Volkswagen Golf GTI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf GTI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf GTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf GTI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Fulda Carat Assuro (1) 100% 80% 100% 100% 100% 90%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (167) 93% 92% 87% 90% 85% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (135) 95% 85% 89% 86% 83% 82%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (399) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (36) 89% 93% 88% 88% 87% 92%
Nokian WR A4 (18) 83% 89% 85% 78% 77% 89%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (96) 87% 87% 83% 74% 89% 86%
Kleber Quadraxer (41) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (243) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 79%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (11) 93% 93% 70% 87% 78% 80%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (226) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (280) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Nitto Motivo (2) 75% 65% 70% 75% 95% 90%
Falken Eurowinter HS439 (17) 86% 83% 86% 81% 83% 77%
Nexen N9000 (12) 84% 80% 81% 80% 77% 77%
Nankang AR 1 (27) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Triangle Sportex TSH11 (16) 78% 67% 78% 75% 75% 75%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Delinte DH2 (14) 81% 67% 75% 78% 81% 75%
Continental Sport Contact (17) 85% 76% 75% 74% 69% 71%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Continental ExtremeContact DW (6) 92% 90% 67% 58% 68% 83%
Yokohama S Drive (64) 82% 68% 75% 76% 71% 68%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (19) 79% 65% 77% 65% 70% 79%
Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO (9) 80% 70% 66% 66% 79% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Hankook Icebear W300 (10) 76% 64% 77% 74% 71% 70%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Toyo Proxes C1S (35) 78% 69% 71% 69% 66% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Kumho 758 (4) 63% 70% 63% 73% 95% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (152) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (94) 80% 70% 69% 66% 62% 71%
Pirelli P5000 (10) 70% 73% 59% 66% 70% 57%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (130) 77% 67% 61% 59% 69% 70%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (50) 74% 68% 62% 61% 64% 55%
Goodride SA07 (5) 74% 62% 48% 68% 72% 46%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%
Vredestein (1) 80% 90% 40% 70% 20% 40%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%
Admiral 712 (7) 50% 39% 47% 43% 51% 41%
Fullrun HP199 (77) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%
Toyo T1 AO (1) 40% 30% 20% 20% 60% 20%

Volkswagen Golf GTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 100% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Replaced the AS3+ which was already the best tire in the segment imo and wow it's even better. Feels better on snow and better handling so suits the car very well. It's amazing what this thing can do with the tread pattern
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-02 15:03:49
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 45% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on for 7000 miles
Have a mk 5 golf gti. Changed from Falken Azensis to these all round. Worst and costly mistake I ever made with tyres. They are way to soft and feel horrible going in hard round a bend. No confidence on these tyres. The Falkens were way better with miles more feel and stiffer sidewall. I'm going back to Azensis.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-18 18:55:41
Writing about the Triangle Sportex TSH11 given 84% (215-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40 miles
New rims came with a set of triangles that were trashed, replaced them with the sportex, value for money is excellent. Handle very well, wheel spin in the wet but even my pirellis did that. All round they are the best value I can find
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-18 23:03:35
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Had worn out efficient grip performance set on front from previous owner, after rotating the front asym3's to the rear after a while I really thought the car needed suspension work due to body roll and understeer but after fitting these Asym 5's I can see it was all the tyres! Understeer is gone and has made such a different to body roll, sidewall seems much firmer. Only driven in the wet but seems to feel like it only struggles to grip in hard accel in 1st gear on wet roads which is understandable for a hot hatch with an open diff so very good. I was tempted by the new super sports but glad I went with these, cheaper, feel fantastic in the wet, will undoubtedly last longer and I'm sure I won't notice the difference for 99% of the time.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-31 11:52:09
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 69% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11000 spirited miles
Had these on an old daily work horse and they are very comfy and fine for casual driving. Having these on my gti now though they're not really capable of keeping up with a hard drive on bendy country roads, I'm used to eagle F1's however which are great and compared to these the tyres are quite far behind in terms of performance but for normal driving they are all you'll ever need.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-17 08:31:31
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-12 10:54:05
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 74% (225-40-18-)
Driving on for 6000 miles
Very quiet at low speed but rougher riding at high 65+ speeds that feels like mild vibration
Bought them because of cold weather/ snow uses but overall would not buy again

My Goodyear Efficient Grip much smoother at all speeds
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-25 15:34:48
Writing about the Delinte DH2 given 43% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
These came new when I bought a used car. At First I told people there a choice for a cheap tire, think they where 52$ online. I would probably narrow down the performance,ride, handling a 5 across the board for about 15000 mile then all of a sudden the worst road noise and bumpy ride on the hwy. After getting them balanced they continued to get worse. I can't recommend anyone buying these!
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-02 00:49:08
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 89% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-04 10:18:43
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 66% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 300 average miles
Had these on my mk5 Golf GTI for a couple of weeks before changing back to Conti Sport Contact 5s.

The PS4s were simply outstanding for steering feel and precision and wet grip. However, I couldn't live with their very sharp ride and intrusive high-pitched whining. The CSC5s are probably at 95+% of the PS4s good attributes(steering, wet grip), but with a more forgiving ride and less noise.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-09 05:51:01
Writing about the Nokian WR A4 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
This year I took the plunge and bought a set of WR A4s despite the lack of online reviews. I was attracted by its assymetrical design and overall inclination towards wet&dry conditions, as Romania only has snow for about two-three weeks a year. After driving a few hundred miles with them on my Mk5 GTI, I have to say they match the character of the car very well.

I have to start by saying these didn't give me the impression of an expensive premium tyre without drawbacks, but I think they are a good choice for people who drive fast and/or have "sporty" cars.

In terms of grip there is nothing bad to say about them, I've driven on both dry and wet roads (no ice/snow yet) and they had no problems coping with some very spirited driving. I enjoyed my car both in high-speed driving on mountain roads and under heavy rain with these tires. The best thing about them is that they made the balance of the car very pleasant, as it has moved from heavy, eeek, horrible, hateful understeer to a small amount of safe FWD understeer which can be easily overcome if you know what you're doing. Back to the Nokians: as they are winter tyres, they are very soft when compared to a summer tyre (local temperatures are at about 5-10 degrees Celsius) and this results in the chassis having a lot of small movements from the tyre flex. At first you think this isn't a good thing for a sporty car, but it turned out to be a lot of fun without affecting stability or road feeback. Of course, this softness also increases the roll in corners, but it also makes the car become very progressive. I'd say in the dry and wet they are very good indeed for a winter tyre.

Except the extra tyre flex, the only drawback so far is the extra noise compared to my summer tyres (Dunlop Sport Maxx RT). This might be or might not be related to my wheel alignment; I'm saying this because I didn't hear as much tyre drone at constant speed, as I heard a high-pitch sound when applying torque (accelerating) to the tyres at speed. This also varies with the surface you're driving on, but overall these are definitely not the least "vocal" winter tyres out there.

Overall I am very satisfied with the performances of these tires. They aren't the most silent and they are quite soft at higher temperatures. However, having good road feedback and grip, allowing some little movements of the chassis thus making the car more playful and having a good balance between understeer and oversteer, make me recommend these tyres to anyone passionate about spirited driving.

These might be one of the best choices for spirited driving in countries with changing weather, except the expensive premium options (of which there is a complete lack in this size). The WR A4s are fun and they give you confidence, the most important two things for a hot hatch like a GTI. I'm waiting for the snow to hit Romania to see how they handle the white stuff.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-24 11:02:03
Writing about the Goodride SA07 given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on for 100 easy going miles
They are very good 😊
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-20 13:11:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre