Nankang NS2

The Nankang NS2 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nankang NS1 and this tyre has been replaced by the Nankang Noble Sport NS20.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 65%
Handling 62%
Wear 73%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 60%

Tyre review data from 208 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 1,802,499 miles driven.

The NS2 is ranked 98th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 46th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 Auto Bild 20 inch Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Dangerously long braking distance in the wet, wet understeer, reduced steering precision, loud and uncomfortable.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0          
175/50 R13 72V   C E 70  
155/55 R14 69V   F C 71  
205/60 R14 92H XL   E C 71  
155/65 R14 75V   F C 71  
185/45 R15 75V   F C 71  
195/45 R15 78V   F C 71  
165/50 R15 72V   F C 71  
195/50 R15 82V   F C 71  
205/50 R15 86V   F C 71  
185/55 R15 82V   E C 71  
195/55 R15 85V   E C 71  
205/55 R15 88V   F C 71  
165/40 R16 73V XL   F C 71  
205/40 R16 83V XL   F C 71  
215/40 R16 86W XL   F C 71  
165/45 R16 74V XL   E C 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F C 71  
205/45 R16 87V XL   F C 71  
195/50 R16 84V   F C 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F C 71  
225/50 R16 92V   E C 71  
205/55 R16 91V   E C 71  
215/55 R16 93V   E C 71  
215/55 R16 97W XL   E C 71  
225/55 R16 95W   E C 71  
225/55 R16 95V   E C 71  
165/35 R17 75V XL   F C 71  
185/35 R17 82V XL   F C 71  
165/40 R17 75V XL   F C 71  
205/40 R17 84V XL   F C 71  
215/40 R17 87V XL   E C 71  
235/40 R17 90V   F C 71  
245/40 R17 91V   E C 71  
245/40 R17 91W   E C 71  
255/40 R17 94V   E C 71  
275/40 R17 98W   E C 73  
205/45 R17 88V XL   F C 71  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E C 71  
215/45 R17 91V XL   E C 71  
225/45 R17 94V XL   E C 71  
235/45 R17 94V   E C 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E C 71  
205/50 R17 93V XL   E C 71  
225/55 R17 101W XL   E C 71  
285/30 R18 93Y   E C 71  
215/35 R18 84W XL   F C 71  
225/35 R18 87W XL   F C 71  
255/35 R18 94W XL   E C 71  
265/35 R18 93W   E C 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   E C 71  
215/40 R18 89W XL   E C 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E C 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E C 71  
245/40 R18 97W XL   E C 71  
225/45 R18 95W XL   E C 71  
225/45 R18 91W   F C 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E C 71  
245/30 R19 89Y XL   E C 71  
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E C 71  
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E C 71  
285/30 R19 94Y XL   E C 71  
215/35 R19 85Y XL   E C 71  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E C 71  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E C 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E C 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E C 71  
275/35 R19 96Y   E C 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E C 71  
245/40 R19 98W XL   E C 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   E C 71  
245/45 R19 98Y   E C 71  
215/30 R20 82W XL   C F 71  
235/30 R20 88W XL   F C 71  
245/30 R20 95Y XL   E C 71  
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E C 71  
275/30 R20 97Y XL   E C 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E C 71  
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E C 71  
235/35 R20 92W XL   E C 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E C 71  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E C 71  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E C 71 13.00kgs
245/40 R20 95Y   E C 71  
255/30 R22 95W XL   E C 71  
265/30 R22 100W XL   E C 71  

Questions and Answers for the Nankang NS2

2016-05-31 - Hi there, i plan to replace my car tyres, size 205/55 R16. i previously owned yokohama advan db. Now i plan to move any good budget tyres. I am thinking to switch to nankang ns2?. but these are rotational. Would like to have your advise on rotational tyres. Are these better from non rotational tyres or there is no difference?

Manufacturers primarily switched to non-directional (asymmetric) tyres to make OE fitment easier for vehicle manufacturers. A directional tyre usually has better aquaplaning performance, but as most directional tyres are now older designs, you might be better off with a more modern asymmetric pattern.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


NS2 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £92.70 - £95.30 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 38 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nankang NS2 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
This is old tire model, but if this review helps someone...They were not that horrible on normal driving. Somewhat reduced grip on wet, but mostly very average tyres. I think Nankang might have quality issues, because some will praise them, and others are trashing them. We have quite rough roads in Finland, and mostly very strict speed limits, so I have very limited experience from progressiveness or how it handle at the limits. However, I had never any issues with these.
206 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
never heard of them before, 16,000 miles later I have had to change the front tyres. brilliant value tyres.
29 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2018   
Given 40% while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (285/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
This is the rear tire with about 80% life left. The manufacturing date is 2010 but I rarely use the car so only 20% treadwear. At 100km/hour, the rear tire burst on a straightaway. No signs of road hazard etc. Good thing our was the rear or I could have met grave accident. Replaced all remaining 3 after that.
23 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2017   
Have you driven on the Nankang NS2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nankang NS2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nankang NS2 >

Latest Nankang NS2 Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Renault Megane II 1.9dci (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Very good at how much they cost. The single problem is when you don t use your car they make a flat spot first kilometers.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2021   
Given 59% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I been using the nankang ns2 tire for a couple of years, the noise of the tire is terrible rating it from 1 to 10 I would say it’s 9 it’s too loud. The braking in summer time is good it also grip well in the corner. The braking in rainy and wet season is average I don’t push it too hard. The comfort is 1 out of 10 is only 1 the tire itself is harf with a 400 tread wear. If you have a budget get some nice tire, but if the noise is not your concern it is a good choice.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 70% while driving a Citroën saxo 1.1 (175/50 R13) on track for 220 spirited miles
Used them on a trackprepared Saxo 1.1i 60 hp. Confident grip in dry and wet conditions. I think it's a good tyre. And not too expensive either. But it wears fast. I did 1 trackday on the wet, it was ok. But after a second trackday in the dry (I admit I was pushing to the limit), they wore off very fast which makes me hesitant to use them one more time or not. But the grip is convincing.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021   
Given 21% while driving a Volkswagen EOS (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres lasted only 12000 miles of normal motorways driving!!! They wear extremely fast. I would highly recommend NOT to buy them. It just doesn't make sense economically. The grip on wet is non existent, dry grip is a bit better. There are much better options for the same price or cheaper.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Polo Mk2f (heavily modified) (175/60 R13 H) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Fitted these as wanted a cheaper tyre that would last longer than more track inspired tyres. Give good grip in the dry, better than anything in its price range, wet grip suffers slightly. No noticible road noise, but that's mainly as they are fitted to a noisy car. The feel is much better than other tyres of similar size, and a vast improvement over the tour sports in the same size. have pushed the tyres beyond their limit, but are very predictable and give confidence with progressive grip. There are better tyres, but start at twice the price and last just as long, not as grippy as a toyo a539 but that's to be expected.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2020   
Given 37% while driving a BMW Z4 (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,500 easy going miles
Extremely rapid wear considering I don’t drive in exuberance. Very uneven wear both across and around the circumference of the tyre. Replaced like for like on the rear of the car knowing they were not a premium brand since I was deciding whether I would keep the car long term and did not expect a huge mileage from them but 4,500 miles is a massive disappointment.
7 - tyre reviewed on May 2, 2020   
Given 30% while driving a Ford (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Poor grip in the dry. Dangerous in the wet. Noisy. Some years ago I wrote off my Falcon after skidding into a Toyota during a downpour.. My car slid for ~15m before impact. This was at 50km/h. Stick with Michelin - literally.
5 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2020   
Given 45% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
Used on a road rally car fwd. dry driving ok. If pressures are high good turn in response .

Wet weather , shocking on stopping , 888 much better. Understeers also . I put them on the rear in end as wanted to stop!

Tyre looks good on rim nice and wide but wet weather capabilities are so poor won’t buy again .
2 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2019   
Given 50% while driving a Volvo V60 D3 (235/40 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Normal tyres in dry conditions, far from a top tyre but decents. With water/rain grip is not good at all.
Not recommended.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2019   
Given 33% while driving a Honda Civic Si Sedan (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 20 spirited miles
These Nankang Ns20 are ok for the price BUT for the same price,you can get better tires.they didn't last me very long! That is the reason why i didn't buy them again. I had bought a four tires for my wife's car and they were surprisingly very comfortable,quiet and looked nice(225/40/18 ) so i then bought 2 tires for my car (215/45/17 ) and i noticed the tires weren't as comfortable as it was before and it had no rim protection lip at all,which made them look kinda like a donut tire lol luckily they didnt last me a long time..but other then that,they are ok. I didn't buy them again though & i wouldn't recommend these tires to anyone.
15 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2019   
Given 66% while driving a Honda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
This tyres are ok if you are on asphalt paved road very quiet but if your on cemented road your car will feel they are 10yrs old very noisy tires. But if you dont mind the noise then the grip is ok. This are cheap tyres so dont expect too much.
8 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2018   
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Good tyres and value for money. Only down side is the rear tyres feathered a bit and made a little more road noise.
Otherwise all good.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2018