Mazda MX5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda MX5.

Do you Drive a Mazda MX5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a MX5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 (5) 96% 92% 94% 92% 94% 88%
Continental WinterContact TS 870 P (9) 89% 99% 83% 92% 90% 97%
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (27) 87% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Vredestein Quatrac (8) 89% 96% 88% 89% 95% 75%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (198) 93% 91% 87% 89% 83% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (152) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (140) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS (9) 84% 89% 80% 80% 84% 90%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (93) 89% 86% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (34) 84% 91% 82% 76% 83% 86%
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (29) 89% 84% 83% 80% 76% 90%
Hankook Icebear W440 (5) 82% 86% 80% 78% 82% 88%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (58) 94% 88% 91% 92% 63% 76%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (289) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (273) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 79%
Avon WV7 (14) 82% 84% 83% 76% 82% 88%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Yokohama Advan A11A (2) 90% 75% 95% 95% 95% 75%
Yokohama A539 (12) 81% 74% 86% 85% 78% 81%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (15) 87% 75% 86% 90% 83% 63%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (106) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (75) 87% 83% 82% 81% 80% 80%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (40) 79% 88% 76% 74% 89% 88%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 (30) 87% 81% 79% 85% 76% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Accelera 651 Sport (16) 85% 73% 83% 84% 80% 82%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Toyo R888 R (20) 96% 70% 88% 92% 68% 67%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (83) 86% 82% 81% 82% 78% 77%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (80) 91% 78% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (52) 85% 79% 81% 82% 76% 79%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (230) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (281) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (32) 83% 93% 77% 74% 64% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (78) 85% 79% 79% 80% 76% 81%
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (49) 82% 79% 76% 79% 77% 78%
Dunlop Direzza DZ03 (7) 94% 66% 89% 89% 71% 47%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (171) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Maxxis All Season AP2 (21) 84% 80% 73% 76% 77% 72%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Rotalla RH01 E Pace (3) 80% 77% 73% 73% 73% 73%
Nankang AR 1 (29) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (43) 85% 75% 77% 82% 75% 70%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Avon ZV7 (100) 85% 81% 75% 73% 70% 81%
Kumho Solus HS51 Harmony Sports (5) 85% 80% 65% 65% 80% 90%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Nankang NS2R (52) 89% 66% 83% 85% 71% 56%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (113) 87% 82% 76% 77% 57% 78%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Landsail LS588 UHP (87) 81% 76% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68%
Nankang SV2 (30) 83% 77% 74% 74% 83% 74%
Yokohama ADVAN A460 (20) 84% 74% 77% 74% 81% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport 200 (3) 80% 57% 77% 57% 87% 83%
Kumho Ecsta V720 (8) 93% 53% 87% 94% 50% 44%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (156) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Toyo Proxes 4 (45) 80% 63% 72% 66% 77% 74%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (23) 76% 67% 75% 74% 79% 67%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Rovelo RPX 998 (28) 81% 66% 72% 67% 63% 74%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (24) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 61%
Kinforest KF550 UHP (17) 72% 66% 69% 68% 66% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (210) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli PZero Nero (138) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Debica Frigo 2 (20) 66% 58% 65% 61% 83% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (154) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (97) 80% 70% 69% 66% 63% 71%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD2 (8) 75% 68% 70% 64% 66% 63%
Nankang EX500 (1) 70% 60% 60% 60% 90% 70%
Nankang NS2 (210) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (50) 77% 62% 67% 69% 72% 53%
Barum Bravuris (19) 79% 57% 63% 64% 65% 68%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (43) 78% 61% 67% 62% 72% 57%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Marangoni Mythos (29) 69% 55% 58% 60% 62% 58%
Pace Toledo TL1000 (12) 68% 51% 57% 55% 67% 57%
Rapid p609 (31) 67% 56% 57% 60% 61% 57%
Firestone firehawk S790 (2) 65% 65% 45% 75% 65% 45%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Pirelli P7000 (7) 71% 47% 63% 57% 61% 57%
Hercules Raptis WR1 (3) 57% 43% 57% 63% 63% 63%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Hifly HF201 (28) 60% 46% 53% 47% 53% 62%
Bridgestone Potenza RE92A (1) 80% 60% 70% 70% 60% 20%
Minerva EMI Zero UHP (3) 70% 70% 65% 37% 33% 50%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Fulda Carat Extremo (5) 62% 34% 46% 40% 62% 36%
Westlake SA 07 (5) 70% 28% 32% 36% 50% 62%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Silverstone M5 Synergy (16) 58% 30% 46% 45% 65% 37%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Mazda MX5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
need a bit of warming up for them to start performing how you'd expect
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-02 08:01:04
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 76% (205-50-15-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
These replaced outgoing R888R’s. Initially feel is they warm up very quickly which is great, very responsive on the turn in but felt a bit more understeer than I got with the Toyo’s. Feedback through steering wheel is great and can feel where the car is at all time. Outright grip I’d say initially Toyo seems better BUT I’ve only put about 500 miles on them and a travkday at abingdon which is very poor tarmac/concrete surface so not a fair test. Would I buy again? I’ll have to do another 2 or 3 trackdays on them as the Toyo’s gave me around 5000 road miles and 3 trackdays (averaging around 200 miles driving each trackday). But initially I’d say yes.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-26 22:11:37
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 74% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Tl;dr the TR1 is truly a valid tyre, especially considering how fairly they are priced. To get in more detail, I recommend them because of the great price/performance ratio: I now have the Michelin PS3 that are a bit better grip-wise, but at a certain cost (440€ vs 250€ for the set) and I didn't notice critical flaws on the Toyos: to be picky they may not satisfy the most aggressive or skilled driver, since at the limit they are balanced toward a safe but quite understeery behaviour, which is more noticeable on wet surfaces. In general, I'd say they work a better on dry conditions, since they are more progressive: while being far from being dangerous, on wet surfaces they were a tiny bit more snappy on the reactions. Comfort and noise levels were good. Also, they lasted quite a bit for my standard and until the end they maintained good levels of grip, which is surely a thing to keep in mind. Can't talk about a very long time period (1 year), so I didn't test how the compound reacted over ageing, but I can say that intense use did not have an effect on the grip levels: even after they went through some intense heat-cycle during a track day (something that basically killed the grip on other tyres I had in the past) they were fine.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-08 13:27:01
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 79% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-12 10:56:27
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Absolutely insane lateral grip when warmed, comparing these to Toyo Proxes T1R is night and day, feels like car will overturn before it understeers. Extremely reactive to small steering inputs, very little sidewall flex in fast corners. Wet grip is a bit less impressive but you can't have everything in one tyre I suppose. Noise and comfort suffer due to rock hard sidewall but again to be expected with market segment. Would not recommend for a commuter/daily, more a weekend sort of tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-26 15:48:13
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P given 93% (205-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
I got an MX-5 NC, it's just 125 HP, but it's so light it can easily lose grip, especially since it doesn't have any systems to prevent slippage, etc. I had pretty bad tires so I had to make sure I get the best damn possible models I can for a car like this. I did a lot of research (thanks TyreReviews) and got the Continental WinterContact TS 870 P. The feel of the car immediately changed on these tires. Grip on dry and wet is amazing. Now, even when I want to lose a little grip, do some drifts, have some fun, I can't! I couldn't even force losing grip on slushy snow which is another huge plus for an MX-5. Noise levels are fine and I got a pretty hard suspension, so I can't really say anything about comfort. I haven't had em for too long, but overall, I'd buy these again and again! Highly recommended!
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-29 16:02:09
Writing about the Avon WV7 given 88% (195-45-15-)
Driving on for 1500 miles
Have these for winter driving on my turbo’d mx5 mk1. I run ad08r in the summer. These handle the power great when the road surface is cold and give lots of confidence in after we weather conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-11 14:51:26
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 79% (205-45-16-)
Driving on track for 3000 spirited miles
These are fitted to A 2001 Mazda MX5 which sees mostly track days and a little road time. Dry weather performance is phenomenal. Response is razor sharp. Traction is excellent in the dry, good in wet. Braking ability is awesome. Driven roughly 5000km and they are wearing pretty good despite fairly aggressive camber set up. Comfortable these are not. My car has rose joint suspension, I feel every little bump and road noise is bad but I am able to out corner my brother's Mustang. Will most definitely purchase again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-31 08:15:53
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 70% (185-60-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-15 11:32:35
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Good bang for the buck. Not the best peak grip but all-around reliable on track. Takes a while to heat up for autocross. Steering isnt as crisp as Super 200's or 100TW track tires.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-13 16:24:21
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Fitted to our MX5 . Needed a tyre that didn’t spoil the excellent handling of the car but gave you good grip and traction in the winter . Which can be hard where we live. We are not disappointed .
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-02 19:04:52
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza DZ03 given 81% (205-50-15-)
Driving on track for 600 spirited miles
Ran these in medium spec on my tarmac rally NB MX-5. Did 3 days across two sets and since that have done 4-5 race meetings. No complaints, have had to swap inside to outside on a couple of them to keep the RR camber wear (anti-clockwise circuit) under control. Will probably get one-more meeting out of them before they're scrap. Not a huge amount of miles, but 99% of those miles have been on the limit.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-26 03:44:53
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre