Ford Mustang gt Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Mustang gt.

Do you Drive a Ford Mustang gt? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Mustang gt better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (13) 92% 83% 83% 81% 88% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (135) 93% 88% 86% 87% 81% 86%
Mayrun MR500 (12) 88% 86% 73% 83% 86% 85%
Nokian WR A4 (22) 84% 88% 72% 77% 77% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (22) 91% 91% 77% 86% 78% 77%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (80) 87% 81% 78% 79% 74% 77%
Pirelli PZero System (4) 93% 83% 80% 80% 67% 70%
Goodride All Season Elite Z 401 (4) 88% 78% 78% 75% 90% 88%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (67) 86% 81% 80% 80% 73% 73%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (59) 89% 79% 85% 82% 62% 72%
Kumho Ecsta V730 (4) 93% 53% 80% 85% 70% 65%
Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 (14) 83% 68% 80% 82% 63% 75%
Nitto NT01 (8) 95% 50% 88% 89% 70% 44%
Nankang RX615 (5) 70% 53% 78% 73% 85% 90%
Winda WH16 (17) 79% 75% 66% 53% 84% 81%
Winrun R330 (30) 79% 66% 69% 70% 74% 77%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (108) 85% 78% 77% 75% 55% 73%
Nitto Invo (19) 79% 67% 73% 75% 65% 67%
Barum Bravuris 5HM (25) 77% 72% 66% 74% 63% 71%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Nitto NT555 (6) 75% 63% 70% 72% 65% 67%
Pirelli P Zero (159) 84% 68% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Hankook Dynapro HP2 (7) 81% 61% 69% 67% 65% 67%
Cooper Zeon RS3 G1 (4) 73% 73% 60% 33% 65% 85%
Maxxis MA V1 (19) 69% 61% 61% 53% 65% 61%
Accelera PHI 2 (12) 71% 49% 54% 52% 65% 62%
Zeta Alventi (16) 71% 64% 53% 53% 58% 51%
Radar Dimax R8 (37) 65% 48% 52% 52% 65% 58%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%
Sunew YS618 (58) 60% 35% 46% 44% 52% 48%

Ford Mustang gt Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 96% (235-50-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
my 2016 mustang gt came with Pirelli pzero nero tires. i'm the one guy on the mustang forums that likes these tires, however during the post-pandemic supply chain issues i could not find them. so i bought the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 because they were the only "good" tire i could find. i found the pirelli and the michelin equal in everything except: dry road michelin are better, wear michelin are lasting me longer. i did get 0.4mpg more on the pirelli.
im in south texas so weather is hot. i have a 1 hour commute to work (24mi highway, 20mi city). road are generally good. im likely to get the michelin again as they have already lasted me 40% more than the pirelli and are still good.
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-31 13:23:24
Writing about the Winrun R330 given 80% (305-35-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4 spirited miles
Use these tyres as my run around and put my r888r on for summer they are a good value tyre fills the gap perfect
tyre reviewed on 2023-10-01 22:02:39
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 75% (275-40-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 21000 average miles
All aspects of the tyres are comparable to ALL my experiences with this type of tyre ( specs ) through many years of different vehicles , from Mercedes , Porsche etc EXCEPT for the MILEAGE aspect. At some 18,500 kms I now need to replace ALL four tyres on my Mustang GT. This is around 50% expected usage - NOT ACCEPTABLE.
tyre reviewed on 2023-08-23 10:09:27
Writing about the Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 given 49% (285-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 easy going miles
I thought buying a big name brand I'd be getting a tire that would last more than 4000 miles. The rears are almost down to the indicator. These are on a mustang which has been babied since I got it,no burnout,no linelocks. Just normal driving. They are also horrible in the rain to the point that 40mph is all I will go on wet surface. The car is all over and it's not because it needs an alignment. Definitely will not buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-27 14:44:00
Writing about the Goodride All Season Elite Z 401 given 84% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Since no one has reviewed them yet besides the all season test published here I will give an initial impression. First thoughts are actually positive compared to autobild which gave quite a negative review regarding the wet braking performance. I drive an old Mustang which I bought recently and it came with Nankang summer tyres on the rear and Lanvigator catchgre all season on the front. Those previous tyres were absolutely garbage in the wet. It would slide in the slightest turn on the highway and a little bit more acceleration it would spin easily. None of these issues with Goodride Z401. I had to choose between those and the slightly more expensive Sailun Atrezzo 4 season. The latter wasn't in stock so I took the gamble. It would make sense to buy premium tyres for a high performance car but since it's old/high mileage, unknown history I am careful with investing. Of course safety matters and the biggest threat I saw was wet breaking. I promised myself to behave in wet conditions. The weather was dry but roads wet since the humidity is most of the time close to a 100% and temperature +1°C. I stepped on the accelerator in the turns expecting that it would spin and break out like the Nankang did. No spinning whatsoever. Braking in the wet/Icy conditions...no surprises. Biggest advantage...they are quiet. The Sailun Atrezzo isn't....(they were on the rentalcar glad I didn't buy them). So far I am happy with them. Sometimes you have to experience things yourself and not blindly follow online reviews but always take your driving style in consideration. With a more modern sophisticated car you would notice without doubt the difference between a Goodride and the premium brands. With a classic, which most owners treat it with respect and usually not a daily driver I think you will be fine with those budget tyres. Snow traction/breaking looked ok on the autobild test. I will add my experience in the next review after 5k miles or so.
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-16 04:01:06
Writing about the Nankang RX615 given 49% (225-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
These tyres came on my Mustang GT. On the dry they are fine. On the wet simply dangerous. I don't know what the previous owner was thinking but I guess he drove slow. On a tight 270° turn I was shocked how easily the car would skid. Also acceleration was like on being on ice/snow. Worthless. Maybe a good tyre for drifters. The only positive side that they last quite well. The production date shows its from 2011 and it shows hardly any wear. This will be the final month.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-29 11:48:32
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Nero given 54% (-35-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20 spirited miles
These came stock on my 2018 Mustang GT non-performance pack. I have to be honest here as they don't handle either cool or hot temps well at all. I understand I have a lot of torque going through a pretty small contact patch (255), but I don't rev it to but about 4k and less than 3/4 throttle max in ideal conditions. Ideal for these tires meaning between 70 and 90 degrees. Any colder than that and they really feel like rocks, any hotter and they are so greasy - I mean hunting for traction and squirming at up to 70mph. I have learned to be careful with them outside of these temps. I can understand cooler temps, but how greasy they are, especially at 100+ is really a no go for me. I would not recommend these tires if you have over 400hp - I won't buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-02 17:26:56
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 87% (-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These tires really are great for the cost. I’ve ran them on everything I’ve owned for the last 15 years. This is the second set on my 2018 Mustang GT and I have to say they will handle spirited driving on city/country roads without worry. Having said that, they aren’t bad for the occasional track day either. I definitely would not want them if I lived in a colder climate, on cool Florida mornings they don’t exactly like to be bothered if it’s below 65. They spin briefly on every take off, which in turn shortens tire life. Overall, nice tires
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-28 19:47:56
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 1500 spirited miles
Takes too long to activate the rubber in wet and cold conditions. Tire is probably suited for a car less than 1750 kg and all wheel drive. Really needs work on how to manage wet conditions better, as well as higher torque cars, as it should not spin as easily as it does.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-01 01:27:55
Writing about the Cooper Zeon RS3 G1 given 77% (-50-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Nice tire for the price if you want to be cheap, would not recommend if you push your car in higher speed handling they will break loose. Not to bad in the rain don't know about snow. They wear quickly when on front rears last longer so rotate often.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-22 13:04:25
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 66% (-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27000 average miles
The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S came standard with my car, which is a daily driver car. I mostly drive on maintained paved road, and never took my car to a track. Being a summer tire, it is grippy enough that it gives me confidence that I will not lose traction on turns, specially if I'm travelling a little faster than I'm suppose to be. I have driven my car on wet and/or cold condition as well, and predictably, I had to be extra careful, specially on turns, for this tire can easily slip on a wet or cold surface. Overall, I am happy with this tire, but will I buy it again? Most probably no. Like I said earlier, I do not track my car. I would gladly swap the extra grip provided by this tire, for something that I can use on all weather, plus gives a longer tread life.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-31 14:47:03
Writing about the Accelera PHI 2 given 53% (255-40-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 easy going miles
Inherited these tyres when buying the used car and changed them as soon as possible afterwards. In warmer, dry conditions they were fine, but when the roads were slightly wet in the colder weather, they were dangerous. Accelerating slightly too hard on a motorway slip road or pulling out of a junction in the rain was causing the back end to slide around, even below 30mph. I had to be incredibly careful and it didn't inspire much confidence. In a front wheel or all wheel drive car I imagine it wouldn't be such a big deal, but I wouldn't recommend fitting these to any RWD or anything with a bit of power.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-09 14:27:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre