Kumho WinterCraft WP71

The Kumho WinterCraft WP71 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 70%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 56%
Handling 54%
Wear 73%
Comfort 54%
Buy again 46%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 88%

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 129,905 miles driven.

The WinterCraft WP71 is ranked 45th of 50 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty driving qualities in the snow, short dry braking distances, low noise.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry and wet, long wet braking.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild Winter 17 inch Tyre Test - 20th of 21 tyres

  • Positive - Short wet braking, good wet handling, low noise
  • Negative - Poor dry grip, high wear, high rolling resistance
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended
View Full Test >>

2019 Winter Tyre Test Market Overview - 10th of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho WinterCraft WP71

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho WinterCraft WP71. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £80.36 - £91.10 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £84.00 - £138.60 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £82.49 - £114.30 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R17 £124.79 - £129.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R19 £130.29 - £180.20 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £142.89 - £194.50 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho WinterCraft WP71 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Suzuki vitara s 1,4 boosterjet (215/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 6,500 average miles
On the one hand I find these tyres to be very good on snowy,dry and wet winding roads. They have a very good grip on snowy hills too. But on the other hand, they are a little bit noisy on highways. About wear....can't tell yet......
Helpful 231 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2017
Given 24% while driving a (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 miles
On a wet surface, a car slides down the ice ... On a dry, fast-moving car the car just floats ... In the second word tires are bad!!!
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2018
Given 70% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Steering turn in very firm, quite good lateral grip and braking on wet. Low-pitch rumbling noise on highway.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2017
Have you driven on the Kumho WinterCraft WP71 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho WinterCraft WP71? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho WinterCraft WP71 >

Latest Kumho WinterCraft WP71 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Toyota Avensis (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Afriend recommended these tyres, I was pleasantly surprised how good they felt. In dry it handles and brakes very predictably, wet handling and braking is also great as long as one is driving reasonably, but the grip at the limit (meaning tight corners and high speeds) could be better. Snow grip is great, not so much on ice, only downside to this tyre really, is the road noise on highways.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 80,000 average miles
I have these fitted to my AWD Kia Sportage find them excellent in snow and ice Bit noisy at low speed on dry roads but ok at motorway speeds
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2021
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 13% while driving a Mazda 3 MPS (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 5 spirited miles
I immediately sold the tires as they handled dangerously bad on my Mazda 3 MPS BK. It might be the size to be responsible for this. I was driving 50kmh doin slalom and the tires lost control so the stability system had to kick in. Driving 100kmh felt dangerous as the tires felt extremely soft and indirect like a sponge. I cannot recommend this tire. No I am warning not to buy this unless you are a very slow driver and want to save money. But even in that case there are better choices for example the Nexen or Fulda.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2021
Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,600 spirited miles
The rubber is to hard. Works well in dry and wet, but no grip on ice and snow. Water risistent is okay but not the best. I will go premium next time.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2018
Given 93% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (245/45 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
excellent grip in deep slush and snow with good braking and quite at speed on dry roads but more noisy at low speed .
covered 5000 miles with no noticeable uneven tyre wear .
would i recommend these ? Yes I would
Previously had Nokian WR4 winter tyres and I would say that these are nearly as good
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2017
Given 41% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Total waste of money. Dry grip is good ( in fact quite good for a winter tyre), but for this we have summer tyres..The compound of this tyre is hard and this is very bad. Comfort is low (even compared to low budget tyres) and they are very, very noisy. Especially between 40 and 60km/h expect to hear a noise like a 10 year old winter tyre.
On wet, lateral grip is low, handling not so precise as you would like, dsc blink often. Braking in wet is ok.
I didn't test them yet in snow but it can't be good; the rabber is to hard to have a good adherence in snow.
Definitely I wont buy Kumho winter tyres again!!!
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2017