Mazda MX5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda MX5.

Do you Drive a Mazda MX5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a MX5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 (5) 96% 92% 94% 92% 94% 88%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (157) 93% 92% 87% 91% 87% 82%
Vredestein Quatrac (6) 92% 95% 92% 93% 96% 73%
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (27) 87% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (135) 95% 85% 89% 86% 83% 82%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS (9) 84% 89% 80% 80% 84% 90%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (92) 89% 87% 84% 84% 86% 84%
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (28) 90% 85% 83% 81% 78% 90%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (42) 94% 88% 91% 92% 68% 76%
Hankook Icebear W440 (5) 82% 86% 80% 78% 82% 88%
Falken ZE914 (96) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (284) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (62) 88% 84% 83% 82% 83% 82%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (241) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 79%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (33) 85% 91% 83% 76% 83% 87%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Yokohama Advan A11A (2) 90% 75% 95% 95% 95% 75%
Yokohama A539 (12) 81% 74% 86% 85% 78% 81%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Avon WV7 (13) 82% 85% 83% 75% 80% 88%
Accelera 651 Sport (14) 86% 74% 82% 84% 81% 83%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (39) 79% 88% 76% 74% 89% 88%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (14) 87% 75% 85% 89% 83% 63%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (80) 87% 83% 81% 83% 79% 77%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 (30) 87% 81% 79% 85% 76% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (45) 85% 80% 82% 82% 76% 79%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (75) 91% 79% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (31) 83% 93% 76% 74% 65% 83%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (279) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Toyo R888 R (16) 95% 69% 86% 90% 68% 64%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (77) 85% 79% 80% 81% 76% 82%
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (46) 83% 80% 76% 79% 77% 78%
Dunlop Direzza DZ03 (7) 94% 66% 89% 89% 71% 47%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (167) 89% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Rotalla RH01 E Pace (3) 80% 77% 73% 73% 73% 73%
Avon ZV7 (91) 86% 82% 75% 73% 73% 82%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Maxxis All Season AP2 (20) 83% 79% 71% 75% 76% 73%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (35) 85% 75% 76% 82% 75% 68%
Kumho Solus HS51 Harmony Sports (5) 85% 80% 65% 65% 80% 90%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Nankang NS2R (51) 90% 67% 83% 85% 72% 56%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Landsail LS588 UHP (81) 81% 77% 70% 68% 76% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (112) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 79%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68%
Kumho Ecsta V720 (6) 95% 55% 88% 95% 50% 50%
Nankang SV2 (30) 83% 77% 74% 74% 83% 74%
Yokohama ADVAN A460 (19) 84% 74% 76% 73% 81% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport 200 (3) 80% 57% 77% 57% 87% 83%
Kinforest KF550 UHP (13) 75% 70% 72% 70% 72% 72%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Rovelo RPX 998 (26) 80% 65% 71% 65% 61% 73%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (24) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 61%
Pirelli PZero Nero (134) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (20) 74% 65% 74% 74% 77% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (151) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (92) 80% 70% 69% 66% 62% 71%
Debica Frigo 2 (19) 64% 56% 64% 61% 82% 67%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD2 (8) 75% 68% 70% 64% 66% 63%
Nankang EX500 (1) 70% 60% 60% 60% 90% 70%
Nankang NS2 (208) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (45) 77% 62% 68% 70% 72% 55%
Barum Bravuris (19) 79% 57% 63% 64% 65% 68%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (42) 78% 61% 66% 61% 71% 56%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Marangoni Mythos (29) 69% 55% 58% 60% 62% 58%
Hifly HF201 (25) 65% 50% 60% 51% 56% 67%
Pace Toledo TL1000 (12) 68% 51% 57% 55% 67% 57%
Rapid p609 (26) 67% 56% 57% 60% 59% 57%
Firestone firehawk S790 (2) 65% 65% 45% 75% 65% 45%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (131) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Pirelli P7000 (7) 71% 47% 63% 57% 61% 57%
Hercules Raptis WR1 (3) 57% 43% 57% 63% 63% 63%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Bridgestone Potenza RE92A (1) 80% 60% 70% 70% 60% 20%
Minerva EMI Zero UHP (3) 70% 70% 65% 37% 33% 50%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Fulda Carat Extremo (5) 62% 34% 46% 40% 62% 36%
Westlake SA 07 (5) 70% 28% 32% 36% 50% 62%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Silverstone M5 Synergy (16) 58% 30% 46% 45% 65% 37%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Mazda MX5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 79% (205-45-16-)
Driving on track for 3000 spirited miles
These are fitted to A 2001 Mazda MX5 which sees mostly track days and a little road time. Dry weather performance is phenomenal. Response is razor sharp. Traction is excellent in the dry, good in wet. Braking ability is awesome. Driven roughly 5000km and they are wearing pretty good despite fairly aggressive camber set up. Comfortable these are not. My car has rose joint suspension, I feel every little bump and road noise is bad but I am able to out corner my brother's Mustang. Will most definitely purchase again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-31 08:15:53
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 70% (185-60-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-15 11:32:35
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Good bang for the buck. Not the best peak grip but all-around reliable on track. Takes a while to heat up for autocross. Steering isnt as crisp as Super 200's or 100TW track tires.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-13 16:24:21
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Fitted to our MX5 . Needed a tyre that didn’t spoil the excellent handling of the car but gave you good grip and traction in the winter . Which can be hard where we live. We are not disappointed .
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-02 19:04:52
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza DZ03 given 81% (205-50-15-)
Driving on track for 600 spirited miles
Ran these in medium spec on my tarmac rally NB MX-5. Did 3 days across two sets and since that have done 4-5 race meetings. No complaints, have had to swap inside to outside on a couple of them to keep the RR camber wear (anti-clockwise circuit) under control. Will probably get one-more meeting out of them before they're scrap. Not a huge amount of miles, but 99% of those miles have been on the limit.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-26 03:44:53
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 86% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Truckloads of dry grip and significantly improved braking performance compared to my old Falkens. Never drive in wet, so cannot comment. For an MX5 there is arguably too much grip, and getting the back end out in the dry now requires levels of provocation that I'm not comfortable applying. Lots of feedback from the road, very positive steering feedback, not at all noisy. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-12 10:06:19
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I've used these tires in two completely different cars, FF layout compact hatch and a FR sports car. I will mostly focus on what I think of the tires driven in a 2017 Mazda MX-5. Similar to what's said on the video reviews, the most impressive thing about this tire is the steering feedback. You feel connected to the ground and control becomes predictable. The tires can handle heat, at least in this platform. 3 consecutive hours of track time with only 10mins stops in Spanish Summer heat did not reduce the performance and the feeling of these tires. Wear is also pretty amazing both in track and daily driving. My only complain, to give it one, would be it's inspiring wet performance. I feel the car a bit more floaty compared to the firm stance you get in dry pavement. In conclusion, these tires are, not only an amazing option as one of the top all-around performing tires, but also a very intelligent choice as the price point of these come around at a very economical range compared to it's high-tier and similarly performing competitors.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-09 16:41:16
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
For some reason these tyres have received a fair bit of bad press but I’m guessing this is people who are either comparing them directly against the AD08R or just haven’t used them but want to jump on the band wagon. They are not comparable to the 08R, they are a different compound to meet EU regs BUT.... they really are good tyres and they are MSA list 1B tyres for a reason. The grip is fantastic, progressive and provide good feedback so you can be comfortable with turn in. The wear rate is very good and the noise is far from intrusive on the road too. They generate heat quickly and are a great track tyre, probably better suited to lighter cars but you will be pressed to find better for the money.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-28 19:35:49
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
So i use my tires on my daily mx5 NC, it heavy modified and before covid i used it daily for work. On the weekends nice fast drives and 4 times per year track driving or autocross. What do I think off it? I think its the best tire ever owned. Let me explain why: The dry handling is great, loads of grip and when over the limit very controllable. When sliding or drifting the tires does not kill you all of a sudden. Its always keeps in form no surprises In the wet its a extension of the dry, you can pretty much still race around without any TCS or abs moments because the tires have so much grip understeer only comes when driving crazy speeds and heavy rain is also fine. Since i use them on a MX5 with a weight of 1 ton, aquaplaning is always an option because of the wide tires + low weight. Braking is amazing, and you feel save. Driving on the highway in rain and having to brake hard breaks no sweat. They do wear faster then budget tires, but i drive way faster then other people so getting 15.000 miles+ out of a set that also did circuit driving is pretty good. The price? Yes they are expensive, but it's the only connection to the road and its makes the car so much better. Even tho a set on a MX5 225/45/17 costs between €500/600 i still think its not that expensive if you know what the tires can give you in fun, safety and life. 10/10 would buy again. Are you focused on more track driving? Get the cup2s i have them on the MX5 now for track driving and daily driving, in the winter they can get slippery but above 10 degrees celcius its fine. Also even tho its a semi, it still does good in the rain. Just be alert., and don't drive like a maniac. Cheers!
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 18:34:54
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 70% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Good rim protection Good in dry poor in wet
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-27 00:03:28
Writing about the Hifly HF201 given 27% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I got these on the rear when I bought my MX5-NB, but overall ride is superbumpy, unpredictable, sideways into third gear on wet and they feel sketchy. With still enough thread on them, I am replacing them with Michelin Pilotsport 3, as I want my girlfriend to also be alle to drive the car without ending up in a ditch.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-19 12:18:00
Writing about the Avon WV7 given 90% (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
I have these as a winter set on My mx5 which is boosted. I run ad08-r in summer and these have been my go to winter tyre for it. In the dry on a day where surfaces temps are low on the road. They’re are spot on.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-12 11:21:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre