BMW Z4 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW Z4.

Do you Drive a BMW Z4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Z4 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT (7) 84% 89% 87% 71% 87% 84%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (155) 94% 87% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Continental SportContact 7 (52) 97% 93% 91% 92% 71% 76%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (238) 93% 90% 86% 88% 79% 81%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 (9) 85% 85% 75% 84% 84% 84%
Falken ZE914 (99) 89% 81% 84% 80% 82% 81%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (28) 85% 88% 90% 82% 82% 88%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (313) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (141) 90% 87% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (99) 87% 83% 81% 80% 77% 79%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (67) 77% 86% 70% 70% 75% 80%
Falken FK452 (211) 82% 72% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Aoteli P607 (24) 79% 64% 70% 69% 78% 71%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (108) 85% 78% 77% 75% 55% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (27) 83% 73% 72% 74% 71% 57%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Event Potentum (14) 75% 67% 59% 66% 74% 68%
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (29) 87% 75% 78% 75% 48% 56%
Falken FK453 (30) 77% 70% 63% 60% 60% 69%
Nankang NS2 (211) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Pace ALVENTI Pace (14) 66% 70% 57% 41% 54% 68%
Landsail DH2 (25) 69% 55% 56% 52% 57% 61%
Sunny SN3970 (46) 71% 49% 54% 54% 65% 54%
Radar Dimax R8 (37) 65% 48% 52% 52% 65% 58%
Accelera Alpha (130) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 56%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (143) 72% 54% 55% 48% 55% 32%
Fullrun HP199 (79) 48% 28% 32% 33% 53% 27%

BMW Z4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Landsail DH2 given 28% (255-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Got fitted to Z4 by the garage as it was the only tyre they had in stock this size. Absolutely shocking tyre, way too soft. Feels like sponge. Rear slips non stop, roundabout, corners etc.. and going at 40-50 kmph. This tyre is not safe by all means and should not be allowed to retail. There are plenty budget brands for this price which does the job rather well. Be safe. Do not buy it!
tyre reviewed on 2024-06-16 11:12:18
Writing about the Pace ALVENTI Pace given 39% (225-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
They seem very bouncy and unstable compared to the Michelin sports they replaced, bunny hopping sideways in corners.
They feel pretty dangerous to me, it's like the sidewall has too much flex in it.
I am going to up the tyre pressures, see if it improves.
I would not buy them again.
They seem to be better in the wet no aquaplaning so far.
My car is off lease in 4 months, if I was keeping it I would be looking to get them checked and replaced.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-02 01:41:39
Writing about the Continental SportContact 7 given 100% (275-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Simply perfection!
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-29 12:43:14
Writing about the Radar Dimax R8 given 47% (255-30-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 easy going miles
Only do about 4000miles a year. The tyres were brand new when I bought the car I’ve done 12000 miles & thought all was good until yesterday when I got a flat tyre warning - on checking there was a 10 inch rupture on the inside wall of the rear near side . The other is showing signs of cracking on so it’s going to be replaced tomorrow. I certainly wouldn’t have again.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-01 09:38:01
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 93% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-24 09:47:30
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 10% (275-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
I bought a 2020 BMW Z4 and it came with 4 of these fitted. On the drive home, I thought something was broken in the suspension. The car floated around like the wheels weren't connected. At 70mph, in the dry, these were SCARY and dangerous to drive with. The car wouldn't stay straight, and jumped around in my hands. Even at 50mph, they had so little grip, you could feel the car squirming. These lasted 300 miles before I had to take them off before I ended up in a ditch. Replaced with Pilot Sport 5's and they make the car handle as expected ... AMAZING! These things are the worst tyres I've ever had on a car.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-15 13:54:22
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 91% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-30 07:28:28
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 53% (255-30-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
These were fitted to my unmodified 2015 BMW E89 Z4 SDRIVE 20i M SPORT ROADSTER when I bought it 6 months ago, the test drive very nearly put me off as the ride was so harsh, but convinced myself the car was ideal otherwise. Having now driven a few 000's of miles on most UK road surfaces I can honestly say I find the ride comfort to be pretty dreadful in most conditions - although ok on well prepared roads and it rides gentle undulations well, the car crashes on all blemishes in the road surface. Makes driving most A & B roads impossible to enjoy, as attention is focused on just avoiding problems. Crashy, harsh, unforgiving, tramlining. Granted the combination of M suspension (not active), 19" wheels and RFT tyres is hardly ideal, but will certainly be soon changing these tyres for something more forgiving, possibly non-RFT. May also invest in changing to 18" rims at the same time, if budget allows.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-08 04:29:59
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I had Pirelli run flats on the car and the front two were knackered. Whilst in the shop I decided to replace the rears as well. Best decision I’ve ever done - I cannot stress how much putting non run flats has improved the car. It’s like a completely different vehicle. I’ve only got 17’s on mine so was sceptical how much it would help and I was worried the ride would become spongy. How wrong I was. For reference my Goodyears are the reinforced version.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-17 06:07:13
Writing about the Aoteli P607 given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I have a few cars and I like to try different tyres. My experience is, if you buy the most expensive tyres, you got the best of everything, but if you buy a lower priced (not cheap) options, you can end up with a set of very crappy rubbers. This applies to many top brands in the market. In summary, they are forcing you to buy their most expensive lines. Back to Aetoli, I bought them because I have never tried China made tyres. I was thinking with such a large population and rising standard of living, what tyres are the people use ? Many named brands have set up factories in China, so I was actually thinking of getting a set of China made Michelin or similar. Then I came across Aoteli and bought them just for the sake of trying. The performance really took me by surprise, they handle really well. Being a set of low profile tyres I do not expect super comfort or very low noise, but Aoteli scores very good in these two areas. The tyre wall is a bit hard which helps in hard cornering. I do not have those horrible experience as mentioned in some reviews. I guess some users are bias because they are made in China. Overall, I am really happy with the purchase. As a side note, I tried to fit a set of 185/65/14 on my old Mercedes to see how they perform but this size is not available. I later found out that they only made low profile tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-04 11:38:10
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 70% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
great tyre but by god they are noisy..like seriously noisy, completely ruins the whole experience as the perform brilliantly, if they weren't so expensive I'd have them straight off the car
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-23 07:59:32
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 24% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 57 easy going miles
Turn a good car into a pig. Hard, noisy and unsettled by bumps, undulations, objects, in fact anything you are likely to find on a road. A sports car has firm suspension, in connection with these, you need to have a running order with your dentist to have your fillings tightened.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-18 03:59:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre