Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car winter premium touring tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 (14) 92% 96% 89% 89% 89% 95%
Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 (8) 93% 95% 90% 93% 90% 90%
Michelin Primacy Alpin PA3 (8) 91% 95% 91% 76% 96% 86%
Nexen Winguard Snow G3 (6) 88% 90% 85% 85% 78% 92%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 (4) 83% 78% 85% 90% 90% 75%
Michelin Alpin 6 (16) 90% 93% 87% 86% 84% 91%
Dunlop Winter Response 2 (9) 84% 89% 91% 80% 85% 92%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 (4) 83% 95% 77% 55% 100% 100%
Michelin Alpin 5 (19) 86% 95% 87% 79% 88% 91%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (52) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Michelin Primacy Alpin (5) 84% 96% 80% 84% 80% 88%
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (17) 88% 92% 86% 74% 85% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (57) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (22) 89% 95% 86% 83% 80% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (35) 84% 90% 82% 84% 85% 91%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 (7) 88% 85% 85% 76% 92% 69%
General Altimax Winter 3 (3) 83% 80% 73% 80% 85% 80%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (42) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
Michelin X Ice North 4 (3) 73% 70% 70% 73% 90% 83%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R3 (5) 82% 80% 74% 70% 80% 90%
Vredestein Snowtrac 5 (5) 84% 86% 88% 78% 77% 84%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (36) 86% 85% 79% 81% 88% 79%
Hankook Winter i cept RS (6) 80% 77% 85% 77% 90% 82%
Pirelli Cinturato Winter (5) 84% 92% 84% 84% 75% 78%
Michelin X Ice Xi3 (7) 80% 78% 76% 74% 84% 82%
Toyo SNOWPROX S 942 (5) 80% 82% 76% 74% 86% 90%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R (7) 82% 70% 77% 73% 86% 93%
Nokian WR D4 (61) 84% 84% 80% 79% 67% 85%
Toyo Snowprox S943 (5) 78% 78% 80% 60% 85% 84%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 (7) 77% 80% 77% 76% 90% 74%
Kumho Winter Craft WP51 (13) 80% 73% 69% 71% 82% 83%
Toyo Snowprox S954 (5) 78% 63% 73% 78% 73% 83%
Continental VikingContact 7 (3) 55% 50% 63% 70% 50% 93%
Avon WT7 (3) 60% 63% 30% 37% 63% 77%
Kumho WinterCraft WP71 (9) 72% 61% 50% 55% 70% 52%
Toyo Snowprox S953 (9) 77% 69% 64% 74% 76% 73%
Goodyear UltraGrip Ice Arctic (3) 57% 60% 60% 70% 47% 53%
Pirelli Winter Snow Control Series 3 (8) 83% 84% 71% 75% 70% 73%

Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres with no reviews

Apollo Aspire XP Winter, BFGoodrich Winter TA KSI, Bridgestone Blizzak DM V2, Bridgestone Blizzak Ice, Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 EVO, Bridgestone Blizzak VRX2, Bridgestone Blizzak W810, Bridgestone Blizzak WS80, Bridgestone Blizzak WS90, Bridgestone DriveGuard Winter, Bridgestone Noranza 001, Continental ContiWinterContact TS815 ContiSeal, Continental IceContact 2, Continental IceContact 3, Continental VikingContact 6, Continental WinterContact SI, Continental WinterContact TS 870, Cooper Discoverer True North, Dunlop Winter Maxx 2, Falken Espia EPZ II, Falken Espia Ice, Falken Eurowinter HS01 Runflat, Falken Eurowinter HS437, Firestone WinterForce 2, Firestone Winterhawk 4, General Altimax Arctic 12, General Altimax Nordic 12, General Altimax Winter 3, Gislaved Nord Frost 200, Goodyear UltraGrip 9 Plus, Goodyear UltraGrip Ice 2, Goodyear WinterCommand Ultra, GT Radial IcePro 3, Hankook Winter I cept iZ2 W616, Hankook Winter i pike RS2, Kumho I Zen KW31, Kumho WinterCraft WP72, Laufenn I Fit Plus, Maxxis Premitra Snow WP6, Michelin X Ice Snow, Nexen Winguard Ice, Nexen Winguard WT1, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 10 EV, Nokian Hakkapeliitta 7, Nokian Nordman 7, Nokian Nordman 8, Nokian WR C3, Nokian WR Snowproof, Pirelli Cinturato Winter 2, Pirelli Ice Zero, Pirelli Ice Zero 2, Pirelli Ice Zero FR, Pirelli Winter Carving Edge, Pirelli Winter Icecontrol, Reference Winter, Reference Winter Worn, Toyo Observe Ice Freezer, Uniroyal Tiger Paw Ice & Snow 3, Vredestein Wintrac, Yokohama BluEarth Winter WY01, Yokohama ICE GUARD IG50 PLUS, Yokohama iceGUARD iG52c, Yokohama iceGUARD iG65, Yokohama IceGUARD Stud iG55

Passenger Car Winter Premium Touring Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Hankook Winter I cept iZ2 W616 rated 84% while driving a Renault KANGOO 1.9
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-17 19:20:17
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 rated 88% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
I have gone through 4 sets of studded winter tires (Hakka2, Hakka5, Hakka7, Hakka9). Tried non studded Nokia WR (useless) and Michelin Pilot Alpin ( not great ). BUT....when the winter in Canada turns nasty and -25C or below turns rubber to hockey pucks, there's only one tire I turn to: Nokian Studded Hakkapelita! NOTHING stops on ice as good as these tires. My Range Rover turns into a Caterpillar snow plow . They give you such confidence, you think you're driving on dry. The studs are noisy but you don't hear them on the snow or ice covered roads. Good trade off for the sure grip they provide. Dry or wet grip is excellent also, considering I drive an SUV ( you can only get so much roll, going fast) . Only in the spring when the snow melts and the roads are dry you realize you are driving on "tank tracks",........and it's time to switch to All terrain tires ( and take the summer car out of storage as most Canadians do) ;) Not recommended for more moderate climates however, only the Northern American states and Nordic countries will benefit from these beauties.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-05 01:22:57
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated 78% while driving a Citroën C4
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Seems like a very good tyre for areas with milder winters where there is snow and frost, but it is a bit random and cold and wet is typical. I choose winter tyres over all seasons, because the worse the conditions get the more help the tyres give me. My main observations with these tyres are... On my 16" tyres, turn in is almost instant and seems to increase, almost like you have unintensionally turned the steering a few more degrees. Turn in seems better than PS4 s on 17" ??? and way way better than conti TS870 on 15". In heavy but progressive breaking on clean but wet roads, they sometimes dive to the left or right. Slightly down hill roads may also be a component of this. I have never noticed this before on the car and 4 different tyres. With the exception of the occasional dive, as mentioned above, I am very happy with them. Hope that helps
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-11 17:48:36
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 rated 93% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta GLI Mk6
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
A very very good tyre. You can compare it to continental contiwinter contact ts850/860. They are as good. We have winters with lots of snow in Lithuania. And they cope with all winter conditions very good. Only they wear a little to fast.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-06 08:15:28
Falken Eurowinter HS01 rated 84% while driving a Fiat Linea MJD
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-19 08:29:33
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 rated 91% while driving a Volkswagen Golf
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
First of for I’d like to say for the price they are the best winter tires. Comfort is superb and wear is literally nonexistent, grip on wet and dry during doing some rough starts can be trouble the ABS pops up right away but afterwards it is great. The only issue I have had was like someone else mentioned in mixture of snow muddy surfaces it would go sideways but that was on a bit of steep road so it is understandable. Either way would definitely recommend cheap comfortable great tire overall.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-18 22:55:40
Continental WinterContact TS 860 rated 79% while driving a Ford Focus MK3
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
I've driven around 50-60k km on these tyres. I didn't get to experience much snow because I live in Croatia but I was very satisfied with these tyres. The only complaint is that the comfort was not great and road feedback was suboptimal. I would recommend buying these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-14 06:59:06
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 rated 73% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B5.5 1.9 TDi 130bhp highline
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Great quality-price. Very good in dry.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 05:56:54
Continental WinterContact TS 850 rated 76% while driving a BMW X5 3.0d Sport
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Jonathan kindly replied to an Email enquiry. From his reply, I went ahead and placed 21 inch run-flat Continental WinterContacts on to my 2017 X5, that has different tyre sizes, from front to back. The wife loved the difference to her feeling of safety they made, between the Scottish Highlands Cold Winter and the wet/cold Autumn/Spring of Herefordshire England, 'so much so', she disliked the stock tyres being replaced back on the wheels for the summer and instantly felt less safe. This was due to a perception feeling of no longer being stuck to the tarmac with the stock summer tyres, as compared to the Continentals. They have served us for 2 Autumns, Winters and Spring seasons very well and still in good condition. From Jonathan's most recent youtube videos, Im inclining towards Michelin UHP all season 4 tyres, as the twice yearly tyre change with the reality of UK Weather, be it Scotland of England my wife and I find ourselves, Jonathan's informative video's lead all, or certainly myself, towards all season tyres from now onwards, especially with the advances in tyre technology we are seeing with the Michelin and Continental brands. Changing vehicles this Sept from X5 40d 2017 model to X3 M40i 2021 model with 21 inch run-flat wheels. My biggest issue with tyre change, is BMW dealerships don't or will not put new winter tyres on 21 inch wheels, so you have to go to an independent tyre business, that more often than not, has to order in the tyres required for 21 inch runflat type wheels. Another reasons for my decision with a new vehicle, a new tyre solution to all season tyres (Note: at 21 inch run-flats, there are not many tyre manufactures to choose between, though improving slightly each year) These Continental WinterContact tyres have been amazing and made us watch motorist abandon, struggle, or slip off roads in snow conditions, as we quickly drove between destinations with full safety and trust in the tyres. Even in wet and dry, as a normal driver (No Track) these tyres kept us glued to the road in wet and dry conditions, until real warm weather made us change back to stock summer tyres. But, the UK weather of recent, is so inter-changeble, both in Scotland and England, that the 7 degree point to change winter/summer is blurred often right through Autumn, Winter and Spring. Today 2021, early May in Scotland I'm driving with snow on the road. Thankfully we have kept the winter tyres on even later this year!
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-07 03:04:07
Michelin Alpin 6 rated 90% while driving a Peugeot 307
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Very good dry grip, awesome on wet surface and one of The best on the snow surface!
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-24 21:57:35
Nokian WR Snowproof rated 93% while driving a Toyota Verso 1.8 t2
Driving on mostly town for 3000 easy going miles
The tires passed the first winter with heavy snowfall on the streets, frosts down to -25C and ice on black asphalt. I am very pleased with this tire. It is a winter tire for everyday use. Fuel consumption was lower by almost a liter per 100km compared to previous tires of a similar class. The low noise level draws attention. The tire is well thought out so that it has very good results on any surface.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-16 23:55:23
Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 rated 78% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
Really solid tire overall. Running 225/40/18 on a Stage 2 Golf 6 GTI, pretty heavy on the fronts, but copes amazing with cold weather, wet surfaces and slime on the winter roads. Dry grip is also good on low temps and they perform great in the bends, really sharp and precise. Wheelspin is not bad at all, was really impressed with how the tire responds to a tuned FWD hothatch. Had Dunlops on winter before and they were really disappointing. Wear is fine, one season passed, gonna swap fronts and rears and there are at least 2 more seasons left in them, considering spirited driving, no track days though in the winter. Not an issue with comfort, considering the setup, not too harsh, just right. Really pleased, strong sidewalls, copes great in the snow and mountain drives, also a bit of off roading here and there and handles the car fully loaded with no issues. Would buy again if presented with the opportunity, but would go for the newer and improved LM005 over the LM001.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-07 07:26:37
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre