Goodyear UltraGrip 9

The Goodyear UltraGrip 9 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 84%
Wear 85%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 92%
Ice Grip 76%

Tyre review data from 35 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 229,415 miles driven.

The UltraGrip 9 is ranked 16th of 45 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC 185/65 R15 Winter Tyre Test - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in the wet, good in the dry
  • Negative - Weak in snow
  • Overall - Good
View Full Test >>

2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 2nd of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced with top marks on wet surfaces, especially good on dry roads and snow, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - None mentioned
View Full Test >>

2018 ACE All Season and Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 12 tyres

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear UltraGrip 9

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear UltraGrip 9

2020-10-29 - Hi I am looking at a budget but good performence winter tyre for a nissan note the size of my current yres is 185/55 R16 but i can not find this on the goodyear progrip 9. I dont really understand tyres so not sure if a different measure also will be ok. I am based in Edinburgh so not really much snow but plenty rain and a bit of ice earlier in the morning during winter. Thanks

There isn't a huge range of options in your size, but there are some reasonable midrange brands such as Falken. Check out the listings here: 185/55 R16 Winter Tyres


2021-04-08 - The UltraGrip 9 threads look symmetric to me and I don’t se an “Outside” label on the side of the tyre. Is that assumption right? Can each of the four tyres in a set be mounted/rotated on any of the four positions?

The UG9 is a directional tyre, so as long as it's pointing in the right direction there is no inside or outside.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


UltraGrip 9 Prices

Size Price Range  
185/60 R15 £76.54 - £77.87 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £61.00 - £85.26 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £90.07 - £126.28 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 10 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear UltraGrip 9 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Volvo 850 Saloon (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Best wintertyre i have ever used. Previous tyres were nokian dr4, pirelli sottozero and michelin a3.
The ultragrip9 is not quite sporty, but so isn´t the car. But grip on snow and ice is beyond belief. A real revelation for me. Was quite good prieced as well.
113 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2016   
Given 53% while driving a Honda Jazz (175/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Good tyre for rain and snow. But no good with dry roads at temperatures higher than 12degrees Celsius. This tyre is very soft, so no good response on dry and warm asphalt. Previous tyres were Michelin Alpin4 and they were much better on dry roads.
15 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2018   
Renault (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Hi there. After a week with UG9 and last night mountain driving at -4C to -7C and around 5cm of still fresh damp snow and some already more frozen snow and ice here and there I just wanted to share my opinion.

Compounds - The UG9 and UG8 thread compounds are softer on touch compared to WRD4 in cold weather.

Ride Comfort - WRD4 has a superior ride comfort that i never felt with any other tyre I believe it is related to their "Silent Sidewall" technology absorbing most of the small irregularities on the road and providing really good ride smoothness. UG in general are feeling harsher (I always keep my tyre pressure as is in my car manual).

Noise : UG8 -very noisy , UG9 noisy , WRD4 surprisingly silent for winter tyre actually i think my old summer tyre with V shaped pattern Vredestein Sportrac 3 was noisier.

Clean Asphalt Grip +13C - WRD4 has a really good grip almost like a summer tyre of the same size , UG8 is tragedy in any direction and at temperatures beyond 10C is screeching on slightly harsher loads. UG9 is much much better than UG8 in this respect especially accelerating and braking , getting very close to WRD4 but still behind it for sure.

Wet Asphalt - well since i drive very carefully in heavy rains i can't say much probably WRD4 has better aquaplaning resistance compared to UG8 but i didn't have the chance with UG9 to put it on high speed through deep water patch.

Cold Clean Asphalt Grip (-5 and under) - WRD4 and UG9 have similar behavior they are exceptional on cold asphalt , UG8 suffers in longitudinal loads especially accelerating i believe this is due to the thread pattern design mostly but is on par in side loads with the other 2.

Wet snow covered Asphalt - WRD4 is suffering on wet snow that is above 2cm in any direction it is inferior to UG9 and UG8.

Damp Fresh snow more than 5cm - WRD4 is inferior to both UG9 and UG8 it is struggling to gain grip in acceleration and in side loading it is rapidly going into a slide where both UGs are much more progressive. In general i think UG8 was better in longitudinal loads compared to UG9 (both accelerating & braking) , in side loads i believe UG8 and UG9 are almost the same and are very progressive when they start loosing grip and start side sliding.

Powder like very cold snow - well still no -10C here but UG8 was definitely better than WRD4 will see about the UG9 but given the fact how soft the compound feels i believe it will be as good as UG8.

Conclusion : Well in general I think the UG9 is the better all round tyre for where I live 3 months of the year snowy roads outside the city (Sofia , Bulgaria) , uncleaned small streets -15C is not impossible during the night , mountain passes that can be snowy (the city is locked between 4 mountains). Nokian WRD4 is superb on a bit warmer weather and specially in regard of ride comfort I'm still amazed how smooth my car can be. UG8 is really good tyre for snow but it is really weak on clean roads and I still think it is probably a notch better than UG9 on snow but it might be a romantic memory of it.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2018   
Have you driven on the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear UltraGrip 9? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear UltraGrip 9 >

Latest Goodyear UltraGrip 9 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Audi A1 (185/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
A perfect winter tyre for city car. I tested it on snow wet dry and it outperformed my expectations. Really recommended for european winters (I live in north of italy)
0 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2020   
Given 57% while driving a Citroën berlingo (205/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Fitted these following the great reviews however I'm completely disappointed with the outcome. Even from new these tyres would spin up on my 1.6 automatic Berlingo. After only 10k miles the outer tread is coming off in lumps inside and out and almost onto the wear indicators. Back to my trusted Vredesteins next. Goodyear, never again.
3 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 87% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2012 (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Probably the best winter tyres I have tried. They are very comfortable and quiet especially compared to the Bridgestone Blizzak LM-32 I had fitted the previous winter. They are also quieter amd more comfortable than my Michelin summer tyres. The wet and dry grip is good, but I cannot yet comment on ice and snow grip, but I expect those to be good as well based on other reviews. Wear is also difficult to comment on since I have not driven them for long time.
They might be a little more expensive than other tyres, but you really get what you pay for with these tyres. I will definitely buy again!
1 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Spent the winter season in the French Alps and these tyres were amazing. We had 1 metre of snow one day and after digging the car out we had no need for snow chains, either getting out of car park and drove to ski resorts without any issues and felt very secure.

Also somewhat surprised on how quiet they were on driving from and back from the UK.

Highly recommend
1 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Really good winter tyre. High levels of grip in the snow and on ice. So much so that the only hindering factor is the ground clearance of the vehicle. I was pushing snow with the front bumper and this was causing me to loose momentum but you cant fault the winter traction, its great.
There also a really good tyre in the dry and wet below 7 degrees. Very safe, good braking and offers high resistance to aquaplaning. Most notable is how quiet the tyre is and also how little fuel it uses. With only 5 MPG less than the Goodyear summer tyres i cant complain.
Certainly a tyre more suited to family cars, commuters or rural vehicles. If you were after a sportier ride for say a Maserati or Jaguar I would look at the Goodyear Ultra grip Performance.
This is a link to a video I took, https://youtu.be/bHaU-EWcir0 a short trip in my vehicle fitted with Goodyear Ultragrip 9's.
Well worth the money, I paid £68 fitted and balanced each from www.blackcircles.com my local tyre shop fitted them included in the blackcircles price.

8 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2019   
Given 92% while driving a Hyundai Getz (175/60 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 25 easy going miles
3 years each winter I wear them and I have made 25.000km in getz 1.3 175/60 / 14t ..... excellent in the snow very good on the ice, dry and wet road.the best tires winter
1 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 500 average miles
The only reason I wanted to add a review here, is because these tires are slightly overhyped here. They are not bad but they are still M+S tires, and their performance on snow and ice is slightly worse than the dedicated Michelin winter tires I had before them. The ABS kicks in sooner when you are braking hard and they have this nasty thing when you are driving on a icy roundabout, it's like they loose traction for split second and then regain it. I never spinned out our anything, but it does make you a bit nervous, I never had this with my Michelin tires.
They are great on wet road though, much better than studless snow tires. They are also quiet.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2018   
Given 82% while driving a VW Polo 6R 1.6 TDI Bluemotion (185/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 650 easy going miles
I boought these tyres in a hurry before my trip to the mountains of northwest greece. My car is a VW Polo 1.6 Tdi with front wheel drive. I did about 1000 km on these and this is my review so far.

The first thing I notice was that they are really quiet, almost no difference with the summer tyres. Previous experience with winter tyres had me expecting lots of harsh road noise, but even at highway cruising speed of 120km/h the car drove quietly.

The softness of the tyres and sidewalls made it really comfortable but I was deprived of roadfeel. Literaly no idea where the tyres where pointing at with a constant sense of understeer. And that without pushing the car hard, just cruising along a curvy mountain road.

I didnt push it to the limit but I can tell that dry grip and dry braking wasn't giving me any confidence at freezing and normal temperatures (-5 to 10 degrees Celsius).
On the wet it is a whole different story. Good grip, no slip and spin. Just perfect. Cannot comment on aquaplanning.

Snow and ice were no problem. Even steep icy uphill roads where not a problem for my front wheel drive city car. And it goes the same for roads covered with frozen snow. Always felt safe and capable of delivering.

I recomend these with ease for snow and wet, but not for dry city driving and temperatures higher than 15 degrees C.
6 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2017   
Given 89% while driving a Volvo 940 turbo (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Bought a set of goodyear ultra grip 9 winter tyres last year and had them fitted to a spare set of alloys. They were fitted to my rear wheel drive automatic Volvo 240 Automatic estate and are now fitted to my 1996 rear wheel drive automatic Volvo 940 estate.

In this spell of snow the grip is amazing and I haven't got stuck which on summer tyres I would of just spun the rear wheels on the slightest incline of snow.
On the Goodyears I can actually stop and pull away on snow covered hills. You can feel the tyre spin and then it bites into the snow. Braking is also very good. Steering is good too and feels safe. Frozen compacted snow which has turned to ice I did pass a stuck Peugeot partner and I went up the hilly lane with not much difficulty, just a bit more spin than none on snow. Slight spin then grip etc. If a steep hill and total ice no winter tyre would help unless studded. My car has no traction control or modern aids, just ABS.
I highly rate them and would buy again. There is no wear from last years use.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa D (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,500 easy going miles
I fitted these tyres end of November 2017 and they have been invaluable especially over the last few weeks.
Excellent in the dry and very stable and secure in the wet. One of the quietest tyres I've ever used, and very good on fuel. But the best thing about this tyre is the ability on snow. This weekend in fact I was driving through now nearly a foot deep and the only reason I stopped a few times was because I bottomed out on the stuff. Hill climbs and descents are not a problem. And this is in a front wheel drive Corsa van. Brilliant!
1 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2017   
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Auris (195/65 R15 H) on track for 6,000 average miles
I bought this tires after reading some feedbacks on this site and I will buy it again if will fit on my new car. Great gums with excellent grip on snow and ice. I don't know about the wear since I sold my car after one winter season but I deffinetly miss its.

1 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2017   
Given 80% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 (205/60 R16 H) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
It's really good tire for all weather conditions. It is silent but stiff. Fuel economy level is average.
7 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2017