Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car winter premium touring tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 (14) 92% 96% 89% 89% 89% 95%
Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 (8) 93% 95% 90% 93% 90% 90%
Michelin Primacy Alpin PA3 (8) 91% 95% 91% 76% 96% 86%
Nexen Winguard Snow G3 (6) 88% 90% 85% 85% 78% 92%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 (4) 83% 78% 85% 90% 90% 75%
Michelin Alpin 6 (15) 89% 92% 87% 86% 82% 91%
Dunlop Winter Response 2 (9) 84% 89% 91% 80% 85% 92%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 (4) 83% 95% 77% 55% 100% 100%
Michelin Alpin 5 (19) 86% 95% 87% 79% 88% 91%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (51) 89% 91% 85% 86% 85% 91%
Michelin Primacy Alpin (5) 84% 96% 80% 84% 80% 88%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (57) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (20) 89% 95% 86% 82% 84% 85%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (16) 88% 93% 88% 74% 85% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (35) 84% 90% 82% 84% 85% 91%
General Altimax Winter 3 (3) 83% 80% 73% 80% 85% 80%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (41) 89% 93% 85% 88% 83% 88%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 (6) 88% 84% 86% 75% 93% 70%
Michelin X Ice North 4 (3) 73% 70% 70% 73% 90% 83%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 (5) 82% 80% 74% 70% 80% 90%
Vredestein Snowtrac 5 (5) 84% 86% 88% 78% 77% 84%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (34) 86% 85% 79% 82% 87% 78%
Hankook Winter i cept RS (6) 80% 77% 85% 77% 90% 82%
Pirelli Cinturato Winter (5) 84% 92% 84% 84% 75% 78%
Michelin X Ice Xi3 (7) 80% 78% 76% 74% 84% 82%
Toyo SNOWPROX S 942 (5) 80% 82% 76% 74% 86% 90%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R (7) 82% 70% 77% 73% 86% 93%
Nokian WR D4 (61) 84% 84% 80% 79% 67% 85%
Toyo Snowprox S943 (5) 78% 78% 80% 60% 85% 84%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 (7) 77% 80% 77% 76% 90% 74%
Kumho Winter Craft WP51 (13) 80% 73% 69% 71% 82% 83%
Toyo Snowprox S954 (5) 78% 63% 73% 78% 73% 83%
Continental VikingContact 7 (3) 55% 50% 63% 70% 50% 93%
Avon WT7 (3) 60% 63% 30% 37% 63% 77%
Kumho WinterCraft WP71 (9) 72% 61% 50% 55% 70% 52%
Toyo Snowprox S953 (9) 77% 69% 64% 74% 76% 73%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Arctic (3) 57% 60% 60% 70% 47% 53%
Pirelli Winter Snow Control Series 3 (8) 83% 84% 71% 75% 70% 73%

Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres with no reviews

Apollo Aspire XP Winter, BFGoodrich Winter TA KSI, Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2, Bridgestone Blizzak Ice, Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 EVO, Bridgestone Blizzak W810, Bridgestone Blizzak WS80, Bridgestone Blizzak WS90, Bridgestone DriveGuard Winter, Bridgestone Noranza 001, Continental ContiWinterContact TS815 ContiSeal, Continental IceContact 2, Continental IceContact 3, Continental VikingContact 6, Continental WinterContact SI, Continental WinterContact TS 870, Cooper Discoverer True North, Dunlop Winter Maxx 2, Falken Espia EPZ II, Falken Espia Ice, Falken Eurowinter HS01 Runflat, Falken Eurowinter HS437, Firestone WinterForce 2, Firestone Winterhawk 4, General Altimax Arctic 12, General Altimax Nordic 12, General Altimax Winter 3, Gislaved Nord Frost 200, Goodyear UltraGrip 9 Plus, Goodyear UltraGrip Ice 2, Goodyear WinterCommand Ultra, GT Radial IcePro 3, Hankook Winter I cept iZ2 W616, Hankook Winter i pike RS2, Kumho I Zen KW31, Kumho WinterCraft WP72, Laufenn I Fit Plus, Maxxis Premitra Snow WP6, Michelin X Ice Snow, Nexen Winguard Ice, Nexen Winguard WT1, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 EV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 7, Nokian Nordman 7, Nokian Nordman 8, Nokian WR C3, Nokian WR Snowproof, Pirelli Ice Zero, Pirelli Ice Zero 2, Pirelli Ice Zero FR, Pirelli Winter Carving Edge, Pirelli Winter Icecontrol, Reference Winter, Reference Winter Worn, Toyo Observe Ice Freezer, Uniroyal Tiger Paw Ice & Snow 3, Vredestein Wintrac, Yokohama BluEarth Winter WY01, Yokohama ICE GUARD IG50 PLUS, Yokohama iceGUARD iG52c, Yokohama iceGUARD iG65, Yokohama IceGUARD Stud iG55

Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 rated 78% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
Really solid tire overall. Running 225/40/18 on a Stage 2 Golf 6 GTI, pretty heavy on the fronts, but copes amazing with cold weather, wet surfaces and slime on the winter roads. Dry grip is also good on low temps and they perform great in the bends, really sharp and precise. Wheelspin is not bad at all, was really impressed with how the tire responds to a tuned FWD hothatch. Had Dunlops on winter before and they were really disappointing. Wear is fine, one season passed, gonna swap fronts and rears and there are at least 2 more seasons left in them, considering spirited driving, no track days though in the winter. Not an issue with comfort, considering the setup, not too harsh, just right. Really pleased, strong sidewalls, copes great in the snow and mountain drives, also a bit of off roading here and there and handles the car fully loaded with no issues. Would buy again if presented with the opportunity, but would go for the newer and improved LM005 over the LM001.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-07 07:26:37
Continental VikingContact 7 rated 79% while driving a Volvo C30 2.0L Petrol
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
I have done about 20k km over the last 2 winters on my VC7s and I am pretty hay with them. they are really quiet and stable at highway speeds. I have not pushed their grip limit in the wet or dry very much but it takes a lot to get stuck with them. my only issue with them is the wear is not the greatest. tho i have to keep them on let into the spring because i run summer tires and don't want to get my self into trouble. my mom has had Michelin x ices on her car for the last 3 winters and they seem to have pretty minimal wear.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-25 01:32:53
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated 89% while driving a Fiat Grande punto
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Very well balanced between different types of terrain. Gives you plenty of confidence going through rain and icy conditions. In the wet they way above anything I used before.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-22 07:43:57
BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 rated 92% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 easy going miles
Very good tyre and very good price.I have these tyres on 2 cars: passat b8 215 60 16 and ford focus 2 205 50 17 and they are very good in snow.I managed to go through very deep snow in my FWD car and there were no problems at all.Snow grip is phenomenal.The handling is not the greatest because they are very soft in order to grip in snow/ice.The price was very good and i am very satisfied with them.I have these tires for 3 years and they still perform great.If you want a good snow tire at a good price go with this product.It destroys some premium brand like continental,etc in snow grip.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-17 14:48:49
Continental WinterContact TS 860 rated 61% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
First joy, then sorrow. I read a lot about tire tests and according to what I read, Continental brand products are always among the best winter tires. That’s why I chose the TS860 in 2017. Safety comes first. I am willing to buy an expensive tire, but my expectations are also high. The tires were manufactured in September 2017 and fitted to my car in November. I live in Austria, where there is usually a lot of snow in the mountains. My first experiences were extremely good. The tires had outstanding aquaplaning resistance. Very, very good handling in snow. It was safe to drive at 80 km/h in snowfall with 15 centimeters of snow on the road. The tires had very good cornering properties on wet and dry roads. A good grip made you feel really safe. Although there was no traction on pure ice, but on ice other tires don’t have traction either. The tires were very quiet and comfortable. I was really extremely happy with the TS860... for the first 2 winters. During the 3rd winter, my experience began to change. It wasn’t a problem on dry roads, but it was in snow. Although the tread depth of the tires was still 6 millimeters, snowy grip, cornering, traction, and most of all braking deteriorated a lot. There was a situation where I thought the car would never stop. At the end of the winter, the tires were 2.5 years old and were marked "cracked" on the roadworthiness test. It was like they were old tires. The legal requirement is a minimum pattern depth of 4 mm. Because it was still 5mm, I also fitted them to my car last November. The grip in snow had gotten even worse, but what’s worse was that the braking distance had grown extremely long on wet roads. On a wet road, you would barely press the brake, the ABS would already be working yet the car would barely slow down. Now it is dangerous to drive with this 4-year-old tire in rain and snow. I think any new budget winter tire is better than this 4 years old premium tire. It’s true that Continental makes great winter tires when we look at new tires. But people don’t buy new tires every 1-2 years. I have never had a tire that has aged so quickly. I drove about 40,000 kilometres (25,000 miles) with these. I recommend these tires only to those who buys a new ones every 2 years.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-14 12:42:14
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 rated 83% while driving a Dacia Sandero Stepway DCI
Driving on a combination of roads for 5500 spirited miles
I strongly recommend these tires. My previous ones were Pirelli. I can say the driving comfort is really good and very quiet on the road compared to Pirelli. Fuel consumption is not high, I feel that I can ride a little bit more than before. I believe that they are very economical. The Hankook tires never disappoint me. They are doing very well in snow, slush and really well on icy roads, plus other demanding winter conditions. They are very durable. Braking distance on a wet or ice surface is very good but if you start quickly, they sometimes squeal. If I had to purchase some winter tyres again, I would go for the Hankook tires again without any doubts. What is more, their price is really reasonable.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-13 17:39:46
Nokian WR D4 rated 92% while driving a Chevrolet aveo
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
When you decide to buy winter tyres , you must know that its made for snow and winter conditions. This means that you will drive at wet roads with speed 20% less than you drive with your summer tyres (especially at turns). This is an excellent tyre for snow . This is a tyre which make your driving easylly at difficult snow and icy conditions. You dont have to expect from this tyre to have handling on wet or dry turns as your summer tyre because you never expect from your summer tyre to climb on a 10% road covered with snow..... + traction on snow + handling on snow + braking distance on snow + buy them again (please nokian dont do that!!! i learn that you will change them with snowproof which are not better than wrd4) - fuel consumption (+ 0.5 lt/ 100km from my summer tyres)
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-13 11:38:28
Continental WinterContact TS 860 rated 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz C320 cdi
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
For me the best winter tyre to date. I recommend it to anyone asking me which winter tyre to buy and so far no one had a single complaint. Dry and wet grip is very good for a winter tyre, but what's even more important for me, this tyre has thick, strong sidewals and therefore awesome road feedback and stability at higher speed cornering. Comfort is good.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-09 07:39:30
Continental WinterContact TS 860 rated 92% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I had a set of these tyres on an Incident Response vehicle for 2 winter seasons, November-May 2019//2020 (was delayed putting summers back on because of the first lockdown in the UK) and November-January 2020/2021 before selling the car. There's not enough good things I can say about these tyres. Where I live we don't really get that much snow, maybe 5 days a year but we get lots of ice. I needed tyres that would take me safely up rural hills in the ice and occasional snow locally, and from time to time get around rural Mid Wales, usually heading in the direction of the worst of the weather. I was most impressed by their ice performance, the tyre would constantly surprise me in the best way possible because I wouldn't expect it to drive certain roads I would make the car go on, expecting to need studded tyres in lots of occasions. Working around floods with lots of standing water I was also very impressed by their wet handling. I even ran the tyres in temperatures up to 25C which wasn't ideal and I could always tell I was on winter tyres in terms of the dry handling in the heat, but it really proved they would work if needed. After about 12,000 miles of pretty aggressive driving the tyres still had loads of tread, I would expect at least another 10,000 out of them at least.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-21 21:28:57
Michelin X Ice North 4 rated 91% while driving a Toyota Corolla E140
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Uncompromising grip on all types of winter surfaces. Out of competition on the ice tracks. Very low noise level, audible only at low speeds when driving on a clean road. With these tires, it is very difficult to achieve ABS actuation. Perfectly copes with leaving the track. After running-in in compliance with the manufacturer's recommendations, the studs took their position and after 15,000 km remain in place. I recommend to buy, the best studded tire.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-11 04:23:51
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated NAN% while driving a Volvo
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
This is my follow-up review to the one I posted last year. LM005 have done some 7 000 km since then, Dry grip fine, secure ald predictible as before. Wet gip almost perfect, I dare to say (braking, accelerating, aquaplanning). Even the wet noise (that typical wet whinig) is better than expected. Snow performence (we have some proper winter in Poland!) is as expected: good, reliable, surefooted. The AWD activates seemlessly as it should. The only downside is compacted snow behaviour but it could be the ice layer to influence that feeling. In the slush however they are pretty solid. Comfort (NVH, potholes, rough surfaces) as good as when new, despite being XL (Extra Load) spec. The wear is visible, but still I find it just normal. They will easily last a couple of seasons more without compromising safety. Would certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-26 01:26:43
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated NAN% while driving a Peugeot
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 easy going miles
tested in mountain passes and countryside, very secure on snow and wet roads, the car never slips you can brake safely, of course if you adapt your speed for winter conditions you feel in total security
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-25 21:33:34
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre