Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3

The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 60%
Comfort 65%
Buy again 64%

Tyre review data from 154 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 2,281,801 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 GSD3 is ranked 41st of 64 Summer Max Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R16 83W   F C 66 8.56kgs
235/50 R18 97V   F B 65 11.23kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle F1 GSD3 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
This tyre gives me a lot of confidence in the wet. The way it cuts through water is much better than my last set of tyres. Cornering and braking is excellent too.
28 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2014   
Given 99% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Totally superb tyre for a Swift Sport MK1. Had been using Falkens for over 2 years and fancied a change. Totally transformed the car. Steering feels 'tighter' the punishing ride of the Mk1 Swift Sport (ZC31) on Falkens (912 eco runs) has been replaced by a ride which is very firm and fantastic (so much better than the extra load 85W Falkens). Turn in is better plus you feel the grip so much more.
The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3s are fantastic for the Mk1 Swift Sport. Only regret is I didn't get them 2 years ago.
Forget all the alternative tyre size for Swift Sports (i.e trying to avoid buying 195/45/R17s), and 'extra load' 85W or so tyres.
Get these. They are phenomenal.
11 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2018   
Given 99% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 6,215 spirited miles
These tyres are fantastic. Their grip is spectacular. I don't know why some people put a bad comments on these tyres, probably they had them already on their car and they wore out... I have put them brand new. Wet grip is fabulous, like I'm driving on dry surface. They are a littlebit noisy, and this is only reason why I gave them a grade 9 of 10. I'm sorry that this model of tyre is discontinued of production in Europe. My set is made in Germany, and this model is still producing in USA, and Asia...
6 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2013   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 Reviews

Given 66% while driving a Ford Figo (225/45 R17) on for 20,000 miles
Excellent for cornering. Wet grip is also best. But wearing is to fast. Not for Indian Roads.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I had a newly bought set of these for the summer, being almost low-profile. Other than the fact that they do look amazing due to their sporty look, they have been very good and reliable tires. And they really lasted a long distance without too much wear, in spite of the good grip and feel that they offered. Of course, not very good in cold, wet times (early springs or late autumns) but for what their built, on summer, they do what they're expected to do, and do it well. Progressive and reliable. Would definitely buy again also given the affordable price.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Fiat (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
This tyre is great.
Fiat used to fit it too my panda 100HP.
And I love it.
Car is lowered ,and fitted whit powerflex.
The goodyear are like a bonus.
Also stance is great.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2018   
Given 60% while driving a Fiat Panda (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
A poor tyre in my opinion. It grips fine in the dry (like every other tyre on sale), but has no real directional stability... Off centre the car darts this way and that. Once into a corner with a little lock on, all's well, the breakaway is progressive, and all feels fine. Traction isn't great (195 tyres on for 100hp 1.4 should be more than enough!) but wheelspin coming out of corners is common.

In the wet I feel they are ok. Standing water, and general motorway confidence is fine, and with smooth inputs you can still travel quickly on b-roads. Sharp inputs - inputs I'd expect a car to understeer from but still actually turn(!) aren't great in the wet (or damp) though. I expect more from a tyre.

All in all, if I have to replace my tyres I'll probably get another couple of these (standard fit, and there's nothing else good in my size), but I'd be looking for something more modern these days.
3 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2015   
Given 37% while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (210/50 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Got is set of tyres with my car .
Almost got into a accident turning in a bend , skid at around 35km/hr in a car park when it was wet . Immediately change to S drive which was good and had long wear .

This set of tyre was quite bad in wet , unassured handling ...

Would never buy it again
0 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Tyres come on car from new and in my opinion are fantastic and grip superbly fairly speedy driving aswell
5 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2013   
Given 38% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I needto update my original review but cannot find it.

I used these tyres last summer, grio fantastic (once warmed up) etc. Shortly after putting them back on for this summer I notice a rythmic humming noise coming from somewhere, just like a differential on the way out.

After a bit of swopping them back for the Winter tyres (in pairs of course) I have found that

1) The noise is coming from the GSD3 tyres
2) If you check the tyres after the car has been standing overnight, all 4 show a flat spot where the tyre touches the ground
3) If the tyres are stored on their side (as they are over Winter) for just a couple of days the flat spot disappears, but not the noise.
4) After a run of about 10 miles the flat spot almost disappears, but not the noise.
5) in all cases the tread depth is even all round the tyre

The oldest tyre is date 5108, the two newest are 3711 and 3911, and the wheels are stored on their side during the Winter

Two of the tyres have had 2 summer's use, the other two just one summer - and a short one at that.

These particular tyres are the most expensive I have ever bought (205/50/16 on an MX5 mk3) and I am not happy about having to fork out several hundred pounds to replace them.

I've always bought Goodyear as the tyre of choice, and have recommended them to others. I can no longer do either
1 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2013   
Given 61% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (265/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted to my BMW 325ci. Excellent dry grip and feel I was at first really impressed. However, after a couple of years and still with plenty of tread I had major problems with what I thought was wheel balancing, after re-balancing on several occasions at independent tyre fitters, changing wheels thinking they were buckled to BMW balancing the wheels whilst fitted to the car, my dealer concluded That 3 out of the 4 GSD3 tyres fitted to my car were buckled. I immediately changed all 4 tyres to Falken FK452 with no problems, would not use Goodyear again.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2013   
Given 86% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I've had several tyre combinations on this car and the Eagle F1 GSD3 is the one that offered the best of all worlds. I've been using these for years now, and covered many miles.
I'd rate the feedback as excellent and the wet performance and cold weather performance as surprisingly good.
Downsides: wears quite fast depending on driving style. Quite expensive.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Renault 19 (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
Have them on my Renault 19 16v for near 10 years now. Tyres haven't really wore down anything visible yet. Look well on the car and happy with grip in both dry and wet weather.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2013   
Given 93% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet (205/55 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
These tyres ARE still available in certain sizes as they were standard fit on a few cars and they are required to supply them for a few years to come.

You need to be extremely careful when purchasing them online as some online retailers have been getting the ones that were manufactured in Thailand and do not have the E mark making them illegal in the UK and Europe.

Tyre shopper are still supplying E marked GSD3 tyres. The Thai factories also are producing the E marked tyres destined for the UK and exactly the same spec as the ones produced in Germany.

Check with your retailer they ARE E marked before purchase.

Cracking tyre.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2013   
Given 10% while driving a Jaguar XJ6 (235/50 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These tyres were replaced in Europe in 2007, the tyres are still manufactured in thailand for the asian market, if you check goodyears website in europe you will NOT find this tyre for sale.
If you contact goodyear themselves they will tell you that the tyres are not legal in the UK and will ask you for details of the company that supplied them to you.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2012