Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews - Page 2

Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
These replaced a set of Falken FK510 and I'm surprised how average they are. It was soon noticeable how much noisier and less comfortable they were than the Falkens. More use has generally revealed less feel and sportiness as well. Have only driven them in the wet on one occasion, and they were fine for grip, but not overly impressive. Overall a little disappointing and not the premium tyre I thought they would be. Very much a mid range tyre in terms of performance.
2 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2021   
Given 96% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
had all the asymmetrics on this car the 5 is the best so far the others were good also.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Mitsubishi EVO 8 (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
I bought my Evo in November, and it came with AD08r's. I know these tyres are highly rated in the Jap scene with a lot of people running them, as they are known to be a track tyre for the road. The thing is, they made my car feel extremely nervous and gave next to no confidence in the bends (which may surprise a few people but I'm being honest, as a racing driver I'll be upfront about if something sucks no matter what it is). I did a lot of research before deciding to buy a set of Asymmetric 5's, and let me tell you they are amazing. After I'd scrubbed them in, it felt like a whole new car. They inspire so much confidence and I've yet to break grip with them. Sometimes where I'd expect them to start slipping, they just refuse to let up. They work from much lower temperatures than the AD08's, which are like an ice rink until they get a decent amount of heat (classic characteristic of a track tyre). The thing is though, the amount of heat that AD08's need to give you the grip you want is beyond what you can safely achieve on the road without getting into trouble, hence why they're more of a track tyre. You'll get them lukewarm at best. For the Asymmetric 5's, they are pretty much ready to go from the start, and throughout the drive they just get better. The sidewalls have some give to them, but it's honestly just the right amount for my car. The geo setup makes my Evo quite light on its feet and agile, so coupled with the AD08's it was honestly just WAY too sensitive. One little movement on the steering and it would dart, just felt very unstable and crap (coming from someone with very smooth hand movements). The Asymmetric 5's dial the steering sensitivity back to exactly where I want it, still nice and direct, but it's perfectly stable unlike the AD08's. They're also more comfortable due to the softer sidewall (what you want on the road) while still giving you a good amount of feedback. In my opinion the feedback level could be slightly higher, but it's definitely enough (the sidewalls are not solid like a track tyre after all). Also due to the softer sidewalls, they allowed me to set my coilovers to a stiffer setting to get the car handling even better, while still being more comfortable than the AD08's were on a softer setting (win win). I've driven them in the wet once, and they honestly had more grip than the AD08's did on a dry road (which again may surprise some people but again I'm being honest. It highlights how much the AD08's don't work at road driving temps, and the importance of having the correct tyre compound for what you're doing). I gradually built boost towards the exit of a roundabout for instance, and when I floored it at the exit it just gripped! For reference if I tried to exit a corner like that in the wet with the AD08's, I'd probably be dead lmao. My Evo has over 400 hp and torque so it's not slow either. I can't comment on the wear at present because it's only been a few hundred miles, but my Evo is not a daily driver at all, so time wise they're gonna last a while. I would 100% recommend these tyres, but just remember that all cars will act to the same tyre differently, and that goes for all tyres. It's a lot to do with the way they're setup more than anything. P.S. I'm not trying to make the AD08's sound terrible, they're just for the track not the road. I'm sure once you wake them up on a track they're completely fine, but for the road there are many better options. Many people think getting a track tyre will give you an advantage over other people on the road...it doesn't. They're called "track" tyres for a reason.
14 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2021   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 82% while driving a BMW (275/35 R19) on track for 1,000 average miles
I use this tyre as a daily on a car that uses R-comps during the track in the dry and don't really change the alignment (camber settings). Dry grip and some parameters such as feedback and handling at the limit could be slightly unfair as a result. However, this tyre is quite nice and progressive. The car, BMW 1M traditionally lacks traction and likes to swap ends although this tyre was awesome in high speed sections letting you know where the limit is, especially braking in tricky conditions. There were times the tyre was a bit vague on the front axle in terms of response/initial turn-in which is probably down to the hot pressures I chose. I ran them at 33/32psi hot F/R. Although this results in some sidewall rollover, and potentially less response - it felt better balanced and grippier than anything above 34 for me. As a daily, they're great and can be fun. Much better than PSC2 in terms of fun, standing water resilience and of course PSS. For comparison sake, I look forward to trying the PS4S next time.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Honda S2000 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
these i imagine would be great on a saloon or coupe, as they are very comfortable, however on my s2000 they feel quite wobbly on the rear. i had hankook v12 evo 2 before changing and you had excellent stability. might not grip as well but you were faster with confidence. but the ride quality was quite harsh which the goodyears resolved well. on smooth track surfaces the goodyears seem to perform well. I believe these tyres are bouncy and unsettle the car, giving you the impression the back end is breaking away but actually its more likely the tyre is folding over as the sidewalls cannot cope with the extra grip. I have opted for some PS4 this time round to compare......if they are similar, i think I will have to look at a road legal semi slick. I recommend if you like comfort or dont drive a sports car
11 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2021   
Given 31% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very poor tyre, haven’t lasted well so expected fantastic grip but not the case, just about decent in dry, useless in everything else, do not inspire any confidence in the tyre at all, The tyres they replaced were far superior, couple of people have driven my car in poor conditions and agree fully with this, car is borderline dangerous in anything other than perfectly dry weather, avoid these tyres.
28 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2021   
Given 71% while driving a Audi A4 Allroad (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
Bought these tyres as I’d heard good reviews of them. It performed well in the dry, the wet, for low noise but the wear was not good at all. A set has lasted 12,000 miles on very conservative driving style. Will not be buying these again.
5 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a BMW 435d (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
A good improvement on the AS3, great grip in dry and wet. Car only goes sideways when forced. Road noise is quiet, Been great in snow too. Can't wait to get them on a track. Car is 390bhp and the tyres handle it well though an awd system. Can't fault them. Definitely buy again
7 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2021   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tyres, the way they grip and give confidence in all conditions is amazing. They are also comfortable and quiet when you just want to cruise. I can break traction with them in the wet in lower gears on my car, but they do so in a very predictable and controllable manner. My only slight gripe is that they tend to pick up small sharp stones which seem to get stuck easily into the rubber, so it would appear that the compound is quite soft. I have had no issues with wear however, 6000 miles in and they look almost like new on the rear despite some heavy right-footedness.
55 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Dry grip is great but really come into their own in the wet, totally sure footed . Reasonable on the noise factor and great value for money. Had Ps4s last time and apart from wear the Goodyear knock spots off them.
18 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Really great tyre, good comfort and steering, really happy with it on my Golf
15 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2021   
Given 69% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 230 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
On a daily use: as good as any other UUHP tyre. Easy to lose grip in RWD but also easy to restore it. Not reliable in rainy conditions but good grip on a track where the tarmac is good and the tyre is heated. On a track: Easy to overheat. When overheated loses grip dramatically. With optimal temperature very reliable on corners and excellent in braking and accelerating. I expected better road feedback though. Unpleasant rollover. After 6 months, 5 events and 5 track days (and daily use) there was no rubber left. I can not recommend this tyre for competition driving on sunny days. I will buy it for my wife's car :-)
8 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2020