Nankang NS2

The Nankang NS2 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 211 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 1,806,999 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 27th.

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 65%
Handling 62%
Wear 73%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 60%

First On MarketJune 2012
Wheel Size13 - 24"
Width155 - 285mm
Profile30 - 65
Rolling ResistanceD - E
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The NS2 is ranked 109th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Nankang NS1 and this tyre has been replaced by the Nankang Noble Sport NS20.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

7th

Worst Result

46th

Average Result

27th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test
7th of 8 tyres
  • Low rolling resistance.
  • Dangerously long braking distance in the wet, wet understeer, reduced steering precision, loud and uncomfortable.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
195/55R15 85 VDC71
16 inch
205/55R16 91 VDC71
17 inch
225/45R17 94 V XLDC71
215/45R17 91 V XLDC71
18 inch
255/35R18 94 H XLDC71
245/45R18 100 H XLDC71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Nankang NS2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Nankang NS2

2016-05-31 - Hi there, i plan to replace my car tyres, size 205/55 R16. i previously owned yokohama advan db. Now i plan to move any good budget tyres. I am thinking to switch to nankang ns2?. but these are rotational. Would like to have your advise on rotational tyres. Are these better from non rotational tyres or there is no difference?

Manufacturers primarily switched to non-directional (asymmetric) tyres to make OE fitment easier for vehicle manufacturers. A directional tyre usually has better aquaplaning performance, but as most directional tyres are now older designs, you might be better off with a more modern asymmetric pattern.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nankang NS2 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
This is old tire model, but if this review helps someone...They were not that horrible on normal driving. Somewhat reduced grip on wet, but mostly very average tyres. I think Nankang might have quality issues, because some will praise them, and others are trashing them. We have quite rough roads in Finland, and mostly very strict speed limits, so I have very limited experience from progressiveness or how it handle at the limits. However, I had never any issues with these.
Helpful 253 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2016
Given 50% while driving a Jaguar 5.0 XK Portfolio (275/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Not good when roads are a bit damp, not so bad when the roads are very wet, can’t even pull away with hardly any throttle without wheelspin so do not inspire confidence, they remind me of Pirelli’s that were fitted to my previous Jaguar Xj8, was like skating on ice if the roads were damp, especially if salted. They were on the car when I bought it and decided I will buy new 19” wheels and try different make of tyres, I wouldn’t buy the Nankangs
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2023
Given 77% while driving a BMW 323i (215/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Update: After some more daily driving (I'm the back seat driver), we've decided that these are excellent budget tires! 215/35R19 on a 8.5J Reverse Mount wheel, stretched the tire a bit, but this is awfull for every day driving! Not the tire's fault, but we wanted a little stretch. Dry: Great, just needs some heat and then they grip nicely. Wet: We thought that this would be awfull, but no. Just a little warm up and it grips like a rain tire! We were only able to slide on manholes, but back on asphalt, it just wouldn't let go! Feedback: Not so good, i think it's because of the stretched tires. Handling: Just ok. Again, stretched tires are to blame. Wear: Good, nothing extremely bad, maybe the inside over time because my friend is stubborn and didn't align the rear. Comfort: Does not apply on this setup. 215/35R19 stretched on a old, lowered E46 doesn't equal comfort. Do I recommend this tire? Not for most people, but this is exactly what WE wanted. Aggressive thread, not to expensive, a tire brand I've heard of, cheap, wonky sizes. For us, it's perfect!
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2022
Have you driven on the Nankang NS2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nankang NS2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nankang NS2 >

Latest Nankang NS2 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a BMW 323i (215/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Review of these Nankang Ns2's on my buddy's E46 215/35R19 85Y XL on a 8.5J rim, nice stretch, load rating plenty for a E46. First of, I recommended these tyres for him because he wanted a cheap, aggressive threaded tyre, with a rotation thread pattern. There isn't much to choose in 215/35R19. Hankook and Kumho too expensive, dont want unknown brands, so Nankang was about the only way to go. We specifically chose the NS2'S over the NS20'S because of better looks and similar reviews. Btw, if you find the Nankang NS2 Ultra Sports, those are the same as when you order regular NS2'S. Both have NS2 Ultra Sport written on the sidewall. Speaking of the sidewall, it's a very boring one, nothing special. Now, we only have these on the car for a few weeks now, and we really needed to break-in the tyres, driving carefully for the first 50 to 100 miles. First things that stand out, the noise, of boy they are noisy! But they give a lot of feedback! They are really stiff as well, mind you the sidewall is nearly nonexistent and his cold pressure is like 2.7 Bar and warmed up 3.0 Bar. Comparing to his old tyres, Hankook Ventus Evo 3's in 225/40R19 (93Y) XL (way to big for a lowered E46, he grabbed the tyre size of a E46 M3), the Nankangs have a little less grip, and dont give you as much confidence to push harder. Haven't tested in (heavy) rain yet, but we are expecting significant reduced grip, but that's to be forgiven. I wouldn't recommend these for the average driver, but for a project car and for the driver that can handle the noise, grip and probably wear, I would recommend them!
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Renault Megane II 1.9dci (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Very good at how much they cost. The single problem is when you don t use your car they make a flat spot first kilometers.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 59% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I been using the nankang ns2 tire for a couple of years, the noise of the tire is terrible rating it from 1 to 10 I would say it’s 9 it’s too loud. The braking in summer time is good it also grip well in the corner. The braking in rainy and wet season is average I don’t push it too hard. The comfort is 1 out of 10 is only 1 the tire itself is harf with a 400 tread wear. If you have a budget get some nice tire, but if the noise is not your concern it is a good choice.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2021
Given 70% while driving a Citroën saxo 1.1 (175/50 R13) on track for 220 spirited miles
Used them on a trackprepared Saxo 1.1i 60 hp. Confident grip in dry and wet conditions. I think it's a good tyre. And not too expensive either. But it wears fast. I did 1 trackday on the wet, it was ok. But after a second trackday in the dry (I admit I was pushing to the limit), they wore off very fast which makes me hesitant to use them one more time or not. But the grip is convincing.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021
Given 21% while driving a Volkswagen EOS (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres lasted only 12000 miles of normal motorways driving!!! They wear extremely fast. I would highly recommend NOT to buy them. It just doesn't make sense economically. The grip on wet is non existent, dry grip is a bit better. There are much better options for the same price or cheaper.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2020
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Polo Mk2f (heavily modified) (175/60 R13 H) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Fitted these as wanted a cheaper tyre that would last longer than more track inspired tyres. Give good grip in the dry, better than anything in its price range, wet grip suffers slightly. No noticible road noise, but that's mainly as they are fitted to a noisy car. The feel is much better than other tyres of similar size, and a vast improvement over the tour sports in the same size. have pushed the tyres beyond their limit, but are very predictable and give confidence with progressive grip. There are better tyres, but start at twice the price and last just as long, not as grippy as a toyo a539 but that's to be expected.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2020
Given 37% while driving a BMW Z4 (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,500 easy going miles
Extremely rapid wear considering I don’t drive in exuberance. Very uneven wear both across and around the circumference of the tyre. Replaced like for like on the rear of the car knowing they were not a premium brand since I was deciding whether I would keep the car long term and did not expect a huge mileage from them but 4,500 miles is a massive disappointment.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on May 2, 2020
Given 30% while driving a Ford (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Poor grip in the dry. Dangerous in the wet. Noisy. Some years ago I wrote off my Falcon after skidding into a Toyota during a downpour.. My car slid for ~15m before impact. This was at 50km/h. Stick with Michelin - literally.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2020
Given 45% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
Used on a road rally car fwd. dry driving ok. If pressures are high good turn in response .

Wet weather , shocking on stopping , 888 much better. Understeers also . I put them on the rear in end as wanted to stop!

Tyre looks good on rim nice and wide but wet weather capabilities are so poor won’t buy again .
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2019
Given 50% while driving a Volvo V60 D3 (235/40 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Normal tyres in dry conditions, far from a top tyre but decents. With water/rain grip is not good at all.
Not recommended.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2019
Given 33% while driving a Honda Civic Si Sedan (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20 spirited miles
These Nankang Ns20 are ok for the price BUT for the same price,you can get better tires.they didn't last me very long! That is the reason why i didn't buy them again. I had bought a four tires for my wife's car and they were surprisingly very comfortable,quiet and looked nice(225/40/18 ) so i then bought 2 tires for my car (215/45/17 ) and i noticed the tires weren't as comfortable as it was before and it had no rim protection lip at all,which made them look kinda like a donut tire lol luckily they didnt last me a long time..but other then that,they are ok. I didn't buy them again though & i wouldn't recommend these tires to anyone.
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2019
Given 66% while driving a Honda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
This tyres are ok if you are on asphalt paved road very quiet but if your on cemented road your car will feel they are 10yrs old very noisy tires. But if you dont mind the noise then the grip is ok. This are cheap tyres so dont expect too much.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2018