Volkswagen Golf GTI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf GTI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf GTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf GTI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Fulda Carat Assuro (1) 100% 80% 100% 100% 100% 90%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (154) 94% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (212) 93% 91% 87% 89% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (142) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Kleber Quadraxer (42) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (168) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 88%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (37) 89% 93% 88% 88% 88% 92%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (292) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (107) 87% 86% 83% 74% 88% 87%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (287) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 79%
Nokian WR A4 (21) 85% 88% 71% 78% 79% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (18) 91% 92% 77% 87% 80% 79%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (107) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (235) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (283) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Nexen N Fera Sport SU2 (6) 88% 80% 83% 80% 68% 75%
Nokian WR D4 (68) 83% 82% 78% 79% 66% 83%
Falken Eurowinter HS439 (17) 86% 83% 86% 81% 83% 77%
Nexen N9000 (12) 84% 80% 81% 80% 77% 77%
Nankang AR 1 (31) 91% 48% 86% 89% 73% 67%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (54) 85% 76% 77% 81% 73% 65%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Delinte DH2 (14) 81% 67% 75% 78% 81% 75%
Triangle Sportex TSH11 (17) 78% 67% 78% 75% 70% 75%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Continental ExtremeContact DW (6) 92% 90% 67% 58% 68% 83%
Yokohama S Drive (65) 83% 69% 75% 77% 71% 68%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Continental Sport Contact (18) 81% 73% 72% 73% 66% 71%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (19) 79% 65% 77% 65% 70% 79%
Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO (9) 80% 70% 66% 66% 79% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Hankook Icebear W300 (10) 76% 64% 77% 74% 71% 70%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Nitto Motivo (4) 65% 50% 63% 63% 95% 73%
Toyo Proxes C1S (35) 78% 69% 71% 69% 66% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (210) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Kumho 758 (4) 63% 70% 63% 73% 95% 65%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (101) 80% 70% 69% 67% 63% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (156) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (135) 77% 68% 62% 60% 70% 70%
Pirelli P5000 (10) 70% 73% 59% 66% 70% 57%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (51) 74% 68% 62% 61% 64% 55%
Goodride SA07 (5) 74% 62% 48% 68% 72% 46%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%
Vredestein (1) 80% 90% 40% 70% 20% 40%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Admiral 712 (7) 50% 39% 47% 43% 51% 41%
Fullrun HP199 (78) 48% 28% 32% 33% 54% 27%
Toyo T1 AO (1) 40% 30% 20% 20% 60% 20%

Volkswagen Golf GTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 50% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-13 08:23:53
Writing about the Nexen N Fera Sport SU2 given 59% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 9000 spirited miles
Decided to buy a set to replace some Falken, pushed by dealer . They are OEM on Porsche and very cheap. Don’t know how they managed to get factory fitted on the german supercars, as they are “just ok”. At the orice point, probably a few other brands I would have considered. And wear seems to be horrible. Cheap yes, but I feel in the long run it is going to cost me more. Not recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-27 06:12:18
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 68% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
Noisy tires
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-01 21:08:05
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 51% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 average miles
Handle okay, and they’re a good balance between comfort and response most of the time. They were replacing Potenzas that I couldn’t get on with so haven’t got strong competition. The wet grip isn’t bad either. They will slip a bit on greasy and wet surfaces though, but generally it’s clear where their limit is. The wear is diabolical, in a 200ps+ car. I’m getting about 10,000 miles out of them on the driven wheels, and a lot of that is steady commuting miles.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-05 12:07:32
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 86% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
These tyres were the perfect match for my GTi, they have a lot of controlled flexion of the sidewalls but when you start to trust them you can go very very fast, the lifespan is incredible for me, my car is all use like spirited driving daily use etc… and these are on 35k km and still going another round! For me the best tyre for all round use if i could use some ps4 i would buy them asap because this is my best all round match since it’s awesome wet handling and also on dry surface when you warm them up
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-02 12:36:01
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
awesome tires. This is the third outfit I've been wearing. for me the best. The best in the water and impressive in the dry. They are unrivaled to this extent.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-28 19:31:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 100% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Replaced the AS3+ which was already the best tire in the segment imo and wow it's even better. Feels better on snow and better handling so suits the car very well. It's amazing what this thing can do with the tread pattern
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-02 15:03:49
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 45% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on for 7000 miles
Have a mk 5 golf gti. Changed from Falken Azensis to these all round. Worst and costly mistake I ever made with tyres. They are way to soft and feel horrible going in hard round a bend. No confidence on these tyres. The Falkens were way better with miles more feel and stiffer sidewall. I'm going back to Azensis.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-18 18:55:41
Writing about the Triangle Sportex TSH11 given 84% (215-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40 miles
New rims came with a set of triangles that were trashed, replaced them with the sportex, value for money is excellent. Handle very well, wheel spin in the wet but even my pirellis did that. All round they are the best value I can find
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-18 23:03:35
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Had worn out efficient grip performance set on front from previous owner, after rotating the front asym3's to the rear after a while I really thought the car needed suspension work due to body roll and understeer but after fitting these Asym 5's I can see it was all the tyres! Understeer is gone and has made such a different to body roll, sidewall seems much firmer. Only driven in the wet but seems to feel like it only struggles to grip in hard accel in 1st gear on wet roads which is understandable for a hot hatch with an open diff so very good. I was tempted by the new super sports but glad I went with these, cheaper, feel fantastic in the wet, will undoubtedly last longer and I'm sure I won't notice the difference for 99% of the time.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-31 11:52:09
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 69% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11000 spirited miles
Had these on an old daily work horse and they are very comfy and fine for casual driving. Having these on my gti now though they're not really capable of keeping up with a hard drive on bendy country roads, I'm used to eagle F1's however which are great and compared to these the tyres are quite far behind in terms of performance but for normal driving they are all you'll ever need.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-17 09:31:31
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-12 10:54:05
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre