Toyota GT86 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Toyota GT86.

Do you Drive a Toyota GT86? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a GT86 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (26) 91% 90% 85% 82% 87% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (43) 95% 73% 91% 93% 72% 70%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (178) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (90) 93% 88% 90% 92% 64% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (313) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (103) 87% 82% 74% 72% 85% 84%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (64) 85% 76% 78% 81% 72% 67%
Michelin Primacy HP (199) 85% 75% 77% 74% 77% 76%
Nankang AR 1 (35) 91% 45% 84% 88% 71% 66%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (40) 87% 89% 79% 79% 58% 80%
Yokohama Advan A050 (5) 98% 46% 94% 92% 28% 65%
Zeetex HP1000 (12) 79% 71% 76% 65% 79% 75%
Federal 595RSR (51) 86% 66% 76% 80% 72% 57%
Dunlop SP Sport LM704 (27) 80% 58% 75% 75% 79% 79%
Avon ZV7 (129) 83% 78% 73% 72% 59% 79%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (31) 73% 64% 73% 72% 79% 68%
Achilles 2233 (20) 77% 47% 63% 64% 71% 65%
Durun Sport One (4) 58% 50% 45% 20% 48% 38%

Toyota GT86 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 73% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 27500 spirited miles
The current high price of the Primacy HP forced me to choose another tire as a replacement. During my research, I saw a comparison of the Yokahama A052 and AD09 that suggested the stiffer sidewall of the AD09 inspired confidence. I believe the best feature of the Primacy HP is its confidence inspiring stiff sidewall.

Just like the A052 compared to the AD09, my new Yokohama V701s have much higher grip but softer sidewalls than the Primacies. The Primacies always let me feel when they were losing grip and I could control the understeer/oversteer balance with the throttle. A mid-corner dip or bump was easily handled. In contrast, the new tires have higher cornering limits but a mid-corner dip or bump gives an abrupt shift in the understeer/oversteer balance that is a little unsettling.

I normally drive sedately in the wet but when I first bought the car I did confirm it is easy to break the Primacies free and drift in the wet.

The Primacies are no noisier than my new tires on a smooth surface. However, I now know that it was not the stiff suspension of the GT86 that had me avoiding potholes and rough patches, it was the stiff sidewalls of the Primacies.

In conclusion, do not assume the Primacies have a soft sidewall because they are in the Premium Touring category. I replaced them with an Ultra High Performance tire and ended up with a softer ride. Perhaps I should have bought the AD09?
tyre reviewed on 2024-06-16 00:03:50
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport LM704 given 70% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 75 average miles
Fantastic in terms of duration. More than 130,000 km. Very weak in wet or wet grip. Very even wear, without the need for rotation. Dunlop will have to improve wet grip.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-27 08:52:33
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 15000 spirited miles
Excellent dry grip, not sure why everybody moans about the rs. On track the tyres didnt overheat and the level of grip is much beeter than a pilot sport 4 for example. Wet grip even when cold is pretty good. Not overly noisy for a semi slick tyre
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-10 16:36:36
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre, almost as good as you can get, fairly comfortable considering the performance
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-10 16:33:37
Writing about the Achilles 2233 given 39% (225-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 miles
Have this on my car for about 18months and first I'll say is that the wet conditions are a weak point especially having a rwd car the wheels will spin if I accelerate abit too much which also comes into the wear rate as I drive a bit quicker around corners and notice the wear is close to the tread markers already. Dry conditions is good for the average or even above average driver but if you're an enthusiast or drive hard you're better off spending extra on something else
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-30 15:50:58
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 48% (215-45-17-)
Driving on track for 200 spirited miles
Thought I'd try these on track as heard these were brand new competitors to the ps4 (often used on track) fronts lasted all of half a trackday, they had approx 150 miles on them and completely shredded, rears lasted 2 trackdays but are now finished. Can't argue with the grip though, they'd rather disintegrate than let go it turns out. Camber 2.5F 1.5R. 0 toe all round. Running 30psi hot. Will not be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-13 11:43:51
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 92% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
My Car is a GT86, came standard with Michelin Primacy HP as Summer and Bridgestone Blizzak as Winter. Size is 215/45R17. Both Sets were produced in Q3/2012, so pretty old by now and got very hard by now (especially the Michelins) The new Set of Tires (the Bridgestone Weather Control) are softer and ride quality is much improved. Less crashy over bumps and they feel quieter than before. Due to the softer compound, the tires are now doing more of the suspension work, before the suspension actually starts working. Feels great that way. They are also incredibly grippy (compared to the old ones) so going into a drift takes a little more effort, but once in the drift, its easier to keep it there (less steering input is needed to correct it) Tested it on a rainy day and temperatures were at 7° C
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-08 13:22:12
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 96% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
There tires are AMAZING. Let me start by saying that obviously this tire has been judge keeping in mind we're still talking about a winter tire: so for example when I give it a 9/10 on dry grip it's not the same as a 9/10 summer tire, but for being a winter tire it's very very good. Wet grip is great which again is to be expected on a winter tire. Road feedback is one of the strenght of these tires, honestly they feel better than the summer Michelin Primacy that were previously fitted. Handling is good (again compared to other winter tires). When it comes to comfort and noise there are definitely more compliant tires out there but considering the feel they give you it's a very welcome compromise. What really amazed me the most is snow and ice grip: in these conditions they are OUTSTANDING. With my RWD car I've gone through incredibly deep snow (while bottoming out) without a problem while other FWD cars with winter tires were completely stuck. Even starting from a complete stop on a hill was no problem. I know that might compromise wear if you use them only on tarmac but if you need to drive on snow these are just incredible.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-09 04:35:14
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 46% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Dry grip is acceptable for the price point of the tyre, wet grip is acceptable as well but can easily break loose with a bit more throttle on my gt86. The comfort is good. But the wear rate is bad and it easily breaks
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-19 11:14:22
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 50% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Replaced my Pilot Super Sports with a set of these on the rear of my GT86 because they no longer made the SS’s in the same size. It has made a dog of the car. The stability system now kicks in even on slight cornering and car feels very nervous. After eliminating all other possible issues, including two separate alignments, it’s definitely down to the tyres. Ultimately they do provide good grip when settled into a corner but it’s as if you have to drive of a 10m stretch of ice to get to that grip. You never know if you’re going to loose control on the way there. Would not recommend these if you want a sporty driving experience.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-13 13:47:48
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 34% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on track for 200 spirited miles
Very surprised to see so many positive reviews. I mean, yeah it's cheap, so I understand the good rating, considering the aspect of bang for buck. But some reviews stated it's a superb tire in absolute terms. IMHO, it isn't. It's a cheap and slow tire, not a cheap and A050 fast tire.

I've never managed to get a close time to A050 GS with this tire. It's not even in the same league, since it was always slower A052 by a good margin. It's more like a RE-71R class tire in terms of lap time on proper tracks, and it's not even one of the fast tire in that group too (it's one of the slow one)! So you can't really expect to get some lap times of proper semi slicks (like A050, 03g). Also, this tire is very heavy in all sizes (which may explain why it's so slow). There are only two good things about this tire in absolute term I can think of, which are its price and sidewall strength.

These are very cheap in Japan (less than half of RE-71R or less than 1/3 of A052), so it makes sense in Japan (or anywhere else with that big difference in the price tag). However, in some countries, AR-1 is priced pretty close to RE-71R or ZIII (or slightly pricier than R-S4). In that case, I think the tire makes no sense to buy these tire, since it effectively becomes a slower AND more expensive AND shorter life tire. If it's dirt cheap, adjust your expectation and you'll be fine.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-07 07:19:56
Writing about the Yokohama Advan A050 given 64% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
This is the fastest Yokohama tires except for slicks. There are 5 different compounds but I've seen only 3 of these compounds laying around in tire shops(G/2S, G/S, M). Also, I usually see only 2 of them on the tracks(G/S and M). Time attack guys mostly use the G/S. I'm more of an time attack guy and I've tried G/S and M (and nothing else).

M compound was disappointing. It doesn't feel any grippier than A052 and the laptime was also pretty similar to A052. Hence, I've never looked back after that. G/S is about 1% faster than A052, regardless of tracks. However, it has a very narrow window of peak performance. Which means you only got one shot or maximum two shots per session, because you won't be able to get the same time even if you do one or two cooling laps.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-07 04:33:02
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre