BMW Z4 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW Z4.

Do you Drive a BMW Z4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Z4 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (199) 93% 91% 87% 89% 83% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (152) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (140) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 RFT (6) 85% 90% 88% 70% 86% 87%
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (27) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 88%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 (9) 85% 85% 75% 84% 84% 84%
Falken ZE914 (97) 89% 81% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (275) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 79%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (79) 87% 82% 82% 82% 80% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (139) 84% 72% 77% 76% 68% 63%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (100) 85% 79% 77% 77% 55% 72%
Aoteli P607 (20) 77% 63% 66% 65% 78% 71%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (26) 82% 73% 71% 73% 70% 56%
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (27) 87% 76% 78% 75% 49% 59%
Event Potentum (14) 75% 67% 59% 66% 74% 68%
Nankang NS2 (210) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Falken FK453 (29) 76% 69% 61% 58% 59% 68%
Sunny SN3970 (45) 71% 49% 55% 54% 64% 55%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (141) 71% 54% 55% 49% 56% 32%
Fullrun HP199 (78) 48% 28% 32% 33% 54% 27%

BMW Z4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 53% (255-30-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
These were fitted to my unmodified 2015 BMW E89 Z4 SDRIVE 20i M SPORT ROADSTER when I bought it 6 months ago, the test drive very nearly put me off as the ride was so harsh, but convinced myself the car was ideal otherwise. Having now driven a few 000's of miles on most UK road surfaces I can honestly say I find the ride comfort to be pretty dreadful in most conditions - although ok on well prepared roads and it rides gentle undulations well, the car crashes on all blemishes in the road surface. Makes driving most A & B roads impossible to enjoy, as attention is focused on just avoiding problems. Crashy, harsh, unforgiving, tramlining. Granted the combination of M suspension (not active), 19" wheels and RFT tyres is hardly ideal, but will certainly be soon changing these tyres for something more forgiving, possibly non-RFT. May also invest in changing to 18" rims at the same time, if budget allows.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-08 11:29:59
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I had Pirelli run flats on the car and the front two were knackered. Whilst in the shop I decided to replace the rears as well. Best decision I’ve ever done - I cannot stress how much putting non run flats has improved the car. It’s like a completely different vehicle. I’ve only got 17’s on mine so was sceptical how much it would help and I was worried the ride would become spongy. How wrong I was. For reference my Goodyears are the reinforced version.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-17 12:07:13
Writing about the Aoteli P607 given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I have a few cars and I like to try different tyres. My experience is, if you buy the most expensive tyres, you got the best of everything, but if you buy a lower priced (not cheap) options, you can end up with a set of very crappy rubbers. This applies to many top brands in the market. In summary, they are forcing you to buy their most expensive lines. Back to Aetoli, I bought them because I have never tried China made tyres. I was thinking with such a large population and rising standard of living, what tyres are the people use ? Many named brands have set up factories in China, so I was actually thinking of getting a set of China made Michelin or similar. Then I came across Aoteli and bought them just for the sake of trying. The performance really took me by surprise, they handle really well. Being a set of low profile tyres I do not expect super comfort or very low noise, but Aoteli scores very good in these two areas. The tyre wall is a bit hard which helps in hard cornering. I do not have those horrible experience as mentioned in some reviews. I guess some users are bias because they are made in China. Overall, I am really happy with the purchase. As a side note, I tried to fit a set of 185/65/14 on my old Mercedes to see how they perform but this size is not available. I later found out that they only made low profile tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-04 18:38:10
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 70% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
great tyre but by god they are noisy..like seriously noisy, completely ruins the whole experience as the perform brilliantly, if they weren't so expensive I'd have them straight off the car
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-23 14:59:32
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 24% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 57 easy going miles
Turn a good car into a pig. Hard, noisy and unsettled by bumps, undulations, objects, in fact anything you are likely to find on a road. A sports car has firm suspension, in connection with these, you need to have a running order with your dentist to have your fillings tightened.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-18 10:59:46
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 37% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4500 easy going miles
Extremely rapid wear considering I don’t drive in exuberance. Very uneven wear both across and around the circumference of the tyre. Replaced like for like on the rear of the car knowing they were not a premium brand since I was deciding whether I would keep the car long term and did not expect a huge mileage from them but 4,500 miles is a massive disappointment.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-02 12:20:29
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 54% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
These tires came factory fitted on my E89 Z4. The tires didn't excel in any condition. The tires were above average in terms of dry and wet grip. They were very uncomfortable (even compared to other runflat tires) and not so good at road feedback. Wear wasn't bad, but could be better. Overall I was quite disapointed by the tires.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-09 16:59:07
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I replaced my factory fitted Bridgestone Potenza RE 050 runflat tires on my E89 Z4 with Michelin PS4's. Amazing tires in every conditions. I was most amazed by the wet grip and wet handling. The dry grip and dry hadling was excellent too, even in cold conditions. Very comfortable and quiet for a sporty tire. Would highly recommend these tires for daily driving and spirited driving.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-09 16:41:48
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 30% (255-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Absolutely terrible ride comfort. These tyres are so stiff they may as well be made from plastic.I've seen rear wheels cracking due to the stiff sidewall these have. I felt like selling my Z4 due to these awful tyres. No idea why BMW thought these would be a good tyre to go for.

I recently purchased some Goodyears (non-RFT) and the car is now transformed. Less road noise, more grip, less tramlining, more steering feedback which loads up nicely and a more comfortable ride. The car feels like a proper roadster now - great drip (especially in the wet) and the feedback I get is out of this world. Love my car now!

If you're thinking of moving away from Bridgestone run-flats, do it!
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-23 23:04:11
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 100% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Replaced the original run flats with a wheel and tyre package - choose the falken ziex eco run 310 as they were really good value and had the A rated wet grip - the tyres have been brilliant so far - have great feed back in the dry and wet , low road noise and very little signs of wear. At no point have the tyres lost traction in the wet - would definatlsy recommend and purchase again
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-04 19:05:32
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 49% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Terrible on roads with rutting.
Car jumps in a turn with bad road surface.
BMW Z4
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-29 12:05:06
Writing about the Event Potentum given 80% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-19 18:25:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre