Mazda MX5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda MX5.

Do you Drive a Mazda MX5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a MX5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 (5) 96% 92% 94% 92% 94% 88%
Continental WinterContact TS 870 P (9) 89% 99% 83% 93% 90% 97%
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (28) 86% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (13) 92% 83% 83% 81% 88% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (154) 94% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (211) 93% 91% 87% 89% 82% 81%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS (9) 84% 89% 80% 80% 84% 90%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (142) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (95) 89% 86% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Vredestein Quatrac (14) 85% 91% 79% 86% 90% 78%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (34) 84% 91% 82% 76% 83% 86%
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (31) 89% 83% 83% 80% 74% 89%
Hankook Icebear W440 (5) 82% 86% 80% 78% 82% 88%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (70) 94% 88% 91% 92% 64% 75%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (291) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Avon WV7 (14) 82% 84% 83% 76% 82% 88%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (285) 90% 88% 81% 84% 74% 79%
Yokohama Advan A11A (2) 90% 75% 95% 95% 95% 75%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (17) 88% 75% 86% 89% 85% 63%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (62) 87% 85% 75% 69% 82% 87%
Yokohama A539 (12) 81% 74% 86% 85% 78% 81%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (107) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Continental ExtremeContact Force (2) 100% 55% 90% 95% 95% 45%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 (30) 87% 81% 79% 85% 76% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (83) 87% 83% 82% 81% 79% 80%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (83) 91% 78% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Toyo R888 R (23) 96% 69% 89% 93% 66% 67%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (84) 86% 82% 81% 82% 78% 77%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (55) 85% 79% 81% 82% 77% 78%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (41) 79% 87% 74% 73% 88% 86%
Accelera 651 Sport (18) 84% 74% 81% 83% 80% 81%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (235) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (283) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (35) 83% 93% 78% 75% 65% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (80) 86% 79% 79% 81% 76% 81%
Dunlop Direzza DZ03 (7) 94% 66% 89% 89% 71% 47%
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (53) 82% 78% 76% 79% 75% 78%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (172) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Maxxis All Season AP2 (21) 84% 80% 73% 76% 77% 72%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Rotalla RH01 E Pace (3) 80% 77% 73% 73% 73% 73%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Nankang AR 1 (31) 91% 48% 86% 89% 73% 67%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Kumho Solus HS51 Harmony Sports (5) 85% 80% 65% 65% 80% 90%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Nankang NS2R (54) 89% 66% 83% 85% 72% 56%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (54) 85% 76% 77% 81% 73% 65%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Avon ZV7 (105) 85% 80% 74% 73% 67% 80%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (114) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 78%
Federal 595RSR (50) 87% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Landsail LS588 UHP (88) 81% 75% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68%
Nankang SV2 (30) 83% 77% 74% 74% 83% 74%
Yokohama ADVAN A460 (20) 84% 74% 77% 74% 81% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport 200 (3) 80% 57% 77% 57% 87% 83%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Kumho Ecsta V720 (9) 93% 53% 85% 93% 47% 43%
Kinforest KF550 UHP (18) 73% 66% 71% 69% 66% 71%
Rovelo RPX 998 (29) 80% 64% 69% 67% 63% 74%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (24) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (210) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli PZero Nero (138) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (27) 72% 66% 72% 70% 78% 70%
Debica Frigo 2 (20) 66% 58% 65% 61% 83% 69%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (100) 80% 70% 69% 67% 63% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (156) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Nankang EX500 (1) 70% 60% 60% 60% 90% 70%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD2 (8) 75% 68% 70% 64% 66% 63%
Nankang NS2 (210) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Barum Bravuris (19) 79% 57% 63% 64% 65% 68%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (43) 78% 61% 67% 62% 72% 57%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (54) 74% 61% 67% 68% 73% 51%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Marangoni Mythos (29) 69% 55% 58% 60% 62% 58%
Pace Toledo TL1000 (12) 68% 51% 57% 55% 67% 57%
Rapid p609 (33) 68% 54% 56% 60% 62% 58%
Firestone firehawk S790 (2) 65% 65% 45% 75% 65% 45%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Pirelli P7000 (7) 71% 47% 63% 57% 61% 57%
Hercules Raptis WR1 (3) 57% 43% 57% 63% 63% 63%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Hifly HF201 (28) 60% 46% 53% 47% 53% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE92A (1) 80% 60% 70% 70% 60% 20%
Minerva EMI Zero UHP (3) 70% 70% 65% 37% 33% 50%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Fulda Carat Extremo (5) 62% 34% 46% 40% 62% 36%
Westlake SA 07 (5) 70% 28% 32% 36% 50% 62%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Silverstone M5 Synergy (16) 58% 30% 46% 45% 65% 37%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Mazda MX5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 67% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4800 spirited miles
I have a MAZDA MX5 NC with OHLINS suspension and YOKOHAMA ADVAN NEOVA RS 205/55/16. I wore them 2 years ago and unfortunately what I read was confirmed.

Before I had a SUBARU IMPREZA WRX STI with BRIDGESTONE RE070 225/45/17 which I was very happy with once I put them on 3 times and had them as a benchmark but….

YOKOHAMA's grip is nothing special for the class. They hold like conventional tires. The frame is average. Neither hard nor soft. They are comfortable and quiet on the journey, but unfortunately when cornering when they slide, they hiss annoyingly. Sometimes they make the car relatively unpredictable, compared to the previous tires I had. I thought something was wrong with the alignment. I did it again which didn't show anything. In fact, I made it less aggressive to make the car less overstear and safe, but again in some cases it has a sudden overstear behavior that surprises and is not controlled, especially when I insist on the gas, while it didn't have it before. I read that others have faced the same issue and that's why I'm reporting it.

I wouldn't buy them again!
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-20 10:16:51
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact Force given 91% (225-45-15-)
Driving on track for 4000 spirited miles
Been using these on my track day Miata. My first impression was how little heat they require to get working. You can attack out of the pits better than on other lapping tires, and they don't suffer from heat as much as the autocross/time trial tires do. It will give up some time to the super 200 tw tires, but if you're more concerned with a consistent tire that can hold up to the abuse of 20-30 minute sessions, the Conti is excellent. Street manners are fine, not dissimilar to the other tires in the category. They suffer in the cold, and are ok in the wet. No real draw backs to this tire other than the cost.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-21 19:43:04
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate 2 given 83% (195-50-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 9000 easy going miles
Mostly driven on motorways, with some blasts off roundabouts and country roads; plenty of grip in the dry, and great in the wet having driven through two rainstorms in the last two weeks.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-31 13:39:28
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact Sport given 91% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 spirited miles
These tires are awesome. took them to the tail of the dragon and stuck to the road like glue. Also, road the dragon in the rain, and the grip still felt great. After my runs i can see a bunch of stuff stuck to the tires so they get real sticky when warm. Will buy again next summer
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-29 01:00:50
Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
need a bit of warming up for them to start performing how you'd expect
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-02 09:01:04
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 76% (205-50-15-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
These replaced outgoing R888R’s. Initially feel is they warm up very quickly which is great, very responsive on the turn in but felt a bit more understeer than I got with the Toyo’s. Feedback through steering wheel is great and can feel where the car is at all time. Outright grip I’d say initially Toyo seems better BUT I’ve only put about 500 miles on them and a travkday at abingdon which is very poor tarmac/concrete surface so not a fair test. Would I buy again? I’ll have to do another 2 or 3 trackdays on them as the Toyo’s gave me around 5000 road miles and 3 trackdays (averaging around 200 miles driving each trackday). But initially I’d say yes.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-26 23:11:37
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 74% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Tl;dr the TR1 is truly a valid tyre, especially considering how fairly they are priced. To get in more detail, I recommend them because of the great price/performance ratio: I now have the Michelin PS3 that are a bit better grip-wise, but at a certain cost (440€ vs 250€ for the set) and I didn't notice critical flaws on the Toyos: to be picky they may not satisfy the most aggressive or skilled driver, since at the limit they are balanced toward a safe but quite understeery behaviour, which is more noticeable on wet surfaces. In general, I'd say they work a better on dry conditions, since they are more progressive: while being far from being dangerous, on wet surfaces they were a tiny bit more snappy on the reactions. Comfort and noise levels were good. Also, they lasted quite a bit for my standard and until the end they maintained good levels of grip, which is surely a thing to keep in mind. Can't talk about a very long time period (1 year), so I didn't test how the compound reacted over ageing, but I can say that intense use did not have an effect on the grip levels: even after they went through some intense heat-cycle during a track day (something that basically killed the grip on other tyres I had in the past) they were fine.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-08 14:27:01
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 79% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-12 11:56:27
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Absolutely insane lateral grip when warmed, comparing these to Toyo Proxes T1R is night and day, feels like car will overturn before it understeers. Extremely reactive to small steering inputs, very little sidewall flex in fast corners. Wet grip is a bit less impressive but you can't have everything in one tyre I suppose. Noise and comfort suffer due to rock hard sidewall but again to be expected with market segment. Would not recommend for a commuter/daily, more a weekend sort of tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-26 16:48:13
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P given 93% (205-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
I got an MX-5 NC, it's just 125 HP, but it's so light it can easily lose grip, especially since it doesn't have any systems to prevent slippage, etc. I had pretty bad tires so I had to make sure I get the best damn possible models I can for a car like this. I did a lot of research (thanks TyreReviews) and got the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P. The feel of the car immediately changed on these tires. Grip on dry and wet is amazing. Now, even when I want to lose a little grip, do some drifts, have some fun, I can't! I couldn't even force losing grip on slushy snow which is another huge plus for an MX-5. Noise levels are fine and I got a pretty hard suspension, so I can't really say anything about comfort. I haven't had em for too long, but overall, I'd buy these again and again! Highly recommended!
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-29 17:02:09
Writing about the Avon WV7 given 88% (195-45-15-)
Driving on for 1500 miles
Have these for winter driving on my turbo’d mx5 mk1. I run ad08r in the summer. These handle the power great when the road surface is cold and give lots of confidence in after we weather conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-11 14:51:26
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 79% (205-45-16-)
Driving on track for 3000 spirited miles
These are fitted to A 2001 Mazda MX5 which sees mostly track days and a little road time. Dry weather performance is phenomenal. Response is razor sharp. Traction is excellent in the dry, good in wet. Braking ability is awesome. Driven roughly 5000km and they are wearing pretty good despite fairly aggressive camber set up. Comfortable these are not. My car has rose joint suspension, I feel every little bump and road noise is bad but I am able to out corner my brother's Mustang. Will most definitely purchase again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-31 08:15:53
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre