Michelin Primacy HP

The Michelin Primacy HP is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Primacy 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 74%
Wear 76%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 66%

Tyre review data from 197 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 4,323,594 miles driven.

The Primacy HP is ranked 64th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2010 Autocar Tyre Test - FWD - 5th of 6 tyres

View Full Test >>

2009 AMS Summer and Winter Tyre Test - Summer - 3rd of 6 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         11.16kgs
225/50 R16 92W MO E C 70 10.22kgs
225/50 R16 92V MO E C 70 10.22kgs
205/55 R16 91V MO C B 70 9.05kgs
205/55 R16 91W MO C B 70 9.05kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL MO B B 70 10.05kgs
225/55 R16 95Y AO E B 70 10.23kgs
225/55 R16 95W MO C B 70 10.05kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL MO B B 70 10.05kgs
215/60 R16 95V   E B 70 9.90kgs
245/40 R17 91Y MO E B 70 10.10kgs
245/40 R17 91W MO E B 70 10.21kgs
255/40 R17 94W MO F B 70 11.30kgs
215/45 R17 87W   E A 70 9.43kgs
215/45 R17 87W RP E A 70 9.25kgs
225/45 R17 91W MO E B 70 9.45kgs
225/45 R17 91Y MO E B 70 9.45kgs
235/45 R17 94W MO E B 70 10.30kgs
245/45 R17 95Y MO E B 70 10.86kgs
245/45 R17 95W MO E B 70 10.74kgs
205/50 R17 89W   F B 70 11.66kgs
205/50 R17 89V   F B 70 11.66kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   E B 70 9.76kgs
225/50 R17 94H * E A 70 10.32kgs
225/50 R17 94V * E A 70 10.32kgs
235/55 R17 99W MO E B 70 11.90kgs
255/45 R18 99Y MO E B 70 12.26kgs
275/35 R19 96Y * F B 70 14.53kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Primacy HP. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Primacy HP Prices

Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £89.99 - £99.95 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Primacy HP Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Ford Cmax (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
I was very happy with the low wear with 45.000 km on a 7 seat car.
Not keeping them as they are the most expensive tires I found locally in my research.
68 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2016   
Given 60% while driving a Toyota GT86 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
These tyres last ages, but that's because they are low grip. They came standard on my GT86 entirely BECAUSE they are low grip and you can drift the car at low speed.

As a performance tyre they are rubbish, as a fun and go sideways tyre, great. A bit scary in the wet at high speed.
27 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2018   
Given 71% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 21,000 easy going miles
This has to be the worse wear rate to the tires I've driven.. worn pretty bad after 35,000km.
12 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2017   
Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy HP tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy HP? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Primacy HP >

Latest Michelin Primacy HP Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 spirited miles
I have a sporty to very sporty driving style, but I can enjoy a long drive to relax. However, my current tire that was on the car upon delivery, the Michelin Primacy HP does not give me the right characteristics that I would want from a tire. On the long relaxing rides, very good. In the sporty to very sporty driving style, NOT. Even in the rain this tire does not give me the right grip, you get to the point where it loses its grip and turns into understeer without any sign. In terms of safety, he is just too short for me. I can't wait to replace them and finally fit the Michelin Pilot Sport 4!
2 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 43,500 average miles
These came fitted to my car from new. I drive mainly on country roads and motorway. Excellent in every way apart from snow where they are not great, but just as good/bad as other summer tyres. Replaced the fronts at 2mm after 33k miles and the rears are still on at 3mm after 43k miles. These lifespans justify the premium price of the tyres.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 51% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 24,000 average miles
My W213 Mercedes came with these as original equipment. As the tyres wore down, the ride and handling deteriorated noticeably. Car felt a bit unstable, moving slightly sideways, when driving through small potholes. Never had this strange feeling with other cars. Increasing air pressure didn't help. Tyres were rotated and lasted about 25,000 miles then I changed to Goodyear Eagle Assymetric 3, which I found quiet, smoother and generally much more pleasant to drive on.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2018   
Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus Zetec S Ecoboost 180 (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Best tyres I have ever had.I do about 40K miles a year and they served me well. Did 55K miles on the front tyres and the rear ones are on 85K miles at the moment, still about 10K left on them. What more do you want?
8 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2018   
Given 80% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 45,000 spirited miles
I had the tyres on my vectra when bought 8 years ago, the rear are still on it, they have covered about 45k miles and still going, I had 2 sets of different tyres at the front but ended up going back to the michelins, I like their feel, they have decent grip in the dry and the wet and they last a good while.
6 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2018   
Given 76% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
Everything you would expect from Michelin. Superb Grip wet or dry. Lasted over 40,000 aggressively driven miles. Started to feel pretty horrible once worn down but still gripped well. Replaced with Toyo CF2's which are half the price and to me feel better and grip nearly as well in the wet.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2017   
Given 83% while driving a Ford c max (215/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I drive a Ford Grand C-Max 1.6 Eco boost with these fitted on front and back. Have had car from almost new (780 miles) and covered 25000 mls so far - The tyres are still going strong! Even the fronts should last me a few more months until they get down to 3mm. The rears have got loads more tread left on them.
The grip feels good in both dry and wet and they don't seem excessively noisy. Have always gone for mid-range rubber before, but even though these tyres are on the expensive side I reckon they are worth it, so will be buying some more.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2017   
Given 76% while driving a Citroën 1.0 petrol (205/55 R17) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
Comes as the default tyres set from the authorized car dealer. Been testing out various driving styles on straight roads, corners, slopes, off track, in both dry and wet. Good performance, reasonable comfort, but slightly low mileage on wear particular on sides. Maybe it is due to the regular cornerings in Multi-Storey Car Parks.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2017   
Given 73% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 46,000 average miles
Summer : ( All around very good)
Winter : ( Wet not that like i was hopping (7/10) ) for a premium needed be better
Tyres lasted (46,000) Miles on rear had bit left more .
overall very good but on wet feel the difference not like dry .
5 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2017   
Given 97% while driving a Audi A4 SE 2.0 TDI 136 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
A fantastic well balanced all round tyre, they covered 25000 miles on the front of my Audi A4 without letting me down. The only issue is the cost at £110 a corner they were sadly over my budget when I came to renew.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Lexus CT200h (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
A very good tyre.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2017   
Given 64% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Not a bad tyre but only lasted 20k on a Citroen C4 with normal driving. Quite a noisy tyre, and only okay in the wet, get a bit of wheel spin pulling away on a bank in the wet.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2017