Radar Dimax R8

The Radar Dimax R8 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 56% over 233,766 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 41st.

Dry Grip 65%
Wet Grip 48%
Road Feedback 52%
Handling 52%
Wear 65%
Comfort 58%
Buy again 52%

First On MarketJanuary 2017
Wheel Size17 - 20"
Width205 - 275mm
Profile30 - 60
Rolling ResistanceC - C
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)71 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Dimax R8 is ranked 127th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Radar Dimax R8 plus.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

35th

Worst Result

47th

Average Result

41st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
225/60R17 103 V XLCB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Radar Dimax R8 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Radar Dimax R8. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
255/35 R20 £102.52 - £102.52 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 14 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Radar Dimax R8 Reviews

Given 23% while driving a Vauxhall Nova (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Cheap dangerous tyres
They are very hard wearing but everything else is bad
Dont fit these tyres to ur car u have being warned
Helpful 203 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2018
Given 73% while driving a BMW 335d (245/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Driven couple thousand and no issues at all. Cant tell diff between them and my previous Michelin tyres..
Helpful 80 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2020
Given 10% while driving a BMW 330i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 250 spirited miles
I put them on the rear of my 330i and as soon as you go above 65mph the back end becomes twitchy, its almost like they deform to a oval shape and the car shakes left and right, honestly not worth buying!
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2022
Have you driven on the Radar Dimax R8 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Radar Dimax R8? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Radar Dimax R8 >

Latest Radar Dimax R8 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW 530D M sport (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
This is a first for me to buy budget tires.
I have to say i am very impressed with the grip and the handling and the comfort much better than the Bridgestone they have replaced.
I don't do reviews but when i was buying these i looked at the reviews and it was a bit mixed, so all i have to say is i have put two tyres on my BMW530d for less than the cost of one from a brand name, and they are brilliant.
i can't tell you how happy i am with them
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Subaru Forester 2.5i (225/50 R17) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
Radar Dimax tyres did well on my super super low 07 Subaru Forester.
I drive the car hard and they handled well and I used them right up until they were totally bald. Maybe the treadwear could have lasted a bit longer but I'll take that for how well they did. Cheers
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 47% while driving a BMW Z4 (255/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
Only do about 4000miles a year. The tyres were brand new when I bought the car I’ve done 12000 miles & thought all was good until yesterday when I got a flat tyre warning - on checking there was a 10 inch rupture on the inside wall of the rear near side . The other is showing signs of cracking on so it’s going to be replaced tomorrow. I certainly wouldn’t have again.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2023
Given 30% while driving a BMW 320D (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
BMW 320d GT. changed to these on the two rear tyres, just before a road trip from Ireland to Berlin. Oh dear, these are clearly not suited. The car is twitchy and swimmy at anything over 100kmh. Have to keep two hands on the wheel and concentrate to keep it going in a straight line. It’s almost divergent. Really unnerving. At Autobahn speeds of over 160kmh it’s a real white knuckle ride. Other peeps are clearly having a different and good experience with these but I can say unequivocally that they are not to be used on a 320d GT.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2022
Given 33% while driving a BMW 220d Sport Auto (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
I put theses tyres on as a cheap alternative and cost effective. They are awful past 50mph in corners and the TC light flickers at the hint of a bend. I am having them removed and replaced for safety concerns. If all you use them for is little town journeys then they'll be fine - do not take on wet motorways!!
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2021
Given 83% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235/40 R18 R) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Had these on my 2.5l Turbo Ford Mondeo for last four years, absolutely no issues with them at all; a great, cheap all round tyre. And I have been known to drive in a spirited way sometimes!
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2019
Given 41% while driving a Jaguar xf premium luxury (255/35 R20 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Look good but perform badly. I don't believe the tyres EU ratings whatsoever. The tyres are noisy and wet grip levels do not reflect a B rating.
Helpful 62 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2019
Mercedes Benz (255/30 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Bought my E class a year ago. The dealer fitted these new so I expected them to be budget tyres. Normally I fit Conti 5s to my Mercs. So far the main plus is the wear. I've done 25000 since buying the car, mainly motorways, and I still have 5mm easy all round. The fronts generally last forever anyway but even on the rear, I can get another 6 months out of these tyres. For anyone who does high mileage, that's a real heads up. I think road noise is higher but performance is fine; I don't drive in the limit. I probably wouldn't choose these tyres bit I cannot really fault them.
Helpful 93 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2018
Given 93% while driving a BMW 730Ld (275/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 easy going miles
Bought these Radar R8 runflat Tyres for my 7 Series
They are half the price of Goodyear/Pirelli and last at least 90%
As long.
As I do huge mileages, it makes sense for me to use these
They balance nice (with less weight required than Pirelli)
Also are very quiet, and so far have done 10k miles and have over
6-7mm left so fingers crossed will get to 30k miles
Justyn
Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2018
Jaguar (275/45 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
I went to purchase my usual Landsail tyres that I've had for a number of years and always found them very good value for money but the dealer did not have them and sold me 2 radar tyres for £180.
4 days and 70miles later my wheels were removed for a refurb and I was amazed the inside of tyre had a bulge all around the inner edge. I had not merged it or anything like that. Went back to the garage who advised that all they could do was fill out a form but radar will claim it's my fault and the claim will be rejected. I changed back to Landsail. If anyone offers you these tyres do not accept them. Awful tyres with awful customer service.
Helpful 59 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2018
Given 30% while driving a Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d (275/45 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
I went to purchase my usual Landsail tyres that I've had for a number of years and always found them very good value for money but the dealer did not have them and sold me 2 radar tyres for £180.
4 days and 70miles later my wheels were removed for a refurb and I was amazed the inside of tyre had a bulge all around the inner edge. I had not merged it or anything like that. Went back to the garage who advised that all they could do was fill out a form but radar will claim it's my fault and the claim will be rejected. I changed back to Landsail. If anyone offers you these tyres do not accept them. Awful tyres with awful customer service.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2018
Given 77% while driving a BMW 120d (205/50 R17 N) on for 8,000 average miles
I have used these run flats on the front of my bmw 120d for about a year and have just bought 2 more for the rear which says it all really. These replaced bridgestones which I have used for about 7 years and were indistinguishable in usage. After about 8k miles the fronts are down to 5.5-6mm which I am quite happy with.
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2018