Radar Dimax R8

The Radar Dimax R8 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Radar Dimax R8 plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 65%
Wet Grip 48%
Road Feedback 50%
Handling 49%
Wear 67%
Comfort 56%
Buy again 51%

Tyre review data from 31 tyre reviews averaging 55% over 216,016 miles driven.

The Dimax R8 is ranked 123rd of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 35th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 47th of 43 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

  • 35th: 2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 47th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    205/40 R17 84Y XL   E B 72  
    245/40 R17 95W XL   C C 72 11.17kgs
    245/40 R17 95Y XL   E B 72  
    205/45 R17 88W XL   E B 72 9.22kgs
    205/45 R17 84W   E B 71  
    205/45 R17 88Y XL   E B 72  
    215/45 R17 91Y XL   C B 72  
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 72 9.67kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 72 10.10kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL   A C 72 10.24kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   C B 72 10.97kgs
    235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 72  
    245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 72 11.94kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   C B 72  
    205/50 R17 93Y XL   C B 72  
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 72 9.91kgs
    205/50 R17 89W   E B 71  
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 72 10.58kgs
    215/50 R17 95Y XL   C B 72  
    225/50 R17 94V   E B 71 14.80kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   C B 72  
    225/50 R17 98W XL   C B 72 11.21kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 72 10.92kgs
    215/55 R17 98Y XL   C B 72  
    235/55 R17 99V   C B 71 12.69kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   C B 71 12.84kgs
    225/60 R17 103V XL   C B 72  
    225/60 R17 99W   C B 71  
    215/35 R18 84W XL   E B 72 9.30kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 72 10.14kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   C B 72 10.14kgs
    235/40 R18 95W XL   C B 72 11.03kgs
    245/40 R18 97W XL   C B 72 11.74kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL   C B 72 11.74kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y   E B 71 14.32kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72  
    245/45 R18 96Y   E B 71 15.63kgs
    225/35 R19 88W XL   E B 72 10.02kgs
    225/35 R19 88Y XL   E B 72  
    225/35 R19 88W XL   E B 72 11.38kgs
    235/35 R19 91W XL   C B 72 10.74kgs
    245/35 R19 93W XL   E B 72 11.44kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL   E B 72  
    245/40 R19 98Y XL   C B 72  
    245/40 R19 94Y   E B 71  
    245/40 R19 98W XL   C B 72 12.15kgs
    225/30 R20 85W XL   E B 72 10.06kgs
    245/30 R20 97W XL   C B 72 10.88kgs
    275/30 R20 97Y XL   E B 73  
    275/30 R20 97W   E B 73 12.88kgs
    225/35 R20 90Y XL   E B 72  
    225/35 R20 90W XL   C B 72 10.69kgs
    245/35 R20 95W XL   C B 72 11.63kgs
    255/35 R20 97W XL   C B 73 12.63kgs
    255/35 R20 97Y XL   C B 73  

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Radar Dimax R8. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Dimax R8 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    205/50 R17 £63.00 - £83.29 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/40 R19 £72.00 - £110.00 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R20 £86.00 - £86.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 16 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Radar Dimax R8 Reviews

    Given 23% while driving a Vauxhall Nova (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    Cheap dangerous tyres
    They are very hard wearing but everything else is bad
    Dont fit these tyres to ur car u have being warned
    Helpful 111 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2018
    Given 75% while driving a Volvo V70 2.5 T awd (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
    Got these after Michelin Primacy 225/45 17W. Radar is cheap, comfort and quiet. Havent drive much with these so dont know about how long these will last but so far just positive feelings. There was MUCH more tramling when driving Michelins. Sure, Michelins were worn tyres and Y speed but anyway: car was tramling quite baddly with Mich´s but no tramling at all with Radars.

    I havent got any problems with grip in any conditions, not even in cold, rainy conditions. In wet road conditions i could keep same speed in hard turns than i drove those curves with Michelin.

    Volvo aint a sport car so i dont drive it at the limit but the limit comes via car, not via tyres in this case.

    I give "thumbs up" for Radar.
    Helpful 101 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2015
    Mercedes Benz (255/30 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
    Bought my E class a year ago. The dealer fitted these new so I expected them to be budget tyres. Normally I fit Conti 5s to my Mercs. So far the main plus is the wear. I've done 25000 since buying the car, mainly motorways, and I still have 5mm easy all round. The fronts generally last forever anyway but even on the rear, I can get another 6 months out of these tyres. For anyone who does high mileage, that's a real heads up. I think road noise is higher but performance is fine; I don't drive in the limit. I probably wouldn't choose these tyres bit I cannot really fault them.
    Helpful 58 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2018
    Have you driven on the Radar Dimax R8 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Radar Dimax R8? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Radar Dimax R8 >

    Latest Radar Dimax R8 Reviews

    Given 33% while driving a BMW 220d Sport Auto (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
    I put theses tyres on as a cheap alternative and cost effective. They are awful past 50mph in corners and the TC light flickers at the hint of a bend. I am having them removed and replaced for safety concerns. If all you use them for is little town journeys then they'll be fine - do not take on wet motorways!!
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2021
    Given 73% while driving a BMW 335d (245/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Driven couple thousand and no issues at all. Cant tell diff between them and my previous Michelin tyres..
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2020
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 83% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235/40 R18 R) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
    Had these on my 2.5l Turbo Ford Mondeo for last four years, absolutely no issues with them at all; a great, cheap all round tyre. And I have been known to drive in a spirited way sometimes!
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2019
    Given 41% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (255/35 R20 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
    Look good but perform badly. I don't believe the tyres EU ratings whatsoever. The tyres are noisy and wet grip levels do not reflect a B rating.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2019
    Given 93% while driving a BMW 730Ld (275/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
    Bought these Radar R8 runflat Tyres for my 7 Series
    They are half the price of Goodyear/Pirelli and last at least 90%
    As long.
    As I do huge mileages, it makes sense for me to use these
    They balance nice (with less weight required than Pirelli)
    Also are very quiet, and so far have done 10k miles and have over
    6-7mm left so fingers crossed will get to 30k miles
    Justyn
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2018
    Jaguar (275/45 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
    I went to purchase my usual Landsail tyres that I've had for a number of years and always found them very good value for money but the dealer did not have them and sold me 2 radar tyres for £180.
    4 days and 70miles later my wheels were removed for a refurb and I was amazed the inside of tyre had a bulge all around the inner edge. I had not merged it or anything like that. Went back to the garage who advised that all they could do was fill out a form but radar will claim it's my fault and the claim will be rejected. I changed back to Landsail. If anyone offers you these tyres do not accept them. Awful tyres with awful customer service.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2018
    Given 30% while driving a Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d (275/45 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
    I went to purchase my usual Landsail tyres that I've had for a number of years and always found them very good value for money but the dealer did not have them and sold me 2 radar tyres for £180.
    4 days and 70miles later my wheels were removed for a refurb and I was amazed the inside of tyre had a bulge all around the inner edge. I had not merged it or anything like that. Went back to the garage who advised that all they could do was fill out a form but radar will claim it's my fault and the claim will be rejected. I changed back to Landsail. If anyone offers you these tyres do not accept them. Awful tyres with awful customer service.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2018
    Given 77% while driving a BMW 120d (205/50 R17 N) on for 8,000 average miles
    I have used these run flats on the front of my bmw 120d for about a year and have just bought 2 more for the rear which says it all really. These replaced bridgestones which I have used for about 7 years and were indistinguishable in usage. After about 8k miles the fronts are down to 5.5-6mm which I am quite happy with.
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2018
    Given 38% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/40 R19 W) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
    started off really positive. Grip and traction was not too far off the previous Michelin Primacy HP that were fitted on as standard. The tyre noise was slightly elevated to the Primacy, however after 2 months the tyre roar became a joke! it was ok around town but get past 40mph and on up to motorway speeds it became an all consuming torture! it sounded like my tyres were rubbing on the arches - would avoid these like the plague. you get what you pay for. coming off after 2 months and fitting the Michelin back on again. The manufacturers put them on for a reason.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2017
    Given 34% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 320 CDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    Bought a Mercedes CLK 320 CDI with these fitted to the rears and can honestly say they are the worst tyre in the wet andem with a not much better in the dry. Replaced them with a pair of Michelin PS4. I can't imagine why people think cheap tyres a good economy.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016
    Given 83% while driving a Holden commodore (235/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
    Loving these tyre for the price I will defiantly buy these tyres again
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2016
    Given 63% while driving a Ford Falcon xr6 (245/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Bought these tyres just as a cheap alternative for my XR6 Falcon, the car is only driven maybe once a week as I have a company car. For the price compared to major name brand tyres, I am loving them! They handle well in dry conditions, they're not noisy, as with all cheaper tyres if you put your foot to the floor in the wet they spin (kind of expect that with most tyres!).

    Overall they are great value for money if you don't want to spend big $$$$ on name brand tyres.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2016