Volvo V50 estate Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo V50 estate.

Do you Drive a Volvo V50 estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a V50 estate better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin A4 (52) 88% 95% 91% 87% 94% 93%
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (167) 93% 92% 87% 90% 85% 82%
Nokian zLine (79) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (35) 84% 90% 82% 84% 85% 91%
Petlas Velox Sport PT731 (1) 100% 80% 80% 80% 100% 80%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (43) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
BFGoodrich gGrip (45) 90% 79% 80% 81% 86% 85%
Atlas Sport Green (12) 92% 83% 83% 83% 75% 85%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (96) 87% 87% 83% 74% 89% 86%
Laufenn S Fit AS (3) 87% 73% 83% 83% 80% 87%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (50) 86% 82% 79% 80% 79% 82%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Avon ZV7 (93) 86% 82% 75% 73% 71% 82%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (172) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Momo Outrun M3 (18) 84% 72% 73% 77% 69% 82%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (41) 87% 72% 77% 80% 71% 64%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (39) 81% 83% 79% 77% 75% 76%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (150) 84% 74% 74% 76% 71% 75%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (38) 73% 85% 66% 69% 73% 76%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (198) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Pirelli P 7 (82) 79% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Achilles 2233 (19) 77% 48% 64% 64% 71% 66%
Primewell PZ900 (59) 72% 58% 54% 57% 57% 50%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Premiorri Solazo (6) 63% 33% 48% 45% 67% 55%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%

Volvo V50 estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 74% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
Tyres are extremely stable o wet in a motorway. You can even compare them to summer tyres on dry and wet. Less impressive on a snow. Its our first winter tyres on our Volvo V50 and we found it often to understear on a dry snow in more sharp turns. We don’t know who to blame, the car or the tyres. Although braking and accelerating on snow is good enough. On icy conditions the tyres are more predictable and on extremely low temperatures can compete with some soft compound tyres. Overal i found tyres recomended for wet climate and high speed driving on motorway, but can be tricky on dry snow on lower speeds.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-18 18:22:21
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 89% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Bought for a volvo v50 d5 and honestly can't recommend them enough! They inspire confidence in the wet and do a grand job in the dry too. I live in the Peak District so we get plenty of rain, therefore these tyres are honestly perfect for a good price to performance level. I do a lot of motorway miles too and my aquaplaning in the wet has come down a lot with these tyres too, can't recommend enough!
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-13 10:36:05
Writing about the Premiorri Solazo given 34% (225-45-17-R)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 spirited miles
Scarily low traction in the wet, understeers horrifically, braking & wheelspin much worse too, & hasn't improved with age. The 12yo Pirelli P6000`s they replaced were much better all round, despite being perished & only having 1.8mm tread left, wet or dry. Absolutely terrible, wouldn't touch the brand again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-21 17:05:51
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Over the past 10,000 miles I've run these for, I've found them to be very responsive in both wet and dry conditions, good feedback throught the steering wheel and very predictable handling. Really good wear, I often drive very hard, and they're still nearly new! Only downsides I've found are they are quite a noisy tyre, both noticed inside and outside the car, and they are fairly hard when on bumps.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-21 21:32:19
Writing about the Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 given 84% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
Remapped volvo v50 d5 - 230hp 350ft lbs. front wheel drive

Previous tyres are pirelli p7, utterly rubbish tyres. felt like they were made of plastic. i got a set of wheels refurbished and im not usually the one to buy budgets, but this is my daily i drive up n down the motorway to work and back. the tyre man convinced me, he even said he would change them for free if i didnt feel an improvement, ive driven these tyres in severe wet weather and it simply laughs in the face of wet weather. Comfort has also improved in a way that i didnt believe was possible too, you dont feel ridges or bad surfaces the way i used to when i had the pirellis.

If you drive like you are in a hire car, then you do get some tyre roll, so pump them up to the "full load" value and you can mitigate some of that.

ive done about 10k on these and plenty of meat left.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-21 16:38:54
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 80% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 4500 average miles
These tyres are very good performing as I would have expected from past experience.
However the tyres I have fitted to my Volvo have only covered 4500 miles and all 4 have around 7mm of tread left so loads of life in them. Except that all four tyres are cracking at the base of the treads. The sort of quality I would not expect unless they were Chinese obscure branded D rated rubbish.

Not happy at all that I now have to look for new tyres which will not be Avons.

Check yours they could be the same. Mine have two different date numbers on but these relate manufacture within a few weeks of fitting.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-01 13:05:39
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 easy going miles
Good tyres except for one realy realy annoying thing these tyres pick up stones, in fact I do not belive there are any loose chipings left on the northern section of the A34, they are all stuck in my tyre treads. However if you enjoy a constant tick tickety tick.tick. from stones stuck in your treads. these may be the tyres for you. This design flaw will stop me ever having these tyres again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-30 21:55:06
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 80% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
The only reason I wanted to add a review here, is because these tires are slightly overhyped here. They are not bad but they are still M+S tires, and their performance on snow and ice is slightly worse than the dedicated Michelin winter tires I had before them. The ABS kicks in sooner when you are braking hard and they have this nasty thing when you are driving on a icy roundabout, it's like they loose traction for split second and then regain it. I never spinned out our anything, but it does make you a bit nervous, I never had this with my Michelin tires.
They are great on wet road though, much better than studless snow tires. They are also quiet.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-15 11:28:34
Writing about the Momo Outrun M3 given 73% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
These tyres are very comfy and quiet and they do beat other brands on higher price ranges. Dry grip is on par, wet, satisfactory. But the grip levels are not suitable for spirited driving, especially on a heavy car. The lateral grip on wet doesn't seem to be all that great at high speeds, but given the fact that I drive a heavy station wagon, there's not much to ask for. As for wear, I think they can give you a safe 30k miles of tread life. I would not recommend them on heavy cars and for spirited driving, but otherwise if fitted on small, light car or if driving responsibly, they are a best buy, especially for the comfort.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-25 06:53:28
Writing about the Laufenn S Fit AS given 86% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Bought these budget tyres for my Volvo V50 2011, diesel.
Removed a set of hancook tyres and thought to try these.
Done about 1000 miles and they are good.very quiet tyres,
Also the braking and suspension value is very good.
Has made a positive benefit to the driving experience.
I would reccomend these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-18 10:35:33
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 96% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 20 spirited miles
Best steering feel ever ! This is the first summer tyre with winter snowflake according to Michelin and beeing like that you don't expect such a sport handling. This are brend new tyers so I can comment only dry handling which is fantastic!
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-29 13:53:51
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 100% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24784 average miles
Perfect, Nothing better, Outstanding. I work in remote areas and normally have always had a 4x4 jeep or car. I have had two of these on the front of a Volvo V50 and they amazingly good. So much so they have been replaced with the exact same again after trying Sunny 3830 Snowmaster which are horrific.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-05 18:11:05
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre