Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car winter premium touring tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Pirelli Ice Zero FR (3) 100% 100% 85% 100% 0% 87%
Apollo Aspire XP Winter (3) 87% 97% 80% 80% 100% 97%
Dunlop Winter Response 2 (10) 86% 90% 92% 82% 87% 93%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R5 (8) 84% 86% 90% 88% 83% 96%
Michelin Primacy Alpin PA3 (8) 91% 95% 91% 76% 96% 86%
Nexen Winguard Snow G3 (6) 88% 90% 85% 85% 78% 92%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 (7) 83% 79% 84% 89% 84% 80%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 (4) 83% 95% 77% 55% 100% 100%
BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 (25) 85% 90% 80% 85% 86% 91%
Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 (12) 93% 90% 89% 89% 78% 84%
Michelin Alpin 5 (23) 85% 93% 84% 77% 91% 89%
Michelin Primacy Alpin (5) 84% 96% 80% 84% 80% 88%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 (8) 89% 86% 86% 78% 93% 69%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 Plus (6) 92% 93% 80% 77% 97% 85%
Vredestein Wintrac (3) 87% 93% 90% 63% 80% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (58) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Michelin Alpin 6 (27) 88% 92% 84% 83% 85% 90%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (20) 88% 90% 86% 76% 88% 82%
General Altimax Winter 3 (3) 83% 80% 73% 80% 85% 80%
Nokian Nordman 7 (4) 80% 83% 58% 80% 85% 85%
Firestone Winterhawk 4 (3) 90% 87% 85% 60% 90% 87%
Continental WinterContact TS 870 (13) 88% 94% 73% 83% 86% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (39) 82% 89% 81% 83% 84% 90%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 (5) 75% 73% 64% 98% 93% 66%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (35) 85% 87% 80% 77% 85% 84%
Michelin X Ice North 4 (8) 75% 70% 76% 79% 89% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice 2 (7) 85% 85% 85% 83% 98% 87%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (48) 89% 92% 83% 86% 83% 86%
Michelin X Ice Snow (10) 81% 83% 77% 73% 86% 86%
Maxxis Premitra Snow WP6 (4) 90% 88% 85% 85% 78% 75%
Vredestein Snowtrac 5 (6) 85% 87% 90% 80% 80% 85%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (56) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Hankook Winter I cept iZ2 W616 (4) 85% 70% 85% 80% 80% 93%
Hankook Winter I cept RS3 (10) 88% 89% 79% 86% 85% 69%
Hankook Winter i cept RS (6) 80% 77% 85% 77% 90% 82%
Bridgestone Blizzak WS80 (3) 70% 80% 65% 70% 83% 75%
Toyo SNOWPROX S 942 (5) 80% 82% 76% 74% 86% 90%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R (8) 82% 64% 77% 73% 86% 91%
Bridgestone Blizzak WS90 (4) 70% 80% 70% 75% 75% 60%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (46) 85% 85% 76% 80% 86% 76%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 (14) 72% 74% 71% 70% 63% 88%
Nokian WR D4 (68) 83% 82% 78% 79% 66% 83%
Kumho Winter Craft WP51 (14) 81% 75% 71% 72% 82% 84%
Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2 (4) 83% 78% 78% 80% 50% 73%
Pirelli Cinturato Winter (7) 74% 87% 74% 74% 72% 81%
Pirelli Cinturato Winter 2 (3) 80% 87% 80% 77% 60% 77%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 (8) 75% 79% 76% 76% 87% 75%
Bridgestone Blizzak Ice (3) 85% 80% 85% 75% 85% 85%
Uniroyal WinterExpert (5) 86% 92% 74% 74% 77% 72%
Toyo Snowprox S954 (5) 78% 63% 73% 78% 73% 83%
Michelin X Ice Xi3 (12) 82% 75% 70% 60% 78% 79%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (75) 79% 86% 76% 72% 62% 74%
Continental VikingContact 7 (11) 64% 66% 58% 65% 59% 87%
Toyo Snowprox S943 (7) 76% 77% 72% 64% 82% 71%
Pirelli Winter Snow Control Series 3 (10) 82% 86% 74% 78% 74% 71%
Continental VikingContact 6 (5) 76% 78% 76% 70% 85% 76%
Kumho Winter Craft WP52 (5) 78% 66% 72% 74% 68% 70%
Avon WT7 (3) 60% 63% 30% 37% 63% 77%
Kumho WinterCraft WP71 (14) 69% 62% 59% 53% 72% 54%
Toyo Snowprox S953 (9) 77% 69% 64% 74% 76% 73%
Pirelli Ice Zero 2 (3) 77% 73% 63% 60% 57% 57%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Arctic (3) 57% 60% 60% 70% 47% 53%
Yokohama iceGUARD iG65 (3) 75% 50% 50% 60% 80% 75%
Firestone WinterForce 2 (4) 58% 48% 35% 50% 63% 58%

Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres with no reviews

BFGoodrich G Force Stud, BFGoodrich Winter TA KSI, Bridgestone Blizzak DM V3, Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 EVO, Bridgestone Blizzak Spike 3, Bridgestone Blizzak VRX2, Bridgestone Blizzak W810, Bridgestone DriveGuard Winter, Bridgestone Noranza 001, Continental ContiWinterContact TS815 ContiSeal, Continental IceContact 2, Continental IceContact 3, Continental VikingContact 8, Continental WinterContact SI, Cooper Discoverer True North, Cooper Evolution Winter, Cooper Weathermaster S100, Dunlop Winter Maxx 2, Falken Espia EPZ II, Falken Espia Ice, Falken Eurowinter HS01 Runflat, Falken EUROWINTER HS02, Falken Eurowinter HS437, Falken Winterpeak F Snow 1, General Altimax Arctic 12, General Altimax Nordic 12, General Altimax Winter 3, Gislaved Nord Frost 200, Goodyear UltraGrip Arctic 2, Goodyear UltraGrip Ice 3, Goodyear WinterCommand Ultra, GT Radial IcePro 3, Hankook Winter i pike RS2, Kumho I Zen KW31, Kumho WinterCraft Ice, Kumho WinterCraft WP72, Laufenn I Fit Plus, Nexen Winguard Ice, Nexen Winguard WT1, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 EV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 7, Nokian Nordman 8, Nokian Snowproof 2, Nokian WR C3, Nokian WR Snowproof, Pirelli Ice Zero, Pirelli Ice Zero Asimmetrico, Pirelli Scorpion IceZero 2, Pirelli Winter Carving Edge, Pirelli Winter Icecontrol, Reference Winter, Reference Winter Worn, Sava Eskimo Stud, Toyo Observe Ice Freezer, Uniroyal Tiger Paw Ice & Snow 3, Yokohama BluEarth Winter V906, Yokohama BluEarth Winter WY01, Yokohama ICE GUARD IG50 PLUS, Yokohama iceGUARD iG52c, Yokohama iceGUARD iG53, Yokohama IceGUARD Stud iG55

Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Goodyear UltraGrip Ice 2 rated 90% while driving a Kia Motors ceed
Driving on a combination of roads for 650 easy going miles
Used with a KIA Cee'd SW 2018, amazing winter tires for the Swedish winter, also drove them through Poland in the middle of winter. Great grip in winter conditions and extremely comfortable and quiet. Massive recommendation.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-23 13:42:56
Continental VikingContact 7 rated 90% while driving a Mazda 121
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
We have these tires on our electric mazda mx30 during winter in Sweden. Mostly girlfriend commuting 100km per day. Never had any issues on dry, wet, snowy or icy roads. She feel really confident during winter with these on and she drives like she stole the car most of the times. Good comfort and second winter with them and no excessive wear. Other than being pricey, no other downside. Recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-20 18:23:57
Pirelli Ice Zero FR rated 93% while driving a Saab Automobile 2.0T (210bhp)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Used same 4 tires on my previous 2wd and now on my 4wd. Driven alot on snow and ice (Sweden) for three seasons. Only had one minor incident when grip was lost (extremely icy condition with melted water on top during overtake). Beside from this situation I am extremely satisfied with the tires and would recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-20 18:11:59
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated 34% while driving a Toyota RAV4
Driving on mostly town for 6000 easy going miles
These tires are terrible. Down to 3mm in just 10 000 km on a Hybrid Toyota Rav4. They got very hard and very loud in two winters. Dangerous on snow and ice. Would not recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-20 13:57:00
Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 rated 75% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B8 1.8 TSI RLine 180PS
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
Bought a second-hand set of wheels with 17" alloy rims and new LM001 Blizzaks, Audi homologated AO variety, to use in the winter with my 2018 Passat. They have proved once and again very reliable on the snow, while handling daily wet and dry conmuting or high-speed trips to mountains on the other side of the country without wearing out too fast or making me go too much slower than with the summer tyres (which are 235/45-18). Comfort and noise are also satisfactory. Dry traction and lateral grip are the weakest points, but they brake pretty well both dry and wet so safety is reasonably spared.
In the beginning I thought they would be just fair performers as it is an old model, but after using them for three winters I am certanly satisfied and replacing for the same model will not be out of the choice.
After 17500Km rotating them on both axles, they still are all four over 5mm tread depth so wear is acceptable to me. Not the best, though.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-18 17:54:51
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated 92% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Very good grip, handling and comfort, both on dry and wet.
Responsive enough when in need of pushing hard while overtaking - little difference vs. summer tires.
But what surprised me most, was the shockingly low noise inside the car, including at high speeds.
I barely hear them, even less than my old Turanza summer tires.
And of course, much better than Nokian WR-D4 winter they replaced.
Seems that the smoother curved lines of the tread pattern have their role in keeping tires quiet.
Very pleased with them, highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-15 20:14:40
Goodyear UltraGrip Arctic 2 rated 91% while driving a BMW BMW E90 325d
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Was in need for high quality studded winter tyres that supported spirited sideways driving on ice lake with a RWD car and Goodyear Artic 2 delivered. Tyres excel at ice grip in terms of braking and acceleration, when turning, unless you wish to go sideways, it is better to slow down first. It makes sense when looking at the studs because studs are not triangular shape like Michelin X-Ice north 4 nor Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 but rather plate/bowl shape? Either way, when driving straight, you will get the car to stop in emergencies. Snow grip is also excellent, no problems whatsoever when it comes to grip. Black ice is a tricky part, when the black ice is thin and is just a small coat over asphalt, snap oversteer is paramount, but on thicker black ice (frozen lake) it grips well. Comfort is also great, just some tyre humming due to studs but that is to be expected.

Since i drive a RWD car, of course i am going to disable ABS and all other assists the car has and take it to the ice road for sideways fun. RWD cars are not the best when it comes to acceleration from standstill on ice but with these tyres i had no problems getting going, took some time but it wasn't an issue. As for driving sideways, fun factor was 10/10. Transition from one side to another (Inertia drift/Scandinavian flick) is very smooth and understeer is hard to come by. Tyres don't warm up too much either so it maintains its grip for at least 3-4 kilometers of drift time, after that point, car starts to throw itself a lot more with less feedback than on cold tyres. I did crash into snowbanks and ice walls quite a few times and tyres took some strong impact because of it, however, the tyre stayed on the rim and no puncture was registered. I did lose air at 1 tyre when crashed into ice wall but that was only due to tyre being in bad position leaving a small air crack to leak air from but NO PUNCTURE nor TYRE COMING OFF THE RIM! Rim itself didn't get damaged either. My tyres did not come with Goodyears rim protection i think, but i did get extra load (XL), so i guess they are durable enough as they are.

For RWD cars that drive around during winter, these tyres are fantastic! Lots of sideways fun and predictable behavior on oversteer. Cornering is not so great like Michelin X-Ice North 4 or Hakkapeliitta 10 but straight line braking and acceleration grip make up for it. A bit expensive yet worthwhile investment for 800€ set!
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-10 18:18:08
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated 77% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTi 140
Driving on mostly town for 3700 spirited miles
I bought this tyre for my sporty coupe with keeping my country's weather in mind which is moderate winter with very few snowy days and quickly melting snow, so ice and snow was not a priority, yet I encountered heavy snow many times, and the tyre didn't fail, took me up in my steep drive way on first try all the three times I had snow on it, even proved itself against sleet. Great tyre, completely delete the wet road factor, however when its dry and not even that cold it shows its weakness, its not a sport tyre after all, keep that in mind. Wear seems good, but its too early to judge, noise is acceptable, on the same level of my summer sport tyres (GY Eagle F1 Assy.). At this point, I would buy the tyre again, I hope it will last long tho, because in Europe this tyre is very expensive and hard to find in good size.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-06 14:14:14
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated 34% while driving a Volkswagen Taigo
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 average miles
I bought a new Taigo in 2/2022 and I bought a brand new Blizak LM 005. This is a 2nd winter season of this tyre. Yes, the tyre is good in wet, but the tyre is disaster when I am accelerating or when I am accelerating and turning from the side road.
Snow handling - disaster!

I am very disappointed. I have also Barum Polaris on Golf mk8 and the same road at the same weather - no issue.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-31 14:12:38
Hankook Winter I cept RS3 rated 86% while driving a Dacia Logan
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
The grip in dry and wet is really good, i had an opportunity to drive on a snow-ice covered highway lateral grip is great, no slip while accelerating and braking. Aquaplaning resistance is high, I drove on the highway in pouring rain and didn't feel unstable or like it was aquaplaning, overall great in wet. Ice grip is as accepted for a non studded winter tire, drove up a icy driveway with stopping in the middle to check the grip, and it climbed with no difficulty and bit of wheel spin. Overall i recommend the Hankook Winter i*CEPTrs3 strong in dry, wet and snowy. Handling is like you would expect from a soft 15" winter tire, not direct but also not unusable.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-28 17:42:12
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R5 rated 82% while driving a BMW M3
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Rear wheel drive BMW. Staggered Wheel set up. 1000mi. Chicago winter. At highway speeds in the dry (we’ll say over 80mph @ 40°f) it’s down right scary. I don’t feel like I get good traction and the car wanders a bit. At wide curves in the dry, the traction control light comes on and then when I straighten out the LSD kicks in and it has a lateral jolt. Oh, and when there’s strong winds… white knuckling it all the way to work. I took the car back to the shop because I thought it might be tire rub but they said everything was clean and then rebalanced. It’s been quite a winter this year-seemingly every winter scenario imaginable So that being said, in city driving with 4-5 in of snow @ -15° to 20°f under 45mph the tires are simply AMAZING! Remember, this is a rear wheel drive, very “torquey” car. Slush and cold rain it handled well. I might be so bold to say the tires handled better at 20° than at 40°f. The only winters I have to compare it with are Pirelli Sotozero 3, which handled great on the highway but not in the slush or snow. I truly wanted to love this tire particularly since they were really hard to come by in my area but on the highway it falls short.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-20 21:42:09
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R5 rated 97% while driving a Kia Motors Rio 5
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
Tested in the northern Estonian climate with heavy snow and -20°C cold. Fantastic tires! Handling in both snow and ice is a whole new level. Recommend!
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-19 21:48:39
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre