Toyo T1R

The Toyo T1R is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Toyo T1S and this tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 74%
Wear 63%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 70%

Tyre review data from 285 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 3,705,683 miles driven.

The T1R is ranked 79th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Toyo T1R
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R14 77V   F C 70  
215/45 R15 84V   F C 70  
205/55 R15 88V   F C 70  
245/35 R16 86W   F C 70  
195/40 R16 80V XL   F C 70  
185/50 R16 81V   F C 70  
225/50 R16 92W   F C 70  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo T1R

2018-07-11 - For many years I used continental's sport contact 2(195/45/15) for my Peugeot 106 and the grip is excellent. I am very pleased with them, during cornering, acceleration etc even with 200BHP without an LSD. But this time I was thinking of trying the T1R's because of the lower price, which are supposed to be great. I am not expecting the grip of the sport contact 2, but i want a progressive Tyre at the limit(very important) and with a bit less grip will be acceptable due to the price but not awful grip... And all the reviews I am reading here and from some tests, some say they are awesome and some say they are the worst tyres with no grip....Almost nothing in between....And I am wondering what the truth is...Maybe those with a good review do not push their car close to the limit? If anyone can help it would be great...

The T1R is now an old tyre. They still seem to work in specific sizes on lighter cars, but for bigger heavier cars, they're not the best option anymore.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


T1R Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo T1R Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Subaru wrx turbo (205/50 R16 W) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
Quite happy with the tyre performance both in dry and wet including braking. Noisy but car is fitted with coilover suspension which contribute to part of the noise and discomfort.
307 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2016   
Given 41% while driving a Mitsubishi mirage cyborg r (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
These tires are no good for money. Better michelin pilot sports or potenza. I used them on a modified Proton GTi, which has about 170+whp, maybe they are good on a vios or city.
51 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2017   
Given 27% while driving a Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3 (215/35 R18 W) on mostly town for 2,500 spirited miles
one word AWFUL
27 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2017   
Have you driven on the Toyo T1R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo T1R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo T1R >

Latest Toyo T1R Reviews

Given 63% while driving a Subaru WRX Type RA (205/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Probably a moot point, given these tyres are discontinued, but hey. My freshly imported Subaru WRX Type RA came fitted with a new set of these tyres in 2018. I had heard they were a good performance tyre and they did look the part, with their directional "V" tread pattern. However, I found them decidedly average in the dry and particularly poor in the wet, unpredictable, with low levels of grip. I felt my 280hp rally rep was getting down the road despite these tyres, rather than with them. In fact, during one particular downpour, I managed to spin all four wheels in all five gears! Admittedly, as a Type RA, it has a low ratio box, but still. Inside the car, there was a lot going on. Like a Kung fu tribute to Colin McRae and yet outside, progress down the road was ... unremarkable. At this point I decided they had to go, as they were ruining the car and as I was only doing 2,000 miles a year as a weekend chariot, they were going to last forever. However, I checked the tyres pressures the next day and they were particularly low. So I added some air and things improved. This got me thinking and with a bit of research on the net, I found many people recommending a few extra psi for the T1R. I've now settled on 4psi over oem pressures and things have improved significantly. In the dry, the car now feels up on its toes, with good levels of grip and very progressive on the limit. In the wet, I'm still slowly building up courage again, but recently I was unable to spin any wheel in any gear and while lateral grip still isn't huge, it does feel a lot more progressive and predictable. So I decided to keep them. I also recently bought an MR2 Roadster from an old boy, who had been put off mid-engine cars, following a hairy moment in the wet. Funny enough, I found he was running Toyo Proxes T1R, although this time it was harder to resolve. The wheels and tyres were far from standard sizes, so the oem pressures were meaningless. Eventually, I had to re-calculate them using tyre load tables, before adding my 4psi. In the meantime, I once again found that low and very high pressures would result in tail happy antics, at no speed at all, on just mildly damp roads. I have now managed to reach acceptable levels of grip by adjusting the pressures, but on the MR2, it's still not good enough. The tyre widths and profiles are just too wrong, so I'm looking at a set of Maxxis Premitra HP5, as they test well apart from wear and fuel. Neither of which bother me on a second weekend car and I can get close to the staggered oem set-up, while keeping the bigger alloys. Have you ever thought you're over thinking things? So the moral of the story; if your stuck with old Toyo Proxes T1R, check you recommended oem pressures and the oem tyre load. If your tyres have a different load rating, adjust your pressures using a pressure load table to find the pressure that carries the same load as the oem pressure/rating and then add 4psi. Finally, I noticed a few people on this page reviewing the Toyo Proxes TR1, which is a completely different tyre and has its own review page. Just saying.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2021   
Given 47% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/45 R15) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Running these on a 1.8T mk2 Golf.. traction is a problem on average launches in the dry, fine elsewhere though... until it gets even slightly damp, then it's like piloting a greased pig. These are verging on dangerous when it's wet.. worst tyres i've ever had in that respect. Plenty of life left in them but they will be getting changed pronto. AVOID
0 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 49% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 1,8 TS (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
3 years down the road and these tyres are absolutely atrocious in the wets. It's like going down an icy road in the winter, except it's still 20°C out and just wet. If my car wasn't set up to be moderately tail happy, I would've long crashed it or put it in a ditch, going round a corner or a roundabout at 15mph. These will get dumped ASAP, despite having 4-5mm of thread left - which on the other hand is rather impressive, given the miles I've put into them.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2021   
Given 40% while driving a Nissan Micra (185/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Regretted buying them from the first day, they understeer in the wet badly. In the dry they were acceptable but noticeably not as sharp as the previous Continentals. I only had to do one emergency stop in just under 30,000 miles and they just barely stopped the car in time in the damp, they did not skid but even now with new Kumho's fitted, I can instantly tell that the Toyo's were a bad tyre. They lacked grip. They did fantastic for milage (just under 30,000 miles with just over 3mm tread left, ~7mm on the rear) but that is likely due to a hard compound. I will never buy a Toyo again, which I had considered a decent brand. It isn't like the price was value for money either, the tyres had to be changed before they reached the end of their tread and my new (cheaper) Kumho's are much sharper than the Toyo's ever were. In fact these Kumho Ecsta HS51's are comparable to the Continentals in the dry and the wet and are more comfy over bumps. But my understanding is that Kumho have come a long way recently, seeing the have come first in the tyre tests. I paid £58.87 for Kumho's, £74.29 for the Toyo's previously (per corner).
2 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2021   
Given 55% while driving a Westfield 2l zetec 200hp 600kg (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Squeals like a pig
5 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a Peugeot 306 (195/50 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Amazing handling on wet as well as on dry tarmac, quiet and responsive. The only drawback was rather quick wear, as you would expect from very grippy tyres.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2020   
Given 80% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Wagon 150 275bhp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I drive a large front wheel drive estate car, 275bhp or so. Firstly, these are a SUMMER tyre, so you have to anticipate that they may not be so great in the wet, although I managed OK in the Central Belt's big freeze (-11ºC) of 2010 on them.
They are a little noisy, especially as the temperature drops and the rubber gets slightly harder. (At this point I normally put winter tyres on)
In the wet they behave very well, breakaway is quite gradual at high speeds and very controllable. I've never actually found the lateral breakaway speed...
Some of the comments on here amuse, the chap whose car went wobbly when braking and cornering, that's why you do one or the other! You don't drive your car in the same manner in the wet as the dry. To do so is stupidity.
I've had about five sets of these tyres and wouldn't hesitate in getting them again. If you want bad, go and fit a set of Talon Triangles.....
9 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2019   
Given 50% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
The tires came with a set of wheels I bought for my car, but the weren’t worn im any case.
First thing I nad realised was very poor level of comfort. At 205/45 I could feel even the smallest crack in the road.
Dry performance was good, although the car had a tendency to understeer.
DISASTER CAME after the first rain. Never have I ever came across anything worse than that. Please consider that those tires are EXTREMALY DANGEROUS in wet conditions. I’ve quickly replaced them with Michelin Pilot Sport 4, and I am happy with my decision.
9 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2019   
Given 54% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.4TSI ACT (215/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 80,000 spirited miles
Replaced my factory fit P7's up front after 51k with the T1R's - not sure it was the right choice for the car.

Main issues:
- Unsure in the wet - depends fully on road surface
- Factory recommended tire pressure seems too low for these tires - they feel flat and spongy
- Due to above, the cornering is questionable as is braking
- Corner to tight and tire "wobbles" and tries to ping you out of the corner - feels uncontrolled.

The only way I can get past this is running them at 42-44psi - which is not great given the working limit is 50psi...

May be good on other cars, but not on the Ibiza..
7 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Nissan 350z (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I fitted these tire set in my 350z. Most of the time, it is my daily drive and I drive spiritedly. I drive on both motorway and zic zac roads, cause I live near those mountain. Generally, the tires have good feedback, both dry and wet. A bit noisy but my car is even noisier so it never bothered me.

I also bring my car to the track once a month. I am not driving crazily on the track or competition, just regular track days and these tires do really well. Lots of feedback for novice because the tire squeeze a lots before it losts its grip. Very good on wet track. To give you an idea how good it is, I would say I will choose T1r on the wet rather than any semi slick tires. However, when it is getting too hot, the tires seems to give up grip at some points.

In terms of wear, I got this tires on my car for 15.000km approximately. Mixing between daily and track days. Got about 7 track days. Still got 6-7mm left. Not bad at all for the money.
6 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Fiat Punto GT turbo (195/45 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Not your usual UHP tire:
These tires cannot match the most expensive UHP competition gripwise. Steering response and feedback are average too - all due to the relatively soft sidewalls, which in turn make them really comfortable!

Wear is mediocre, but the price is reasonable.

These tires are very progressive on the limit, but you should drive conservatively in the rain. They prefer soft suspension setups on wet roads!

Excellent rim protection.

Overall, a top choice for a comfortable UHP tire on a budget! Not suitable for hard-core applications.

PS. Also running them on a Hyundai i10 1.2 (same size) with the same impressions...
11 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Ford Focus ST3 2008 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Previously had Uniroyals and Dunlops on, toyos outlasted them both, Dunlops only going 10k, the toyos managed a further 5k. Both wet and dry grip were good. Only issue I've had and it's probably related to other V treaded tyres too is they do get noisy when tread is low. Great tyre for the price tho.
8 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2018