Ford Mondeo estate Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Mondeo estate.

Do you Drive a Ford Mondeo estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Mondeo estate better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian Nordman SX2 (2) 95% 95% 90% 95% 70% 90%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (25) 86% 79% 82% 82% 85% 86%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (37) 82% 79% 80% 82% 82% 85%
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (68) 83% 79% 77% 76% 76% 84%
Jinyu YH12 (28) 81% 74% 79% 69% 79% 80%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (80) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 72%
Avon ZV7 (129) 83% 78% 73% 72% 59% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus (25) 84% 67% 75% 71% 62% 69%
Kumho IZen KW27 (31) 75% 75% 73% 69% 78% 83%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (139) 77% 68% 63% 61% 71% 71%
Rovelo RHP 778 (5) 54% 44% 55% 60% 80% 58%
Autogrip P308 (26) 66% 52% 56% 50% 60% 61%
Sunew YS618 (58) 60% 35% 46% 44% 52% 48%

Ford Mondeo estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I put ZV7's on the front a Mondeo diesel estate, went for an MOT after 10k miles and got advisories on both tyres. I checked them before the MOT and they were 3-4mm tread left not sure if it was an over zealous MOT inspector. That said the tyres had worn more in the middle of the tread rather an even wear - maybe my fault but as far as I was concerned the pressures were to spec. So I really not convinced on these tyres. Hope that helps
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-02 09:20:56
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 56% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Generally happy with tyre performance other than durability. 2have developed bulges in the sidewalls with no known impact within a year/8000 miles, doesn't look like vredestein is going to be interested in the UK (they offer warranties in other countries). Unless resolved these will be the last I buy
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-27 01:59:48
Writing about the Sunew YS618 given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Supplied as new during MOT failure but just discovered were already 2 years old when fitted. Outside walls cracked after 1000 miles and 1 year but passed the MOT in 2 stations. Car has been SORN for eight years now they are 10 years old still hold air and support the car but they look very deeply cracked falling apart like I image a re-mold/re-tread might. I would never buy again. Replaced with part worn trusted well known brands as I always do when given the choice for low mileage use.
Always check the tyre date code when you buy a tyre, check it for bulges and side wall damage. Never rely on a retail chain to fit you a good choice of tyre, do some research.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-10 12:12:11
Writing about the Nokian Nordman SX2 given 83% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
They feel precise and easy to drive on dry and wet roads, no aquaplaning on speeds of 100 kph / 60 mph, not too noisy, but there is more silent options available, not saying those more silent ones are better on wet.
For a cheap tire, they offer a lot of bang for the buck and are made well, from good materials.
Fresh rubber, they dont stand many months/years in storage before being sold.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-23 14:46:17
Writing about the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus given 56% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9960 average miles
Purchased these tyres in January 2018 for my Ford Mondeo ST TDCi Estate. They replaced my previous tyres (Avons) which had lasted for 17,000mls and we were recommended these Nankangs as a good performance tyre which would easily last as long as the Avons. It is now October 2018 and we have just had the MOT and the tester has put an advisory that all 4 tyres are on the 1.6mm warning markers.. The milage from fitting in January to the Advisory is 9,960mls. I have never had a set of tyres which have lasted so poorly even the Pirelli P Zero's notorious for wearing quickly gave me 16,000mls. I have no issues with the tyres on the road perfomance wet or dry they aquitted themselves just fine and in fact the wear is perfectly even on the tyres with little shoulder wear which is usual on these vehicles. But the fact is they have work to UK Minimum in under 10,000mls which I feel is very poor and I would never buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-27 08:28:40
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 90% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on for 0 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-25 11:14:28
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 93% (215-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Firstly, some background. This isn't part of the review, but will provide some context. I don't use a single set of tyres. Instead I have summer tyres (the Goodyear EfficientGrip I'm reviewing) on the original alloys that came with the vehicle and winter tyres (Nangkang SV2) on a set of steels. It makes changing them a doddle (sub 1hr) and therefore makes sure that I do swap them over twice a year.

Due to my rotation of winter/summer, it also means I can rotate front/back tyres on both sets and get almost perfect even wear across all the tyres. I've found this is the best way with tyres as it means I'm always getting the best performance from the tread and I can replace an entire set of 4, not pairs and swap with the rears like I used to.

Another advantage is I can inspect each tyre very closely for uneaven wear, bulges, separation etc and make sure that when I drive the car, the stuff that keeps me alive is still at top performance. Now for the review...

Its very hard to give the exact mileage since I've swapped them for winters approximately twice a year (usually October/November and March/April). One thing I can say is I've had the tyres for a VERY long time. I can't actually remember when I last got the summers replace. I'm very impressed, therefore, with the wear overall - bearing in mind I regularly swap front/rear.

The performance of these tyres is very surprising - as is the car to be honest. Its a very boring standard Ford Mondeo Estate (diesel) but the handling of such a normal estate really surprises me sometimes if you push it! Especially with these tyres. Its literally like driving a train. My driving is mixed/modest most of the time (I have a family) but occasionally I travel to Wales and Yorkshire with lots of twisty windy roads and you really can feel the performance of the tyres. I've only started to notice a slight drop in performance down to the last 2-4mm - but that is because the centre treads really have lost most of their grip now - time to replace!

On the motorway, they are quiet as a mouse. I can't really comment on fuel economy as I only have the winters to compare to and it is to be expected there will be a significant difference between the two.

In the rain, I guess they could be a tad better if you push them but then again my driving style changes in the rain and I don't really push it. I've never had any issues with roundabouts, aquaplaning or emergency stops in the wet (defensive driving) - so can't ask for much more. If you try and push them in the wet then yes you will feel them losing grip. This is a positive comment - as you need a tyre to tell you when its losing grip so you can correct before its too late. So good for normal driving, but dont expect them to be like glue in the wet.

I'm so pleased with the tyres overall, I'll be replacing them with the same ones again. Even after some considerable research into what might have come on the market since.

This time I'm going for the EfficientGrip Performance as there is a slight improvement on economy and they are reinforced (estate car and uk potholes, enough said). With the label ratings of A A and under 70db, plus XL, and very high reviews on here and other vendors, its a no brainer for me.

tyre reviewed on 2017-05-01 02:46:32
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
Grip well in the wet and the dry but as far as the ride/comfort goes they are very poor, the wear seems poor after only 6000 miles and front to rear rotation they are about half worn, i would not buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-16 12:41:39
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
No problems with grip with these Tyres which replaced Michelin Primacy HP, but the wear rate is appalling , I've done just over 8000 miles with them on the front and they are close to the wear limits, tracking is fine and they have worn evenly, my previous Michelins did almost 20k, will not buy these again ( I see they've been replaced by the 5) and will be back to Michelin , probably Pilot sport 4. Have used M Tyres for over 30 years and they've always been excellent
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-18 05:38:28
Writing about the Autogrip P308 given 54% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Tyres gripped as well as any other tyres in both dry and wet, with average comfort. Wear was a bit quicker than Pirellis used previously.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-17 08:53:29
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 given 93% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
comfortable, great on dry, first snow in Croatia these days and tyres are great as in deep snow as well in town slush. Great passenger car tyre and great value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-04 11:59:51
Writing about the Jinyu YH12 given 46% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 easy going miles
Wear rate is poor compared to other budgets, especially vulnerable to tracking errors.

Wet and dry grip consistent with other budgets, not bad for the price of £31 each.

Very hard uncomfortable tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-19 14:01:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre