Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176.

Do you Drive a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A180 CDI W176 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin 6 (14) 89% 92% 88% 87% 83% 91%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (26) 87% 91% 83% 85% 87% 90%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Toyo Proxes CF2 (75) 89% 86% 83% 84% 86% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (150) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 89%
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (28) 78% 87% 73% 71% 88% 88%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (269) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (64) 85% 80% 80% 81% 77% 81%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (85) 87% 81% 79% 79% 56% 74%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (85) 81% 71% 68% 65% 63% 72%
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (24) 87% 76% 78% 73% 47% 60%
Kumho WinterCraft WP71 (9) 72% 61% 50% 55% 70% 52%

Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Alpin 6 given 78% (205-60-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
These were excellent tyres. The car handled beautifully on them, very secure and lots of grip. I didn't find them particularly heavy on fuel either but I was shocked that I only got one season out of them.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-12 08:51:56
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 77% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13750 spirited miles
I am living in Athens Greece, and I am using these tyres on a set of wheels for the winter only.

I switch wheels from Summer to All Season in December and back to summers in April, so I am using the Vectors for four months a year, driving an average of 11.000 km during this period.

Temperatures usually run from 6 to 20 degrees Celsius these months in Athens, and I would not consider switching if I didn't have to drive to our winter house in the northern mountains a coupe of times each winter.

During these trips, the temperature in my destination goes down to minus fifteen degrees in extreme cases, but certainly stays below zero most of the time, definitely with snow , but even ice in seldom cases.

So, after being struck on the road on my summer tyres and messing with chains twice, I decided to get me a set of used wheels and fit these All Seasons in the winter so i don't get stuck again :-)

Winter tyres are probably an overkill and I would be complaining most of the time driving them in dry conditions.

Now, the Vectors are very good tyres. Much better than my summer tyres in temperatures below 5 degrees, both in braking and in handling.

On normal snow they are brilliant.

Ice, I have ran across only once, but driving conservatively I had no problem covering a distance of about 5 kilometres with no hiccups.

On dry, they are safe tyres but no match for my summer tyres (Goodyear Performance or Toyo CF2).

Especially when temperatures rise above the mid 20s, they don't drive too well and I need to slow down.

I will probably try the Michelin Cross Climate next time, just for the sake of comparison between Michelin and Goodyear.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-17 21:11:12
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 given 91% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 spirited miles
Fitted the CF2s to save me some money, so I did not expect too much. Previous tyres on the same car were Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance, which lasted for about 40.000 km after rotating front to back once.

At that mileage the Goodyears displayed significant wear and they were slipping when accelerating from stop, also when braking. My car is a 1.5 liter diesel with automatic transmission , so tyre spinning should not be often at all.

The CF2s were a disaster in the first 500 km for some reason. Extremely vague and mushy steering wheel, understeer on dry and a very wobbly feel altogether. To the point I was considering returning them and paying more to get other tyres.
However, after the first 600 km, their behavior changed to the better. Their handling on dry was comparable with the Goodyears, steering is crisper, braking is better in speeds betweeen 50 and 140 km/h, noise is OK.
On wet, they are better than the Goodyears in braking and aquaplanning, slightly weaker on turns bit still very reliable.
Now, they have 37.000 km on them and I have not even rotated them yet front to back. The fronts have 6mm and the rears 7 mm of tread depth, no visible signs of wear, still holding the road just fine.
Conclusion, these are great tyres, better than the Goodyears, much better than the stock Michelin Energys on the same car.
I can see that recent reviews are very positive , while older tyre tests are not so positive on the CF2s, maybe TOYO has made changes in the compound over time without going public about it.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-05 09:53:23
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 69% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
Nokian Zline does everything the way it should. Water, grip, fuel and handling is really good. But when it comes to comfort it´s not really good. Halfway through the tyre and you can feel driving over a penny. To bad cause else it perform really well. High speed driving and braking at high speed, is not so good as Dunlop Sport Max rt2.
Recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-06 19:09:17
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 63% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-09 10:59:52
Writing about the Kumho WinterCraft WP71 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5600 spirited miles
The rubber is to hard. Works well in dry and wet, but no grip on ice and snow. Water risistent is okay but not the best. I will go premium next time.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-11 12:21:15
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 97% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Comfortable, grippy, great turn in. I would rate everything exceptional bar slightly off centre cornering. Mid corner adjustability and turn is still excellent, but the tyres can scrub on less acute corners where not much steering input is applied; eg carrying lots of speed into a less than a quarter lock turn. I would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-10 14:58:03
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 87% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5500 average miles
Fitted these on a rainy summers day and was very happy on the way home, puddles, what puddles? In the next 5500 miles they have been exactly the same, wet roads feel like dry roads, fantastic.I find them fairly quiet and they let me know how the road surface feels. I've no complaints about grip, no scrabbling at junctions or premature ABS moments.
Last week they really proved their worth. On the way home a car drew out on me from a junction and we bounced off each other. I ended up on a flat, wet, mown verge with a wall tapering it down in my direction. Full ABS and plentiful grip from the tyres and I stopped short of going back into traffic. No skidding, no drama.
No shopping around next time for tyres, Uniroyal from now on.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-20 19:43:29
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-27 19:26:55
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-27 19:24:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre