Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews - Page 2

Given 87% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Absolutely phenomenal tyres, fantastic grip in the dry, and really good grip in the wet. I went through a set of fronts on my Swift Sport in around 10,000 miles, and most of that is on backroads so is semi spirited.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Subaru BRZ (/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
My new favorite tires! Excellent overall grip and feel, the car drives like it's on rails and is super quick to inputs. I feel way more confident and aware of the grip ! The only complaint I have is on road noise, which is ridiculously loud, even for a sport tire.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2021   
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B8 Estate 2.0TFSI 280hp (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
good tyres BUT the quality control is BAD. My 2 out of 4 tyres have a vertical disbalance , meaning the thread is wobbling up and down a tiny bit , which you can feel with speeds 150kmh+ . The wobble is minimal so the reseller will not replace them , but it makes me sad when car is shuddering with high speeds. I am very dissapointed and will never buy these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
BMW (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Had these on our last 3 cars and would put them on again. The dry grip is fantastic and so is the comfort. We've done 10,000 miles on them so far and they seem to be warring well. We came from Michelin Pilot Sport 4S and we'd stick with these due to the comfort being a lot nicer.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Great tyre just wore out in around 1 year due to aggressive street driving and mountain runs on weekends sometimes. Unreal tyre I prefer over ps4s and also Dunlop sp sport max rt2. Which the rest are great tyres also
5 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Mazda MX5 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've used these tires in two completely different cars, FF layout compact hatch and a FR sports car. I will mostly focus on what I think of the tires driven in a 2017 Mazda MX-5. Similar to what's said on the video reviews, the most impressive thing about this tire is the steering feedback. You feel connected to the ground and control becomes predictable. The tires can handle heat, at least in this platform. 3 consecutive hours of track time with only 10mins stops in Spanish Summer heat did not reduce the performance and the feeling of these tires. Wear is also pretty amazing both in track and daily driving. My only complain, to give it one, would be it's inspiring wet performance. I feel the car a bit more floaty compared to the firm stance you get in dry pavement. In conclusion, these tires are, not only an amazing option as one of the top all-around performing tires, but also a very intelligent choice as the price point of these come around at a very economical range compared to it's high-tier and similarly performing competitors.
9 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very good tyres. Swapped the whole set and instantly the car felt so responsive and stable. Car now just grips for days in both wet and dry. On top of that they’re relatively quiet (even though they’re XL) and they just seem to smooth out bumps in the road making the ride significantly more comfortable. For me it was between AS5’s, PS4’s or my OEM Bridgestone turanza’s. I bought these for £150 which are the same price as Turanza’s and a million miles better, no experience with PS4 but they were £180 so I couldn’t warrant the price difference. No comment on wear yet as I’ve only done about 1000 miles on them. These tyres actually make a 150HP Skoda Karoq fun to drive on A roads as I recently discovered on my trip to Scotland.
6 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 700 average miles
Really very good all-rounders, have used many performance tyres but these are probably the best all-rounders.
5 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2021   
Given 96% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I've experimented with a lot of tyres in my 6 years of driving, across many different cars and these Goodyear AS5s are the champions by a long shot. My Civic is no speed demon but it corners well, so exposes bad tyres easily on tight country roads. I had the factory Bridgestones on the rear and some Nexens up front when I bought the car and finding the limit was very easy, it'd even spin the front wheels if I took off quickly (with the mighty 140bhp on tap), but I haven't had a single example of wheelspin or loss of grip with the Goodyears. Wet or dry, hot or cold; the grip is just immense in all scenarios and gives me 100% confidence when driving the car hard. The Goodyears are noisier and slightly harsher than the tyres I had before, which is to be expected with performance tyres, but the driving feel, steering response, braking performance and wet/dry ability they offer in return is worth every bit. And they were only £70/corner fully fitted for 225/45/17 - chump change in exchange for my family's safety in an emergency and the fun I can have when I'm in the car alone. I've covered 1500 miles since they were fitted and can see no wear yet, which is also nice. Don't cheap out on tyres, they're the only thing sticking you to the road. I can recommend these Asymmetric 5s wholeheartedly.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Audi A5 (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
These wheels have excellent dry behavior. In the wet they suffer little aquaplaning and offer excellent grip shortly after setting off. On my FWD car they counteract understeer well. They offer little sideshift at high speed. They are comfortable and do not emit excessive noise.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021   
Given 88% while driving a Lexus IS350 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I've had these on a Lexus IS350 F Sport for about 3 months, had the factory Dunlop SP Sport Max on there before. My previous car was a Mazda 3 SP25 which came with the same Dunlops from the factory, changed those to Michelin Pilot Sport 4 after 90,000kms. Put 30,000 kms on the Michelins on the Mazda, and about 15,000 on the Goodyears so far. I also fitted slightly wider 235/40 18 fronts (original 225/40 18) and 265/35 18 rears (original 255/35 18). I did the same for the Mazda, 225/35 18s instead of 215/40 18s factory. I can say that the Goodyears have firmed up the steering much more, in good way, where there is resistance and feel on turn-in that was not there with the Dunlops. much more grip in all conditions, esp. in the wet. No tyre squeal at the limit either (unlike the Dunlops). The ride is much smoother than the Dunlops as well. The Michelin PS4 was also a much grippier tyre than the Dunlops on the Mazda (absolutely incredible grip in the wet, can pretty much drive as if the road is dry), but much less feel and they felt much softer and more of a touring tyre than a sporty tyre, quieter than the both the Dunlops and Goodyears. The Goodyears are a better balance between the hard sidewalled and low grip Dunlops and the massively grippy but overly soft Michelins. I would sum up by saying the Michelins are the better tyre overall UNLESS you value sporty dynamics and feel and feedback highly, in which case the Goodyears are a better compromise, albeit with slightly less overall grip. Either way, much much better than the Dunlops. Hope that helps! BTW, thanks to tyrereviews.com for all the reviews and detail that helped me make my choice, very very useful!
13 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021   
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
These replaced a set of Falken FK510 and I'm surprised how average they are. It was soon noticeable how much noisier and less comfortable they were than the Falkens. More use has generally revealed less feel and sportiness as well. Have only driven them in the wet on one occasion, and they were fine for grip, but not overly impressive. Overall a little disappointing and not the premium tyre I thought they would be. Very much a mid range tyre in terms of performance.
4 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2021