Ford Mustang gt Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Mustang gt.

Do you Drive a Ford Mustang gt? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Mustang gt better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (96) 93% 89% 87% 89% 85% 85%
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (10) 90% 80% 81% 85% 92% 87%
Mayrun MR500 (12) 88% 86% 73% 83% 86% 85%
Nokian WR A4 (18) 83% 89% 85% 78% 77% 89%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (37) 90% 83% 81% 80% 76% 72%
Pirelli PZero System (4) 93% 83% 80% 80% 67% 70%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (29) 91% 83% 85% 82% 65% 73%
Kumho Ecsta V730 (1) 80% 50% 70% 80% 90% 90%
Nitto NT01 (7) 96% 50% 90% 89% 67% 44%
Winda WH16 (15) 81% 73% 68% 54% 84% 84%
Winrun R330 (23) 81% 71% 68% 71% 76% 78%
Pirelli P Zero (130) 85% 71% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Nitto Invo (19) 79% 67% 73% 75% 65% 67%
Pirelli PZero Nero (136) 83% 66% 71% 72% 67% 64%
Nitto NT555 (6) 75% 63% 70% 72% 65% 67%
Barum Bravuris 5HM (14) 77% 74% 62% 70% 56% 68%
Accelera PHI 2 (9) 74% 56% 63% 61% 68% 64%
Hankook Dynapro HP2 (6) 80% 57% 67% 63% 62% 63%
Maxxis MA V1 (19) 69% 61% 61% 53% 65% 61%
Accelera PHI (148) 69% 45% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (132) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Radar Dimax R8 (31) 65% 48% 50% 49% 67% 56%
Zeta Alventi (12) 68% 61% 46% 50% 51% 51%
Sunew YS618 (57) 61% 36% 47% 44% 52% 49%

Ford Mustang gt Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Accelera PHI 2 given 53% (255-40-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 easy going miles
Inherited these tyres when buying the used car and changed them as soon as possible afterwards. In warmer, dry conditions they were fine, but when the roads were slightly wet in the colder weather, they were dangerous. Accelerating slightly too hard on a motorway slip road or pulling out of a junction in the rain was causing the back end to slide around, even below 30mph. I had to be incredibly careful and it didn't inspire much confidence. In a front wheel or all wheel drive car I imagine it wouldn't be such a big deal, but I wouldn't recommend fitting these to any RWD or anything with a bit of power.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-09 21:27:03
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 5HM given 57% (-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I have these tires on the front. I got the tires in march of 2021 and it is now 6 months and 15,000 miles later they are in need of replacement. most of my driving is done city or highway driving 50 miles a day at the bare minimum. They are pretty good on dry road but when it comes to wet road the tires don't like it. and braking in the rain? for me at least is a no go because i have no abs.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-02 12:32:23
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta V730 given 77% (-45-17-)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
Completed 2 days of 24 Hours Of Lemons in the US up in Thompson's CT. Track is a 1.7 mile on course with some tight turns and a few long areas to stretch the legs out. The car, bone stock 1989 ford Mustang. First impression was that they look great. They are said to be a "Cheater slick". On friday we tested with some worn out falkens, and just before the end of testing we sent a driver out to warm up and cure the new V730s for 10-12 hrs before the race. This was my first time trying to apply some tire curing methods (which i think helped for this kind of tire). The next day saturday, a couple drivers went out and ran on the tire, bled off the couple extra psi over 38psi. I skipped one driver change during the hottest portion and my driver expressed some over-steer/skating feeling. Looking at the tires are the end of the day they have a bit of blistering on the center rib on one inside edge. Not all the way around but just a little bit. The PSI was over 41 psi, so i think the blistering was from that. After that driver another hoed in for the day and the tire temp and pressure leveled off at 38. Day time temps were about 86*F with a clear sunny day. Day two of lemons, Rotated the front to rears, my tire growth was about 10psi from 29psi cold to 38-39 hot VS, what i thought might be about 7psi the previous day. The Tires did great all day, the outside temps about 86*F again with some clear and some cloud cover, but hot and humid. The tires performed well, although we added the swaybar in the rear to loosen the mustang up. The loose factor lended itself to some more wheel spin for a loose feel. I think this helped cause the tires to heat up more. My drivers would express a "greasy" feeling. When i got in the car at the last stint after a hot long day, i could feel the tires give way when really hustling and aggressively driving the car. When they felt off, i would scale back a bit to try to let the tires cool. This seemed to help the tires cool a bit so I could go and a attack for a few laps. With that said, i never ran a full slick all day, but i suspect that these V730 "Cheater slicks" act just like a true slick. When you get them real hot they will get greasy, but if you scale back a bit they will come back and you can attack again. For two 8 hrs of racin on a hot day, i think they performed well. They do not "talk" to you. Very low audible tone. Gotta drive by the seat of your pants to feel what they are doing. But all my drivers expressed that they could feel when the tires were saying. The mustang weighs in at 2750 with 175 lbs driver and half a tank. Big heavy car with a big v8 engine up front. A couple of my less experienced drivers locked up the brakes and flat spotted the tires. I think we were able to round out the tires while spinning the tires. Tear wear looks fantastic again for what seems to be a soft 200 TW tire and after 16 hrs of racing I suspected more wear. Will see if they last a whole other race weekend. If they do, i think they are a great, cheap, 200TW "Cheater slick". PS. A few showers showed up while i drove. I had never driven the mustang in just damp conditions. so the oil and drops of rain made for no confidence. But thats is not to say of the V730 can perform well in the rain. It is rated A for weather (I believe) with some deep grooves for water shedding. Not sure if the tire is made with silica for enhanced water/pavement adherence. So i can not at this time suggest that they are good in the wet condition.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-09 19:33:01
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Against the suggestion of the internet, I fitted the PZero to the mustang. Initially I wasn’t too impressed. Spent 50% more than Kumho PS71s, and nothing to show for it. But then the temperature increased over 12C, and the tyre came alive. Great grip. Wouldn’t recommend for cold days and winter.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-27 19:53:49
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 13000 spirited miles
Bought a car with kumhos on. Was a bit suspicious, but I was surprised. It handled well, and didn’t cause me any scares. When compared to UHP tyres, it doesn’t shine, but it’s far better than a budget tyre. After having a puncture and only being able to fit a budget tyre, i could appreciate the reasonable grip it has. No real scares in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-27 19:48:53
Writing about the Winda WH16 given 78% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
I was hoping to find something cheap enough to burn off if the mood took me in the Mustang. Considering I had Pirelli Zero Neros and Cooper CS3s on before (which happily attacked my bank balance to buy) these things grip shockingly well in comparison. I have not yet found the limit of grip on a corner and I have to really work to break the tires loose getting going. 105$ a tire???? That's nearly HALF what Costco's cheapest option was. Considering how cheap they are I also measured very acceptable road force measurements upon mounting and balancing. Ive installed Bridgestone's did far worse I will be buying these again if they're available when I go for tires next.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-13 17:54:08
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 74% (255-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tires are unbeatable at this price point. They perform very well, and are sticky. The drawbacks are they’re loud and they wear out fast. These tires are fine in the wet, they resist hydroplaning very well. Not sure why people are complaining about the wet performance, you’re not really supposed to take corners hard in the rain, no matter what tires you have. For normal rain driving, they’re very good and don’t hydroplane easily. I can deal with the noise, and the quick wear based on how cheap they are. I even had to use them in the snow a few times and they did fine. Bottom like, they look great, and perform great, but they’re noisy and they wear fast. Id definitely buy them again, I am on my 2nd set
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-17 17:00:23
Writing about the Mayrun MR500 given 97% (275-45-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I have MR500's on my Mustang GT, I usually have had to replace rears at least every couple seasons especially with Pirelli's as they are the worst for wear in my opinion. These tires are amazing as far as I am concerned and you can't beat the price!!! I will buy them over and over again!
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-05 23:51:22
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
When I bought a car the previous owner had put Kumho PS71 on. I was sceptical at first but they are pretty sticky and suit the car pretty well. Pretty predictable. Never stepped out on me unexpectedly. Solid turn in response. No unexpected understeer. Wet performance was surprisingly good, never had any moments. Relatively loud, but nothing terrible. Have bought again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-26 21:58:48
Writing about the Accelera PHI 2 given 20% (275-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Bought in an emergency and they tyre was the only one available and we’re only fitted to the back axles. Drove the tyres on various country roads and motorways in both wet and dry condition. The Back end would constantly drift. I had the car on several occasions drift out. I recall one occasion when entering a chicane at constant speed, the back end drifted unexpectedly. I’d say these tyres are dangerous in terms of road feel.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-26 21:52:22
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 87% (275-50-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres on my 600+ BHP Supercharged Mustang GT. Let me say this: I rarely if at all give feedback or review anything. However these tyres live up to their hype and then some. Shockingly amazing wet grip as if you are driving on the ground. Exceptional handling even when put at limit on both motorways and track. But above all the comfort on these tyres is exceptional after a spirited driving on track or motorway you get back to the city and enjoy driving in comfort of a true Grand Tourer.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-24 11:50:16
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 given 70% (275-45-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 spirited miles
Good tire, but wear out too fast.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-15 02:22:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre