Volkswagen Polo GTI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Polo GTI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Polo GTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Polo GTI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (119) 94% 93% 88% 91% 88% 84%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (45) 89% 84% 84% 84% 86% 83%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (66) 88% 86% 82% 82% 76% 81%
Michelin Primacy 4 (79) 86% 84% 76% 78% 84% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (122) 85% 73% 78% 76% 69% 65%
Toyo T1R (281) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (207) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (147) 80% 69% 70% 67% 65% 64%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (90) 75% 61% 68% 61% 77% 69%
Sava intensa (3) 80% 63% 57% 63% 53% 57%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Marshal POWER RACER II 719 (9) 51% 20% 39% 42% 79% 41%
Wanli S1088 (84) 57% 35% 41% 38% 58% 38%

Volkswagen Polo GTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 50% (215-40-18-)
Driving on for 15000 miles
Not the most comfortable tyre, yes its low profile but its rigid and hard side wall makes ride and comfort terrible... add this with the 320 tread wear rating it is a fast wearing tyre that i only managed to get 25000km off of... Prices for these tyres are ridiculous as well doesnt justify the quality of tyre... won't recommend this tyre to anyone...
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-26 19:03:09
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given NAN% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Got a 2019 polo GTI originally on 215/40 R18 Bridgestone turanza t005, these were terrible for traction, very scary in the wet particularly with aqua planing. Swapped for 225 section Goodyear’s and the car is transformed, so much better in the wet and much better for traction. Definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-22 18:42:41
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 85% (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 spirited miles
So, I was a bit sceptical about buying these as they are a fairly new tyre to the market and couldn’t find many reviews on them. I went in anyway as they’re a fair amount cheaper than PS’s and the shocking Potenza’s that came on my car from the showroom. After a few hundred miles I can confirm that these tyres are brilliant. Feedback is rather good, car felt a little numb to start with but I don’t know if that was just in my head. The levels of grip are decent in the dry and in damp conditions. I haven’t driven in properly wet conditions as of yet, so can’t comment on that. Neither can I comment on wear as they’re only a few hundred miles old.
Don’t hesitate to buy these over other more expensive tyres. You won’t be disappointed.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-01 09:02:19
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 86% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-05 19:16:58
Writing about the Sava intensa given 44% (185-55-14-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
Had 2 fitted to my VW Polo. They were very soft so they didn't last long but had good grip in the dry, As soft tyres they don't react fast to direction changes but were very confortable on a straight line.
When new they had good wet grip but lost it only after the first 2000-3000km. Imagine that your tyres are only good for this long: In the long run it turns into a very expensive tyre for such a low performance,
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-11 15:54:59
Writing about the Marshal POWER RACER II 719 given 40% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
Bought them because at the time my tyre dealer only had these and conty's in 185/55R14 and i couldn't afford the Sportcontact's.
They do all reasonabbly well but are not really GOOD in any part.
For the price they cost they were a honnest tyre: payed little-got little.
As time passes by they loose a lot of grip and become VERY dangerous in the wet.
Had to replace them since one of them developed a blister on the inside wall of the tyre, Pure luck they didn't blew :check them from time to time.
Never bought Marshall's again
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-11 15:44:51
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 41% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
They suck, would not recommend to anyone. Much better slternatives such as Pro Pilots available
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-27 02:39:25
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 44% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
As many reviews have said previously DO NOT BUY if you have a powerful FWD car. They really really are not suited to them whatsoever. With all the weight on the front the sidewalls are weak giving a very spongy feeling through the corners even at reasonable speeds. The back snaps very quickly especially under braking and can be very unpredictable. In a straight line you have to do a lot of corrections to keep it on the road , even worse at 80+mph... I have to say these really ruined the experience of my car and I can't wait to get rid of them . OH !!!!and I forgot to mention their wet performance is truly frightening, I've had to adpopt a complete new way of driving my car now ... Lucky I've ordered some ps3's !!
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-23 11:40:44
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 10% (205-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 easy going miles
the worst tyres ever bought - - - rubbisgh as hell - - - i have pics to proof how poorly made this tyres are and it's not only one of them but i fitted 4 new tyres not wven a year ago and they all wasted - - -
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-01 06:14:11
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 67% (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Fitted to Polo 6N2 GTi.

Decent enough all round but sporty tyre. Can't help but feel that a slightly stiffer sidewall would help this tyre, tends to be progressive but ultimate grip levels feel a little low, giving plenty of understeer if worked harder. Wet level grip is less - decent enough progressive feel but more understeer. Wear however is very good. I've had 6 of these so far on the car, 2 were changed due to previous shoulder wear only. I would recommend these as a decent all round tyre, but will be fitting Bridgestone RE002's next time which I feel are a far superior tyre for the same sort of price.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-23 09:38:26
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 77% (215-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 spirited miles
Live in South Africa were the roads aren't that great and the people can't drive. Have had a couple of times where this tyre saved us from an accident! It is a very controlled tyre, lots of grip in dry and wet conditions and very good response when suddenly changing direction. Only have it on the front and will definitely change the back before the Durans are done. Running them at the back with the Durans at the front, we struggled to get the alignment perfect. They are a bit hard on the road, but its worth the sacrifice for peace of mind. Have hit a couple of pothole and the tyres show on sign of it. Very very happy with them and will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-17 13:42:52
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 51% (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Would like a tyre that perform a little better overall and is a lot quieter. Not convinced about their wet handling and steering is too heavy at low speeds. I believe they were developed years ago now so probably outdated.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-15 12:06:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre