BMW E36 328i saloon Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW E36 328i saloon.

Do you Drive a BMW E36 328i saloon? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a E36 328i saloon better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (129) 84% 76% 76% 77% 74% 82%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (198) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%

BMW E36 328i saloon Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
I use the N'Fera SU1 to replace my Dayton DT30 and the N'Fera SU1 is much better in every aspect. When i drive it for spirited drives and highway runs it does a very good job on keeping the noise down. Once the tyres are warm it grips in corners very well, better than Dayton DT30. In the rain it disperse water quickly compared to DT30...how is that..well from dry to suddenly entering a rain curtain that is just pouring, it didn't change the way the tyres react to those rainfall compared from Dayton DT30 that would fight on the tyres to disperse water at 120kmh. Not kidding.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-11 11:47:12
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 94% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 spirited miles
Excellence tyre. Soft very good for wet road.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-03 02:52:20
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 41% (245-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Very quick wear. Used for a year and only covered 12,000 miles. Grip on wet roads are appauling. Not very good on the track either. These tyres are only meant for town driving. After almost hitting the 50% indicator mark, I dare not take the car for long distance driving. Be extra careful on wet/damp roads.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-27 01:43:39
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
good value for money. I was using a staggered set of 225/45/17 & 245/40/17 Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 previously but now with the same size for F1 Assym.2, the difference is night and day!!! They grip so very well in the dry and wet roads & the occasional touge runs.

IMO, they are just as good as PS3 and CSC3 but for a lot less money. Dry & wet grip is suprisingly good. Comfy and quiet for long distance drives. Tyre walls are a bit soft compared to PS3 and CSC3. Would definitely buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-27 01:33:37
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 77% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I have recently put these on my BMW E36 after using Toyo Proxes T1Rs for 3 years...
The Hankooks are extremely good value for money. Grip is very good in the dry (about on a par with the Toyos) and good/very good in the wet (again a little better the Toyos and much better than Avon ZZ3s). The sidewalls are a little soft(er) and this means the feel and feedback is little "slow" and woolly. However, the upside is a quiet and comfortable ride and they are pretty progressive. Too early to tell on the wear rate, though.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-09 02:48:18
Writing about the Kumho V70a given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
I run these on my track prepared E36 328iSE saloon, previously I ran Falkens, Michelins and then I invested in TOYO proxy's...all great tires the latter being incredible. BUT, by chance i ended up with a set of KUMHO V700 V70a Hard compound tires.

First experience of driving with them was on the dampest wettest day ever, satnding water rolling across road, so i was a tad apprehensive about what to expect as KUMHO have always been a ''cheap'' tire in the back of my mind.

Once I broke the initial membrane down and they started to heat up, my loaded with me and 2 passengers. I was starting to accelerate and brake at a reasonable pace, till I realised that I was driving quicker across this particular length of country road in ridiculous conditions on the upper side of three digits. These tires are incredible, the way they push the water to allow traction is incredible. High speed stability (combination of tires and suspension set up) is second to none. At the other side of 140 is equal to that at 50. I can't rate this tire enough...! On a RWD BMW this tire feels so at home.

In the dry...NOTHING COMPARES as a road tire...I'll eat my hat if you can prove a tire equal or better!

Wear isn't too bad on the hard compound, Im sure with a dose of spiritedness and easy motorway driving one can achieve 5000miles easily. I would recommend these tires over Proxys, Yoko's (which I had on my MR2) and the brands above, just for price and performance you'd be insane not to give them a go...I will the moment I can afford 650 for a set.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-22 04:22:56
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 78% (205-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Bought these because I couldn't find any performance tyre in my size - 15". Why is this? Anyway, they're brilliant. Great bite into corners, feel, progressiveness etc, and for those of you interested, I don't exactly hang around. They do everything I wanted from the performance tyre I couldn't buy! Grippy and confidence insipiring. But, don't expect them to last. I've done 6,000 miles (on the front wheels of a RWD car) and they've warn dramatically. Probably just over half way through their life. Fork out and have fun. I paid ?79 each, but I shopped around like mad
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-14 11:58:02
Writing about the Goodyear Hydragrip given 47% (205-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
Cheap, at ?55 each, but I put them on the front, and immediately the car started understeering really badly. So when I needed new tyres on the back, I swapped them over to the back, and guess what - I started suffering from more oversteer. These are basically budget hard compound tyres with a name brand. I've got 9,000 miles of hard(ish) driving from them, with RWD and 200 BHP. So, if you don't mind sliding and want to save money, then they could be for you. Just don't put them on the front, or you'll have no bite into corners whatsoever.
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-14 11:47:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre