Pirelli PZero Nero

The Pirelli PZero Nero is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 71%
Wear 67%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 59%

Tyre review data from 140 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 2,388,026 miles driven.

The PZero Nero is ranked 60th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Great tyre with convincing sporty handling qualities. Shortest braking distances on wet track, good ride comfort, low driving noise
  • Negative - Slightly high rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Wet weather specialist with dynamic handling qualities, excellent aquaplaning resistance. High steering precision, short wet and dry braking.
  • Negative - Increased rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2013 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/35 R18)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test (245/30 R20)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    205/40 R17 84W XL   E B 72 9.02kgs
    215/45 R17 91Y XL   E B 72 9.79kgs
    215/40 R18 89W XL   E B 72 9.58kgs

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli PZero Nero. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/40 R17 £92.54 - £113.32 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/45 R17 £97.99 - £97.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Pirelli PZero Nero Reviews

    Given 85% while driving a (205/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 9,500 spirited miles
    A very good Tyre. These pirelli P Zero Nero have all the grip I need for the way I drive. I never drive near the limit of grip but I don't drive slowly and I like to press on sometimes when it's save to do so. I mainly drive on A and B roads.
    Helpful 139 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2016
    Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 6N (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
    Awesome tire, good overall they have given me plenty of grip, handling is good, can be a bit hard but thats expected for the size, can be noisy at times especially on high way drives and can slip when hitting wet patches breaking but overall very good durable tires had them for 3 years now and still going strong
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2023
    Given 21% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (205/40 R17) on track for 0 spirited miles
    For light weight Fiat Abarth 500, 180HP, I found these bit crap. During hard braking and cornering tyres are squealing. I feel more like floating, during hard driving its unstable. I found these very dangerous for my style of driving. Although for legal road driving it will be pretty fine, but not suitable for track. Michelin Pilot Exalto were much better.
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2022
    Have you driven on the Pirelli PZero Nero tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli PZero Nero? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Pirelli PZero Nero >

    Latest Pirelli PZero Nero Reviews

    Given 10% while driving a Ford Mustang (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 45,000 average miles
    I'm not one to rate the tires "handling or feedback - I drive normal, dont push any turns or acceleration - so best I not comment on this features - seem ok to me.
    My beef - 11k miles driving and dealership said I need to replace tires. I told him how many miles I have & he was shocked. All 4 tires all down to 3/32 tread left. I was even more shocked that I now need $600 to replace the tires. Defect? Outsourced? Just turns out they suck?
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2024
    Given 54% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (/35 R17) on mostly town for 20 spirited miles
    These came stock on my 2018 Mustang GT non-performance pack. I have to be honest here as they don't handle either cool or hot temps well at all. I understand I have a lot of torque going through a pretty small contact patch (255), but I don't rev it to but about 4k and less than 3/4 throttle max in ideal conditions. Ideal for these tires meaning between 70 and 90 degrees. Any colder than that and they really feel like rocks, any hotter and they are so greasy - I mean hunting for traction and squirming at up to 70mph. I have learned to be careful with them outside of these temps. I can understand cooler temps, but how greasy they are, especially at 100+ is really a no go for me. I would not recommend these tires if you have over 400hp - I won't buy them again.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2022
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 90% while driving a Dodge Charger SRT (275/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
    These tires handle great considering my car weights about 4000 lbs or even more. They’re super responsive and grip at launch. These tires keep you straight on the path you want to go no sliding no nothing. I was driving home in the rain with no problems and felt in complete control of the car at all times. Highly recommend
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2022
    Given 64% while driving a BMW 325d M Sport (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 9,500 spirited miles
    Great tire very grippy not as good as michelins in the wet,my only problem is I only went 9k miles on them I do drive very spiritually so some were is down to my driving but I expected little more life considering the cost.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2022
    Given 66% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover V8 Autobiography (/40 R20) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
    Decent quality made Tire for the money i paid for at the time; i think they are discontinued now... It wear out fast here in the deep south where the asphalt is scorching hot, i know this was a concern when i bought it! It takes pot holes, crumbling road imperfections well, very well made tire, side wall is great! Installed new in October 2019. 98000 miles, now have 119000 miles on it. Its quiet, it grips the road & handled well on all seasons. I was amazed by the performance it provided me during a 15 miles black ice covered freeway while driving in -15F temperature in Nebraska also works great in light snow covered road at night during the winter with traction control in snow mode ON. Never missed a heart beat, I Love my RRS with Pirelli Nero. Be aware this tires don't like ridding in heavy rain or deep water on this heavy SUV, aquaplaning bonanza; on my opinion the tread pattern/depth is not design for that, but is good for all the other stuff.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2021
    Given 57% while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    My car came with a set of P zero Nero tyres on and well lets say when they need replacing I will be getting something different. In the dry they are fine, the car goes where I want it, they are quite noisy and on poorer road surfaces not the most comfortable but they are low profile. In the dry you can be vigorous when cornering and they do have good dry road characteristics both under power and when breaking. Wear wise I have been quite impressed. However in the wet they are a handful on some road surfaces and will cause the car to wander and pull this is very off putting under breaking, where the car would break straight in the dry it becomes interesting in the wet. In the wet under power they can also cause the car to wander on some types of road surface. On good A road tarmac they are fine in the wet but on resurfaced B roads it becomes a lottery.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 4C (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 17,000 spirited miles
    I can't comment on the wet grip because I tend not to take my 4C Spider out when it's wet or be a bit more cautious. I have given it fairly high scores based on my experience of driving the local roads in a spirited but not stupid pace and they give me a lot of confidence. It's easy to criticise a tyre when you are pushing it to the limit such as on track, but I always feel that the tyre has more than enough grip for my style of driving. The Alfa 4C steering set up from the factory was track focused and very twitchy on UK roads, some like it that way but a revised steering geometry makes a huge difference. I've heard that Michelin PS4 Sports are a good, and may be slightly better but I'm quite happy to stay with the Pirellis. On my 17inch/18inch wheels, the tyres fitted are the AR version not the ARR version which doesn't like low temperatures. I take my car out all year round so much better to have tyres on that are less susceptible to the cold.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2020
    Given 70% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 50,000 easy going miles
    I have this tyres for about 5k now and they are great, I drive a Suzuki Swift Sport from 2007 and if you know the car you'd know its made for cornering and county roads. They do great but not for the Price and the "name" of the tyre, it's a Good overall tyre but I wouldn't consider them as performance ty
    Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2019
    Given 91% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 7,456 average miles
    Hey
    Since I used this site to choose my tires, here is my review on Pirelli PZero Nero
    I'm have them from 2 seasons now.
    Great tires for summer ! great grip on dry and wet (not really great at fast cornering,but maybe I wanted to have a bit of split).
    I drive mostly city,but been outside for few road trips,and they do great on highway.
    Downside: u have to get use to them in wet conditions.
    Did hit few potholes(since I can recall it,they were big) and no problem so far , no bubbles or flats.
    Will buy them again,when their live is over.
    Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2018
    Given 59% while driving a Nissan Skyline R32 GTR (285/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,500 spirited miles
    They felt good when new, although their grip was so-so for a 285 tire. After one track day the tires melted and are heat cycled out. Tons of tread left, but useless as they now have zero grip. Will not buy again, and do not recommend.
    Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2018
    Given 46% while driving a MINI Cooper S (195/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    I had these fitted by Mini to my 2010 Cooper S. I've never had such low grip and noisy tyres. In the dry I don't feel confident to push the car to anywhere near how it can drive, feels vague and can feel it loosing grip. Around corners I can't keep up with anything. The wet is where these are absolutely atrocious, if I was to plant my foot into the carpet I get wheel spin in 3rd gear (this is even in damp conditions) and it's only a 184 hp car. Wet conditions are just a no go which isn't great considering it's my daily. Also had a 300 mile round trip, mostly motorways and cruising the tyre roar was awful but could really understand the road surface since I could hear it. Looking forward to changing these to something with more grip and less noise. Only positive I'd say is that the tread wear seems to be good after about 5000 mile they've faired well. But wouldn't buy again.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2017
    Given 38% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (205/40 R17) on mostly town for 310 spirited miles
    Switched over from the OEM Bridgestone RE050A's and these tyres are kinda crap (from an everyday/comfort standpoint)

    My experience:
    - Noticeable increase in road noise, across all surfaces, over the Bridgestones (had to increase the volume from 3 to 5 just to be able to hear the radio again. Conversations are more difficult)
    - Steering feels more vague in the dry so I don't feel confident pushing these in the wet

    Haven't tried these on the track to compare, dont really want to based on the lack of steering feel.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2017