Sunew YS618

The Sunew YS618 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 61%
Wet Grip 36%
Road Feedback 47%
Handling 44%
Wear 52%
Comfort 49%
Buy again 32%

Tyre review data from 57 tyre reviews averaging 46% over 418,762 miles driven.

The YS618 is ranked 166th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 47th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Quiet road noise, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Strong understeering driving behavior, dangerously long braking distances in wet, moderate ride comfort
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Sunew YS618
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Sunew YS618. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Sunew YS618 Reviews

Given 49% while driving a Vauxhall 2.0 CDi (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Brought car 4 months ago from networkQ tyres have lots of tread but ride is a tad firm but road feedback is ok but they are quite noisey on the motorway.Will look at tyre reviews site when I change tyres again.
21 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2016   
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. auto (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Tyres were fitted on rear of car when I bought it from a Mercedes dealership. Have driven 11,000 miles on them since February 2017 across all sorts of roads from single track country lanes to motorway. No noticeable problems in the dry and the tread on the tyres is still great. However, in the wet they give no confidence at all with the rear end sliding around when going around a roundabout in particular. Although there seems to be many miles left on them, they are being changed for Continentals tomorrow as I'd rather stay alive! Quote from a private tyre fitting firm I've dealt with for 15 years - 'I wouldn't fit them to a wheelbarrow'. And that was before I told him about the sliding!
2 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Vauxhall 1.7 TD estate (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
needed 4 tyres for new alloys bought these cheap still alot of life in them no complaints would recommend .would not drive to mad with them though lol.
.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2010   
Have you driven on the Sunew YS618 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Sunew YS618? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Sunew YS618 >

Latest Sunew YS618 Reviews

Given 31% while driving a Ford Focus (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Poor braking distance, lots of understeer, dangerous in the wet
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2020   
Given 39% while driving a Ford Mondeo estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Supplied as new during MOT failure but just discovered were already 2 years old when fitted. Outside walls cracked after 1000 miles and 1 year but passed the MOT in 2 stations. Car has been SORN for eight years now they are 10 years old still hold air and support the car but they look very deeply cracked falling apart like I image a re-mold/re-tread might. I would never buy again. Replaced with part worn trusted well known brands as I always do when given the choice for low mileage use.
Always check the tyre date code when you buy a tyre, check it for bulges and side wall damage. Never rely on a retail chain to fit you a good choice of tyre, do some research.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 24% while driving a Citroën DS5 2.0 Hdi (225/50 R17 R) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
Garbage! Don’t hold a seal, so have to pump tyres up constantly. Wear is shocking. New to used in less than 6 months, average mileage a week. Handling is poor, makes car feel like a boat. Never again!!
0 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2019   
Given 30% while driving a Renault Megane R26 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Had two of these tyres on the front, nearly binned it going round a roundabout at 15mph. Safe to say I'm buying new tyres ASAP. Do not buy.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2018   
Given 74% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 miles
Really good tyres from my experience, have had them for a year now and have done about 7000 miles on a mixture of roads, Still have plenty of tread left. Came from Goodyear tyres and struggled to notice the difference. Would definitely buy again and recommend.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2017   
Given 31% while driving a Volvo v70 D5 (225/50 R17) on mostly town for 800 easy going miles
Awful tyre. Grip was almost non existent. Rear end of family estate started sliding out on a slow large roundabout and I'm a cautious driver! Wife and family weren't impressed. I've never experienced a tyre this poor, they adversely affect your confidence driving. Had them removed for Sailun Attrezo's (impressive tyres). These are a false economy, steer well clear.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2017   
Given 40% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Bought these tyres on alloy rims for my wife's Audi TT three years ago, so conveniently outside the warranty. I replaced the first one in Nov, 2015 and have just replaced the other three due to delaminating of the sidewalls along with significant splits etc. These tyres have done less than 3000 miles. Steer well clear, I think these tyres are dangerous, they may be cheap but not worth the risk.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2016   
Given 41% while driving a Vauxhall (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Bought my car last year from the dealer which came fitted with these tyres on the front.
Firstly the Dry - they are actually not too bad, they provide good traction and not bad grip as long as the weather is above 10 degrees or so. If its colder they start to struggle. Even when out for a nice spirited drive on a sunny day they perform pretty well actually.
Now the Wet - Wow, where do I start. Absolutely useless in the wet. 10MPH and the front end sliding almost into other cars on large open roundabouts is not fun at all. Taking it easy around town pulling away from junctions and roundabouts is shocking. They are even worse than above its its only slightly wet/damp conditions.
Wear - Had them on for 2000 miles and there is still 7mm of tread across both tyres with no visible damage or cracking/splitting at all.
All in all, they are what they are, an Imported summer only tyre that people/garages fit over here for cheapness. Wouldn't ever buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2016   
Given 26% while driving a Vauxhall (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Needed new tyres for my Corsa VXR so as money was tight opted for these budget tyres....NEVER AGAIN!!! After only 1500 miles both front tyres have severe cracking on the inner walls!! These tyres are dangerous and should be taken off the market!! Buying these is definitely false economy as I am now having to buy proper tyres after only a few months! If you value your safety DO NOT buy these rubbish tyres!!
1 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2015   
Given 30% while driving a Honda Civic Type S (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
I would not recommend this brand if you care for your life. If you want to put yourself, your love ones in danger or other people that may get involved if this tires blow up, go ahead and puchase them. Only had few miles on it you can see the crack on both sides already, of my four tires! Waste of money dont buy this crap.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2014   
Given 17% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 11 average miles
11.000 miles on my sunew ys618, all 4 tyres split and perished, I asked for a decent set for my car, these were recommended, I intend to contact makers, by another make!!
0 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2014   
Given 39% while driving a Ford MONDEO (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
These tyres look nice with a good tread pattern seemed to be ok in wet and dry weather

BUT THESE TYRES I PERSONALLY FOUND TO BE DANGEROUS !!!!!!

I had these fitted to the rear of my car. One tyre inner side wall spilt what i had replaced four months before the second TYRE BLEW OUT AT MOTORWAY SPEED !!! AGAIN INNER SIDE WALL !!!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2014