Mazda MX5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda MX5.

Do you Drive a Mazda MX5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a MX5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 (5) 96% 92% 94% 92% 94% 88%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (24) 97% 92% 95% 96% 81% 82%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (129) 94% 93% 88% 91% 88% 83%
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (27) 87% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (132) 95% 85% 90% 87% 82% 82%
Continental ExtremeContact DWS (9) 84% 89% 80% 80% 84% 90%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (89) 89% 87% 84% 85% 86% 84%
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (28) 90% 85% 83% 81% 78% 90%
Hankook Icebear W440 (5) 82% 86% 80% 78% 82% 88%
Falken ZE914 (96) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (217) 91% 89% 83% 85% 76% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (52) 88% 83% 83% 82% 84% 82%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (33) 85% 91% 83% 76% 83% 87%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Yokohama Advan A11A (2) 90% 75% 95% 95% 95% 75%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (40) 85% 81% 82% 84% 76% 78%
Yokohama A539 (12) 81% 74% 86% 85% 78% 81%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Avon WV7 (13) 82% 85% 83% 75% 80% 88%
Accelera 651 Sport (14) 86% 74% 82% 84% 81% 83%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (79) 87% 83% 81% 83% 79% 77%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 (30) 87% 81% 79% 85% 76% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (75) 91% 79% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (220) 87% 86% 77% 79% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (30) 83% 93% 76% 74% 67% 83%
Toyo R888 R (15) 95% 69% 86% 91% 69% 64%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (271) 83% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (42) 83% 81% 76% 79% 77% 77%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (70) 85% 79% 79% 81% 76% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (165) 89% 85% 83% 82% 59% 83%
Avon ZV7 (84) 86% 82% 75% 73% 75% 83%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Rotalla RH01 E Pace (3) 80% 77% 73% 73% 73% 73%
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Maxxis All Season AP2 (20) 83% 79% 71% 75% 76% 73%
Kumho Solus HS51 Harmony Sports (5) 85% 80% 65% 65% 80% 90%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Nankang NS2R (47) 89% 66% 84% 85% 72% 55%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (29) 84% 73% 76% 80% 75% 68%
Landsail LS588 UHP (80) 82% 77% 71% 69% 77% 81%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (109) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 79%
Federal 595RSR (48) 87% 67% 78% 81% 74% 58%
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68%
Kumho Ecsta V720 (6) 95% 55% 88% 95% 50% 50%
Nankang SV2 (30) 83% 77% 74% 74% 83% 74%
Dunlop SP Sport 200 (3) 80% 57% 77% 57% 87% 83%
Yokohama ADVAN A460 (18) 84% 74% 76% 73% 81% 64%
Toyo T1R (282) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Goodyear Excellence (119) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Toyo Proxes 4 (44) 80% 62% 71% 65% 77% 75%
Rovelo RPX 998 (25) 80% 65% 70% 65% 64% 73%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (16) 74% 65% 73% 74% 74% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (207) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli PZero Nero (133) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (23) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 60%
Kinforest KF550 UHP (11) 72% 66% 68% 66% 68% 68%
Debica Frigo 2 (18) 65% 58% 66% 62% 81% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (149) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (87) 80% 70% 68% 65% 62% 72%
Wanli S1063 (78) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD2 (8) 75% 68% 70% 64% 66% 63%
Nankang EX500 (1) 70% 60% 60% 60% 90% 70%
Nankang NS2 (206) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 63%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (44) 77% 62% 68% 70% 72% 55%
Barum Bravuris (19) 79% 57% 63% 64% 65% 68%
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (42) 78% 61% 66% 61% 71% 56%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Marangoni Mythos (29) 69% 55% 58% 60% 62% 58%
Hifly HF201 (23) 65% 50% 60% 51% 56% 67%
Rapid p609 (23) 71% 58% 60% 61% 61% 57%
Pace Toledo TL1000 (12) 68% 51% 57% 55% 67% 57%
Firestone firehawk S790 (2) 65% 65% 45% 75% 65% 45%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Pirelli P7000 (7) 71% 47% 63% 57% 61% 57%
Hercules Raptis WR1 (3) 57% 43% 57% 63% 63% 63%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Bridgestone Potenza RE92A (1) 80% 60% 70% 70% 60% 20%
Minerva EMI Zero UHP (3) 70% 70% 65% 37% 33% 50%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (67) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45%
Westlake SA 07 (5) 70% 28% 32% 36% 50% 62%
Fulda Carat Extremo (5) 62% 34% 46% 40% 62% 36%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Silverstone M5 Synergy (16) 58% 30% 46% 45% 65% 37%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Wanli S1088 (84) 57% 35% 41% 38% 58% 38%

Mazda MX5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I've used these tires in two completely different cars, FF layout compact hatch and a FR sports car. I will mostly focus on what I think of the tires driven in a 2017 Mazda MX-5. Similar to what's said on the video reviews, the most impressive thing about this tire is the steering feedback. You feel connected to the ground and control becomes predictable. The tires can handle heat, at least in this platform. 3 consecutive hours of track time with only 10mins stops in Spanish Summer heat did not reduce the performance and the feeling of these tires. Wear is also pretty amazing both in track and daily driving. My only complain, to give it one, would be it's inspiring wet performance. I feel the car a bit more floaty compared to the firm stance you get in dry pavement. In conclusion, these tires are, not only an amazing option as one of the top all-around performing tires, but also a very intelligent choice as the price point of these come around at a very economical range compared to it's high-tier and similarly performing competitors.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-09 16:41:16
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
For some reason these tyres have received a fair bit of bad press but I’m guessing this is people who are either comparing them directly against the AD08R or just haven’t used them but want to jump on the band wagon. They are not comparable to the 08R, they are a different compound to meet EU regs BUT.... they really are good tyres and they are MSA list 1B tyres for a reason. The grip is fantastic, progressive and provide good feedback so you can be comfortable with turn in. The wear rate is very good and the noise is far from intrusive on the road too. They generate heat quickly and are a great track tyre, probably better suited to lighter cars but you will be pressed to find better for the money.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-28 19:35:49
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
So i use my tires on my daily mx5 NC, it heavy modified and before covid i used it daily for work. On the weekends nice fast drives and 4 times per year track driving or autocross. What do I think off it? I think its the best tire ever owned. Let me explain why: The dry handling is great, loads of grip and when over the limit very controllable. When sliding or drifting the tires does not kill you all of a sudden. Its always keeps in form no surprises In the wet its a extension of the dry, you can pretty much still race around without any TCS or abs moments because the tires have so much grip understeer only comes when driving crazy speeds and heavy rain is also fine. Since i use them on a MX5 with a weight of 1 ton, aquaplaning is always an option because of the wide tires + low weight. Braking is amazing, and you feel save. Driving on the highway in rain and having to brake hard breaks no sweat. They do wear faster then budget tires, but i drive way faster then other people so getting 15.000 miles+ out of a set that also did circuit driving is pretty good. The price? Yes they are expensive, but it's the only connection to the road and its makes the car so much better. Even tho a set on a MX5 225/45/17 costs between €500/600 i still think its not that expensive if you know what the tires can give you in fun, safety and life. 10/10 would buy again. Are you focused on more track driving? Get the cup2s i have them on the MX5 now for track driving and daily driving, in the winter they can get slippery but above 10 degrees celcius its fine. Also even tho its a semi, it still does good in the rain. Just be alert., and don't drive like a maniac. Cheers!
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 18:34:54
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 70% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Good rim protection Good in dry poor in wet
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-27 00:03:28
Writing about the Hifly HF201 given 27% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I got these on the rear when I bought my MX5-NB, but overall ride is superbumpy, unpredictable, sideways into third gear on wet and they feel sketchy. With still enough thread on them, I am replacing them with Michelin Pilotsport 3, as I want my girlfriend to also be alle to drive the car without ending up in a ditch.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-19 12:18:00
Writing about the Avon WV7 given 90% (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
I have these as a winter set on My mx5 which is boosted. I run ad08-r in summer and these have been my go to winter tyre for it. In the dry on a day where surfaces temps are low on the road. They’re are spot on.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-12 11:21:06
Writing about the Rotalla RH01 E Pace given 77% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-27 00:20:49
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 62% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 average miles
Good feel tyre but rather noisy. BUT after less than 17,000 mile were told they are perished. They still have loads of grip but all 4 tyres have developed a crack between the tread on the whole circumference of each tyre. Now have to buy 4 new tyres and lodge a compliant, a low drawn out affair which clearly favours the manufacturer and not the customer!
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-07 10:32:32
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 81% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Running the tires on a Mk2 miata with the 1.6 and cheap coilovers i can tell that the dry grip is decent, although nothing too special compared to the earlier T1R and Nankang NS-2R. The Nankangs definetly grip better in the Dry. Wet grip is another story though, it is VERY good in my experience. i can push very hard and the tires are pretty predictable, when it gets slippy. Road feedback is okay, though not great, given that the sidewall is not as stiff as some UHP tires and the compound itself is pretty soft. i mostly drive b-roads and push the card very hard on those. They are very progressive at the limit, you can judge when they are loosing grip really well and slides of throttle are very controllable. Drifts on power in the dry is difficult to judge for my car and 110 HP so im gonna leave it at that. For the price i can recommend them a lot if you are looking for a daily driver that gets also driven in the wet and even works well while driving relatively hard.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-01 10:17:44
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 84% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
NC MX5 with upgraded Coilovers - moderate valving, springs 6kg front, 4.5kg rear. Standard sways and unchanged bushings. These are a massive upgrade over typical low-wear OEMs. These and the Bridgestone RE003's are known as the value upgrades in Australia. I bought these as daily drivers after driving the exact same size on a turbo mini and being impressed by the plush grip. And they deliver, with good grip and feel in all conditions. But... I bought used Federal 595 RSRs on spare rims and ran them as a daily for a few months. A little harder in the side wall of course, but now the Michelins feel squirrelly in hard, road corners! I am yet to mess with pressures, going mainly for 38 all round.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-30 04:22:21
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 given 77% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I drive my NB Mx5 pretty hard - it’s just a weekend thrasher not a commuter and the roads I search out are twisty and hilly. Front axle are due replacement and rear axle are 25% worn, having replaced a pair of the same. The tyres are pretty quiet on the highway. Dry grip and handling is very good - I really like the way they perform in the twisty stuff. A really progressive break away and high grip. In the wet they brake well in a straight line but the rears light up easily under power From a standing start. I don’t push them in the wet. I rarely drive it in the wet. It’s dry handling that I’m mostly concerned with since that’s what these cars are for! Top down sunny weather thrashing! They have worn pretty fast I must say but then wear is a function of grip and I wonder if it’s old tech or do some newer tyres really have so much grip with less wear with their ‘green’ compounds?
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-27 22:34:29
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT given 63% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
These came on my 2016 Mazda MX5 2.0 Recaro. - Strong good grip in the dry (no complaints, one of the best I’ve ever had) - Very skidding in the damp. I can’t count the number of times the back end has kicked out under normal driving on mini roundabouts - Little confidence in the wet, but in reality they’ve never let me down in the wet - Because they are run flats the ride quality is appalling Conclusion: if you need run flats and need a summer tyre these are probably one of the best. Switch to a winter tyre when cold seasons arrive. If you don’t need run flats, then there’s better all round tyres from this and other manufacturers. I’ll be running mine until their done and then switch to Michelin pilot sport 4
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-20 08:56:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre