Goodyear Hydragrip

The Goodyear Hydragrip is a Ultra High Performance All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 75%
Wear 70%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 73%

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 253,058 miles driven.

The Hydragrip is ranked 13th of 16 All Season Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodyear Hydragrip
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Hydragrip
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear Hydragrip. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Have you driven on the Goodyear Hydragrip tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Hydragrip? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Hydragrip >

Latest Goodyear Hydragrip Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Ford Puma 1.7 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Excellent tire, extremely good in wet
0 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2015   
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Verso 2010 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
As a boy racer the negative reviews here are unacceptable. No tyre is perfect (Premicy come close) as they are all designed to do specific job. These are not designed to be responsive, sharp and back shattering! I don't fit these to my T-Sport. What I do is fit them to my people carrier and they are like new Asics trainers. Plenty of wet grip, comfort, nice to fast and just feels good for the family car... almost as good as Michelin Premicy the benchmark for these tyres and not Eagle F1.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 47% while driving a Citro├źn Xsara (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Superb tyre on the vet, become very noisy after 5000 km. When I change tyres form back to front nois are awful.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2011   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Puma 1.7 (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Superb all season tyre very well suited to UK climate copes well with deep standing water and slushy snow with astonishing braking performance and directional stability in same conditions even down to legal tyre depth!

The Hydragrip definitely feels compromised on hotter days +25 degree C in both road noise and wear rate increases. Shame about limited availability and sizes now at ?40 a corner certainly a rare gem finding a premium tyre at budget-mid range prices.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2010   
Given 73% while driving a Honda crx vtec 91 (195/60 R14 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Well, this tyres are so specific. In wet, the very best i ever ride with, even better or at least so good like the potenza re050 I use in another car (Golf V). Even comparing with the anterior tyres I use in the same car (crx vtec)those was the potenza re720, the performance in dry conditions, well... yes the hydras are less efective in the ultimate dry handling and braking but two or three steps far the limit of the car, the hydras are better better confident and predictable. For example one corner in dry condition (becouse in wet conditions the hydras are always far better. period!), and good asfat conditios, the r720 do it at 120km/h and the hydra no more than 95km/h is true but if the same corner are very used (polished) the re720 at 85km/h are you are in trouble and with the hydras the same 85km/h with total security. Believe me, thats what is happens. In my case, with my agressive type of ride, good dry tyres for summer and for sure, hydras for winter. For a family car, with moderade handling, hydras at all seasons and you will be 100% secure all time with all weather conditions. Hugs
0 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2010   
Given 87% while driving a Rover 623 (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
Got 26,000 from front tyres and the grip in the wet and dry was excellent
0 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2010   
Given 61% while driving a Mazda MX5 (185/60 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
A very noisy and firm tire. Superb on the wet but nothing more.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2010   
Given 47% while driving a BMW E36 328i saloon (205/60 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Cheap, at ?55 each, but I put them on the front, and immediately the car started understeering really badly. So when I needed new tyres on the back, I swapped them over to the back, and guess what - I started suffering from more oversteer. These are basically budget hard compound tyres with a name brand. I've got 9,000 miles of hard(ish) driving from them, with RWD and 200 BHP. So, if you don't mind sliding and want to save money, then they could be for you. Just don't put them on the front, or you'll have no bite into corners whatsoever.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2010   
Given 90% while driving a Renault KANGOO 1.9 (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 5 average miles
A very safe and sure footed tyre in wet conditions to be honest exception grip in the rain,
Great on motorway / fast roads as they clear a huge amount of surface water, aqua planning a thing of the past.
Good control under braking
Handle snowy conditions fine no problems.

Hard to find had to order and wait 2 weeks. Bought for peace of mind driving with the family. Recommended if you do a lot of driving in the wet. Which review was very good on these tyres.

Would buy again
0 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2010   
Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (205/60 R15 V) on mostly motorways for 53 easy going miles
I've just had to reluctantly replace my Hydragrips after two renewals. they were really good alround but especially reassuring in wet condition
0 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2009   
Given 43% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (195/65 R15 V) on mostly town for 45,000 easy going miles
Fitted the Hydragrips all round to my Sakata since I live in East Kilbride, which is high altitude and gets lots of snow. In the wet, they're brilliant, grippy and reassuring. However, the dry-weather performance isn't so impressive, plus they've worn very quickly and now the fronts (which went on about 10,000 miles before the rears) are almost smooth, despite having plenty of tread depth visible. In the multistorey car park I use everyday, they squeal embarrassingly on full lock, and round EK's numerous roundabouts, in the dry the front of the car simply washes wide, alarmingly so on greasy surfaces as you get in February/March. It's quite embarrassing being out-handled by stock Clios on their skinny 14" tyres. Wouldn't recommend the Hydragrips, to be honest, despite the impressive wet-weather performance.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2009   
Given 73% while driving a Ford Sierra Sapphire (195/55 R15 V) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Goodyear Hydragrip is not the on the list but thats what im reviewing. These are the best tyres I have ever had, I had them on the front of a Rear Drive car and the wet grip is incredible, so much so that I need to change the rear tyres now from Avons that just cant match the grip, going round a wet island with no throttle applied at high speed, the front just grips forever. They are also very quiet and pretty comfortable over the bumps, they also drive properly at a slightly lower pressure than most for a better ride. Wear rates seem to be average but the Sierra isnt that heavy on tyres so its not a problem, I estimate about 20k miles from them on the front. They also never aquaplane and track straight and true. I previously had uniroyals that were very good but these are in a different class. I am actively seeking them out at the best price to replace the rears now, even though my Avons are only half worn. In short, get them!
0 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2008