Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews - Page 2

Given 83% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato 2019 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 18,000 miles
Changed out of stock Kumho tyres at around 17,000km about two years ago. Having clocked 30,000km on highways and city roads, the F1A5 still retains much of its well-reviewed dry and wet grips and handling characteristics. Even now, it performs well for dry and especially wet braking. At the same time, being UHP tyres, the noise and comfort characteristics are not exceptional, but I find them still acceptable. Rolling resistance was high for the first 20,000km; thereafter, the drop in resistance was noticeable, with the car able to roll and coast for longer distances. All in all, very satisfied with the overall performance of the tyres, especially when they cost about 20% to 25% less than the PS4.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (240/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Seems to not like very wet roads. Great on dry roads with positive grip. Noise levels not too bad overall a good tyre.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
I was using Primacy 4 prior and was looking for new tires that can drive relatively fast in the wet without experiencing aquaplaning like the Primacy 4 did and yet comfortable. Initially wanted to give PS4 a try but decided with AS5 as it was newer and cheaper. I was not disappointed at all - AS5 gives you great confidences driving in the wet and did not experience aquaplaning where I used to with Primacy 4. The ride quality may not be as plush as Primacy 4 but firm yet still comfortable. You will notice the tire noise getting louder once you hit over 10000km. The tire threads still have about 5mm left and should not have issues running at least another 20000km. Overall a good tire which suits my casual spirited driving.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2022
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
awesome tires. This is the third outfit I've been wearing. for me the best. The best in the water and impressive in the dry. They are unrivaled to this extent.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2022
Given 73% while driving a BMW 335i (D) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Incredible grip in all conditions, these tyres feels amazing. Better grip than the Dunlop Sport Maxx tyres I had previously, but the trade-off for all that grip is very poor wear rate. Overall I would choose the Dunlops over these as they lasted far longer and gripped almost as well.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Audi TT MK2 TFSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Exceptional tyre . Excellent wet grip and excellent braking.Very good dry grip and excellent braking. Very comfortable tyre with little noise. Unmatched value for money.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2022
Given 97% while driving a BMW Z4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I had Pirelli run flats on the car and the front two were knackered. Whilst in the shop I decided to replace the rears as well. Best decision I’ve ever done - I cannot stress how much putting non run flats has improved the car. It’s like a completely different vehicle. I’ve only got 17’s on mine so was sceptical how much it would help and I was worried the ride would become spongy. How wrong I was. For reference my Goodyears are the reinforced version.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2022
Given 100% while driving a BMW 120i M Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15 average miles
Incredible grip in the wet, incredible grip in the dry. awesome wet braking, awesome dry braking. Impressive comfort, very, very long durability. For me the best tire I've ever had. A lot of work is ahead of the other premium brands to improve these.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2022
Given 87% while driving a BMW 325 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have an E36 I drove on the front tires, excellent grip, precise control and the tire is just perfect for drift to the front set
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2022
Given 99% while driving a Alfa Romeo Spider (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
I wanted to write this review after having Asymmetric 5 for quite a few miles. I have 20,000 miles on them and I think it is time to sit down and share my feelings. These tires fit my car from the start like gloves. Exceptional grip in wet and dry. In the wet they always warn you before reaching the limit. They have incredible reactivity. I have used some well-known brand and I can say without hesitation that "in my car" they do not come close to the sensations of the Asymmetric 5. The tires themselves make your driving style adapt to them. I can't say they are the best on the market. It would be lying. What if I can say without hesitation that in this measure and in this segment you will not find anything so balanced in everything. They do not disappoint at all. Just watch the Tyrereviews video and you'll understand what I'm saying. the Asymmetric 6 can only beat it in wet braking. But it is that the Asymmetric 5 have an exceptional braking.!! In my country I bought them for a cost of €75 each, to compare say that the PS4 cost €106. Little to doubt when I have to change them, I will return for the Asymmetric 5. Also say that like everything in life my opinion is subjective. These are perfect for my car and may not be enough for yours. In my case grip, braking, driving sensation and comfort and duration are impressive. I hope that my review if you are thinking of putting them in your car has been useful to you. Put them without hesitation
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2022
Given 44% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Wasn't a fan of these tyres at all. Seemed to be very poor in dry handling compared to what I had seen in reviews and terrible in the wet. Worn down quickly aswell. Changed out for a set PS4 and much prefer these. Honestly wouldn't get the Asymmetric 5's again.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2022
Volvo V70 R AWD (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I used use Goodyear Ay3, and P-zero. My own opinion that Ay5 less wet grip than Ay3. Brake is same. (Dry and wet), dry grip better. It’s quiet and comfortable.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2022