Kumho Ecsta PS71

The Kumho Ecsta PS71 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 65 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 418,561 miles driven, and 12 tests with an average result of 9th.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 80%
Wear 73%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 67%

The Ecsta PS71 is ranked 56th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Tests Included

12

Best Result

2nd

Worst Result

20th

Average Result

9th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test
5th of 21 tyres
  • Balanced high performance potential, good handling qualities, short wet and dry braking distances, fair price.
  • Increased driving noise.
View Full Test >>
2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test
6th of 10 tyres
  • Highest aquaplaning resistance on test, low rolling resistance.
  • Poor grip in the dry and wet.
  • The Kumho Ecsta PS71 seems to have put all its eggs in the deep water basket, where it excelled, however a tyre needs to perform well in more than a single category, and unfortunately the PS71 struggled in the dry and wet, in both braking and handling.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho Ecsta PS71

Questions and Answers for the Kumho Ecsta PS71

2019-08-19 - Which pressure do You recommend for track. I use 2.9 kg on road.

Start with your road pressure and keep adjusting back to it as the tyres heat up, then you can balance the car once everything is warm.


2021-05-14 - Hi! Is PS71 or PS91 better for a use on a Hobby-car only in the summer? The rim is 8x18 and the car is an Alfa Romeo Spider MY2001.

I would say the PS91 is the more sport focused and newer pattern, however if it's a summer only hobby car you could also consider something like the Cup 2.


2023-11-16 - Does the Kumho Ecsta PS71 SUV come with rim protection?

Rim protection varies by size, we don't store data for each side so you would have to contact Kumho with your tyre size to find out.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/40 R17 £93.57 - £93.57 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/45 R16 £87.46 - £87.46 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £88.75 - £93.75 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £83.35 - £110.96 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £80.33 - £106.58 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £127.72 - £153.65 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 60 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Kumho Ecsta PS71 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 500 spirited miles
same kumho problem... balancing & egg shape. 245/45/18 100Y XL
I've always used kumho because the price well reflects in proformance if only they didn't need constant rebalencing.
I've had 4 duff pairs, ku31 x 2 pair, ku 39 x 2 pair that had to come off in the end they were so bad.
No amount of balencing can sort an egg shape tyre.
These new ps71 are very soft, squishy, feel like running on 20psi with 30g wheel wobble even after twice rebalencing them & 1 of them is egg shape.
I am worn out with trying to get them right & think after years of kumho on various different cars I'm giving up on them.
Changing to Dunlop.
I always feel bad going back to the shop to moan they must think it's me lol but kumho have let themselves down & I will say so.
PS71 is more expensive, lower spec & lower quality, not for me, I like a tyre to be not thought about coz it's getting on with it's job instead of feeling there's a 60mph side wind blowing me around & the steering wheel hammering out of ny hands not to mention the amount spent on rebalencing & hanging around tyre shop waiting for my turn.
Helpful 280 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2017
Given 90% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
The PS71's are joy in the dry and the wet, warm or cold.
First let's give a comparison. I bought my MX5 with Dunlop Sport Maxx RT (these only had 3mm of tread so only had them on for about a month) and they were outstanding in the dry, the wet not so good but I put this down to the age of they tyres and the fact that they had only 3mm of tread so lets not put down those amazing Dunlops.
Compared to those, the PS71's have slightly less maximum grip in the high speed stuff and maybe not as fast turn in. Discarding those very subjective points I cannot fault these. In the dry they are outstanding and cannot spin the wheels at all, tight country corners taken fast these are absolutely amazing. medium speed corners id say the Dunlops are better but in High speed the Kuhmo's take over again.
In the wet the PS71's have so much damn grip it is unbelievable. I have so much confidence in the car and the only way I've lost traction in them is doing a standing wheel spin launch on purpose. Other than that they have never done anything I didn't expect them to and for the price of (£80 fitted each) I bought them for, these tyres are such such great value considering all the premium brands start at around 110 per tyre and that only goes up from there for some decent UHP tyres in this kinda odd 205/45/16 size that my MX5 has.
Honestly id buy them again and again. Amazing tyres that are very very underrated.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2023
Given 61% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk5 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 1,000 miles
These replaced Continental premium tyres. Generally they seem pretty good but there are time the car loses grip and bring on the traction control light, in slightly damp conditions it wouldn't with the Continental. That said they are a pretty cheap tyre.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2023
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta PS71 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta PS71? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecsta PS71 >

Latest Kumho Ecsta PS71 Reviews

Given 56% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
My two have a manufacturing defect that is worrying to say the least. See images.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2024
Tyre reviews and ratingsTyre Reviews Replies
This is how the tyre is meant to look, it's a checkered flag to show they're a sports tyre.
Given 90% while driving a Audi Q8 (265/40 R22) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
The tires are quiet and the grip is very excellent.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 51% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Car this tyre was fitted on was a 2000 NB MX5 with Teinz coil overs and white line sway bars set to their stiffest setting.

This tire is great, except it's one glaring flaw: once grip is lost it takes longer to regain traction than most if not all tires in its class (dry and wet). i have this on personal experience and accounts from a handful of other people who have a PS71 fitted.

The PS71 is a good Tyre if you get it for a cheap price. I payed $560 Aud for a 205/45/16 set (incl fitting and balancing) with no discount and I have reasonable confidence that no other tyre will come close to the PS71 at this price point or close to it. (the good price does not seem to scale with an increase in size unfortunately)

while you can hustle the PS71 on a twisty road its lower level of grip relative to other options in its class on the market, hesitance to regain grip after it is broken and relatively soft sidewall make it a subpar option to other tyres available in class and certainly to semislicks (where hard street and track driving is concerned). Make no mistake though, these have tires have more than enough grip for driving within the bounds of the law (to get them unstuck you would need to be driving in a manner your local law enforcement would be unimpressed by to say the least)

as for driving feel, it is okay but not great. it feels pretty numb but I am yet to conclude if it is an alignment or tyre issue

If you just want a competent, safe, mostly reliable performance Tyre for daily and spirited driving, this will do it for you. That is until you get into a situation where you loose grip. not to say that it does it to a degree that is dangerous, but when you unintentionally loose traction every moment longer the tyre takes to come back is a moment that could save you, and on this reason alone if you have a Michelin pilot sport, continental MC Tyre, Goodyear eagle f1 available in your size I would strongly suggest paying the premium for those options. If you stay at 8/10ths and below and have ABS I wouldn't as much about the beyond limits grip.

TLDR; If you never flirt with your cars limits, cannot find a better option for your wheel size and/or need just a 'good enough' Tyre to have until you get another set of rims, this tire is a strong contender. however if you hate the idea of a tire that behaves badly past the limits of grip, I would advise looking elsewhere.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2024
Given 100% while driving a BMW 335d (275/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 300 miles
Amazing mid range tyres . Give you amazimg grip especially in the wet. Also a really good looking tyre wall .
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2024
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5 (225/35 R19) on mostly town for 200 average miles
Decided to leave a review as this very site helped me with tyre choice.
Recently replaced 6 year old P Zeros with PS71’s all round on my Golf GTi 7.5 and what a massive difference. Admittedly the P Zeros were quite old, and starting to crack, but still had minimum 5mm tread.
The ride quality is massively improved. Running exactly the same pressures, the car feels more refined, quieter, and less crashy across road imperfections. Grip levels are improved, especially in the wet, although the P Zeros had clearly gone off.
At £110 fitted per corner for a 225/35/19, I’m very impressed and will certainly buy again if wear rates are good. While I don’t tear about needlessly, I do press on now and then and the PS71’s give me confidence to do so.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Fiat Cronos 1.8 AT (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 easy going miles
I have them placed in a Fiat Cronos with 17 wheel, the truth is that coming from the Pirelli P7 Cinturato, these Kumho PS71 actually pleasantly surprised me considering that they are similar in price to the Pirelli, they have low noise, excellent grip. I generally travel between 150km/h and 170km/h. The Pirellis do not provide security at all, these Kumhos transmit a feeling of grip and security at high speed. Now I put them on my other car, a Sandero RS that came from the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and I feel better comfort but when I push them to the limit they are good but not as good as the Michelin. Talking about cornering at the limit.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2024
Given 77% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 2.0 TFSI (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
These tyres were already fitted when I bought my car and are brand new (front axle). They are perfectly adequate and can easily handle the 190hp of my Seat Leon. Traction is good, as is handling, and comfort seems to be quite good too. These are a sporty tyre, and the car does feel quite agile and well connected to the road. The sidewalls even look pretty good I think. I can reccomend these, especially at their low price point, but will likely go with a more premium offering when the time comes to replace them.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2024
Given 64% while driving a Ford (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
They are a good affordable tyre my main issues with them were they struggled for traction when moving off in the damp/wet and they wore down to the legal limit in less than a year but they gripped very well once up to speed in dry and wet conditions and held the road very well.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2024
Given 94% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.2 d 150 hp (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6 spirited miles
Bought these and fit on Alfa Romeo Goulia 2.2 d rear wheel drive. My car has a 450 Nm of torque on rear axle, and they are surprissingly good, car almost never engages traction control, on all conditions. Dry and wet grip excellent, aswell as handling and road feedback. They feel confidence even at wet conditions and sporty driving. Comfort no problem, but biggest advantage is wear, almost no wear after 10.000 km. Recently have Goodyear AS3, and Continental SC5, which were done after one summer. Excellent tyres, and would definitelly recommend and buy again.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Awesome grip from the kumho ps71 i was shocked by the grip in both wet and dry conditions on my S3 8p they give me alot of confidence in all summer UK conditions will definitely be buying again. I have come from ad08r previously on a 400bhp fwd car.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2023
Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Long story short, I am dissapointed of these tyres. Bought them because price is really good and after all it is a Korean brand. I am driving a saloon with only 150 bhp and they still can't cope. Start spinning half throttle even on dry road. Wet is even worse. ESP is working really hard to keep you going. Haven't done hard braking fortunately, but I am worried about it given the lack of grip. Aquaplanning resistence is decent, you can drive 100-120 km/h on a wet highway without any issues. I guess the tyre compound is too firm because wear is very little. On the positive side, they are very quiet. Comfort is average, but summer tires are much firmer than winter so maybe it is normal.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2023
Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC 300 4MATIC (235/55 R19) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
Comparing to the OE tyres (Pirelli Scorpion Verde runflat), Kumho Ecsta PS71's side wall is notably softer, resulting in less road feedback. Steering is a bit vague around centre, but still precise when more steering is input. Afterall, sportiness is not the priority of this vehicle (2017 Mercedes-Benz GLC300 4MATIC). PS71 is comfortable over bumps, while its noise level is subjectively acceptable. Using them only for front tyres for now, I have not driven them to the limit yet. So far no drama, wet or dry. I will keep an eye on them in the coming mileage. Reasonably priced, I am considering to buy another pair to replace the aging OE tyres on rear axle.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2023