Ford Galaxy Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Galaxy.

Do you Drive a Ford Galaxy? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Galaxy better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian WR D3 (42) 91% 88% 88% 87% 85% 87%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Nokian Z (7) 90% 80% 79% 83% 87% 80%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (36) 89% 93% 88% 88% 87% 92%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Ovation VI 388 (12) 84% 79% 77% 82% 79% 75%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (172) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (51) 82% 74% 75% 73% 85% 75%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Michelin Primacy 3 (171) 86% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco (47) 84% 78% 78% 75% 72% 79%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Davanti DX640 (73) 80% 72% 77% 77% 66% 81%
Landsail LS588 UHP (81) 81% 77% 70% 68% 76% 80%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (36) 86% 77% 79% 77% 59% 74%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (58) 82% 85% 79% 74% 62% 73%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74%
Jinyu YU61 (46) 80% 65% 68% 63% 73% 75%
Kleber Dynaxer HP 3 (10) 77% 64% 69% 74% 78% 69%
Federal Formoza FD2 (14) 74% 62% 72% 59% 73% 79%
Sumitomo BC100 (8) 71% 66% 67% 55% 67% 73%
Nordexx NS9000 (11) 69% 52% 55% 53% 69% 55%
Triangle TR918 (11) 65% 30% 57% 46% 76% 62%
Sunew YS618 (57) 61% 36% 47% 44% 52% 49%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Sunew YS112 (11) 34% 22% 21% 21% 19% 20%

Ford Galaxy Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 36% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Tyres lose grip easily on corners and at low speed even in car park. Very poor given the price and sales hype. Just to confirm, new tyres fitted couple of months ago, pressures correct.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-16 18:58:46
Writing about the Sumitomo BC100 given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I have used many tyres and this one is surprisingly good in both wet and dry.
I have full confidence in this tyre and I'll be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-11 19:25:07
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 87% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Significantly better than the worn cheapo tyres these replaced in the wet. No wheel spin on hard acceleration any more.
Our other car has Michelin cross climates on it, the a005 gives more grip through tight corners before understeer kicks in.
Today was first light snow, braking was good.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-17 14:38:47
Writing about the Nordexx NS9000 given 90% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 39 easy going miles
I bought my used Galaxy 2 years ago and it needed tyres. Local dealer recommended Nordexx. Driving on Irish back roads and M50 motorway, these tyres have done OK for the money. I had them rotated every service and now 38,920 miles - the 4 are off. I don’t drive or brake hard. I’m more into mpg now than 0-60. At have the price of Michelin- I’m like buying one, getting one FREE!
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-14 23:22:50
Writing about the Kleber Dynaxer HP 3 given 63% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 easy going miles
Bought these as cheapest 95C XL i could find for my ford galaxy 2.3 petrol+lpg in 2015. First year the tyres were superb in both dry and wet. But 2016 and 2017 wet grip has deteriorated. Now 2018 wet got a bot better. Drove 25 thousand miles on them. All are in the 3-4mm range left, with 2-3mm on the sides. Galaxy is quite a heavy car, and for summer holidays we pack it bigtime. Have always pumped them 2,8-3,5 bar so the sidewall wear is strange here. I will run them down this year. For a budget tyre they offer good grip and in corners they are predictable. Wet handling that deteriorated quickly is a big minus. Also wear in 20000miles seems big, though galaxy is quite heavy so i would attribute the wear to this factor.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-18 09:26:17
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
i drive a big(ish) family car (galaxy mk3) and have never had any problems whatsoever. this is my second set as id previously had the same make tyres fitted to my first galaxy (mk2). right from the first time i drove with the new tyres it felt like i was driving a different car. the are smother and absorb more of the bumps, giving my suspension a bit of a rest. the first set i bought had done over 12,000 miles without any abnormal wear, just the same as any XL tyre shod onto a heavy car. the tyres i have are all weather and i can hardly tell the difference between wet and dry surfaces they are that good. cheap(ish) tyres they are, but handling wise you wouldnt know they were!
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-27 00:46:47
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 average miles
I have tried 3 brands of winter tyre and the Vredstein has been head and shoulders above the others. Having travelled through the alps in winteron fresh and packed snow, I have never been stuck with these. Ford Galaxy 2wheel drive.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-12 11:36:24
Writing about the Ovation VI 388 given 68% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 easy going miles
Most least efficient tyre ever.
Only had the front two changed
I've lost at least 10 miles per gallon on motorway driving.
I am seriously thinking of replacing now after doing less than 1000 miles knowing my previous tyres landsails would same me money in the long run.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-27 05:42:54
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 91% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
As good as the continentals that were on from new.
Just had a service - the front tyres had done 12000 miles, new they have a 7 ml trye depth, the service checked the tyres and they had 5 ml left, so they should last better than the continental s.
Fitted in my ford galaxy.
A great tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-16 13:30:25
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 81% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
i have bought these tyres for years and found the price coupled to overall performance is excellent, the only negative i have found is that when the tyers get to about 80% worn ,they feel a tad hard on the ride, but this again informs me through the steering feed back that new ones will be needed soon, dry and wet driving is excellent and fuel economy exceeds fords expected mpg,i feel very safe with these tyers so i will not change brand,
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-28 20:46:42
Writing about the Jinyu YU61 given 83% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 58000 average miles
HI there. I've using them on my 2008 Galaxy for last 58000 miles and they still at 3mm. Really good ones for heavy car. 225/50r17 Z Extra Load. At current they loosing a bit when wet so i decided to get new ones for next season. I did front/back swaps each 15000miles to get even wear and i keep them bit harder than recommended pressure to get better feedback. I'm very impressed overall as they were for 45 quid each and can say it loud: OM michelin energy saver i had before was overpriced rubbish (in grey colour - not even black) to compare.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-02 21:43:28
Writing about the Sunew YS618 given 93% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-01 11:20:30
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre