Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf GTi Mk5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (106) 95% 94% 89% 92% 89% 84%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (71) 93% 90% 88% 89% 86% 88%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (394) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (151) 89% 88% 83% 82% 82% 89%
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (35) 89% 80% 80% 79% 80% 87%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (78) 87% 83% 82% 83% 79% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (269) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (161) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (138) 84% 75% 75% 76% 74% 75%
Nexen N Fera SUR4 (6) 93% 44% 87% 88% 52% 52%
Maxxis Premitra HP5 (22) 83% 74% 72% 73% 58% 67%
Starmaxx Novaro ST532 (3) 63% 50% 60% 50% 63% 60%
Nordexx NS9000 (11) 69% 52% 55% 53% 69% 55%
Haida HD921 (32) 60% 43% 48% 47% 49% 39%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 91% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-05 13:13:43
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 98% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-23 10:23:25
Writing about the Maxxis Premitra HP5 given 24% (195-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Without a doubt the worst tyres I’ve ever had. I usually run Avon’s but when they’ve been in short supply I’ve used unknown budget ones - I recently went from
Budget ones to these maxxis and they were notably much worse. Wet grip fairly problematic , handling poor but worst of all they did less than 10000 miles (9 months ) before running to cords.
Will never ever buy Maxxis again
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-20 15:09:58
Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40000 spirited miles
They were a great tire especially at the price point. My biggest issue with them was how they gave way quickly when pushed rather than being progressive. If you don't plan on pushing your car to the limit then these are an incredible tire for the price.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-15 03:43:16
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 73% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Seem to wear extremely quickly. I drive hard but still would expect more than 9 months/8000 miles out of them! They've just worn down to the big that signifies a change. They do grip well however, especially in the wet, they do have a tendency it seems to understeer a bit but this is neglible and arguably the cars lack of mechanical grip. Will upgrade to PS4's next so that will tell the difference!
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-23 08:49:12
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-09 01:20:21
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 12 average miles
Best tyres I have used by a mile. extremely Loveable.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-29 09:47:46
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 89% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Best tyres I ever put on a Golf MK5 GTI. They inspire confidence. I have put a few sets over the last couple of years. Wear is good and cost is on the high side but I'm a firm believer that tyres are cheaper than body panels. The wet and dry grip is outstanding.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-21 18:56:27
Writing about the Nordexx NS9000 given 10% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
Got these tyres on advice from a tyre dealer who obviously gave the wrong advice, I have a golf gti and I nearly crashed twice, wet grip is terrible when taking corners, also road noise is very loud, if you want to stay alive do not buy these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 17:04:00
Writing about the Haida HD921 given 10% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 0 miles
This brand of tires are crap. I bought them and changed them away after 11 days of driving. The road noise was so loud and deafening. The fuel consumption was so bad too with this tires. I'm driving a 2007 VW Golf GTI. Changed them away and fitted them back with Bridgestone Potenza S001. I was using this set of tires till its time before changing to this horrendous Haida brand.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-26 12:58:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre