Michelin Pilot Alpin 5

The Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 94%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 94%
Wear 92%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 87%
Snow Grip 91%
Ice Grip 80%

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 154,050 miles driven.

The Pilot Alpin 5 is ranked 7th of 41 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Sports Car UHP Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - The snow king with the best driving performance on ice and snow, precise steering behavior and dynamic driving characteristics on dry slopes, low noise.
  • Negative - Expensive, slightly longer wet braking distance.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild SUV Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Exemplary premium tires with the best snow qualities, high steering precision and dynamic handling properties in all weather conditions, short snow and dry braking distances, top ride comfort.
  • Negative - Expensive.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

2022 AMS Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent driving dynamics with direct steering response, high level of grip and the best balance on snow. Shortest braking distances, high cornering stability and great steering precision on dry roads.
  • Negative - Deficits when braking in the wet, low aquaplaning resistance, faintly audible noise when cornering.
  • Overall - Very Good.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/60 R16 96H XL * C B 68 8.60kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   E B 68 12.34kgs
205/55 R17 91H MO C B 68 9.45kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C B 68 11.14kgs
235/55 R17 103H XL   C B 68 11.10kgs
245/55 R17 102V   C B 70 11.10kgs
225/60 R17 99H AO C B 68 11.00kgs
215/65 R17 99H MO C B 70 10.40kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E B 70 10.09kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL   E B 70 10.09kgs
235/40 R18 95V XL MO1 C B 68 9.83kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   E B 70 10.11kgs
235/40 R18 95V XL   E B 70 10.11kgs
245/40 R18 97W XL   E B 68 11.01kgs
245/40 R18 97V XL   E B 68 11.01kgs
255/40 R18 99V XL   E B 68 11.01kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL MO1 E B 70 10.69kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   E B 68 10.80kgs
235/45 R18 98V XL   C B 68 10.80kgs
245/45 R18 100V XL   C B 68 11.48kgs
255/45 R18 103V XL   C B 69 11.48kgs
215/50 R18 92V   E B 70 10.37kgs
225/50 R18 99V XL   C B 70 10.38kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C B 68 11.48kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   C B 68 11.48kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C B 70 11.09kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL   C B 70 11.17kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL AO C B 68 11.50kgs
275/35 R19 100V XL MO E B 72 12.25kgs
225/40 R19 93W XL   E B 70 10.85kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL   E B 70 10.85kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL   E B 70 11.35kgs
245/40 R19 98V XL MO E B 68 11.40kgs
255/40 R19 100V XL   E B 70 11.35kgs
265/40 R19 102V XL * C B 69 12.70kgs
285/40 R19 107V XL * C B 69 13.90kgs
225/45 R19 96V XL   C B 68 11.82kgs
235/45 R19 99V XL   C B 68 11.82kgs
245/45 R19 102V XL   C B 68 11.88kgs
245/45 R19 102V XL AO C B 68 11.80kgs
235/50 R19 103H XL AO C B 68 12.83kgs
245/35 R20 95V XL NA0 E C 68 11.10kgs
245/35 R20 95V XL NA5 E C 70 11.10kgs
255/35 R20 97W XL   E B 69 12.29kgs
295/35 R20 105W XL MO1 C B 69 14.20kgs
255/40 R20 101W XL AO C B 69 12.54kgs
255/40 R20 101V XL MO1 C B 71 12.87kgs
265/40 R20 104W XL MO1 C B 69 13.20kgs
295/30 R21 102V XL NA0 C E 69 14.14kgs
305/30 R21 104V XL NA5 C E 73 14.30kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5

2022-09-30 - Hi,
I’m struggling to decide whether I should take a Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 or a Michelin Crossclimate 2…
I would like to equip my 2019 Seat Leon Cupra ST 4Drive with tires for the winter season here in the north of France (Lille) where we have what you call a Mild Winter (between 7-0 degrees, often wet but rarely snowy).
If they were available in my car’s size in Frnace (235/35 r19 91y), I would probably take the Michelin Pilot Sport A/S which seems to fit exactly what I’m looking for: a sporty “summer tyre” with winter capabilities. From what I understand, it was the philosophy of the previous Crossclimate+ (without the sporty handling…) but they’re no longer available.
My questions are the followings.
Under 7 degrees Celsius, between the Pilot Alpin 5 and the Crossclimate 2:
- on dry roads, which one will have the best handling (for a sport car)? Which one will have the shortest braking distance?
- same thing for wet conditions
- how about aquaplaning?
I guess it would be a useful review as your YouTube guest promote all season tyres for mild winter condition but I can’t find any in the web.
Thanks a lot for your excellent website and work!

The CC2 should have the advantage in dry braking, however wet I'm not so sure about. Handling is another difficult one to answer as I've not directly compared them, generally more sipes mean more block movement which means less direct handling, so again the CC2 should have the edge.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/60 R16 £113.69 - £193.70 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £149.99 - £187.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R19 £186.69 - £337.00 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £151.29 - £228.70 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £181.19 - £241.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 122 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Toyota Verso 1.6 D4 D mpv (205/60 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 76,000 spirited miles
This is by far the best winter I have used. I live in the alps and use every weekend to go from 300m to 1740m ski ressort. I have needed to chain up even with 30cm snow. On the packed snow/ice no issues even from standing start on gradient. Knowing the road I push the corners and straights with the knowledge they do not let me down
Helpful 131 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2018
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Passat (235/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Pros:
The wet grip is very good;
Dry and snow grip is good;
Very good handling in dry and wet conditions;
Damage resistant boards;

Cons:
Very bad in slush road;
Bad in sharp corner on icy road;
Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2019
Given 93% while driving a BMW 220d Sport Auto (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
After using PA4’s for 3 winter, even if I could not found any information about PA5, I trusted the brand and bought them. Old ones were perfect as we can see in every single review and they amazingly made a better tyre. It is significantly more direct in steering wheel and more quit. Never disappointed me in the snow with my rwd car.
Helpful 51 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2019
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Lotus Evora 40 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Have driven them ca 1500 km in a Nordic country (Estonia) with my Lotus Evora 400. As seen in the rating, very good if not excellent if there is no snow or ice. If there is snow, they will do the job OK(ish) in the city, not the highway. If there is ice, these things are pretty much useless, borderline dangerous. Braking is hilariously poor. Would not recommend or buy them for a winter tire. Great tire for +10 to -5 temperature countries that don't experience much snow or ice.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2022
Given 84% while driving a BMW 140i xdrive (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Very convincing as a Sport tire in winter time. Side walls are not hard as I had them in my own hands when not on the rims. Thus at least 2.5 "bar" tire pressure required. Car reacts very good on steering wheel inputs for a winter tire. Did a lot of abuse last two months driving agressivly curvy roads at the limit (standard adaptive chassis but same tire dimension all around). Tires managed this very good with low wear. Dry grip is outstanding for winter tire and wet grip on an high level and good controllable. Feels sure footed. Conti 850P had slightly better grip in wet but dry was average. Comfort is below average (a bit hard for a winter tire and some unexpected noise at 120km/h / Limit in Switzerland) but overall still quiet for a winter tire.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Kia Motors Stinger 2.0 RWD (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I've had the tires since November and would say that I'm fairly satisfied with performance but, they seem to have a super hard sidewall because you can feel every single imperfection from the road. And not necessarily in a nice way. They give you some good confidence in the snow and traction control barely steps in under acceleration on snow. I only once felt the rear go loose while driving on a wet-oily road. Other than that, vey stable. Super poor fuel economy. About 0.5l/100km more for constant highway driving (at 140km/h). Comparing them to the previous Pirelli Sottozero 3.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2022
Given 97% while driving a BMW M135i X Drive (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Amazing grip in the dry for a winter tyre. Only negative is the comfort that is not as good as other winter tyres. But then this is more responsive with better feedback than other winter tyres.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2022
Given 91% while driving a BMW M140i (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
The best winter tyre I ever drove. Finally I can go for a drive in winter and enjoy the car and the road. You get a lot of feedback from the tyre. It's not so precise and stable like a 4s for example, but you can still drive hard and the tyre will not fall apart. And the wearing is even when you drive it hard really good. I was very supportive by that. Even with these really good dry performance, the tyre works very good in the snow also. I spend a lot of time in the mountains so it has to work for me also in the snow and the tyre delivers!!! An absolute amazing winter tyre!!
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Went from Alpin 5 (predecessor of alpin 6) to the new Pilot Alpin 5 and was blown away by the way the tyre handles. I don't often get snow so dry and wet performance below 7 degrees Celsius is very important and they do not disappoint. Winter tires can feel wobbly but these do a great job and still giving some sense of connection to the road. And just recently drove on icy roads and some snow and they handled it like a champ. Wear is excellent, and despite the fact they only have about 3.5mm left they still grip which hasn't been the case with some other winter tyres I've had in the past from other brands. So highly recommend, can't fault them on anything. Worth every penny.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2021
Given 96% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 13,050 average miles
This is a review after the first winter with those Pilot Alpin 5. I have managed to do aprox. 13.000miles with them and thread left is : 5MM front 6MM rear I have a sporty driving, aprox. 70% Highways, 25% Roads, 5% Town. So tyre wear is generally fast with my style of driving but those Pilot Alpin 5 seems to last quite a bit. It was my last winter with the car so I do this review about it to feed the reviews on this tyre. I recommend them if you have the money. I think you will find your money back as those seems to make a higher milage as I am used to do!
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2021
Given 94% while driving a Audi A8 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Mounted on a 2019 Audi A8L which is a heavy car. Dry performance and in the rain is outstanding, especially for a winter tire. Snow performance is great in every area except for hard braking. I suspect due to the compromises made by not being a dedicated snow tire. However, lateral stability and inability to execute a drift with ease adds to overall safety of the vehicle. It's also very difficult to break traction when accelerating hard though the A8L is equipped with Quattro. All in all a great tire for those in moderate winter climate conditions with tread life as a concern and/or for those that don't want all of the downsides of a dedicated snow tire.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2020
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I haven’t tested them in snow yet, but the comfort and handling is great, I had Hankook fitted before them, and there is a huge difference, the sidewall looks nice too, I love these types.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020
BMW X5 3.0 diesel (255/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Its very easy to rate this tyre - Best winter tyre I evere use. Dont think , just buy them :)
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2019
Given 93% while driving a Audi RS4 Quattro (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
For a uhp winter tyre this is what you want
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2018