but as the 350 is so light and the PSS / PS4S not the worse combination of tyres, I might be tempted to try that. Whatever you decide, be sure to let me know how you find them!


2021-07-01 - The "Fuel" results of Asymmetric 5 Label Scores have all kinds of result from A to E. Why the testing results are so inconsistent for different sizes of the same model? I am going to buy "25/40 R18 92Y XL" which has "E", is it going to be very bad for fuel consumption?

Generally bigger / wider tyres have a higher rolling resistance, which is why you often see different label scores when looking at a tyre range with lots of sizes. The real world differences between a C and E aren't that huge and I personally wouldn't let it influence my purchase decision too much.


2021-07-06 - The price difference for both the PS4 and the GYA5 is £20 for two tyres. Which should I go for? And would you recommend the XL version or the standard? These are for the front 2 tyres on a BMW F30. Thanks!

From all my testing I prefer the front axle feel of the Asymmetric 5, but both tyres are excellent products!


2021-10-29 - Many Jaguar XF owners have slated the AS5 and favoring its predecessor, the AS3. Does anyone know why?

I've not heard of this, sorry. Jag owners are also the only people in the world to like the P6000 so it might be the OE Asym 3 is more suited than an aftermarket Asym 5.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/40 R17 £81.49 - £101.00 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £76.59 - £101.17 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.39 - £92.20 (43 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £79.99 - £102.00 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £100.99 - £137.77 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 72 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
585 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tyres, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
65 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a MINI Roadster SD (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
These tyres are super sticky as expected. Grip levels are top notch both in dry and wet.
Silent and super comfortable. I wish steering to be sharper and faster. But we can't have it all.
They are actually not Ultra High Performance or Max Performance tyres. I would call these as Sport Touring tyres. It's really pity that premium tyre manufacturers don't have real Max Performance and Ultra Performance Tyres (below 19") in their product portfolio anymore. Instead they label Touring Tyres as Performance Tyres which is not really good.

Would I buy these again? Maybe not for my weekend/sport car. But I would definitely buy these for our family estate car. Excellent quality tyres.
47 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2019   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Audi A8L Quattro (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I am on my second set of these tyres on my Audi. Lots of high-speed highway and country road usage. Grip is amazing, feels slightly less grippy in the wet, but in my opinion this is due to cars' weight. Each set lasts for about 15k miles or 2 years. Road noise is minimal and the feedback even on a cruise ship like mine is pretty good. I bought a BMW Z4 recently and I am looking to get a set of these for the next summer (if there isn't a newer model of course). All in all: great tyres for the price, feels secure and predictable. Definitely recommend a purchase
0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 1.8 TS (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
After 15,000km driving over the last year, the goodyears have been stored for winter. I'm very satisfied with their performance. excellent road feedback, grip in all conditions and wear without great sacrifice to comfort levels. 5~6mm of thread left after 15,000km of when off the motorway, spirited driving. Car handles great, would recommend.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Velar (255/50 R20) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Great all round tyre! Excellent handling in wet/Damp conditions. I’ve done close to 1000 miles so far and very impressed. Been off roads in farms and down to the blast faces in quarry’s and grip has also been there. Only slight negative is I get a small amount of road noise on that horrible concrete stretch of the M25 (jnc9 to jnc8)
0 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 1.8 180HP (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I love these tyres that are very inexpensive for the performance. Every spring, when I switched back from winter tyres, I bought a pair of new summer tyres, upgrading each year until I finally had the F1 Asymmetrics on all four corners. They completely suit the car. Grip, especially in the wet is amazing and they are very comfortable. It's important to make sure that wheel alignment is correct. Unlike winter tyres, they won't tolerate any toe out and the effect on steering will be obvious. They can still deliver the performance down to 5 degC but grip, especially if the tyres are more than five years old, completely disappears below 3 degC. Currently replaced by a set of All Seasons until the spring.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Subaru 2018 WRX STi (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
After doing my research and watching various tyre reviews, it was a toss up between PS4s and these, but price and the reviews pointed me to these. Have driven them about 1000km and they are as described on the YouTube Tyre Reviews. Great in dry and wet, steering was heavier then the OEM tyres (Advan V105) but great road feedback. I wanted to lean towards a more quiet and comfort tyre as the Subie had a stiffer than most ride anyway so these were a great match without compromising on the performance side. Nothing to fault at this stage.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Put these tyres on my fiesta st at the start of summer, my first impressions were how much the wet performance improved, it quickly regained my confidence, verry good dry braking and a high resistance to aquaplaning. I took the car to do the nc500 and learned a lot about the tyre, when the tyre develops some heat the feedback and grip level increases to an ideal level. It has been difficult/ near impossible to overheat the tyre on the road it just seems to take whatever is thrown at it with ease. I wouldn't say the steering feel is amazing but it still presents plenty feedback but can be a bit dull at times. Not a comfortable tyre to live with on scottish roads but neither is the car but you expect these things
0 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki Swift (215/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Very good in the dry, awesome in heavy rain, operates perfect in all conditions from 2 to 35°C, also udable on trackday at Spreewaldring and Nordschleife tourist laps, transporting my son to Nürburgring, Oschersleben and many more motorsport locations in Germany, the A5 just deliver grip. The wear is astonishing low for this kind of use on my Swift Sport ZC33S for 6000 km. Comfort is good, handling is good too, only the streering feeling could be better. A huge step from the stock tyres Conti Sportcontact 5. Would be interesting to know how A5 perform in compare to Yokohama Advan 052.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Saab Automobile Saab 9 5 Aero (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Having had Premium contacts on this car before, these are slightly less sporty, but a step up in terms of comfort, and the perfect summer tyre for a big, relatively powerful barge.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R16) on track for 3,000 spirited miles
These are fitted to A 2001 Mazda MX5 which sees mostly track days and a little road time. Dry weather performance is phenomenal. Response is razor sharp. Traction is excellent in the dry, good in wet. Braking ability is awesome. Driven roughly 5000km and they are wearing pretty good despite fairly aggressive camber set up. Comfortable these are not. My car has rose joint suspension, I feel every little bump and road noise is bad but I am able to out corner my brother's Mustang. Will most definitely purchase again.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a BMW 520d (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I have this tires fitted on my 2009 BMW 5 series in 225/50/17 size. After two summers and almost 30k miles with them, it is my favourite tire so far. Excellent grip in both dry and wet. I drove them on a good and pretty equal mix of motorways, country roads, city and national roads, performed incredibly well in all conditions. Under 10 degrees Celsius’s and cold asphalt, the grip is still good on dry but the tire gets a bit hard, which I think is normal for summer tires. They still have about 4mm of thread left, which will be good for another summer then definitely I'll buy them again or next generation of GY F1 Asymmetric Eagle. They don't seem to be noisy at all. I putted a 245/45/17 set on an 2013 E Klasse 220CDI. The handling is predictable in all conditions which gave me confidence every time I was at the wheel.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2021   
Given 88% while driving a Nissan 350z (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,200 spirited miles
I've always fitted gy eagle on this car as I had eagle gsd on a mk2 golf gti years ago and loved them. So I've had various combinations in the 7 years ive owned the car starting with assy2 all round , then assy3 on the back , assy3 all round and now 3s on the front and 5s on the back. Being rwd the fronts tend to last roughly 1.5 times the life of the rears. I've noticed a marked difference in both wet and dry grip with the 5s on the back, especially in dry conditions where they hang on much longer before breaking traction than previous iterations. Comfort isn't top of my priorities but with the 45 profile they give a reasonable ride and are certainly the equal of the previous assy3's. Can't really comment on wear yet but from previous experience gy eagles are quite soft and trade wear for grip..also, can't comment on turn in/steering characteristic as they're on the rear. Will be changing the fronts to assy5 as soon as they need replacing and will update the review
1 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021   
Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Had 4 of these fitted to my E350 CDI Coupe, and really transformed the car over the mixed previous tyres that were fitted. Response and sportiness were dramatically improved, while managing to be quieter and more comfortable. They are not the most dynamic tyre in the world when compared to something like a P4S or Supersport, but for a car like this which is more comfort oriented, these are a perfect match. They grip exceptionally well too, and manage to hold on the the road and resist wheelspin much better that the previous tyres. Highly recommended, and will definitely buy again for something both comfortable and sporty.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021