Michelin Primacy 3

The Michelin Primacy 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Primacy HP and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Primacy 4.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 77%
Wear 69%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 170 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 2,482,858 miles driven.

The Primacy 3 is ranked 57th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

View Full Test >>

2018 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 1st of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced with top marks when worn, especially good on dry roads, still very good in the wet
  • Negative - None mentioned
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 10th of 43 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 69 7.37kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C A 69 8.73kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 69 8.41kgs
225/50 R16 92W   C A 69 9.33kgs
225/50 R16 92V   C A 69 9.33kgs
185/55 R16 87H XL   C A 69 7.80kgs
185/55 R16 83V   C A 71 7.73kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 68 8.50kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E A 71 10.97kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 69 10.97kgs
205/55 R16 91H   E A 71 11.12kgs
205/55 R16 91V   E A 71 11.12kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 69 8.82kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 69 8.72kgs
205/55 R16 91W AO B A 69 8.70kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 69 9.07kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 69 8.75kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C A 69 9.29kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 69 9.06kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 69 9.40kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C A 69 9.50kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 69 9.79kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 9.57kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C A 69 9.38kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 69 9.81kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 69 9.82kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 69 9.69kgs
225/55 R16 99V XL   C A 69 9.69kgs
225/55 R16 95W   C A 69 9.69kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C A 69 8.43kgs
205/60 R16 92W AO B B 69 9.00kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   C A 69 9.24kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 69 9.67kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 69 9.23kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 69 10.08kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 69 10.05kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C A 69 10.05kgs
225/60 R16 98W   C A 69 10.54kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C A 69 10.54kgs
215/65 R16 98V   C A 69 11.12kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69 11.12kgs
215/65 R16 102H XL   A B 69 10.00kgs
205/45 R17 84W   E A 71 10.17kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69 10.17kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL * C A 69 8.30kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 69 8.35kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 69 9.30kgs
215/45 R17 87W   C A 68 9.27kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69 9.46kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69 9.28kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 71 11.53kgs
225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 9.26kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E A 71 11.53kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 69 9.28kgs
225/45 R17 91Y AO B A 68 9.25kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 69 9.35kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 10.03kgs
235/45 R17 94W   C A 71 9.97kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 71 10.11kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.43kgs
245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 71 10.43kgs
205/50 R17 89V   C A 69 9.19kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL   B B 69 9.20kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL DT1 B A 69 9.14kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 69 9.19kgs
205/50 R17 89Y * C A 69 9.00kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 69 9.29kgs
215/50 R17 91H   B B 69 10.54kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69 9.82kgs
215/50 R17 91W   C A 69 9.73kgs
215/50 R17 91H   B B 69 9.47kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C A 69 9.58kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL * B A 69 9.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 69 10.28kgs
225/50 R17 94H AO B A 68 9.80kgs
225/50 R17 94Y AODT1 C A 69 10.30kgs
225/50 R17 94H   C A 71 12.47kgs
225/50 R17 94W MO C A 71 12.35kgs
225/50 R17 94Y AO C A 69 10.20kgs
225/50 R17 94W MO B A 69 10.14kgs
225/50 R17 94W   C A 69 10.36kgs
225/50 R17 94W AR. C A 69 9.90kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69 10.25kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 69 10.23kgs
225/50 R17 94V   C A 69 10.20kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 69 9.36kgs
205/55 R17 91W * C A 71 12.00kgs
205/55 R17 95W XL * C A 69 12.00kgs
205/55 R17 95W XL * B A 69 9.26kgs
205/55 R17 91W MO B A 69 9.50kgs
205/55 R17 91W * B A 69 9.20kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69 9.86kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 69 11.12kgs
215/55 R17 94V   B B 69 9.45kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 69 9.80kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 69 11.60kgs
215/55 R17 94W AO C A 68 9.80kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 69 9.80kgs
225/55 R17 97Y * MO B A 68 10.00kgs
225/55 R17 97Y AODT1 C A 69 10.50kgs
225/55 R17 97V VOL C A 69 10.80kgs
225/55 R17 97Y AO C A 69 10.70kgs
225/55 R17 97Y *MOE C A 71 13.40kgs
225/55 R17 97W   C A 69 10.27kgs
225/55 R17 97Y * C B 69 10.30kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 69 10.77kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 11.28kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 11.24kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 69 11.50kgs
245/55 R17 102W * B A 71 11.70kgs
245/55 R17 102W MO B A 71 11.70kgs
215/60 R17 96V   B A 69 10.30kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 69 10.44kgs
225/60 R17 99Y * B A 69 10.40kgs
225/60 R17 99Y AO B B 69 10.70kgs
225/60 R17 99V   C A 69 10.90kgs
215/65 R17 99V   C A 69 10.64kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 71 10.03kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C A 71 12.60kgs
275/40 R18 99Y *MOE C A 71 15.50kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO C A 71 12.20kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL * C A 69 11.80kgs
225/45 R18 91V   C A 71 11.91kgs
225/45 R18 91W * C A 71 11.80kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL   C A 71 10.76kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.62kgs
245/45 R18 96Y AO C A 71 10.90kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL *MOE C A 69 13.92kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   C A 71 10.98kgs
245/45 R18 96W   C A 71 11.04kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL VOL C A 69 10.90kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL * MO B A 69 10.70kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL AO C A 71 10.75kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 71 11.76kgs
215/50 R18 92W AO1 C A 68 10.00kgs
225/50 R18 95W   C A 71 13.10kgs
225/50 R18 95V   C A 69 10.20kgs
235/50 R18 101W XL   C A 69 11.80kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 69 11.72kgs
245/50 R18 100Y * C A 71 15.40kgs
245/50 R18 100W MO C A 71 15.20kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   B A 69 10.83kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 69 11.35kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 12.60kgs
235/55 R18 104Y XL AO B A 69 12.70kgs
235/55 R18 104V XL   B A 69 12.60kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL *MOE C A 71 14.50kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * MO B A 69 11.20kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL A*MOE C A 69 13.10kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *MOE C A 69 13.10kgs
275/40 R19 101Y * S1 E A 71 15.70kgs
275/40 R19 101Y * E A 71 16.00kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL * B A 69 11.50kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   B A 69 11.95kgs
245/45 R19 98Y * E A 71 14.60kgs
205/55 R19 97V XL   B A 69 9.50kgs
205/55 R19 97V XL S1 A A 69 9.50kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   A B 69 10.40kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Primacy 3

2017-11-25 - trying to find the treadwear rating printed on the sidewall of Michelin primacy 3 and continental sportcontact 3 and 5. This is my deciding factor on these tyres 235/50 R17 96 Y or W for my Jaguar s type 2004 3.0. Why on earth do no uk websites display this info, would really help if this was included in this website PLZ.

Unfortunately manufacturer's treadwear ratings aren't a super reliable way of judging wear. Instead we suggest looking at user reviews and tests, and if you do that you will see that the Michelin Primacy 3 should last longer than the Continental tyres you mention.


2020-08-20 - What is the difference between 100V and 104V XL please?

The 104 is a higher load rated Primacy 3 intended for vehicles which require the higher load rating


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Primacy 3 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £72.62 - £122.80 (49 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £108.00 - £148.62 (69 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £82.89 - £110.47 (45 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £120.59 - £186.10 (74 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £109.50 - £109.50 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £140.89 - £183.30 (66 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 48 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Primacy 3 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Vauxhall (215/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 17,000 spirited miles
Fitted to the front at 81385 miles, laser alignment completed at the same time + new front shocks, springs, top mounts & bearings fitted. They have lasted to 98885 miles and still are just over the treadwear indicator. Amazing tyres. Incredible grip in the wet and dry; 100% confidence in them always. Slight slip now with full acceleration in the wet; but they are almost fully worn! Incredible comfort and quietness, and great durability on the front of a car which has 354NM of torque. I have always run top rated premium tyres from all the biggest brands. These are the best tyres I have ever had; second to none. Very highly recommended and great value too.
182 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2015   
Given 63% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 16,000 average miles
I am no racer or wheel spinner.
45 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2016   
BMW bmw (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,500 easy going miles
This tyre was fitted to my new BMW 540i. Grip, handling etc were all ok but the noise over most road was the worst I have ever experienced. Every time you go over a small bump in the road it feels like being on solid tyres, the whole car vibrates. How BMW can say they improve safety and COMFORT I don't know! After 25 years of BMW's this will be my last....shame, the car build quality of the car is excellent.
31 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2017   
Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Primacy 3 >

Latest Michelin Primacy 3 Reviews

Given 60% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
First of all the tyres are what came with my car, hence the road feedback and comfort rating of n/a as they could be car specific. However I do believe there is a lot of tyre noise, certainly the main thing you hear driving the car. This is my first experience of a michilen tyre, albeit an older model. Grip in the dry is nothing more than average for a tyre of this type (comfort/efficiency biased) your not likely to run out in everyday driving but dynamically i found it understeers a little easily and allows one wheel to loose traction under hard acceleration. In the wet I'm actually surprised and disappointed in it having locked up a few times in braking and the car easily goes into understeer. However, the tyre always maintains a safe level of grip and remains drivable but I found them to be lacking to what I have come to expect from other modern tyres. (experience with goodyear, Falken, Hankook pirelli and uniroyal though admittedly apart from the hankook and goodyear all tyres were newer models.) One thing I will say is these tyres seem to excel at tyre where after 9000 miles I have loads of tread left, I would expect to see at least 16000 out of these and i normally expect 9-12000 miles out of my tyres (I have a lead foot) Overall i wouldnt buy them again, not enough to put me off over michelins though as they are an old design now
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2021   
Given 53% while driving a Lexus IS300 SportCross (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Initially, I thought these tyres were excellent. We drove them all over mainland Europe and the UK and thought they were quiet, comfortable with low rolling resistance and good grip. Feedback and handling weren't amazing but the adequate ride for low profile tyres made for a fair compromise. However, after a couple of years, we found the grip to have weakened, even in the dry, and while road noise remains fine, the ride has hardened (even my same age winter tyres ride better and now offer similar grip); wet grip is less good than it was initially but the biggest issue has been vagueness in high temperatures. Because of this we needed to up the tyre pressures further (even though this happens when the ambient temperature goes up anyway) to stiffen them (to around 39 PSI instead of 35). They have worn well and were worth trying out, proving to be a better compromise for mild climates like outer London than the Crossclimates we used previously but I won't buy them again and will skip the Primacy 4. Will try Powerproof or EG2 next.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 49% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
This tyres brutal noises. I dont want to this never again. It's unbearably humming! It has the sound of a wheel bearing, it hurts the ear. It's unbearably humming! It has the sound of a wheel bearing, it hurts the ear.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
The Primacy 3 was not the best tire, from Michelin. Bad road feedback, comfortable ride, though and a lot of grip. The rubber is too wobbly on these ones, probably that's why they ended up ditching this model and doing the Primacy 4, which is better indeed. This compared to the Primacy 4, is wobbly, very bad road response, otherwise they are both good, very grippy, comfortable and quiet. Compared to Dunlop Sport Blue response, this is still better, cause although is wobbly, you won't lose grip or feel unsafe, unlike the Dunlop, which, if you push it hard, on wet, you feel it slipping. This Primacy 3 is best suited for commuting and centered towards comfort and safetly... if you like fast cornering, this is not for you, get the 4, then that is a lot better for cornering, better overall.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 22,000 average miles
These lasted 22,000 miles on my car and were 2mm , 3mm, 4mm in places, I think they could have done maybe 25,000 miles but in the wet they started to fish tail when pushed which I didn't like. I did a previous review but left that on the michellin hp zp tyre section so I left that review on the wrong tyre. But overall excellent tyres especially in run flat.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 21,000 easy going miles
Doing lowish mileage
0 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2021   
Given 50% while driving a Toyota Prius (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
The Prymacy 3 are very calm Tyres, but suffer from unacceptable lazy steering on Prius 4 Hatchback - ok on the rear axle but not at the front. Good wear and fuel consumption.
2 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 75 easy going miles
Primacy 3 Excellent Tyres! I resently boat 2 tyres of the next generation Michelen Primacy 4 but i m not satisfied at all because they give me a kind of vibration sensation and they are a little bit more noisy than that of the Primacy 3 ones!.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2021   
Given 64% while driving a Citroën C5 Aircross 2.0 Bluehdi (205/55 R19 V) on mostly country roads for 9,000 easy going miles
Tyres came fitted to the car. It is OK tyre but the wear is dreadful especially on front tyres. The best quality is high comfort and solid grip in dry conditions. On wet they can spin quite quick and aquaplaning and grip properties do not encourage you to test the limits. Will definitely not buy again due to cost / performance ratio once the replacement time comes and it will come soon besed on high wear.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 18,300 average miles
These tyres came factory fitted on my new 2018 Peugeot 3008. Overall I'm satisfied with the tyres although I was expecting to get more mileage from them. The tyres have covered 18300 miles in 28 months and the front pair wore down to 2.5mm. OK, I know they are still legal but certainly noticed a difference in grip and handling once they were down to 3mm. With winter coming I wasn't going to risk driving them down to the limit. They produce a slight noise at motorway speed but its not that noticeable. Excellent grip in the dry and good in the wet. For reference, the rear tyres are on the originals as well and they have worn down to 4.5mm (it is a FWD car) and I'm hoping to get these to last to 24000 in the next 6 months as I can hand the car back without paying to replace them ;-)
1 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2020   
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Noah hybrid (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 40,000 average miles
Primacy 3 made in Spain Great dry and wet grip. But generally loud tyres, if your engine or exhaust is loud not an issue for you. I’m running on hybrid Toyota Noah, so the noise really affected me
0 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a Renault Clio IV TCe 90 (205/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
My thoughts on these are a fantastic tire if you want good dry road holding and decent mileage. They are however letdown by wet performance in my opinion. I’ve had them as factory fitment on my 2018 Clio, I’ve covered 18k and the front tires are just under 2mm, rears are around 4mm. This may sound like atrocious ware, however the car is hammered round country lanes. For me, an average is under 10k miles per set. The drive in wet conditions is good in terms of braking Poor in term of lateral grip through the corners, and will aquaplane on minimal puddles. This is enough to put the car in to a slide if on a corner below national speed limit. This is a trait I’ve noticed a lot with are sold as mainstream premium tires, that wet performance is traded for mileage. Given the size of tire I am very limited on choice when it comes to what are called the UHP tires, I have been waiting for Michelin to bring to Pilot sport 4s to the U.K. in this size, unfortunately this hasn’t as yet happened and I’ve gone for the lower spec Pilot sport 4.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020